Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hot Bath vs Shower!

• 11-11-2014 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭SkyBlueClouds

I love a good hot soak as much as the next bloke. Nothing like sticking on a few scented candles, a good spotify playlist, and chucking some fragrant scented smellies in the tub. However, baths are so impractical for a number of reasons :o

The emersion - you have to turn it on, time it, remember to turn it off, get the right amount of water heated...I never can get the timing right.

The cost- much more expensive than a 7 min shower.

Environment - obiously a colossal waste of water and the planets natural resources.

Showers are much quicker and the economic winner, that's a given. I don't enjoy them half as much as a nice long bath though. Something about a trickle of water streaming on my face sets me on edge. You can't bask in a running waterfall. I much prefer a warm oasis for my bodily cleansing rituals. :D

Which do you prefer. Are you a bath buddy or a shower sucker?

Bath or shower? 157 votes

I prefer a bath
    0% 0 votes
    I prefer the shower
    29% 47 votes
    I cleanse with a sponge and basin
    68% 108 votes
    I just don't bother having a wash. Livin da vida BO.
    1% 2 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I wash myself with a rag on a stick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

Cold shower!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

Yeah, there's nothing like sitting in a warm soup of your own filth to relax the muscles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭monflat

Oh nothing like a good hot bath! I think if one participates in sports etc it's good for the muscles to relax etc

A woman I work with says having a bath is washing yourself in your own dirt.

I don't think so thou!

Yeah, there's nothing like sitting in a warm soup of your own filth to relax the muscles.

Nah. It's well diluted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭SkyBlueClouds

It's your own filth though. And you get to see it wash down the drain at the end. Somewhat comforting me thinks. I feel cleaner :D

monflat wrote: »
    Oh nothing like a good hot bath! I think if one participates in sports etc it's good for the muscles to relax etc

A woman I work with says having a bath is washing yourself in your own dirt.

I don't think so thou!

Yep. Great for soothing aching muscles after the gym.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Environment - obiously a colossal waste of water and the planets natural resources.

That was probably true in the 70's but todays showerheads pump out a lot more water than the old ones so if you spend more than 5 or 10 minutes in the shower any gains in efficiency are lost.

Some of the 'Luxury' showerheads you can get now pump out a full bath's worth of water every couple of minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

I'm a healthy 26-year-old so obviously the answer is a shower.

Baths are for infants, old people and megalomaniac drug lords.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I remember reading somewhere that it's cheaper to just leave the immersion heater on permanently. No idea whether that's true or not, so don't try it at home kids. Unless it's true - in which case, try it. You're welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

I'm a healthy 26-year-old so obviously the answer is a shower.

Baths are for infants, old people and megalomaniac drug lords.

I always thought the drug lords were more into hot tubs with a few fine byors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

How filthy are you?

Anyway, baths are for soaking in. Showers are for washing in.

RayM wrote: »
    I remember reading somewhere that it's cheaper to just leave the immersion heater on permanently. No idea whether that's true or not, so don't try it at home kids. Unless it's true - in which case, try it. You're welcome.

I remember my mother shouting at me on many occasions during childhood to turn the thing off, I had a penchant for leaving it on. Used to threaten a cut of the weekly pocket money - oh and I'd be responsible for telling the authorities why I burned the house down when the emersion blew up :o

Not sold on the idea, I don't think :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah, not mad on the bath thing really. I get bored quickly. A nice shower is far more relaxing and refreshing.

Baths are only good when you've got your hot missus in there with you. And even then it has to be a proper big tub in a fancy hotel room, not the 4-foot carbon fibre yokes in your house. Two adults squeezed into one of them does not make a romantic evening.

RayM wrote: »

Ye I think that's true it costs less to keep it at a certain heat than to repeatedly reheat from scratch.

Try telling anyone who grew up in 70 s or 80 s that!

seamus wrote: »
    Yeah, not mad on the bath thing really. I get bored quickly. A nice shower is far more relaxing and refreshing.

Baths are only good when you've got your hot missus in there with you. And even then it has to be a proper big tub in a fancy hotel room, not the 4-foot carbon fibre yokes in your house. Two adults squeezed into one of them does not make a romantic evening.

Agreed. Last time I tried to take a romantic dip with the ex in our tiny bath I ended up breaking the mirror with my left foot. Blood and broken glass. Mmm. Not the least bit amorous or sexy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Baths lost their appeal for me around the time when I was younger and let out a "sly" fart only to be greeted with a floating turd in the physical time it takes one to rise to the surface :D

Beautiful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Baths are boring and there's no such thing as a detachable bath head, showers all the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Ye I think that's true it costs less to keep it at a certain heat than to repeatedly reheat from scratch.

