Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CIE's Rail Plan 80 - on film - with pictures and sound!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Thanks to the Irish Railway Modeller's Forum http://irishrailwaymodeller.com/forum.php for drawing it to my attention. :D

Ah yes! The era of the Supertrain and massive timetable improvements. Rail Plan 80 sank like the titanic and 1970s corporate videos are crap!

But blame the Government.:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

Interesting long wagon at 3:10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭cml387

Even the music sounds like it was played on the massed xylohones of the Inchicore children's creche.

ClovenHoof wrote: »

Only interesting thing about that video is the fact that CIE had money to spend on it. But..........blame the Government.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

ClovenHoof wrote: »

Indeed, never seen that one before numbered FX02, something experimental perhaps?

Interesting that nearly every single wagon, carriage and loco in the clip are no more!

GM228

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

23 million quid when a long way back then.

These days it is the Manager's and Union Entertainment Expenses for the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,371 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

and that plan, like all plans since, have left us with nothing to show for them. but shur begorra we've got the youngist fleet in europe so shur tis grand begorra

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

and that plan, like all plans since, have left us with nothing to show for them. but shur begorra we've got the youngist fleet in europe so shur tis grand begorra

Jaysus, you're bitter.:D

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Jaysus, you're bitter.

i probably am on the way to it all right. but i really can't help it considering we could have had a fantastic rail network

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,806 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

God be with the days when you could spray paint without masks or breathing equipment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭elastico

In a way they were ahead of the time with palletised freight. Double deck trains with palletised freight moving through hubs in every city and town overnight would be viable today, given the amount of trucks that are now doing just that every night of the week from Dublin to freight yards around the country. Even the smaller couriers like fastway load from local hubs into larger bins and onto trucks to freight hubs.

It will never happen now but there would have been an opportunity years ago especially before the motorways. Of course Irish Rail took fast track, a unique same day service nobody else can offer, and fcuked it in the bin.

elastico wrote: »
    In a way they were ahead of the time with palletised freight. Double deck trains with palletised freight moving through hubs in every city and town overnight would be viable today, given the amount of trucks that are now doing just that every night of the week from Dublin to freight yards around the country. Even the smaller couriers like fastway load from local hubs into larger bins and onto trucks to freight hubs.
    It will never happen now but there would have been an opportunity years ago especially before the motorways.

i think it could still happen. the motor ways may reach capacity eventually and something tells me that when that happens, and the highest amount of revenue possible is being taken in, the government will just pay for bare maintenence. but i don't know. if its to do with the hauliers, they can easily be dealt with. anything in relation to rail can be done, they're just needs to be the will and the want to do it, and at the moment they're is neither.
    Of course Irish Rail took fast track, a unique same day service nobody else can offer, and fcuked it in the bin.

absolutely. and frankly that really gets my goat. only an idiot would bin such a unique service with a huge potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭metrovick001

Most of IEs freight policy was dictated by some spook in the dept of Finance.

The exit from Fastrack was beyond stupid.

I recall seeing lots of exhaust pipes and car doors etc being load ed in to the gen vans at Heuston. Great system.

It will never happen now but there would have been an opportunity years ago especially before the motorways. Of course Irish Rail took fast track, a unique same day service nobody else can offer, and fcuked it in the bin.

Most of IEs freight policy was dictated by some spook in the dept of Finance.

The exit from Fastrack was beyond stupid.

I recall seeing lots of exhaust pipes and car doors etc being load ed in to the gen vans at Heuston. Great system.

I would agree with you 100% regarding Fastrack. A fantastic system that could not have possibly been losing money. One aspect of the rail system that worked extremely well and was simple to use. Even outside of the terminal stations, it was easy. Had to run a parcel into Ballinasloe one afternoon on the fly and despite the set up not being as hi-tech as Heuston or Connolly, the chap was able to access my account number and said parcel arrived in Heuston that evening.

