Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever got a text not meant for you?

• 23-11-2014 10:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭SkyBlueClouds

So I've just woken up, had a glance at my phone and discoverd this rather odd text:
    UK Number wrote:
    My beautiful Bebe. I can't wait to make sweet sweet love to you on the beach in Sicilia. Don't forget to bring that bathing suit ;) I can't wait to see your voluptuous curves once more x

Before anyone asks, no, I wasn't on the lash last night, I'm a bloke so therefore don't possess a bathing suit that shows off my voluptuous curves, and last I recall no lover with a UK number has asked me out to Italy for a romp on a sandy beach :p

I didn't have the heart to leave the guy hanging so I just replied "sorry, wrong number".

Ever got a strange text not meant for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Good to see he's doing okay since leaving Manchester.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

Yeah loads of times.

Some in foreign languages. I have a mate who is Bosnian and he speaks some Romanian too and he had to translate some of it.

It said something like ..'Mother is well she got a new bed how come you never visit anymore?'

I got one saying ' Home soon I am on the bus and bored text me'.

Loads of weird ones that were for me too though. And also the usual 'Hi i have a business opportunity for you in Nigeria how do you feel about prostitution I think this could be a really good investment for you. You can trust me I am your long lost cousin.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

Yep. and it was the sorryest thing I ever did replying :( ended up texting for, when how ridiculous I think it sounds, 5 years. Totally wasted 5 years of my life and destroyed my confidence... but this isn't personal issues :):) woke up to myself in the end and copped on. :)
    My advice, if you know it's not for you, well then leave it be not being for you. :)
    wish I had somebody tell me that years ago :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

Because he seeeeeeent a text,
    To the person the text was about.

Classic.

I got a voicemail years ago of James Blunts 'you're beautiful'. Couldn't say if it was for me or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,069 ✭✭✭10-10-20

I got this one on my work phone ages ago.
    Word for word:

"Lisa me leanne rang ur phone crd went anyhow i left my bag in ur car wid my tongs and bra's in them i got them in sexie wear out shop? So askin wil u bring them over 2 me or i get gaurd over my sealin my sexie tongs and bras"

And then 5 mins later...

"Holy bollock sh*t sorry i dail down wrong number ok hope i didnt bother u ok my bad if i did"

I did lol quite a bit at that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I just rang that useless fcuker of a Backwards Man* and he said no, the big ugly cnut.

*name changed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I've sent more texts to the wrong people than received :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

sup_dude wrote: »
    I've sent more texts to the wrong people than received :o

I once sent a text about someone to that person. Very awkward to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭SkyBlueClouds

10-10-20 wrote: »
    Word for word:

"Lisa me leanne rang ur phone crd went anyhow i left my bag in ur car wid my tongs and bra's in them i got them in sexie wear out shop? So askin wil u bring them over 2 me or i get gaurd over my sealin my sexie tongs and bras"

And then 5 mins later...

"Holy bollock sh*t sorry i dail down wrong number ok hope i didnt bother u ok my bad if i did"

Dats a gd one

Hope ur ok Hun xo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Lads lads your doing it all wrong it's sending the wrong snapchat to the person lol

Jhcx wrote: »
    Lads lads your doing it all wrong it's sending the wrong snapchat to the person lol

Was it a clean snapchat? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

Yes!

I got a text off a random number/guy last year. Said something along the lines of "Hey-Ill give you the deposit for the rugby trip next week".

I replied "Wrong number, but if youre handing out money, shur Ill take it"

Some flirty texts ensued over a few days.

And then he sent me a pic of his willy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

10-10-20 wrote: »
    Word for word:

And then 5 mins later...

I could read that all day and still only be able to figure half of it out.

dellas1979 wrote: »
    Yes!

I got a text off a random number/guy last year. Said something along the lines of "Hey-Ill give you the deposit for the rugby trip next week".

