Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AR/tist in the spotlight, this week: careermove

• 26-11-2014 3:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭

Great questions and answers the last week from ultrapercy. This week careermove has agreed to step into the spotlight. Anyone following her log will have seen her impressive gains made over the last few years. She also dabbles in other sports such as adventure racing and horse racing! So I'll get us started!

When did you first start running and why?
    What was your sporting background before that?
    How did you find this forum and why did you start posting?
    What does a typical training week look like at the moment?
    Who would be the coach whose ideas interest you the most?

Over to you! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭ECOLII

Ideal list of PB's on retirement?
    Running - Go faster or go longer?
    Favourite Session?
    Most Dreaded Session?
    Top 3 bucket list races?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Adventure or Road race?
    Are you secretly making a move to the 'Dark side'?
    Being the competitive lady you are, are you happy with your progress since you came to Boards?
    Best advice running/non-running related you have received?
    Do you sleep at all?
    Favourite chocolate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

Will you ever sit in a kayak with me again? :)

When are you going to switch over to metric? You're swimming in km, all you need is your run and you will be complete :D

Goal races for 2015? Pick 1 run, 1 tri, 1 adventure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Great choice

- what is your favourite race distance?
    - What distance do you suspect you have most gains to make over the coming years?
    - What is your favourite racing memory and why?
    - What do you hope to achieve ( running wise) over the next 12-18 months?
    - Be honest, do you prefer swimming or running?
    - I was going to ask if you sleep at all but I see Tang1 has beaten me to it so....have you ever missed a sunrise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Thanks pconn :D

When did you first start running and why?
    I first started running when I was doing my leaving cert in 1998. I was staying in digs in Limerick and I used to get up and run for 30-40 minutes every morning before school. I think I did it because I wanted to stay fit and as far as I remember I gave up chocolate for that whole year as well. I don't think I ran much for the next two years and then I started college in 2000 and I used to run most mornings. It never occured to me that I should join the athletics club because running wasn't something I really enjoyed, I just did it to stay fit. I probably ran sporadically between 2005 and 2012, usually if I needed to lose weight and I'd mostly do about 5k. I remember I did 10k on the treadmill one day in an hour and I thought I was great :D When my sister Claire moved to Australia in 2009, she started doing a good few triathlons. She'd be telling me about how she ran 10k or a HM and I used to think to myself thank god I don't have to do that. Then Claire did the gold coast marathon in 2011 and she loved it so being the kind sister that she is she entered me in DCM in 2012. It was only when I started training for DCM in 2012 that I actually started to enjoy running.

What was your sporting background before that?
    I played gaelic football between the age of 10 and 13. We had a really good team and we won a good few U12 and U14 county finals. We went to the club all irelands a couple of times. One year it was held in Kerry and the other Mayo. I don't remember us getting very far in either of them. I played midfield no 8 and I was ok. Not very skillful but very fit and quite tough. I'd be well able to hold my own :D I was on the panel for the Limerick U14s one year but I was always on the bench and I think we got knocked out early enough.

I've had an amateur race riding licence for the last 16 years. I only ride our own horses really but in 2011 I was the Irish female rep in this competition called fegentri where you go to different countries riding in races and it's kind of a league so you get points for where you finish in the races

How did you find this forum and why did you start posting?
    I think it was May or June 2012 and I was googling something about DCM and I found the DCM novices thread. It looked like fun and I thought it would be useful to get a bit of advice wink.png

What does a typical training week look like at the moment?
    At the moment running has taken a bit of a back seat because I don't want to be increasing my mileage too much too quickly in case I damage the gluteal tendon again and I've joined the novices swim thread that Kurt Godel has going on the tri forum because I want to be able to swim properly. So it's going something like:
    Mon - swim + easy/recovery run depending on what I've been doing at the weekend
    Tues - 5k session or hill repeats
    Wed - swim + easy/recovery run
    Thurs - easy run + strides
    Fri - swim + rec run or rest depending on how I feel
    Sat - easy run + strides
    Sun - longer run with M/HMP/10k pace stuff or a longer steady run

Who would be the coach whose ideas interest you the most?
    This might sound a bit arrogant but I have a good background in physiology and anatomy so I read lots of stuff on boards/letsrun/runnersworld and various others and I use the bits that I feel are applicable to myself. I don't ever look at someone else's plan and think ya I follow that as is. I like mixing things around depending on how I'm feeling and what sort of time pressure I'm under. I like the structure I had when ecoli was training me so I follow that mostly and just add in the sessions that I think will benefit me.

