Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rural crime

• 14-11-2014 6:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭

Some miserable f&&&ers out there. Elderly uncle stopped coming back from shop today and robbed, they made him bring them back to the house. Luckily no cash in the house and they left without touching him, Garda were very good in fairness but they are way under staffed.
    Positive he s agreed to knew security measures Ive been trying to get him to do for years. Some scumbags out there

Look out for elderly neighbors this winter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Cran wrote: »
    Some miserable f&&&ers out there. Elderly uncle stopped coming back from shop today and robbed, they made him bring them back to the house. Luckily no cash in the house and they left without touching him, Garda were very good in fairness but they are way under staffed.
    Positive he s agreed to knew security measures Ive been trying to get him to do for years. Some scumbags out there

Look out for elderly neighbors this winter

Elderly guy near me was getting hassle from members of travelling community,Couldn't get rid of them .2 had him distracted while one sent for a snoop.had a gun in yard and told them to hold tough whilst he went for cheque book to pay for gates etc.came back with the shotgun .fookers pulled a few slash hooks from van.luckily a neighbour happend to come into the yard and they scarperd after a few threats.poor fecker won't leave the farm/house since afraid of his life they'll come back.reg of van came back as a vehicle written off 6 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Thats fierce frightening for the elderly , I hope he is not too shook up after it .
    Elderly cattle dear near us was tied up and robbed the last night aswell .
    The people that do this to old men and women should be locked up and the key thrown away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Bullocks wrote: »
    Thats fierce frightening for the elderly , I hope he is not too shook up after it .
    Elderly cattle dear near us was tied up and robbed the last night aswell .
    The people that do this to old men and women should be locked up and the key thrown away

We should campaign for people who intimate old people in thee home to get min sentence of 20 years
    Life if they attack them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

What's wrong with you lads? Don't you understand that these poor criminals are victims of society! We are the problem as we're not looking after their human rights and we don't appreciate their culture either. Shame on all of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Very very good crime watch set up around here. One text and everyone around knows what the knacker had for dinner. It dosnt stop everything but it certainly helps. If it is non existent in your area I would reckommend a few of your nabourghs and yourself to set one up. It's very good as in if john whoever lives down the road from biddy and is off work he can keep an eye out for the transit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

All it would take is similar action like what Pádraig Nally did, I can see it happening too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Crime watch scheme here too, but can take 40 minutes for the text to arrive after the guards rang. Too slow. I have a friend working in rural Scotland, on a wind farm project.The nearest police could be 35 miles away. The town he lives in dosen't even have a shop or pub, despite having hundreds of houses. Nearest shop twelve miles away in next town.He says people police their own area. If you were caught with somebody's Ifor Williams or Quad, justice would be swift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cran

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Crime watch scheme here too, but can take 40 minutes for the text to arrive after the guards rang. Too slow. I have a friend working in rural Scotland, on a find farm project.The nearest police could be 35 miles away. The town he lives in dosen't even have a shop or pub, despite having hundreds of houses. Nearest shop twelve miles away in next town.He says people police their own area. If you were caught with somebody's Ifor Williams or Quad, justice would be swift.

Garda who came told me she was on her own in the station yesterday, and it's not a rural station crazy stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

A lady in her 70s was robbed and raped in her house here a few weeks ago. Beggars belief.. I am over 70 live alone way up in the mountains and so far am safe. Never any fear here yet. I think I am too far from anywhere and the lane is a dead end and no other houses anywhere near. .Hope so anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Graces7 wrote: »
    A lady in her 70s was robbed and raped in her house here a few weeks ago. Beggars belief.. I am over 70 live alone way up in the mountains and so far am safe. Never any fear here yet. I think I am too far from anywhere and the lane is a dead end and no other houses anywhere near. .Hope so anyway.

Thats shocking Graces7 , I'm sure you will be grand where you are but as a matter of precaution it wouldn't be any harm to make sure you have a good alarm and locks in place .
    Its a sad state of affairs that this is the way things are now . We moved onto an isolated out farm a couple of months ago and if I am out late now the wife brings the two big dogs into the bedroom until I get back , they will probably end up eating me some night coming in after one too many !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Rosahane

What's wrong with you lads? Don't you understand that these poor criminals are victims of society! We are the problem as we're not looking after their human rights and we don't appreciate their culture either. Shame on all of us.

Indeed, " we are the problem" or could be seen to be so!

Proposed legislation from the Department of Justice could give an individual Superintendent the power to refuse a firearms licence on the basis of crime levels in the district or his or her interpretation of "public safety"

Have a read of this thread
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057326486
    While the proposals primarily focus on eliminating licenced pistols, semi auto shotguns and high power rifles it also gives the super the right to refuse a firearms licence on a whim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Had an eventful night here only getting home now.

Was heading up the stairs at 11.30 when my neighbour called to say two guys with flash lamps were prowling around out farm yard.

He saw them being dropped from a car. They broke sensor for lights. I left here in my jeep and couldn't find them. I called Garda as I left the house. Spotted car backed into our cow lane.

I went down with jeep and tried to take pic of reg. Yer man was too quick for me and got full lights on before pic was taken.

He revved car and sped away, I reversed into the side of his car in an effort to push him into the ditch but the bastard got away.

I circled around yard and spotted the two others running across the fields. As I did the driver returned so I hit him again with the jeep but unfortunately not hard enough so he got away.

His lovely souped up Passat is in shyte:) and my old Land Cruiser, to be honest doesn't look any different.

Garda arrived in 2 squads and a 4*4. They checked yard and myself and Garda jeep checked out the fields but unfortunately to no avail.

I know we didn't catch them but I get some pleasure from the fact that their car is well damaged. I asked Garda was it a stolen car and they thought not and I got the feeling they knew who it was.

So off to bed now to be up at six to milk while those curs sleep on in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Well done.
    They should be easy spotted now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Was heading up the stairs at 11.30 when my neighbour called to say two guys with flash lamps were prowling around out farm yard.

He saw them being dropped from a car. They broke sensor for lights. I left here in my jeep and couldn't find them. I called Garda as I left the house. Spotted car backed into our cow lane.

I went down with jeep and tried to take pic of reg. Yer man was too quick for me and got full lights on before pic was taken.

He revved car and sped away, I reversed into the side of his car in an effort to push him into the ditch but the bastard got away.

I circled around yard and spotted the two others running across the fields. As I did the driver returned so I hit him again with the jeep but unfortunately not hard enough so he got away.

His lovely souped up Passat is in shyte:) and my old Land Cruiser, to be honest doesn't look any different.

Garda arrived in 2 squads and a 4*4. They checked yard and myself and Garda jeep checked out the fields but unfortunately to no avail.

I know we didn't catch them but I get some pleasure from the fact that their car is well damaged. I asked Garda was it a stolen car and they thought not and I got the feeling they knew who it was.

So off to bed now to be up at six to milk while those curs sleep on in the morning.

This is exactly how to handle this situation. Frazz on the ground is a target. Frazz in an oul land cruiser is a problem. No matter how hardy you think you are 3-1 is not good odds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,218 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Fair play to your man for ringing you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

Well done frazzledhome. Pity you didn't ditch the fcuker and pin him in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mrs cockett

A good big Alsatian is a great deterrent - I hope

This is exactly how to handle this situation. Frazz on the ground is a target. Frazz in an oul land cruiser is a problem. No matter how hardy you think you are 3-1 is not good odds.

There was no danger of me getting out of the jeep. I wouldn't go back from much but 3 gurriers trying to get away like rats could be very tricky

My brother lives close buy and unfortunately was away as between us we'd have been able to block the road, pity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

No one fcuks with the Frazz!

Lol, I'm a fcukee on a regular basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Lol, I'm a fcukee on a regular basis.

Hahaha:D

Might be worth a try posting in the motors forum if you know the make/model/colour of the car. They can do some great detective work in there as seen on one thread about a hit & run driver recently.

If you had the time, call round to any car breakers, scrapyards, back street repair places etc. Check especially repair places run by foreign guys, they could have been spun a tale about the damaged car.
    Talk to any local taxi drivers, milk men etc. Those guys be everywhere.
    Do you know any young lads who be messing with Passats, Bora's etc, modifying them? They will know the car if it's local.

