Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This Is The Happy Thread - ONLY!

• 13-11-2014 10:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭

I've just read through 30 plus pages of the Donna Hartnett Thread, not to mention the Irish Water (which fell in monsoon levels today for free) Threads - and it seems to me there is SO MUCH bickering on all the political/economic/social type threads! That's ok, I guess, we all have our opinions and are entitled to them, but, some people are just NASTY!

So this will be the Thread where you are only allowed to be NICE - and shower compliments on other people's posts!

Maybe the Mods would be so good as to ban anyone who says anything NASTY, please?:):)

I will start - I go into a certain shop every morning of the working week. The same man is usually at the checkout. He is always unresponsive and even moody. BUT TODAY - amazingly - he looked up at me, smiled and said Hello and How are You? He even talked about the weather! I was very pleased! Just nice to communicate, isn't it?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

ElizaT33 wrote: »
    I will start - I go into a certain shop every morning of the working week. The same man is usually at the checkout. He is always unresponsive and even moody. BUT TODAY - amazingly - he looked up at me, smiled and said Hello and How are You? He even talked about the weather! I was very pleased! Just nice to communicate, isn't it?!

There's a girl working in my local coffee shop with a pretty amazing rack. I'm spending a fortune...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

ElizaT33 wrote: »

Someone complained. He was forced to be nice against his will :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

smash wrote: »
    There's a girl working in my local coffee shop with a pretty amazing rack. I'm spending a fortune...

Could you describe this rack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

**** this shìt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Candy_Girl

Happy threads never last, just saying :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

I thought the other day about the idea of a national compliments day, where you are encouraged to compliment anybody on anything - there's nice things I think about people but I feel it'd be a little odd to randomly say them. This National Compliments Day would solve that problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭SimonLynch

Morrissey got it right, happy people annoy me :-) Grudging smiley

catallus wrote: »
    Could you describe this rack?

Not properly, I'm picturing it pretty good though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Gongoozler wrote: »
    I thought the other day about the idea of a national compliments day, where you are encouraged to compliment anybody on anything - there's nice things I think about people but I feel it'd be a little odd to randomly say them. This National Compliments Day would solve that problem.

There's actually loads of them if you Google.

kneemos wrote: »
    There's actually loads of them if you Google.

Loads of what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Gongoozler wrote: »
    Loads of what?

Compliment days.

Not properly, I'm picturing it pretty good though.

You'll have to drop back in tomorrow to remind yourself :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭ElizaT33

Ah, people, you can do better than that ...... just try:).

We've free water falling in bucket loads at the min - isn't that something to smile about?

Candy_Girl wrote: »
    You'll have to drop back in tomorrow to remind yourself :D

Would it be too creepy to accidentally on purpose drop my change?

I'd say you've over used that one already...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

pics or gtfo :P

Candy_Girl wrote: »
    I'd say you've over used that one already...

:(

Great... Sadness has been brought to the happy thread!

kneemos wrote: »
    Compliment days.

OK but I suppose my point was to have one that people actually follow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

I work in retail. I open in the mornings but am not a morning person. However something really brightened my day today and made me really happy. A woman came in and the rain had drenched her and made her blouse stick to her moistened flesh following the contours of her fleshy orbs. Nipples like .45 caliber bullets I tells ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

That's more like it! :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

I'm happy. Life is graaand lads. Then again I'm on the beer as we speak. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It's boring when everyone backslaps each other and gets on, I prefer people fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭masonchat

A lovely bird awoke me ,
    as i lay in my bed ,
    i opened up my window

AND SMASHED HIS FU##IN HEAD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

I love the purple elastic bands that hold bunches of asparagus together. They're way better than the blue ones you get with scallions.
    Building up a nice little collection, ooh yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

I am Happy because it's party season and I've lost a bit of weight this year and I can get back in my old dresses that I secretly kept, despite the OH telling me to get rid of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

longshanks wrote: »
    I love the purple elastic bands that hold bunches of asparagus together. They're way better than the blue ones you get with scallions.
    Building up a nice little collection, ooh yeah.