Hi ECOLII :D

Ideal list of PB's on retirement?
    Retirement :eek: Jaysus I'm not that old!! Before my knees give in ;) I would like the following
    5k - 17:30
    10k - 35:50
    10m - 59:30
    HM - 1:19:30
    Mar - 2:49

Running - Go faster or go longer?
    Go faster. More fun

Favourite Session?
    It depends what I'm training for and how I'm feeling on the day really. My favourite marathon session is a version of tergat's 5,4,3,2,1 where I don't do the 5m bit :D At the moment I'm loving all the 5k interval sessions I'm doing and I don't really like doing tempo runs but I think they're very useful

Most Dreaded Session?
    Has to be anything with a lot of HMP miles in it. Probably because I always think I'm able for a faster HM than I really am but the thought of 7m @ HMP makes my stomach turn

Top 3 bucket list races?

No 3: Connemarathon - it looks fantastic but it's kind of at a busy time of the year for me but maybe one year

No 2: Itera 2016

No 1: Godzone

Hi Tang :D

Adventure or Road race?
    No competition. AR all the way :D

Are you secretly making a move to the 'Dark side'?
    Secretly? Nothing secret about it. I'm halfway there already :p

Being the competitive lady you are, are you happy with your progress since you came to Boards?
    Well there's two ways of looking at it. First off I have made a good bit of progress since I started but I always think I could have done better or I should be faster. I suppose you have to think like that because if you're happy to remain at a level then you won't put in the effort needed to get to the next level. On the other hand you have to be patient and although this year has been a bit crap for me between one thing and another, I am where I am right now and I have to accept that and work from there

Best advice running/non-running related you have received?
    "you don't win any races at home"
    This is more related to training the racehorses but I think it applies equally to running and it just means that there's no point doing your best sessions at home and not being rested enough to reproduce it on the track

"life's too short for this ****e"
    I told myself myself that before I quit my job in 2009 :D

Do you sleep at all?
    Definitely. I love my sleep. I'm just an early riser .... it's been bred into me

Favourite chocolate?
    I was a dairy milk kind of gal but I don't like it as much anymore since they changed it recently. I think I read somewhere that they're importing the milk solids for the UK now or something and it's not as nice. Although having said that I still eat it. My favourite at the moment are galaxy minstrels with a big mug of tea. Yum. I like a drifter or a twix now and again and picnic bars are yum yum yum. I also eat purple snacks like they're going out of fashion but then I'll eat so many of them that it'll turn me off them for a while :D

Hi AKW :D

Will you ever sit in a kayak with me again? :)
    Absolutely. I'm sure I owe you a dunking ;)

Hey imagine if we had Arthur the adventure dog???? How much fun would that have been????

When are you going to switch over to metric? You're swimming in km, all you need is your run and you will be complete :D
    Never. I refuse to be corrupted by you damn europeans :p

Goal races for 2015? Pick 1 run, 1 tri, 1 adventure

TRI???? I'm not doing a tri. Never mind coming over here dropping insidious little hints and causing me grief. The running purists already have me on their hit list :eek:

RUN: Portumna HM. I will run a good HM next year. Without fail!

AR: The Beast. We will finish The Beast 2015. All 72hrs of it :D

Hi Duanington biggrin.png Great choice Thanks

- what is your favourite race distance?
    At the moment 5k. I'm loving the 5k's. Lots of pain but it's over really quickly and I find at the level I'm at, there's more of a tactical aspect to it compared to other races, which I really enjoy

- What distance do you suspect you have most gains to make over the coming years?
    I don't think I've reached anywhere near my potential at any distance but if I was to pick one, I'd pick the marathon because the mental aspect is very important in the marathon and I think mentally I'm very strong