If you have the time, check car breakers and scrap yards locally. Also back street repair shops, especially one's ran by foreign lads.
    Do you know of any youngish lads messing about with Passats and Boras? Modifying them etc? They will know if any lads car was damaged.
    Chat local taxi men and coal men, those lads be in everywhere.
    The Gardai aren't going to put much effort into this cause you can't prove the lads were going to break the law, unless they trip across the car.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

People I used to get lots of callers until put one of these up now no one except friends and those that don't mind being on tape.
    Attie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

If you took a picture and it is over-exposed, it is quite possible that there are still some details available - it's just a matter of adjusting the brightness and contrast. I'm sure people in the Photography forum may be able to help you, but perhaps do it privately, don't post the image on boards.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

Those sort of lads loved the Ol Passat

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/the-dublin-criminal-gang-who-terrified-a-young-family-in-home-raid-had-315-previous-convictions-between-them-31576368.html

Fairplay for tackling them. Keep an eye out those lads can return; dog and camera are handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

barnaman wrote: »
    Those sort of lads loved the Ol Passat

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/the-dublin-criminal-gang-who-terrified-a-young-family-in-home-raid-had-315-previous-convictions-between-them-31576368.html

Fairplay for tackling them. Keep an eye out those lads can return; dog and camera are handy.

May not have been a tinker..... Could well have been a local farmers son that'd know the value of stuff lying round the yard and flog it on done deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Yep, a Guard told me that recently. Farmers sons stealing machinery and flogging it on Dondesl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

Same story here, farmer's son got a bad name for himself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Dad was just telling me something that happened to him a few years ago.
    We had cows out in the same area we have now- up a long muddy lane where an old house is being slowly renovated year on year. He pulled up at the end of the lane in the van and the cows began roaring as they knew the sound of it. On the way in the lane he heard plashing and the sounds of movement coming towards him and thinking it was the cows he roared out ''Get back ta fcuk ye hoers ye''
    Hearing the movements rush back the other direction, Dad continued on.....to find a fallen cement mixer in the middle of the lane.

Dad only realised then that he had stumbled on lads robbing the place, and let rip at them like bould cows. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Victor wrote: »
    If you took a picture and it is over-exposed, it is quite possible that there are still some details available - it's just a matter of adjusting the brightness and contrast. I'm sure people in the Photography forum may be able to help you, but perhaps do it privately, don't post the image on boards.ie.

I'd have a look.
    But if detail isn't there not much can be done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

An auld lad round my way used to play cards years ago with a few other lads he'd be in playing cards and the son would be out stealing hay. They knew who it was so one night one of the lads jumps up and says there's someone outside, then grabs the shotgun goes out and let's off both barrels. Rushes back in and shouts I got the fu-ker. Apparently the lads father fainted right there. It cured the problem.

I dont know which is more shocking;
    - the actual crimes,
    - the fact that one of them had 139 previous convictions and still walking the streets,
    - or the €1million in free legal aid.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/crime/anatomy-of-a-rural-crime-gang-that-used-free-travel-for-barbaric-and-menacing-attacks-36393988.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭Odelay

I dont know which is more shocking;
    - the actual crimes,
    - the fact that one of them had 139 orevious convictions and still walking the streets,
    - or the €1million in free legal aid.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/crime/anatomy-of-a-rural-crime-gang-that-used-free-travel-for-barbaric-and-menacing-attacks-36393988.html

What I don't understand is how one of them cannot be named? Sure he's convicted and sentenced now, what's left to hide? It's not like a sex crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Probably under 18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭Odelay

ganmo wrote: »
    Probably under 18

But they usually say a minor who cannot be named. They didn't in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

He may be involved in a similar case and this conviction might affect his right to a fair trial if it was made known during another trial.

