Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man to feed himself to an Anaconda snake wearing special snake suit

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 424 ✭✭Chunners

Thats animal abuse, he would not get away with that if it wasn't in a 3rd world country. I have a snake and crap like that is what makes people fear them. Like think about it a snake kills it's prey before eating it, now he is going down live so will be moving around in it's body and it's stomach is not designed for that. It would be like us swallowing a live chicken whole and then the chicken wriggling around as it is going down and not only that but also coming out your ass still whole and alive. Snakes normally only **** out a ball of feathers/hair and skeleton (all the rest gets digested) Just imagine how it would feel for the snake to have to **** out a whole human

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Worked with a guy who specialised in studying snakes, he was pretty skeptical of this and worried about the negative affect on the anaconda.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Hold the Cheez Whiz

I can't see how they can do this without killing the snake? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

That anaconda don't want none.....

Worked with a guy who specialised in studying snakes, he was pretty skeptical of this and worried about the negative affect on the anaconda.

I can't imagine it having any positive effect for the snake, it's ****ing sick IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Custardpi wrote: »
    That anaconda don't want none.....
    Unless you got buns hun...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

I wonder quite how you go about testing a 'snakeproof' suite and who has that job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭ireland.man

Chunners wrote: »
    Thats animal abuse, he would not get away with that if it wasn't in a 3rd world country. I have a snake and crap like that is what makes people fear them. Like think about it a snake kills it's prey before eating it, now he is going down live so will be moving around in it's body and it's stomach is not designed for that. It would be like us swallowing a live chicken whole and then the chicken wriggling around as it is going down and not only that but also coming out your ass still whole and alive. Snakes normally only **** out a ball of feathers/hair and skeleton (all the rest gets digested) Just imagine how it would feel for the snake to have to **** out a whole human

I'm guessing he'll come back out the way he went in, through the snake's mouth. If not, that'll certainly be 'entertaining' television!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Won't the anaconda die if this is allowed? Surely it's the only plausible outcome seeing as it will not physically be able to crush the man.

KKkitty wrote: »
    Won't the anaconda die if this is allowed? Surely it's the only plausible outcome seeing as it will not physically be able to crush the man.

While I'm loath to wish harm upon any man, even this idiot, I may smile a little if this turns out not to actually be the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

I'm guessing he'll come back out the way he went in, through the snake's mouth. If not, that'll certainly be 'entertaining' television!

from watching the video it looks like he has a tether attached to his ankle, presumably to pull him back out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

What a fecking weirdo. Jaysus, the mind boggles.

He can't without killing the snake, they have no gag reflex, humans (well all large mammals) tongues do most of our gag but snakes digestive system is a one way street, their teeth point inwards, if he tries to go back the way he came it will pull the snakes head apart no matter how big the snake is. Have you never seen pics on the internet where a snake tries to eat something too big for it and they find a snake busted open with a half digested hippo in it? it's because at a point the food is to big but by then the snake can't do anything about it. if it can't digest the food it is dead. No snake no matter how big it is could handle a human passing whole through it's digestive system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

While I'm loath to wish harm upon any man, even this idiot, I may smile a little if this turns out not to actually be the case.

I don't understand the logic behind this at all. Even if it was happening in my back yard I wouldn't be watching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭ireland.man

Hopefully all the outrage will force them to rethink airing this abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Oh my gosh, look at her butt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

It's disgusting and totally wrong. What kind of mind could come up with this idea.

Morally questionable, no doubt. Gonna be entertaining though.

It's disgusting and totally wrong. What kind of mind could come up with this idea.