- What is your favourite racing memory and why?
    Running: it has to be GLR 2013. I went on from the 3:30 pacers after 20m and I thought I was gonna cruise home like in DCM 2012 but I had forgotten how long 6m is at the end of a marathon and the pacers passed me out about 23m if I remember correctly. Everyone who has been passed out by a pace group in a marathon knows that sick feeling of despair you get as the pace train seems to motor past you as if you're stationary. Then I was just in my own little world of pain, mentally spaced out just trying to keep moving one leg in front of the other, when I was jolted back to life by the pacers John and Grellan who get calling me and talking to me and telling me there was a woman in front that I needed to 'hunt down'. And I don't know where it came from but I got a burst of energy and I picked the pace up, caught up to the pacers and then the two of them came with me as we went by the two women who were in front of me and I finished in 3:28. Such a fun time. Love John and Grellan biggrin.png
    Horse racing: Winning the sword security flat race on Mireya last Oct. Everything was going perfectly until another horse cut across me before the turn in to go down the hill. Mireya stumbled really badly twice and nearly fell and I was so cross I just pulled M right out to the outside and she flew down the hill. Coming up round the home bend I was just sitting waiting on her in 2nd because I thought she was travelling well and was going to pick up no bother for me but she didn't and the finishing line was coming pretty quickly and we were still in 2nd. I roared at her and she's so brilliant, she tries her little heart out, she changed gears and we just won it on the line. Mum was there and she was so proud of us both

- What do you hope to achieve ( running wise) over the next 12-18 months?
    Short term goal is to run well in the jingle bells next week. I'm not sure if sub 20 is there but I'll give it a go anyway and see. Then I want a Tom Brennan pb (currently 20:30) I've done the TB for the last two years and I always love it so if I could get a sub 20 there I would be thrilled because it's not the easiest of courses. Then I want a good HM in Portumna. Hopefully I'll be in 1:29:xx shape by then but if not I'd be happy with just a good run and a 1:29:xx HM in the autumn biggrin.png

- Be honest, do you prefer swimming or running?
    Oh running definitely. It's so much easier!

- I was going to ask if you sleep at all but I see Tang1 has beaten me to it so....have you ever missed a sunrise?
    I'm sure I have. At some stage. Not recently though biggrin.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Having met you in Dungarvan almost 2 years ago I believe pre race we compared goal times. You considered me fast (though for a guy I am average) but you didn't say anything cause your a guy etc. I like that cause you believe that you can run such times. Many of us have excuses myself included. What drives you that you can achieve the goals you set yourself as I have every belief that you will?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

You train every single day...do you never take a rest day? Is that by choice and do you ever feel run down by not taking a rest day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Hi K,

If there was one racehorse you could ride past/present who would it be?

If you could ride one race what would it be and why?

Pick one to win: Dublin Marathon or Grand National

Your having 4 people from the sports of running/horse racing to dinner. Who would they be and why?

rom wrote: »
    Having met you in Dungarvan almost 2 years ago I believe pre race we compared goal times. You considered me fast (though for a guy I am average) but you didn't say anything cause your a guy etc. I like that cause you believe that you can run such times. Many of us have excuses myself included. What drives you that you can achieve the goals you set yourself as I have every belief that you will?
    Hi rom

Sorry for taking so long, I've been really busy today. Ah Dungarvan and the two hour warm up :)

I'm used to competing with the lads so I would never think I'm inferior to anyone because I'm a woman. The targets I set above, while in some ways they are just totally plucked out of thin air, I don't think are beyond the reach of anyone. Take the 2:49 marathon. Someone said (think it was on boards and possibly was TRR) if you can run one mile at x pace, you can run 26.2 of them. Well I can run one mile at 6:20 pace. I can even run 3 of them. So I just need to work on the other 23.2 ;)

I think what drives me is the satisfaction I get from achieving things that I sometimes doubt I can do. It's a bit of a game. Challenging myself to do things. I like running because after every run be it sessions, easy runs or slow recovery runs, I always get that feeling that I've achieved a little something for the day.

P.S Thanks for the vote of confidence :D

You train every single day...do you never take a rest day? Is that by choice and do you ever feel run down by not taking a rest day?
    Hi TFGR :D

If by rest day you mean do absolutely no exercise then I'd say that in my entire life, I could count the number of those days on one hand :D

Mondays are probably my busiest days because I'm usually working in the evening so I have the whole day to do stuff. So I'll get up, muck out stables, ride out horses, leave all the horses out in fields, get stables ready for evening, go for a run, go for a swim, go to work, come home have dinner, do my exercises, go to bed. Every other day of the week contains some variation of the above depending on time constraints, what I have planned out for the horses, the run sessions I want to get done, the swim sessions I want to do and my plans for the weekend.

