Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IFA boycott/strike

• 27-10-2014 9:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭

I see the strike is starting today and ending tomorrow at 3. I know something had to be done but this is a load of balls. Factories will be full of cattle tomorrow evening ready for slaughter Tuesday morning. Cattle were in short supply last week and weather is holding out. I predict prices will rise slightly because of this and not the strike and ifa will claim victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

viztopia wrote: »
    I see the strike is starting today and ending tomorrow at 3. I know something had to be done but this is a load of balls. Factories will be full of cattle tomorrow evening ready for slaughter Tuesday morning. Cattle were in short supply last week and weather is holding out. I predict prices will rise slightly because of this and not the strike and ifa will claim victory.

Sure between the factories and the ifa they have it rigged,will have neglible disruption to factories ,prices will rise which they were going to anyway,ifa claim credit And stay collecting their subs and factories back killing full whack again tomorrow evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

viztopia wrote: »

Nothing new there !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

A one day blockade. God help us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I cant find sympathy for some suckler farmers tbh. When ye see lads paying 2, 400e for incalf suckler heifers there obviously not doing there figures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Sorry, Eddie Punch says it's a beef price protest not a blockade.
    IFA -great bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

Does everyone know you don't have to pay the ifa levy when you kill cattle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Bank holiday blockade, Punch and Judy would do better. Comedy gold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Bank holiday blockade, Punch and Judy would do better. Comedy gold

Next blockade planned for "Fish Friday"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

I presume most of the comments here are not from beef finishers? I had a lengthy sometimes rather "warm" chat with the co. chair last week

I agree with op it's all a balls and something has to be done, can some body suggest an alternative ??? & I'll be gladly put it to the board for consideration

The Xmas kill is about to start and there is no sign of a lift

stores bought from last autumn onwards are certainly going to die in debt .. who's fault ?
    the finishers them selves are a lot to blame when buying , read my post in the beef crisis thread of my experience of trying to buy a few weanlings a couple of weeks ago

any how I won't be supporting the "protest" at this stage I have enough of tee shirts but I would dearly like to hear of alternative methods

I'm a member of ifa , don't always see eye to their views but please dont turn this into another bashing thread

we've had enough of that sh1t alrady from posters who usually add sfa to the discussion

orm0nd wrote: »
    I presume most of the comments here are not from beef finishers? I had a lengthy sometimes rather "warm" chat with the co. chair last week

I agree with op it's all a balls and something has to be done, can some body suggest an alternative ??? & I'll be gladly put it to the board for consideration

stores bought from last autumn onwards are certainly going to die in debt .. who's fault ?
    the finishers them selves are a lot to blame when buying , read my post in the beef crisis thread of my experience of trying to buy a few weanlings a couple of weeks ago

any how I won't be supporting the "protest" at this stage I have enough of tee shirts but I would dearly like to hear of alternative methods

I'm a member of ifa , don't always see eye to their views but please dont turn this into another bashing thread

we've had enough of that sh1t alrady from posters who usually add sfa to the discussion

Blockade any day it's not a bank holiday would be a good start.

Tell Minister that farmers are pulling support for Bord Bia. This is his pet and would put the ****s up him. Can't do that cause another organisation came up with idea

Blockade any day it's not a bank holiday would be a good start.

Tell Minister that farmers are pulling support for Bord Bia. This is his pet and would put the ****s up him. Can't do that cause another organisation came up with idea

is the other organisation making much progress ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

Why can't beef farmers look for a co op style factory? Works well for dairy farmers
    Also if they were going to strike why not do something meaningful and do it for a couple of weeks in the summer when the cattle are on the grass and cheaper to feed thus less strain on the farmers. Bring the cozey cartel to their knees

is the other organisation making much progress ?

No, lack of critical mass. IFA have the numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

I'll be going tomorrow, doing maize silage today. I don't have beef here anymore and I can guarantee that the majority of the protesters there will be dairy farmers. What hope of a co-op style meat factory being supported if a one day blockade will not get support.:confused:

Heading myself once cows are in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

I'll be going tomorrow, doing maize silage today. I don't have beef here anymore and I can guarantee that the majority of the protesters there will be dairy farmers. What hope of a co-op style meat factory being supported if a one day blockade will not get support.:confused:

Agreed, wouldn't be surprised if factories offered more to farmers to break the protest, if there's cattle in the lairage this evening, there'll be one less sheep farmer at the next protest.
    Also it's a protest, you won't see Ifa calling it any thing else......you wouldn't know what it'd be after

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Not in the beef game either but in going along too.I have a few buddies in it though and the returns lately have beeen shocking -price is one thing but the cutting of of off spec cattle is a realkiller I suppose larry adding the blackrock clinic to boi building last year is just rubbing our faces in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Are there any beef farmers going to these protests? Got my time from branch chairman a few minutes ago. There's a few beef farmers from the branch going but mainly dairy farmers. Many would have some beef enterprise but the main gig would be dairying with most phasing beef out as quota is going.

Just in from protest in nenagh,lot of talk as to what's the point of having it on a bank holiday Monday,they will be killing late tomorrow andcwednesday so no real production loss .a real typical ifa protest,lots of our older generation retired farmers there for the chat more than anything (no offence intended)the few big beef men I know in the area aren't supporting it and gone to show and fair in ballinaoe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

Sad situation in light of the English farmer crying on countryfile about barely breaking even on prices well about what we are taking.

Home now back at 10-12 shift tonight. Mostly dairy guys with retired guys making up balance.

All big finishers not there, too busy I suppose:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

Home now back at 10-12 shift tonight. Mostly dairy guys with retired guys making up balance.

On my way now. Lots if work done today. Don't agree with a lot about IFA, but will support them when I think their moving in the right direction. Bank holiday gives scope for "up the anti" at next step. All too little too late, but it's a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Sorry, Eddie Punch says it's a beef price protest not a blockade.
    IFA -great bunch of lads.

Do you mean Eddie Downey? