Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lower Back Pain!!! HELP!

• 16-11-2014 12:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

Im a 17 year old male with really bad Lower back pain! Ive had this pain since i was 14. I dont remember any one incident that triggered this pain! I get the pain the worst when i stay in bed for a long time, if i sit down for a long time or after exercising! I play a lot of rugby and my position ( scrum half ) requires me to bend down a lot. Ive been to doctors and specilists and no one can give me a deffinate answer for my problem! My pain is always on the left side of my lower back, almost at my hip! If you have any previous issues similar to mine or if you can help in anyway please please let me know!

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭royalflush2003

Im a 17 year old male with really bad Lower back pain! Ive had this pain since i was 14. I dont remember any one incident that triggered this pain! I get the pain the worst when i stay in bed for a long time, if i sit down for a long time or after exercising! I play a lot of rugby and my position ( scrum half ) requires me to bend down a lot. Ive been to doctors and specilists and no one can give me a deffinate answer for my problem! My pain is always on the left side of my lower back, almost at my hip! If you have any previous issues similar to mine or if you can help in anyway please please let me know!

Thanks.

Lie on or if you can sleep on the floor - worked better than anything else ,bring knees up to chest ,keep small of back firmly on floor -you will notice the benefits instantly ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Candy_Girl

I finding sleeping on your back helps also some stretches every morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

If you're in galway, try to go see Michael lynch. He's very good.

Buy back magic, it's like 30euro in argos. Use that twice a day.

Stretch your hamstrings. Hold a good stretch for minimum 2 minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ixus

What have doctors or specialists suggested? Have you had an MRI? Do you have flat feet? Have you rested for an extended period of time?I mean months.

When I was 15 I had terrible lower back pain. MRI couldn't diagnose it. It was put down to "growing pains". I played football, hurling & athletics. My flexibility was quiet poor. I had to give up sport for 6 months and stretch. I have flat feet. Orthotics and extended rest worked.

Your body is telling you something is not right. If you're in this much pain you should not be playing matches as you're likely doing more damage. You'll end up hating the game or being washed up at 19/20 if you don't look after yourself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I hate playing internet doctor, but any time I hear "pain, one side, at hip, lower back" my mind jumps to something SIJ related. And there's a few things you can do that probably won't hurt you (..even if not guaranteed to improve)

> foam roll your glutes for 2 min each side
    > stretch glutes for 2 minutes each side

...as a starting point that'll help relieve the pain around there for most.

Stretching hamstrings and quads/hip flexors usually helps too.

BUT it's all symptomatic of some other problem at play, and without addressing that you're probably going to remain in pain long term even if you fix the short term pain.

Here's some things that might help in addition to the above;

> glute bridges
    > side lying clams
    > (good) planks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Like other have said it's hard to know but the point of pain you're describing was identical to mine.

Went to a physio who dealt with back injuries, found him useless.

Went to a sports physio my dad knew from running and he was brilliant. The pain was coming from my sciatic nerve and was due to a strong lower back but very weak glutes.

He gave me a few exercises (and I see someone else has the same suggestions) and found that they worked.

I also went back deadlifting (which I was deathly afraid of as the first physio made me believe it was a disc issue) and found that exercising/stretching my hamstrings & glutes made the pain subside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Hanley wrote: »
    I hate playing internet doctor, but any time I hear "pain, one side, at hip, lower back" my mind jumps to something SIJ related. And there's a few things you can do that probably won't hurt you (..even if not guaranteed to improve)

> foam roll your glutes for 2 min each side
    > stretch glutes for 2 minutes each side

...as a starting point that'll help relieve the pain around there for most.

Stretching hamstrings and quads/hip flexors usually helps too.

BUT it's all symptomatic of some other problem at play, and without addressing that you're probably going to remain in pain long term even if you fix the short term pain.

Here's some things that might help in addition to the above;

> glute bridges
    > side lying clams
    > (good) planks
    what yer man said ^^^

back issues are often caused by glute and hip issues or overuse of the lower back due to stability issues - work on both

most people wont do the above because stretching and rolling is painful to begin with but carrying around an injury for 4 years is pretty painful also.

on a side note im now dealing with guys and girls in their teens and twenties coming to me with WORSE mobility (alot worse) than clients in their 40s and 50s - kids these days, cant even do base mobility level right.

Caliden wrote: »
    Like other have said it's hard to know but the point of pain you're describing was identical to mine.

Went to a physio who dealt with back injuries, found him useless.

Went to a sports physio my dad knew from running and he was brilliant. The pain was coming from my sciatic nerve and was due to a strong lower back but very weak glutes.

He gave me a few exercises (and I see someone else has the same suggestions) and found that they worked.