It is a lifestyle choice I suppose. I enjoy being busy outdoors and doing stuff with the horses and I've done it all my life so it's par for the course now. I do take rest days from running but I don't have them scheduled into my plan. If I'm feeling exceptionally tired or if I think I'll benefit from one then I'll take one but generally I get more benefit from doing a slow recovery run so that's what I do. Last week I was sick and I took a couple of run rest days and the same for the week before. I'm more inclined to take run rest days now after being injured and because I'm doing more swimming and biking.

Hi P

If there was one racehorse you could ride past/present who would it be?
    Past: Arkle .... what a bus
    Present: Hurricane Fly ..... 20 group 1 wins speaks for itself

If you could ride one race what would it be and why?
    This is a hard one. There's a big difference between scrubbing around on some yoke out the back of the field and being on a winning horse. I'll go for the winning ride in the big amateur flat race at the Galway festival because I love riding round Galway, I have a good record there and that flat race has only been won once by a female jockey

Pick one to win: Dublin Marathon or Grand National
    No contest. Grand National. More money, more prestige, way more of a buzz

Your having 4 people from the sports of running/horse racing to dinner. Who would they be and why?
    J&sus sounds like my idea of hell .... an intimate dinner with 4 complete strangers. I'd probably be washing my hair that day :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Some great questions and answers already K. Few from me

Have you ever considered joining a club/ what's the athletics scene like in Laois?

How much core/strength work do you do?

Does all the work you do with the horses and the jockeying help your running?

What's the longest you have gone without doing some form of training?

and most importantly - Do you own any non glow in the dark/ loud coloured shorts??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭AdpRo

Nice run by Mireya today!

Is Tony McCoy the toughest sportsman out there?

Jockeys do some running on racedays to make weight but in general would they use running to get/keep fit?

Could you beat McCoy/Walsh in a 5k race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

CM

Flat or Jumps ?

Sub 3 in Dublin or winning in Galway (Oct Bank Holiday Meeting) ?

Ger

Hi TJ

Some great questions and answers already K. Few from me

Have you ever considered joining a club/ what's the athletics scene like in Laois?
    I have considered it. There's an athletics club in Templemore that I might join in the new year because they have a running track that would be quite fun to use and it's only about 10 miles from here. Just have to get my a$$ in gear and do it. There's a good athletics club in Abbeyleix but that's a bit far from me and there's a parkrun in Vicarstown that I must do someday. There's also a good few races around Monasterevin but I'd say further down the county where I am the athletics scene is pretty underdeveloped.

How much core/strength work do you do?
    I didn't do any specific run related stuff until I got injured! I suppose that's often the case. I've been very good since August doing a bit most evenings. Most of the work I do is hip related stuff because that's where I seem to have the weakness. I get bored pretty quickly if I'm doing the same stuff all the time and then I'm less likely to do it so I'm always looking out for new routines to do. I like doing a routine that progresses. The wall climbing that Krusty and Emer do looks like great fun. I did it once over in Edinburgh and really enjoyed it so I'm dead jealous of them :D

Does all the work you do with the horses and the jockeying help your running?
    I think they both compliment each other. I have a pretty strong core and good upper body strength from the horsey stuff and I think that's a benefit in long races like the marathon when you start to get tired. The running has made me aerobically a lot fitter so I find in horse races I'm stronger in a finish.

What's the longest you have gone without doing some form of training?
    In 2005 I was galloping a young horse in the field and she spooked at something in the ditch. I fell off and she galloped on top of me and ruptured my spleen. I was in intensive care for 3 or 4 days. The consultant brought his students to see me because I had a horse shoe shaped bruise in the skin over the spleen. I didn't go back riding for a week. So that would be about 10 days.

and most importantly - Do you own any non glow in the dark/ loud coloured shorts??
    Believe it or not I do!! I bought a black pair recently because my singlet is bright green and I just needed to tone down the whole outfit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Great choice and read so far and a nice use of smileys :) are you always such a happy fcuker, what get's you down?

What's the default session / run, the one when your not following a plan, but feel like shaking it up?
    What areas of your training do you feel you need to target to enable you to hit your goals?
    Pre-endurance breakfast of choice?
    How many pairs of runners do you currently own - different ones for different sessions?
    Do you get nervous before a target event?