So wrong. Just how cold do you think the water gets when it is not being heated.
    Baths are fecking manky. You would never fill a bath from a single tank of water anyway. Pointless sitting in a couple of inch or your dirty water. At least with the shower the water runs straight off your body.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

baby Jesus hot shower. In the summer when I use the immersion, I turn it on as I make my way to the kettle, by the time its boiled, the tea is made and I've had a ciggy I'm good to hop in and its just right. 15 mins should so it op.
    (In the winter the heating is set on a timer so it comes on half an hour before I wake up and the water is hot by the time I get to the bathroom *bliss :))

[probably should have mentioned I've a power shower off the mains)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I have a bath if I want to feel relaxed and a shower if I want to feel clean. I like a bath after a long day esp if I've already had a shower that morning and am already clean. Prefer a shower before a night out or work because I feel fresher for longer. I never really feel that clean after a bath, more relaxed and ready for bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

hard to beat a good wash from the barrel under the downpipe................quare bracing of a frosty morning! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

If I had a choice bath...every time. Time constraints mean it's only really at the weekends though. Bubble bath, candles, scrubs, all manner of lotions and potions. A good playlist and a cuppa tea (Sunday's) or glass of wine (evenings)

Lay back and top up as necessary - I can turn the taps on and off with my feet at this stage. Can lose the guts of an hour in the bath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 stevemul

Re the arguement that showers are more hygenic than baths - have you ever put your car through a carwash and then looked under your wheelarches?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Love baths but not on my own. I get bored too easily and I hate having to figure out how to get the temp just right, cause its boiling when you get in but within minutes you're freezing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Joe Duffy..

Neither. I haven't had a wash of any sort since February 1993.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

or anyone with any knowledge of thermodynamics

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

or anyone with any knowledge of thermodynamics

Thats pre school stuff now sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Shower, can't remember the last time I had a bath.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 424 ✭✭Chunners

Have a shower in my apartment, haven't soaked in a bath in about 10 years, I would totally love to lie in a bath and stretch my legs just once, I miss baths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I can't even remember the last time I took a bath. I've been quite tempted lately to buy some nice bath bombs and spend a while relaxing in there. I am a shower person though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Haven't had a bath in years,

Is it true about leaving the Emerson on ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

You can't wash away the feeling of shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Jimmy Rabbitte Snr

I love a rare bath... But when I do its 30-60 mins soaking with music on. It's followed by a hot shower to finish off. The ultimate feeling of cleanliness. Now taking into account my shower is fully pumped, and I will stay in for 15 mins after the bath, this occasional ritual is one that will set my water meter spinning at terrifying speeds. F**K YOU Irish Water!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I don't have a bath in my house now, but when I did I'd spend about 3 hours in it :o Between sleeping and fapping I'd be like a raisin getting out. Then I'd have to shower though because I can't wash my hair in the bath.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

I love a good hot soak as much as the next bloke. Nothing like sticking on a few scented candles, a good spotify playlist, and chucking some fragrant scented smellies in the tub. However, baths are so impractical for a number of reasons :o

The emersion - you have to turn it on, time it, remember to turn it off, get the right amount of water heated...I never can get the timing right.

Showers are much quicker and the economic winner, that's a given. I don't enjoy them half as much as a nice long bath though. Something about a trickle of water streaming on my face sets me on edge. You can't bask in a running waterfall. I much prefer a warm oasis for my bodily cleansing rituals. :D

Baths! Showers!
    You just need to clean your teeth, armpits, crotch and anus at the sink.

And you can do it all with the same brush!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

I can't remember where I read it but someone once described baths as "ball sack soup"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Bloke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Foggy Jew

Showers are for mornings and baths are for just before bed-time. A shower is a waker-upper and a bath is a winder-downer. A packet of Johnsons Baby Wipes is for when you have neither.

It's the bally ballyness of it that makes it all seem so bally bally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Foggy Jew wrote: »
    Showers are for mornings and baths are for just before bed-time. A shower is a waker-upper and a bath is a winder-downer. A packet of Johnsons Baby Wipes is for when you have neither.
    Or if you're really in a hurry just have a 'hoor's bath' - big towel, wet one half to wash, and towel off with the dry half
    ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Esterhase

I've only had 1-2 baths in the last few years, and I only did that because I was wasting time in a hotel and didn't have to wait for water to heat up. I didn't even stay in it for more than 10 mins. I'm just not up for regularly spending 30-60 mins slowly getting cold and wrinkly when I could have a nice hot shower, dry my hair and get into bed with a good book in the same amount of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

A bath is a treat to me. I don't have a bath so I love when I stay over in a hotel and there's bath. Utter bliss.

In saying that, it's not very practical when you have a busy lifestyle. Even if I had a bath in my apartment, I'd say I'd shower most of the time tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Prefer the shower, ain't exactly a fan of wasting time just sitting in the tub - the bath tubs have to be the most unused things in the house. :pac:

If I ever used it, it'd be to relax in... not wash myself in - I always shower first beforehand, because I don't see the appeal of sitting in in your own filth.

Plus they're not very economical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Miss Lizzie Jones

BeerWolf wrote: »
    Prefer the shower, ain't exactly a fan of wasting time just sitting in the tub - the bath tubs have to be the most unused things in the house. :pac:

Plus they're not very economical.

I figure you would just lick yourself clean and then have a beer. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

I figure you would just lick yourself clean and then have a beer. :P

Woof

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Last_Minute

Whenever i have a bath i bring my dog in with me - saves on having to wash him separately and he loves it.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

robbiezero wrote: »
    Bloke?

Probably has 10 different cocoa butter lotions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,228 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

My central heating heats the water anyway, no need for the immersion
    Only if you're heating the water specifically for the bath. Otherwise, the point above stands.

A standard bath uses about 80 litres of water. A five minute power-shower uses 125 litres. You do the math.

I love the bath. Obviously you're not going to jump in the bath every morning before work, but when I have time, I'm in like a light. Glass of wine, candle lit, good book - bliss!

Never really got the whole "you're soaking in your own filth" argument either. How filthy are all these people getting on a daily basis that their bath instantly turns into some kind of cesspool :confused: Just have a quick rinse with the shower head after you wash your hair, it's not rocket science.