Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the biggest prize you ever won?

• 20-11-2014 12:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭

Could lotto, raffle, anything realy.

I won an iPod on a Today FM competition where you had to phone in to guess the voice which I did. They said it was an iPod, it was actually some cheap Chinese version :( Ah well, it worked fine for years and years.

I also won a hamper at a work Christmas party. Present to the parents sorted ;)

That's it realy, never got anything much off the lotto, our lotto syndicate has gone through 6 years of failure.

Are you lucky and win lots and lots of prizes? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

A double chocolate chip cookie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭The Domonator

Unemployment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭obriendj

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Could lotto, raffle, anything realy.

I won an iPod on a Today FM competition where you had to phone in to guess the voice which I did. They said it was an iPod, it was actually some cheap Chinese version :( Ah well, it worked fine for years and years.

I also won a hamper at a work Christmas party. Present to the parents sorted ;)

That's it realy, never got anything much off the lotto, our lotto syndicate has gone through 6 years of failure.

Are you lucky and win lots and lots of prizes? :)

Seriously? thats poor form!!!

I won a day trip to Mosney once. 1988 i think.
    Also got into a draw to win a car. It was down to 10 people and everyone has a key to try in the door. I was 6th person to try their key so at that stage i suppose I has a 1 in 5 chance. Didnt work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

A fine set of Newbridge Silverware

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Some people win lots of things, I don't win anything. Must be some sort of a lucky gene. Or maybe they do competitions and I don't. (I did win a couple of 75s on Prize bonds, but you tend to win within the first year of investing a reasonable amount anyway)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

£1000 punts back when i was about 12, 3 weeks before xmas. Bought myself my first and only pair of air max :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭clintondaly

A Toyota Yaris in a work draw.
    Tickets were 100 Euro,we bought 1 between 10 of us,won the car sold it for 11,000 Euro,kept a 1,000 Euro each and put the leftover 1,000 behind the bar at the local pub and invited our work colleagues out to a free night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭deadybai

won 49 euro on a slot machine when I was about 13. Put 15 cent into a machine that my friend who had been on it all day, gave up on. BEST DAY EVER!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I won a Discman off Scratch Saturday when I was eleven.

Oh and three grand in a film competition this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

Colour TV off 2fm. Lasted for years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

A bottle of Malibu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Miss Lizzie Jones

$15,000.00

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Won an Xbox 360 when they were new out.

Gave it to my bro for his 21st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Run family newsagents. Play minimum in most lotto draws.

Have gotten 5 numbers in the main draw twice and lotto plus 1 draw. 1300 punts, €1000 & €300 respectively. The older punts win was from my own ticket that I bought purposely. The 2 euro denominated wins were mistake tickets. Ie. they weren't what the customer asked for, the customer didn't opt to take them anyway, I put them to the side to sell on to someone else, forgot, had to buy them myself at the end of the night.

Ie I'm more lucky with mistake tickets then my own tickets.

Nowadays, when I make a mistake, I tell them my story and 9 times out of 10 they buy the mistake ticket as well as what they asked for.

Result!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

return flights to new York. I never got to use them though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I'm surprised some soppy sod hasn't said "My Missus"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

My missus, on yahoo auctions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

Return flight tickets to Belfast (never used them) tickets to the premier (well the irish version) of a movie, won tickets to a private screening with the script (about 100 ppl & media so not so private) & won €500 in a draw in the MetroHerald, that's about it over the last 35 years!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

I once won €80 at work doing a derby draw. My horse won even though he wasn't tipped to win. That was a nice surprise!

Other than that, I might win a free scratch card now and then doing the All Cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

€300 from the Christmas card raffle in my local.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

600 hundred pound wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭brightkane

Know nadda about horse racing. Bloke on today fm tipped eroras encore in Grand National a few years back . Had 60 quid on me. Put 30 each way on him. He came in at 66/1.

€2,500.00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Matta Harri

A bale of briquettes in a Christmas draw in the local pub.

Also €100 worth of AI straws in a GAA club draw. Very useful!