Favorite holiday destination?
    Glass of wine or glass of beer?
    Munchies: Sweet or Savory?
    What is Santa Claus bringing?

Hi AdpRo

Nice run by Mireya today!
    Thanks. We were delighted with her :D

Is Tony McCoy the toughest sportsman out there?
    Without a doubt. The man is a flippin phenomenon. He doesn't get half enough credit or recognition. He's won 19 consecutive champion jockey titles and well on his way to another!! To be the best in the world at your sport for more than 20 years is incredible. And he's just doesn't seem to register pain. The word is not in his vocabulary :eek:

Jockeys do some running on racedays to make weight but in general would they use running to get/keep fit?
    I'd say the flat jockeys would more than the NH boys. I know a couple of the flat lads who ran the Kildare HM the last year it was on, in a fairly respectable time. Something around 1:2x if I remember correctly. I've seen a documentary on Dettori and he's zipping along on the treadmill as well. I think maybe he might have been suspended at the time.

Could you beat McCoy/Walsh in a 5k race?
    Ha I'd say Ruby would rather ride an old yak with blinkers in a beginners chase that's fallen for the last three times than run 5k :D I don't know if McCoy runs but he'd be brutally competitive. Still he must have broken every bone in his body so ya I'd say I'd be odds on for the win :D

Hi Ger

Flat or Jumps ?
    I always find it fun starting from stalls on the flat but I'll go with jumps. Much more of a buzz coming down to a fence at 30mph and not knowing if you'll get to the other side with the partnership intact :D

Sub 3 in Dublin or winning in Galway (Oct Bank Holiday Meeting) ?
    Winning in Galway. Sure I can run sub 3 anywhere ;)

HI BB :D

Great choice and read so far and a nice use of smileys :) are you always such a happy fcuker, what get's you down?
    HAHA thanks. Ya I'm a pretty happy person I think. I have a good life and hardly any stress so lots to be happy about. When the horses are in good form and going well I'm generally a very happy person. Likewise if the horses aren't going great or they're all coughing or injured that'll get me down. Or if I'm injured and I can't do what I want to do.

What's the default session / run, the one when your not following a plan, but feel like shaking it up?

Strides. I love strides. They're so versatile. You can throw them in at the end of an easy run and make them as fast and as long as you want. I love doing pyramid intervals as well. Something like 1/2/3/4/3/2/1 min reps with equal recoveries because when you reach the longest one the rest feel so easy

What areas of your training do you feel you need to target to enable you to hit your goals?
    Well there's a lot to do! I need to work on my speed. I'm kind of doing that at the moment but mileage is a bit low so I'm slightly limited but I'll keep it up until Feb/Mar anyway. I need to work on speed endurance a lot so I'll probably do the 10m race in Craughwell around the end of Mar just to see where I'm at and then I'll switch the focus slightly and concentrate on HM work. I'll do the HM in Portumna and try to keep up the HM work over the summer and do another in the autumn. And after that then I'll have to have a good think about how I'm going to progress

Pre-endurance breakfast of choice?
    If I'm going for a long run I usually go first thing and I rarely eat anything. If I'm racing a marathon I'll eat 4 hours before the race. I'll have something like a cup of dry cheerios, a couple of bananas and a small cup of black coffee if I'm staying in a hotel. If I'm going from home I'll have tea and toast and honey. And then I'll usually have a small mars bar or similar on my way to the start. I'd prefer to be a small bit hungry starting because it makes me feel more focused.

How many pairs of runners do you currently own - different ones for different sessions?
    Not that many. I've 3 pairs of ds trainers but my favourite pair has holes everywhere so I only use them round the yard. I do most of my runs in the other two pairs. Then I've a pair of Asics 2000 and a pair of Saucony Omni 13 that I only use for recovery runs. I've Brooks T7 racers that I use for any races less than 10k. I've my Mizuno Ascend for the trails and I bought a pair of Adidas Adizero recently that I haven't used yet but I really liked them when I tried them on.

