Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Compact tractor as yard/ shed scraper

• 28-10-2014 8:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭

Would the likes of a kubota or yanmar compact tractor be any good at scraping out small sheds or would they just slip and slide around the place. Anyone using them for such purposes or see them being used like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 David barry limerick

20silkcut wrote: »
    Would the likes of a kubota or yanmar compact tractor be any good at scraping out small sheds or would they just slip and slide around the place. Anyone using them for such purposes or see them being used like that.
    I think a ferguson 20 or a massey 135 would be better although if you wanted a new tractor a claas elios would be the best You get them new for about €12000 from a dealer in ennis.
    You would get a ferguson 20 for about €900-1000 on donedeal.witch would be perfect for sheds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

20silkcut wrote: »

Would it have the weight ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭DarByrne1980

I think a ferguson 20 or a massey 135 would be better although if you wanted a new tractor a claas elios would be the best You get them new for about €12000 from a dealer in ennis.
    You would get a ferguson 20 for about €900-1000 on donedeal.witch would be perfect for sheds.

YOUD have a job on getting a Ferguson 20 for a thousdand. but it would be ideal around sheds. Plenty of 135s around also and they would do the job grand for you. My father always said there was no point having a gud yoke for shoving sh*te around the yard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Bobcat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Man of Aran

YOUD have a job on getting a Ferguson 20 for a thousdand. but it would be ideal around sheds. Plenty of 135s around also and they would do the job grand for you. My father always said there was no point having a gud yoke for shoving sh*te around the yard!

Agreed there and going further how to get a new Claas for 12k... The Elios are 75 to 105 Hp! That's not a compact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Kubotas are light enough on their feet when it comes to pushing / pulling, especially on concrete! :D

As the lads said, something with a few thousand hours on her would do for the mucking out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭invicta

Have a 20hp compact,with a homemade 5ft scraper.Ideal in cubicle passage,and cheaper and more reliable than any automatic scraper.The cows get used to it,after a few days and are never in the way.The tractor also is used with trailer, rotavator(3ft),chain harrow,and is a Godsend with a log splitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

invicta wrote: »
    Have a 20hp compact,with a homemade 5ft scraper.Ideal in cubicle passage,and cheaper and more reliable than any automatic scraper.The cows get used to it,after a few days and are never in the way.The tractor also is used with trailer, rotavator(3ft),chain harrow,and is a Godsend with a log splitter

What kind of tractor and price?

I'm actually on the way to buy a scraper tractor. Ford 4610 hate the thoughts of it but a Massey is stupid money for moving shyte. Will suit the Ford I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭invicta

Shibaura 320 bought 5 years ago for 2500yoyos. Fwd, one spool valve,on grass tyres. 1978 model came from Castletroy golf course originally.Apart from reg servicing never gives a bit of trouble(diesel froze in injector pipes winter11, but started as soon as thawed).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭eire-kp

Take a small dumper, remove the skip fit arms and mount the scraper on the front.
    You then have a cheap, reliable machine with a power shuttle, torque transmission, will push like crazy and most importantly designed to take dogs abuse from day one :pac:

if ya spend a couple of grand on a compact enough 2nd hand tractor youd get use of it around scraping yards in winter and then maybe bobbing hay or topping grass in the summer/spring. Just might come down to value 4 money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭J DEERE

Is there anyway a scraper could be mounted on a quad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

J DEERE wrote: »

There was a crowd, could have been quad x, were making one, it had a lump of box that went back under the quad and you hooked it to the tow ball at the back, then it just had a lever set up on the front to lift it, wouldn't think it would push a hole lot tho and would be hard on the quad trying to push reasonable amounts about.

On the compacts there's a big farm in Scotland run a kubota hydrostatic 4wd tractor on a yard scraper, they have it something like a year and it's racked up fair hours and sounds like it flys it, if you look around some of the other farming forums online you'll find it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

J DEERE wrote: »

Yes had one. A sure way to wreck a quad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Yeah, I would say spend your money on something like a ford 4600 or 4610. Power steering, q cab, puh, and everything else. Simple cheap,and reliable and can always be traded later. Wintertime on the scraper and can be used for small handy work in the summer like spraying or light trailer work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Anyone remember the 2 wheel yard scrapers, good workout

Yes had one. A sure way to wreck a quad

absolutely agree. quads arent designed for yard scraping. why wreck a decent quad for the sake of scapin the yard.

What about the likes of this?
    http://www.donedeal.ie/view/8070661
    New Holland TN55S

The super steer would leave her handy to get round tight yard, watched one working on a pitch one day cutting and couldn't get over how tight it could get around, the inside rear wheel would nearly be beside itself when you turn 180 if you get me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭GRASSorMUCK

Zr105 wrote: »
    There was a crowd, could have been quad x, were making one, it had a lump of box that went back under the quad and you hooked it to the tow ball at the back, then it just had a lever set up on the front to lift it, wouldn't think it would push a hole lot tho and would be hard on the quad trying to push reasonable amounts about.

On the compacts there's a big farm in Scotland run a kubota hydrostatic 4wd tractor on a yard scraper, they have it something like a year and it's racked up fair hours and sounds like it flys it, if you look around some of the other farming forums online you'll find it

TFF haha!
    That place seems pretty impressive by all accounts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Zr105 wrote: »
    What about the likes of this?
    http://www.donedeal.ie/view/8070661
    New Holland TN55S

The super steer would leave her handy to get round tight yard, watched one working on a pitch one day cutting and couldn't get over how tight it could get around, the inside rear wheel would nearly be beside itself when you turn 180 if you get me

10 grand is a lot for a scrapper tractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Farrell wrote: »
    Anyone remember the 2 wheel yard scrapers, good workout
    we had a blue one, i was as blue as the scraper after each time i used it, think its fooked in a ditch somewhere now:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

We borrowed one aswell from the local COOP years ago to try out. It went back to the COOP fairly quickly.:rolleyes:

TFF haha!
    That place seems pretty impressive by all accounts

Unreal spot! The mind boggles at the scale really! Everything done to a very impressive standard to!!
    10 grand is a lot for a scrapper tractor

Yep Totally agree but those compact kubutos aren't exactly being given away either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭tomieen jones

Just wondering did you get a compact tractor? Would like to know as i'm interested in the same idea! And a loader handy for cleaning old shedsI have with small entrances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Just wondering did you get a compact tractor? Would like to know as i'm interested in the same idea! And a loader handy for cleaning old shedsI have with small entrances

No I out wintered the cattle. Bought a 10ft if or Williams instead.