Maybe he turned State Witness and sang like a canary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Had a spate of robberies around here. One robbery was carried out by 2 foreign fellas who came in that morning by plane, the got a bus down to the local village and walked about 2 miles to the house. They were meant to break into a house that belongs to a family that live abroad. Anyway they picked his brothers house which is right nextdoor. He'd be a hardy fella and heard noises at the door. He opened the door of a shot and pulled one lad in and laid into him. The second lad took off running up the mountain. His grandmother came down, she's in her 90's and wanted to shoot your man and said what would they do to an old lady like me. Your man held at gun point shít himself and the other lad was hiding under a bridge and was found the next day by the guards. Their now currently serving 7 years in jail here in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Their now currently serving 7 years in jail here in Ireland

Waste of tax payers money, should have deported them and banned them from Ireland for life
    or have granny unload on them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Waste of tax payers money, should have deported them and banned them from Ireland for life

With only the cost of diesel for the digger digging the hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

the grandson had to stop her :D 100% agree about the deportation and ban

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭PeterCasey

All these robberies are people in the area giving the tip off a neighbor that I was spreading dung for a couple of weeks ago on an out farm tractor loader was lifted on him left it in a shed no sign of it since . People are living in fear see two brothers they can not go to a match or mart anywhere together because there house was ransacked when they come back the two men were always happy people but they have changed any time they see a van or car coming they get jumpy you have to ring people when you are calling for money its very sad when you see them unlocking doors shouting to know how is it.

Guys, if you know of cases of old people living in fear like that, get them a panic alarm. Great yokes. My elderly ain't fell recently and broke her hip. If it wasn't for the panic button on her wrist , she could have been lying on the cold tile floor for hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭PeterCasey

I know those panic alarms are good my own mother had one before she went into a home, but they wouldn't be much good when two or three men are around your yard the nearest station is about eight miles away. I have never seen people so cautious nervous as I have the last year half its frightning rural people are left to fend for thereselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

PeterCasey wrote: »
    I know those panic alarms are good my own mother had one before she went into a home, but they wouldn't be much good when two or three men are around your yard the nearest station is about eight miles away. I have never seen people so cautious nervous as I have the last year half its frightning rural people are left to fend for thereselves.

I'm first call on a neighbours panic alarm.....i'd be there in five minutes or, as I did lately, get one of the neighbours to go when I was away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Justjens

All we can do is make life hard for them, keep them moving.

During the summer saw two dodgy looking lads walking away from a smart 2dr Golf parked in a neighbours field gate in middle of the day. Rang Guards with reg and 20 mins later local Guard tuned up looking across the field.

'Gone up the road', I told him, 'and one bent down just up there'. 'Show me'.....there were the keys.

Guard knew the two boys (he'd seen them an hour before and they'd legged it), pocketed the keys and lifted the car, for no insurance.

If we see something unusual we need to do something about it, don't think someone else will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I had a lad from Wexford call in earlier in the week selling LED lights for the yard. Told him I wasn't interested and he left.

Later on, I met a neighbour that had some stuff stolen a few years ago out of his yard and he said he had bought a few of the lights because they were good value.

Did you not think they were stolen, maybe? I said.

Sure that's their tough luck, he said.:rolleyes:

You would have to wonder what goes on in lads heads at times.
    As long as there are lads buying dodgy stuff out of vans, there will be lads stealing stuff to supply the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭paddysdream

I had a lad from Wexford call in earlier in the week selling LED lights for the yard. Told him I wasn't interested and he left.

Later on, I met a neighbour that had some stuff stolen a few years ago out of his yard and he said he had bought a few of the lights because they were good value.

Did you not think they were stolen, maybe? I said.

Sure that's their tough luck, he said.:rolleyes:

As long as there are lads buying dodgy stuff out of vans, there will be lads stealing stuff to supply the market.
    Small hatchback,wife and 2 kids in back,him in green wellies with 2 or 3 types of LED lights,black dealer boots and a few tools in the booth ?
    Ok snow here that day so maybe the wellies were necessity only!!!
    Met him on road as coming out of field and he flashed lights ,waved me down etc.Thought it was someone looking for something and boy was I right.
    Anyone who deals with these should really know better.

Notice they always seem to have a seasonal switch of product;used to be ratchet straps or those ****e gates.Changed to sheep pens and body warmers ,next came nut crackers then cutlery.Now its led lights and if you meet a really "honest" one then a brand new mobile phone with just one careful owner.Of course cheap socket sets etc are still a staple
    Save

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

As long as there are lads buying dodgy stuff out of vans, there will be lads stealing stuff to supply the market.[/quote]

100% correct, lads that buy the hot gear are just as bad in my view as the lads that do the robbing.