Hard tackle :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Don Kedick

I got a text saying 'Hey are u available now?'
    I asked 'who's this?'
    He answered 'Dubguy on gaydar looking to meet now.'
    Then I went to his house and took it up the ass.
    ah no, I said 'am wrong number'
    He replied 'Ha ha embarrassing'

By the way his name was a little different than Dubguy but I changed it cause it propably is his username on gaydar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Hard tackle :D

hahahaha :D

When I got the willy pic (I wasnt expectin it), I opened the text, and then got such a fright, I put my phone down (screen to the table).

That willy was not gonna get me.

(/lets just say, when I think back/laugh about it, I call him the "human tripod")

mad muffin wrote: »

I'll have you know my bussom is far more enlarged and voluptuous, thank you very much :p

*if I was endowed with bussoms at all :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Got one from my brother in law(intended for my sister) describing how he was going to "kiss me all over my hot body".

I texted him back "Fcuk off Paddy ya ugly bollix ya".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

The only creepy ones I've received were when I was selling stuff on done deal and used my name in the ad. I just use my husband's name now.

My favourite not meant for me text was " Hey love, I'll be home in a few minutes, throw on the kettle I'd love a cup of tea"
    It would have been very cruel not to inform the person they had sent it to the wrong number under these circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

hahahaha :D

When I got the willy pic (I wasnt expectin it), I opened the text, and then got such a fright, I put my phone down (screen to the table).

That willy was not gonna get me.

(/lets just say, when I think back/laugh about it, I call him the "human tripod")

The story of the unexpected willy photo is brilliant....just wondering did you reply at all after it???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Yes!

You promised you wouldn't mention our "Willy" pic.

anewme wrote: »
    The story of the unexpected willy photo is brilliant....just wondering did you reply at all after it???

I honestly didnt know what to say...I was havin a cup of tea at the time...then the crater got all embarassed. And sent another text "Ive never done this before, please dont show it to anyone".

In all fairness, if I owned that yoke, I would show it off (corner of hells: ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭playedalive

Well I actually can't see I got the text. But I sent a text to a girl who is a friend of mine from back home. Basically I met a nice guy online, things got a bit flirty and a few words of what we would do to each other came up :o. At the time, I had a few drinks on me and my friend texted at the same time. Eejit me sends the sexy text to my friend instead. She replies back 'eh WRROOONGG number' and I'm terribly embarrased/red from the experience. I think she was cooler about that than I was. Utterly mortified :(:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭howiya

Ex gf text once with a text that was meant for someone else. Hard to know if she sent it by accident or felt it important that I knew that she had moved on. Gave her the benefit of the doubt at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Got one last weekend about a 3 some a friend off mine had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Was it a clean snapchat? ;)

Thankfully. but most are not:pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

I do it all the time. All innocuous, but embarrassing all the same. I have a button phone, had it years and tend to flick through and send stuff without looking as I'm so used to it. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Never sent or received a text and after skimming this thread never want to:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

I once sent a text meant for my boyfriend at the time to my boss instead. It was terrible, I was in work and not meant to be texting and the message was full of moaning about work and how much I couldn't wait to see him later.... Still makes me cringe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

I just rang that useless fcuker of a Backwards Man* and he said no, the big ugly cnut.

*name changed

I had the unpleasant scenario of accidentally seeing an IM conversation between two colleagues where I was described as "Watch out, that f***ing eejit (my name) is coming over to you."

Texts? A few years ago, I got four or five in a row on a Friday night about a house party and who was going to be there. The last one was a bit abrupt asking why I wasn't responding to their texts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭NoCrackHaving

I had one text where the person refused to believe it was the wrong number, literally went on for about 4 weeks before they finally stopped texting and realised 'Johnny, stop taking the piss' was actually not who they were texting, just ****ing weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

My wife received one from a friend (friend 1) of hers. We were in the process of buying a house, which was almost next door to another friend (friend 2) who had recently just bought also.

My wife got a text out of the blue from friend 1 which simply said "Single White Female" I expect friend 1 and 2 were talking about us buying the house and that response was not supposed to go to my wife.