However, I'm not convinced that some spook in the DOF is responsible. IE ordered ICRs that had no provision for the Fastrack service and that suggests they were planning its demised a few years in advance.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/slump-sends-fast-train-courier-service-off-the-rails-26505870.html

The above article confirms my doubt in its reference to new trains no longer having "such compartments" (Guard vans)

My opinion. IE deliberately sabotaged Fastrack. 20 dedicated staff and then staff that were there at intermediate stations anyway. The 20 staff were offered redeployment or voluntary so no major savings were in the offing against what revenue it was generating. As for the "average" figure of 200 parcels a day? I don't believe that for a second. I was a tiny/mickey mouse customer and was sending an average of 4 parcels a day across a six day week. Would have used it on Sundays, if they offered it. Siemens were one of their biggest customers for example and when at the Connolly or Heuston depots doing a drop off, you'd see a whole host of regular customers.

I would agree with you 100% regarding Fastrack. A fantastic system that could not have possibly been losing money. One aspect of the rail system that worked extremely well and was simple to use. Even outside of the terminal stations, it was easy. Had to run a parcel into Ballinasloe one afternoon on the fly and despite the set up not being as hi-tech as Heuston or Connolly, the chap was able to access my account number and said parcel arrived in Heuston that evening.

However, I'm not convinced that some spook in the DOF is responsible. IE ordered ICRs that had no provision for the Fastrack service and that suggests they were planning its demised a few years in advance.

The above article confirms my doubt in its reference to new trains no longer having "such compartments" (Guard vans)

My opinion. IE deliberately sabotaged Fastrack. 20 dedicated staff and then staff that were there at intermediate stations anyway. The 20 staff were offered redeployment or voluntary so no major savings were in the offing against what revenue it was generating. As for the "average" figure of 200 parcels a day? I don't believe that for a second. I was a tiny/mickey mouse customer and was sending an average of 4 parcels a day across a six day week. Would have used it on Sundays, if they offered it. Siemens were one of their biggest customers for example and when at the Connolly or Heuston depots doing a drop off, you'd see a whole host of regular customers.

All ICRs actually have small parcel compartments next to the wheelchair toilets, just never used!

GM228

GM228 wrote: »
    All ICRs actually have small parcel compartments next to the wheelchair toilets, just never used!

GM228

Are you contributing to the reality or making excuses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭Vic_08

Is that another way of asking is he with you or against you in your epic anti-CIE battle?

Is it not good enough that he just stated a fact, or do you have to ascertain the political slant of the post and poster before you can decide whether you thank the post or find some angle to attack?

Simply stating a fact!

GM228

Vic_08 wrote: »
    Is that another way of asking is he with you or against you in your epic anti-CIE battle?

Is it not good enough that he just stated a fact, or do you have to ascertain the political slant of the post and poster before you can decide whether you thank the post or find some angle to attack?

Slow down with your "epic" anti CIE battle and political slant BS. Post reported.

Simply stating a fact!

GM228

I know you are stating a fact. But the reality is that Fastrack is gone and while the ICRs may have a compartment for "small" parcels, the company itself specifically referred to new trains not being designed to provide the Fastrack service. I was asking you a simple question. What's your opinion on it anyway? Or are we allowed ask that question without being condemned as CIE haters?

I was very positive about the Fastrack experience.

I know you are stating a fact. But the reality is that Fastrack is gone and while the ICRs may have a compartment for "small" parcels, the company itself specifically referred to new trains not being designed to provide the Fastrack service. I was asking you a simple question. What's your opinion on it anyway? Or are we allowed ask that question without being condemned as CIE haters?

I was very positive about the Fastrack experience.

And I gave a simple answer, was neither an excuse (how that could be misunderstood for an excuse I don't know) or a contribution to reality-simply a fact!

To be honest I don't have an opinion on it! IE could have continued a Fastrack service using the ICRs but they didn't! That's the reality of it!

GM228

And I gave a simple answer, was neither an excuse (how that could be misunderstood for an excuse I don't know) or a contribution to reality-simply a fact!

To be honest I don't have an opinion on it! IE could have continued a Fastrack service using the ICRs but they didn't! That's the reality of it!

GM228

I disagree. From parcels I sent as one example to what I saw being sent as another example, that "compartment" would not have been up to the job and in the press article IE admit this. Plus, they got rid of train guards.

Yes but the service could have continued with a size limit, the majority of Fastrack parcels would have fit into the ICRs! The service was well able to be worked on 2700s and 29000s which had a small and no compartment respectively!

GM228

but such small compartments mean less potential customers. this service should have been able to take bigger stuff as well to ensure a wider customer base.