Do you get nervous before a target event?
    If it's a horse race I'll be a bit apprehensive more for the horse than for myself but once I get the leg up in the parade ring and canter down to the start I'll be grand. Running races I'll just be excited and depending on the sort of form I'm in, I could be completely hyper :D

Favorite holiday destination?
    I don't really like travelling. I've been to a good few places doing that Fegentri series Qatar, Oman (both high on the list of places I never want to go back to!) Norway (vvv expensive) Sweden, Switzerland, Holland, Sicily. I've been to Fuerteventura for a sun holiday and Colorado for a ski holiday. And I've been to Australia. Oh and I worked in France for a summer but really I love Ireland. If the weather is anyway decent I'd rather just go exploring some new place here. The adventure races are a brilliant way of seeing new places.

Glass of wine or glass of beer?
    I don't drink alcohol. I don't like it. But if someone held a gun to my head and made me choose, I'd go for the wine because I hate the smell of beer

Munchies: Sweet or Savoury?
    Depends on the mood and how hungry I am. If I'm very hungry or say I've been wasting to lose a few pounds I crave savoury stuff. If I'm well fed then I'll go for the sweet stuff

What is Santa Claus bringing?
    Santa Claus came early this year. There was one of those lightening deals on Amazon last week and I picked up a garmin 910xt for 190 squidders :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Popped in to pm someone and came across this, couldn't ignore it!!

So, have you ever spent time locked up in a psychiatric unit? :pac:

Are you watching the toy show?

Cheltenham/galway/aintree

Most impressive person you've ever met

Who are your idols, male & female

Stupidest thing that you've ever done

This thread is going to be gold!

Hi Gav :D You should have told me you were coming. I'd have put the kettle on!

Popped in to pm someone and came across this, couldn't ignore it!!
    Tell the truth now. You've been a constant lurker since the day you threw the toys out of the pram, haven't you :p

So, have you ever spent time locked up in a psychiatric unit? :pac:
    Only the once when I met you

Are you watching the toy show?
    No. Not a fan. I could just about bring myself to watch it when Gaybo was presenting but Ryan Tubridy only has to open his mouth to annoy me

Cheltenham/galway/aintree
    Dad is from Liverpool and I've never been to Aintree so I'll go with that. Think it would be the most craic as well

Most impressive person you've ever met
    Impressive = rich and powerful; when we were in Oman we had to go to dinner with the army general and his many child brides. He was a creep

Impressive = well known; any of the jockeys/trainers

Impressive = someone the AR forum would like; Mum's cousin is Una English

Who are your idols, male & female
    I don't really have any.

Sorry can't even think of anyone I could pretend to idolise

Stupidest thing that you've ever done
    There have been many stupid things. Take your pick from the ones I can recall.....

- when I was maybe 6 or 7 we were down at my Granny's house and my brother and I were playing on the wall that went round the house. It was broad and we were running round it and jumping over the pillars. So I wasn't watching what I was doing and I jumped over the last pillar and landed on the gate. One leg either side. :(

- riding in a point to point one day and the mare I was on fell at the second fence. I refused a lift back in the ambulance. As I was walking back people were kind of looking at me a bit more than normal. I thought it was just cause I'd fallen but then I met Enda Bolger and he has this big grin on his face and he's like 'did you know your breeches are completely ripped at the back' :eek:

- got to a point to point another day and I realised I'd left all my gear, saddle, bridle, everything at home. We borrowed a bridle and got another lad to ride the horse and the fecker won :mad:

- after our final veterinary exams the whole class went to Crete. We were out one night in a club and everyone was laughing and having the crack. It was only later I realised they were laughing at me cause one of my boobs had escaped from the confines of my top and had been on display the entire time :o

That's all I can think of at the moment .... I'm sure there are others though :D

This thread is going to be gold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

How far will Champagne Fever win the King George by?

In your opinion, of the current riders who's the best:

- jump jockey?
    - flat jockey?

Back to the running....

When are you going to run your next marathon?

Hi yaboya

How far will Champagne Fever win the King George by?
    He won't. Silviniaco Conti will win again and Champagne Fever will be a disappointing 3rd behind Simonsig or else he'll fall :D

In your opinion, of the current riders who's the best:

- jump jockey?
    Tony McCoy
    - flat jockey? Ryan Moore

Back to the running....

When are you going to run your next marathon?

2016 ..... maybe :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Great questions and answers so far, if you have anymore questions for careermove get them in now as tomorrow is her last day before freedom! Have something cool coming up after that!