My wife is still friends with her but I can't stand the bitch.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

My wife received one from a friend (friend 1) of hers. We were in the process of buying a house, which was almost next door to another friend (friend 2) who had recently just bought also.

My wife got a text out of the blue from friend 1 which simply said "Single White Female" I expect friend 1 and 2 were talking about us buying the house and that response was not supposed to go to my wife.

I don't get it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Got a text from a friend once, mildly bitching about me. He meant to send it to his mot.

We were all in the pub at the time and the funniest thing was seeing his face drop when he realized.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

Yes!

Did you do the decent thing then and send back a pic of your willy !?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

I've had a couple of random one's , just text back wrong number.

I had a very strange one when I was selling a car a few years back , this one was texting me agreeing to buy the car but wanted me to meet her halfway as it was in Waterford or something, I was reluctant because we;;, I wasn't bothered driving it down. Then it got strange , she was asking me what else we could get up to when we get there and how she could make it worth my while. I was just thinking it's probably some middle aged perve looking to kill me...

Then again I suppose there could be people out there that are actually that slutty they would easily have sex with random lads in cars despite the fact that they could be 50 year old messes...I'm not now I'm 27 and a grade A 10 of course but couldn't be risking that =)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭franer1970

"Men are so polite when women wear bikinis only 10% of their bodies are covered but still they are the only parts a man will look at"
    Not sure which men the sender of that has been hanging out with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

I used to get repeated texts from a fella who'd send random stuff (that would have made sense to the right person) like "I can't see you in the queue. Where are you" or "I'll be home in a half hour", so I sent back "sorry, wrong number" the first few times, graduating to "I think you have the wrong number saved in your phone" and he'd apologise (signing off with his name) every time. It went on for months on and off till I finally started replying to the texts as if they were for me. Then they stopped. I presume his wife got pissed off with me saying "No, I won't be home, I'm out with my fancy-man".

Edit: That bit could have been a little sussed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

bluewolf wrote: »
    I don't get it

Friend 1 was basically accusing his wife of stalker-ish tendencies.

Had one from a someone who was quite obviously given an incorrect number by a girl, text back telling him to try the same number again but swap the lads two digits.

He text back with "i did but that's not here either".

All I could say was tough luck fella.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

My Dad got into trouble over someone mistakenly sending him a text like that :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Worked in a call centre before, I once e-mailed a girl sitting opposite me saying "will she ever shut the f**k up".....

The message was meant for a friends of mine sitting a few desks down and this girl opposite of me was the subject.....

F**king mortified :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭LLewellen Farquarson

Got a txt last Christmas asking what I wanted as a present, from an unrecognised number.

"World peace and a pony" was my reply.

I hope the intended recepient got one or the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,503 ✭✭✭Sinister Kid

I got a voice mail from some guy in the republic of congo before...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

On certain networks in the US, if you stop paying your bill, your number goes back into circulation extremely quickly.

I got an American number and immediately assumed the role of an indebted immigrant, Anya.

Anya was in trouble. I was getting calls from debt collectors, her family wondering where she was. Every now and again I would get a call from a bookie's office. He eventually stopped saying anything when he called, there would just be the sounds of horse-racing on the tv in the background.

Poor Anya.

~~~~~~~~~~~~
    On a lighter note, my Mum once got a booty text from some woman and when she replied that she had the wrong number, the woman said "you'll probably do".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

"Hi Lorraine just a quick message to say that Aodhan's doing fine but for the love of God please don't give him those biscuits he gets fierce wind."

I had to stop for a minute and think which one of my alter egos was called Lorraine. Very weird text.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭BBJBIG

Yeah. some chick wantin me to Bash her Gash ...

Did you do the decent thing then and send back a pic of your willy !?

I dont have a willy :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I dont have a willy :o

No willy, no cry, no willy no cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Odelay

I once sent a text meant for my boyfriend at the time to my boss instead. It was terrible, I was in work and not meant to be texting and the message was full of moaning about work and how much I couldn't wait to see him later.... Still makes me cringe.

I once received one like that, saying she was having a bad day and to have the bed warmed up for her, she was a hottie too:o