Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it hard to become a lifeguard in Ireland?

• 13-11-2014 6:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭

I'd be considered a strong swimmer, i go swimming on holidays off of boats (boat trips are great Craic!)

I signed up for a lifeguard course for the beach but transferred to the pool and I'm wondering is it hard?
    I'd have the diving down anyway but I'm not 100% on the other parts..

I'm 17 so I have a feeling I'd be a younger one doing the course.. Would I?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Seanf999 wrote: »
    I'd be considered a strong swimmer, i go swimming on holidays off of boats (boat trips are great Craic!)

I signed up for a lifeguard course for the beach but transferred to the pool and I'm wondering is it hard?

Who is the course with?

I became a lifeguard when I was 15 and lots doing it were around that age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Seanf999

Stheno wrote: »
    Who is the course with?

I became a lifeguard when I was 15 and lots doing it were around that age

'Atlanticcoastlifeguards.com' that may not be right as I just glanced at the email..

Were you swimming constantly up to that? Ie were you training for it or could you just go straight in?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

'Atlanticcoastlifeguards.com' that may not be right as I just glanced at the email..

Were you swimming constantly up to that? Ie were you training for it or could you just go straight in?

I did mine through the Irish Water safety scheme, it included loads of different tests over a period of time including an extended swim fully clothed in open water.

I was pretty fit at the time and swam a few times a week

No idea about atlantic coast lifeguards, I find it hard to believe a five day course qualifies you as a lifeguard though

Edit just looked it up and the criteria for it, over 7 mins for a 400m continuous swim seems slow for a lifeguard.
    I was a lifeguard in the early 90s and beach tests for the likes of the councils were a timed swim of 75m in less than 50 secs.
    That could have all changed though.
    the NBLQ is a UK qualification which appears to be recognised here

I did mine through the Irish Water safety scheme, it included loads of different tests over a period of time including an extended swim fully clothed in open water.

I was pretty fit at the time and swam a few times a week

No idea about atlantic coast lifeguards, I find it hard to believe a five day course qualifies you as a lifeguard though

Edit just looked it up and the criteria for it, over 7 mins for a 400m continuous swim seems slow for a lifeguard.
    I was a lifeguard in the early 90s and beach tests for the likes of the councils were a timed swim of 75m in less than 50 secs.
    That could have all changed though.
    the NBLQ is a UK qualification which appears to be recognised here

Yeah I asked the lad over it and we have to swim 50m in less then a minute and 100m continue front and back..

The reason I'm a little but worried is because I had a case of pneumonia about 2 weeks ago and I'm still on antibiotics! So needless to say my lungs are shot.. I have been able to swim either so I'm not sure if I'll pass the requirements..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 SlowInWater

Its not hard, actually, its too easy as far as I am concerned, being a kid able to swim a few lengths and doing a 4/5 day course is not enough to prepare you for the level of responsibility required.

Cheers yeah it's nowhere near as hard as I was expecting, I'm just back from the first night now, everyone there was saying how it's easier then they expected

Something wrong there, I remember doing my training many years ago and coming home absolutely exhausted

Well this was only the first night, just 6 to 9, today it's 8 to 6.. We havnt touched on spinal injuries yet and from what I heard they're nobody's favourites

What I should add in is that i wasn't wrecking doing the course but I was tired afterwards

Just thought I'd let ye know that I got on grand, past the course, wasn't made repeat anything and I got an open leg fracture for my first aid part when others got asked to put on slings! (Got told I'd make a great surgeon!)