A human one, we are pretty good at sick **** like this, in fact at times we thrive on it :rolleyes:

He can't without killing the snake, they have no gag reflex, humans (well all large mammals) tongues do most of our gag but snakes digestive system is a one way street, their teeth point inwards, if he tries to go back the way he came it will pull the snakes head apart no matter how big the snake is. Have you never seen pics on the internet where a snake tries to eat something too big for it and they find a snake busted open with a half digested hippo in it? it's because at a point the food is to big but by then the snake can't do anything about it. if it can't digest the food it is dead. No snake no matter how big it is could handle a human passing whole through it's digestive system

Short news report from India about this phenomenon. Apparently the snake suffered "internal injuries". Hopefully it was able to recover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I always thought human shoulders were too wide for the snake to ingest or is that just a myth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Areyouwell

Man to feed himself to an Anaconda snake wearing special snake suit

Please tell me it's Enda?

Short news report from India about this phenomenon. Apparently the snake suffered "internal injuries". Hopefully it was able to recover.

He is going to go in the snakes mouth with a camera on his head and probably a few on his body too. that snake was in pain, how will one the same size cope with that? And the snake didn't "apparently" suffer internal injuries, it did suffer internal injuries. There is a big difference

I meant apparently in the sense of according to the report. Stop looking for offense or picking arguments where none is intended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Time for shark week to step up their game.

I meant apparently in the sense of according to the report. Stop looking for offense or picking arguments where none is intended.

Sorry then, I thought you were being deliberately obnoxious and dismissive about how it would affect a snake, my mistake :o

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

Hopefully the outrage will tip the scales in favour of cancelling this stunt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

He can't without killing the snake, they have no gag reflex, humans (well all large mammals) tongues do most of our gag but snakes digestive system is a one way street

That's not true at all. Snakes will often regurgitate food that slows them down in order to escape predators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

If my childhood has taught me anything, if he slides down a snake he'll require a ladder (or two) to get back up right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Can't think why he'd want to do this apart from the publicity.

I hope the snakes digestive system gets all messed up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭caolfx

Macavity. wrote: »

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,588 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Macavity. wrote: »

Lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

The Guardian secretly wants to be the Daily Mail judging by its recent stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Has this chap got some sort of vore fetish? Can't imagine why anyone would want to do this otherwise. Certainly it's not for "science", anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Has the Darwin Award committee been alerted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

This is sick.

Seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Funny, the snake I had for years would regurgitate it's food.

A snake can and will throw up it's food if it feels threatened. Just putting that out there.

This stunt isn't very intelligent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭armchaircoach

From what i can see of his armour, it seems to consist mainly of upper torso and head\neck protection. There's a good chance that the constriction could result in serious damage to other parts of his body, which would just be a shame!

Also i wonder have they thought about the fact that snakes have very powerful stomach acid designed to eat through bones and horn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

A snake can and will throw up it's food if it feels threatened.
    [...]
    the snake I had for years would regurgitate it's food.

What were you doing to your snake? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭IrishCule

lol, did that snake actually survive though?

"Taken to a secluded place in the jungle".......sounds alot like the ole taking the dog to the farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

I'm sure the snake can ingest the guy but I wouldn't fancy ****ing him out again...

Update on this. Looks like it didn't really come off. Sounds like an interesting nature doc of sorts in the lead up to the failed main event. Hopefully the snake will be ok.

http://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2014/dec/08/aten-alive-anaconda-snake-paul-rosolie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

"We stopped it because were worried the snake would break my arm".

Pity it didn't, might have discouraged him from doing something similarly stupid in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

I can't see how they can do this without killing the snake? :(

They dont.

http://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2014/dec/08/aten-alive-anaconda-snake-paul-rosolie
    The first 90 minutes of the two-hour special detailed a truly suspenseful hunt for a suitable snake and the final 30 minutes were dedicated to a snake biting his helmet and then Rosolie calling off the stunt without a second attempt. Rosolie is also nothing more than a lot of dust and a few empty Coke bottles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭The_Captain

To be honest, I don't think they ever intended to go through with it.

Clearly the guy knows more about snakes than everyone in this thread combined, so they were well aware of the potential harm to the snake.

He's also pretty much dedicated his life to the Amazon and conservationism.

It seems to me that the intention all along was just to get roughed up by a snake before calling off the stunt.
    They seem to genuinely want to get people's attention to highlight the loss of biodiversity in tropical rainforests rather make a crap reality TV show