You just cut the bunch in half with the bands still on, so easy. The bands then just fall off and you fcuk the stems into the steamer. Life is good right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

I was on the bus and 3 of the most strung out people I have seen in a while got on. The 3 tried to get on with 1 bus pass. But the bus driver stood his ground and refused to move until they paid. When they got off the bus, only got off at first because it took 2 off them 3 stops to make it down the stairs. When they got off, they called the bus driver ever curse word they could think of and every insult. The bus just looked at them and smiled. They kept getting more angry and were losing it.

Everyone on the bus was laughing and smiling at how the bus driver could keep his cool and say nothing. But still have such an angering effect on the junkies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,551 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

It's absolutely p*ssing out of the heavens, windy as fook outside and my two dogs are curled up downstairs on their rugs while I'm tucked up in bed.
    Sometimes it's good to stop and appreciate how lucky we are :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭Packrat

It's fcuking pissing rain..
    My baby is in the hospital.
    My woman done left me.
    My dog up an died.

Fcuk yis all.

How's that OP?

^^^^None of the above is true cept the rain and the baby.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

The old shielas don't be happy till they are horsing back the vino.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

I was walking home after a **** long ass day in work and decided to go into lidl where i bought myself a fine chianti, wensendale with cranberry, a slab of brie and some crackers. Streamed the walking dead and watched zombies getting blasted into oblivion with a fire hose. All for 13 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Yesterday, one of the women in work gave me a Galaxy Caramel for no reason...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Got to spend the last few days working with a good friend delivering furniture to lovely people.

Also getting a new car soon and off the smokes and feel great life is good in general.

Also I love my doggy :)

Yesterday, one of the women in work gave me a Galaxy Caramel for no reason...

She wants your babies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

Got to spend the last few days working with a good friend delivering furniture to lovely people.

Also getting a new car soon and off the smokes and feel great life is good in general.

Also I love my doggy :)

Doggies are great for the laughs alright! Fair play being off the smokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Shiny happy people holding hands...

realies wrote: »
    Shiny happy people holding hands...

Awww you just brought back a memory to me , laying on my bed in my new secondary school uniform looking up at the blue sky through the skylight listening to REM losing my religion.

I know b-52s had love shack , it just brought that back for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

Just came into the bedroom and saw that my boyfriend had left a page on the laptop open with booking details for a 2 night stay for the two of us in Cork for my birthday :). Such a lovely surprise!

Packrat wrote: »
    It's fcuking pissing rain..
    My baby is in the hospital
    ^^^^None of the above is true cept the rain and the baby.

Hope your baby is ok.

Yesterday I was a bit stressed when I got to work, I'm never ever in bad form in work and so it was noticed yesterday so one of the lads went and got me some tea and asked if he could do anything for me (work wise!). People are class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

masonchat wrote: »
    She wants your babies

She's married, and more than decade older than me. And I'm not a young lad (but I'd be great...genetically!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

It's pissing rain outside, the fire is roaring up the chimney, the central heating is blasting away, I've had a bottle of sparkling wine and I'm laughing my head off at Declan Nerney's rug which is free to view on TG4. Happy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Rosie Rant wrote: »
    Just came into the bedroom and saw that my boyfriend had left a page on the laptop open with booking details for a 2 night stay for the two of us in Cork for my birthday :). Such a lovely surprise!

Yeah until he tells you he has to go away on a business trip for that night :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

Yeah until he tells you he has to go away on a business trip for that night :p

It's OK, I'm booked in next door to her:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Got dumped about a month ago and my ex girlfriend was extremely nasty for some reason even tho it was a fairly boring,this isn't doing it for me anymore kind of break up.some comments really hit a nerve and knocked my confidence.
    Fast forward a month and I've a new gym program, I'm about to get a promotion in work and I'm moving into a new house with three sound folk. Interesting dynamics also as one is a lesbian who recently split from her long term gf.great to be in a house full of singletons and looking forward to the next few months!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

SimonLynch wrote: »
    Morrissey got it right, happy people annoy me :-) Grudging smiley

Is he ever wrong? :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Was out looking for Christmas decorations etc with me girlfriend and son early on. So we were all done heading back and where passing one the burger kings I used to work in years ago so taught ah sure we pop in its been a while!

Anyway sit down to eat the food and himself wakes up after being asleep the last hour in his buggy typical of him he would wake up when there's food! Ha.

So I gave him a chip or two but I was sitting there thinking God I remember when I was working here cleaning up after people watching other people eating with there family's I never even imagined I'd be sitting in that very place doing it with my own some day!!

The little things!