Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tight Auld ones

• 23-11-2014 8:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭TomoBhoy

Right the Auld dear came into some money so I mentioned she could get me a Xbox one for Xmas now I've a family of my own I care for my ASD daughter full time I've helped out the auld dear on many occasions and I have never received anything off her since I was 16/17 and she said she'd go halfs with me for one first time I have ever asked her for something I normall wouldn't but it really is getting to me, when she dies does she expect me to pay for her funeral ?

She can f€ck off !

Anyone else has a mother like this?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

xbox are for kids op, she was dead right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Jaysus, you sound delightful. You're an adult as is your mother. Save for an xbox if you want one and stop pestering your mother. If she wants to get it for you she will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

TomoBhoy wrote: »
    Right the Auld dear came into some money so I mentioned she could get me a Xbox one for Xmas now I've a family of my own I care for my ASD daughter full time I've helped out the auld dear on many occasions and I have never received anything off her since I was 16/17 and she said she'd go halfs with me for one first time I have ever asked her for something I normall wouldn't but it really is getting to me, when she dies does she expect me to pay for her funeral ?

She can f€ck off !

You're a grown adult. Grow up FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

I never met a tight auld one, a few dry ones though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭BlatentCheek

She can f€ck off !

Did you actually start a thread just because your mother won't buy you an Xbox one?

This is brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Haha some man.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭braddun

half is better than nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

A tight young wan wouldn't go astray right now, let me tell you.

All I want for Christmas is my two front teeth. And a toaster, maybe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Surprised it took for Five posts for someone to make this joke tbh..

AH- Ye at slacking!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

Misled by thread title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Is the OP a 12 year old?

"I HATE my auld one, she won't buy me an xbox for Christmas :("

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

1v1 her for one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

An auld wan closing up is better than a young wan opening. .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

It's her money and none of your business what she does with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

You might think of something to help your ASD daughter before you look for an Xbox. Grow up man!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I hope you didn't write to her to make your request OP.

Tight auld ones?

No, no, no

Ive heard its more like throwing a sausage up O'Connell Street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Lol...OP got pwned by his aul one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭TomoBhoy

I suppose I was expecting as much from her I paid my way through 2nd and 3rd level and it not as if she has ever spent anything on me in 30 yrs and tbh she wasn't much of a mother, I'm not bother about the Xbox I've already sorted that out but the fact she hasn't bothered to offer me anything, it's the taught that counts kind of thing ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

She can f€ck off !

Have you tried stomping up the stairs and slamming the bedroom door behind you?

This is like those twitter screenshots where teens freak out because they got the wrong colour ferrari or the wrong type of iphone for christmas
    omg worst parents ever! my life is ruined! :D

You might think of something to help your ASD daughter before you look for an Xbox. Grow up man!

My daughter is the first thing on my mind the last thing at night I make sure she has all her needs catered for before my own

I suppose I was expecting as much from her I paid my way through 2nd and 3rd level and it not as if she has ever spent anything on me in 30 yrs and tbh she wasn't much of a mother, I'm not bother about the Xbox I've already sorted that out but the fact she hasn't bothered to offer me anything, it's the taught that counts kind of thing ?

Well if she was never much of a mother to you and you supported yourself most of your life, why would you suddenly think she would do a u turn after 30 years.

Get over it.

Focus on your daughter and give her what you never had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

OP, you aren't allowed on boards until you are at least 13. Does your Ma know you are on the internet?

cruais wrote: »
    Well if she was never much of a mother to you and you supported yourself most of your life, why would you suddenly think she would do a u turn after 30 years.

Get over it.

Focus on your daughter and give her what you never had.

Maybe it's that glimmer of hope that sadly isn't there !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

This is golden stuff altogether

What on earth made you think that starting a thread about this was a good idea? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

What on earth made you think that starting a thread about this was a good idea? :pac:

On after Hours of all places. Was obviously expecting an outpouring of "ah ye poor dear, you sound so deprived - getting to 30 an not even having an Xbox. Call the cruelty man or something".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Sure the Xbox One is shyte anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Not really the way to refer to your mother.
    You're an adult. Buy the xbox yourself

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Don Kedick

I agree with the OP, his mama is a tight auld one. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭curioser

All that 2nd level and 3rd level, and still can't spell thought!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

OP, you aren't allowed on boards until you are at least 13. Does your Ma know you are on the internet?

Well played Sir! :D

You're right OP, it's the thought that counts, your mother thought about it, and decided you didn't need the money, saves you forking out for her funeral costs too. You should be grateful for these life lessons your mother has taught you. It may not seem like much to be grateful for now, but when she's gone, a games console is a poor substitute for your mother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

OP must be from Cavan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Your momma is buying me an xbox one, so there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

I paid my way through 2nd and 3rd level
    These days, it's common for 3rd-level students to support their college costs by working after classes.

I'm not sure how you can pay your way through second-level though. Were you paying rent and taxing the car? Or do you mean that you paid for school trips and books etc out of your part-time job? Because again, that's not exactly abnormal.

Kids usually realize by the age of 17 or 18 that nobody owes them a free ride, much less an X Box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

How did she come in to the money ?,,, lotto win, inheritance, bingo, scamming, thieving? Not that it matters, I'm just nosy.

Also, my son is 17 and has saved up from his part time job to buy a new playbox, xstation thing for himself and his brother for Xmas. If, when he is 30 he asks me to buy him a toy ( cos that's what it is basically), I'd be thinking I went wrong somewhere... ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

But she offered to pay half. That's about €200 she offered you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

OP? Did she she buy your 6 brothers and sisters anything?

conorh91 wrote: »
    These days, it's common for 3rd-level students to support their college costs by working after classes.

I'm not sure how you can pay your way through second-level though. Were you paying rent and taxing the car? Or do you mean that you paid for school trips and books etc out of your part-time job? Because again, that's not exactly abnormal.

Kids usually realize by the age of 17 or 18 that nobody owes them a free ride, much less an X Box.

I lived in my nans I worked from 12/13 paid for my uniform and books and worked my ass off after school,at weekends while she used money to have a great time the same money that was to supply me with books/uniform.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

She'll probably surprise you with it on Christmas morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I lived in my nans I worked from 12/13 paid for my uniform and books and worked my ass off after school,at weekends while she used money to have a great time the same money that was to supply me with books/uniform.

I worked and contributed to the household from that age, while going to school, getting a great leaving cert and going to college.

I still wouldn't expect my mam to buy me stuff. She came into money a few years back. I didn't ask for, or receive a cent. I'm an adult, why would I ask my mam for money unless i desperately needed it for rent?

You're an adult, expecting mammy to buy you a games console. Seriously? Grow up a bit.

I don't really get why you mentioned having a child with an ASD, either unless you're trying to prove to AH how worthy you are of your mother's money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

So you claim your mother absolved herself of parental responsibility when you were 12, and suddenly, you say, you're surprised when your mother does not gift you an xbox1.

I'm not sure whether to believe this or suggest adding some perspective.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

The school and college you attended have a lot to answer for.

Full stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I thought this thread would be about something else and would have pics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Cheese Wagstaff

I know mothers like these. They're nice to you at first when you're a cute little child. Then out of nowhere, they expect you to wash yourself and put on pants every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

curioser wrote: »
    All that 2nd level and 3rd level, and still can't spell thought!

If you think he's bad you should meet Lisa.

Did you genuinely expect anyone to agree with you on this? Nobody owes you anything. I would have thought you would have learnt this by now given your life story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

This is comical :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

feck off and buy your own xbox one