I also went back deadlifting (which I was deathly afraid of as the first physio made me believe it was a disc issue) and found that exercising/stretching my hamstrings & glutes made the pain subside.

was that guy in Dublin? would like to somebody myself. same gig really. went to the sports doc twice and he said my back was perfect according tot he MRI but I have tight glute issues. It's not as bad any more but sitting after a while in work is an issue, around glute medius and even into the TFL.
    I'm being careful not to turn this into a medical advice thing.. I'll get us all shut down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

rusty cole wrote: »
    was that guy in Dublin? would like to somebody myself. same gig really. went to the sports doc twice and he said my back was perfect according tot he MRI but I have tight glute issues. It's not as bad any more but sitting after a while in work is an issue, around glute medius and even into the TFL.
    I'm being careful not to turn this into a medical advice thing.. I'll get us all shut down!

The first physio was in Blanchardstown.

The one I found good is based in Galway and works with Mervue F.C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

He might have been right but if he didn't get you treated for the injury then that's poor.

When I injured my back, the problem was identified, I was given exercises and booked in for torture/sports massage. Only needed one session because my ROM returned quickly and I'd been lucky with the injury but they should follow up with a treatment programme for an injury like yours.

He might have been right but if he didn't get you treated for the injury then that's poor.

When I injured my back, the problem was identified, I was given exercises and booked in for torture/sports massage. Only needed one session because my ROM returned quickly and I'd been lucky with the injury but they should follow up with a treatment programme for an injury like yours.

ah he did to be fair, I had a lot of soft tissue torture and contrary to what I thought, he had me Blitz my glutes, with Romanian dead lifts, standard deadlifts and tons of glute bridges etc. I have notoriously tight psoas muscles. I had that stork test loads of times by himself and physios etc and my SI joint is fine, or normal. so all the discs in my back are normal as is my SI joint but one day 3 years ago I wake up and my back starts to get sore. its not my lower back but more my glutes and sometime round to my TFL. again just discussing here, not looking for any help.

I had a knee injury which kept me away from my front squats, lunges, skipping, sprinting routine for months. so that coupled with a new job, 8-10 hour days mostly sitting, then driving to work, then home to sit again as my knee was injured. might have indeed allowed everything GLUTE based to go to pot...

sorry to take away from original OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

ah he did to be fair, I had a lot of soft tissue torture and contrary to what I thought, he had me Blitz my glutes, with Romanian dead lifts, standard deadlifts and tons of glute bridges etc. I have notoriously tight psoas muscles. I had that stork test loads of times by himself and physios etc and my SI joint is fine, or normal. so all the discs in my back are normal as is my SI joint but one day 3 years ago I wake up and my back starts to get sore. its not my lower back but more my glutes and sometime round to my TFL. again just discussing here, not looking for any help.

I had a knee injury which kept me away from my front squats, lunges, skipping, sprinting routine for months. so that coupled with a new job, 8-10 hour days mostly sitting, then driving to work, then home to sit again as my knee was injured. might have indeed allowed everything GLUTE based to go to pot...

sorry to take away from original OP.

Ah ok. I thought there was no follow up and you wanted a different person to go to

thanks fair play, nah not much more I can do. hopefully it will go with time.
    I don't like any chronic injuries..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭physioman

Did you ever check to see if you have a leg length discrepancy?

physioman wrote: »
    Did you ever check to see if you have a leg length discrepancy?

yeah it was checked, the usual lying down stuff and checked for flat feet also, was told im fine there two. I was sitting on a broken chair for months and didn't realise, I got up one night and felt it, it started the day after!!

I personally think that I damaged the ligaments to a degree, since everything else seems to be ok as it where. If you know a good non judgemental experienced physio, id be more than happy to go. oh in Dublin, just PM me anyone. as before this I was unbelievably fit and active, im 40 now and feel it's taken the wind out of my sails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 TrionaH

On a related issue has anyone had problems with L4 vertebrae? I fractured mine earlier this year along with having wear and tear in it over the years (I'm 41, desk job, a lot of driving - the usual!)
    How ever some months later I'm still getting a lot of pain in it.
    Any advice?

stuff like this comes up all the time on boards and the video below explains what i do with clients to assess and work on mobility (stop trying to add in more stuff and just get really good at these and holding a hollow position)

if you cant pass all the test then sort that out asap through self massage (foam rolling etc) and stretching or the aid of a therapist

Sitting is going to mess things up so do all the above to correct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Transform wrote: »
    stuff like this comes up all the time on boards and the video below explains what i do with clients to assess and work on mobility (stop trying to add in more stuff and just get really good at these and holding a hollow position)

if you cant pass all the test then sort that out asap through self massage (foam rolling etc) and stretching or the aid of a therapist

Sitting is going to mess things up so do all the above to correct
    The first 2 are great. There the two I always do after any training I do. I find using 2 balls taped together best for my upper back best for the upper body.

MD1990 wrote: »
    The first 2 are great. There the two I always do after any training I do. I find using 2 balls taped together best for my upper back best for the upper body.
    cheers and in the 4 tests i always ask clients which one they think they are worst at or furthest from normal - THATS the one they need to do more often and the area they need roll more often