I usually win nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

A mazda 323 - didn't drive at the time and couldn't afford the nearly £4,000 to insure the bastard, so I sold it and got a Nissan sunny plus insurance. Happy days:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Candy_Girl

I've won lots of small prizes like weekend breaks, runners, beauty products ect but nothing worth getting too excited about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

hard to choose between

12e on euromillion or 3 CDs on the metal show on 2fm when i was 14.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

Toyota Auris in the credit union car draw a few years back then traded it in the next day against an audi a4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Straylight

A DVD player at the staff Christmas party when they were only just out, which was pretty cool. And a weekend away in a very nice hotel. Admittedly my wife entered and put my name on the entry, but seeing as I win bugger all I'm claiming it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

$21000 from a initial $3 investment in a online poker tournament. I was 19 at the time so young and not too wise had a great time with it and blew every cent of it in 3 months. Could do with it nowadays:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

£480 and €2,500 on lotto for 5 numbers. Was one digit out for £820,000.

€27,000,000 on a Spanish lottery, just need to send my bank details !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Entered a Mars competition in Dunnes in the 90s, subbeteo was the first prize, came second and won a gear bag, jersey that was too small (I was a fat kid) and a ball that burst in the first kickaround that evening. The bag lasted an age until the arse burst during a house move.

Entered the 2004 European Championships buster in a place I was working for the same, tenner each, disgusted I drew Greece. Have a soft spot for them since! Didnt win the lot as there were prizes for 2nd and 3rd but it came in handy as I was off on a lads holiday anyway!
    Funnily enough I worked all that summer as I changed college courses and universities, was saving up the fees, turned out I didn't have to pay anything, went off an bought my first car with it instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

looksee wrote: »
    Some people win lots of things, I don't win anything. Must be some sort of a lucky gene. Or maybe they do competitions and I don't. (I did win a couple of 75s on Prize bonds, but you tend to win within the first year of investing a reasonable amount anyway)

My mum's sister is one of those perpetual contest winners. Foreign holidays, new car (twice), a new kitchen and God only knows how much free goodies over the years.

Me? The only thing I ever 'won' was a consolation prize for coming dead last in every event at a school sports day back in primary. It was a statue of a gnome that had been dropped, breaking off his little nose, I was informed of this as it was handed to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

My wife won our honeymoon: a week of skiing in Arinsal thanks to a Radio Nova competition 2 years ago :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭Kenno90

€1,000 for the most impressive app a few years ago, i made one for my final year project in college and decided to enter it in a competition.

Won the competition and best project (which was also an iPad)

So €1000 and an ipad :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭I-Shot-Jr

Won a guitar off phantom, a trip to Ibiza off Miller. A few albums here and there from the radio.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

I've won a few things, won the main prize in the school raffle when I was in junior infants - it was a massive hamper nearly the size of me. They had to get one of the 6th class kids to come down and help me carry it off the stage.

I've won a few bob on grand nationals over the years too, my family always puts a small bet on every one. I choose my horses by whichever jockey costume I like best. I think the most I've won was around €200

Then this mothers' day there was a competition on Radio Nova where you could win a voucher for you and your mum to a day spa, and I won one of those, it was awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Won €1500 in a casino there a few months ago, I put a fiver into a machine and got into some kind of jackpot game. The auld wan on the machine next to me was fuming :pac:

Also won a laptop on one of those stacker arcade machines in Bray about 6 years ago, it was worth about 800 quid at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭RayCon

A holiday to Cyprus from a Club Orange promotion about 17yrs ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭mossy50

a dose of the CLAPP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Harley Davidson Sportster at a motorcycle rally in France 10 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Syphilis.... all I wanted was a little kiss, now I'm not able to p1ss

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

Nothing, i wouldn't win an argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Spencer Winterbotham

A shot off your auld one down the lane by the local.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

I won a couple of dance competitions. I got a couple of medals.

But mostly I won being the bestest.

I won a short story competition and got published in a magazine, that was my prize.

I won a couple of medals in my schools sports day. All silver or bronze.

I think our hockey team won a couple of things.

Yeah not much. I guess I am not that competitive :-/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

€1,000 local blotto win. Smaller things like holiday hampers and some other bits and pieces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭whats newxt

hypocrite of the century award

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

Won 40 bales of briquettes in a Christmas raffle when I was 5. Great winter it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

A HTC One from their facebook page. Already had one so sold it for €300.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭akura

A Nokia something phone from an arcade machine when i was 12 or 13.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

A week for 2 at Club Med in the Bahamas in a competition in the (London) Times

Also got a 40 inch TV on a low-bid auction for 12 quid or so when they were selling for over 2 grand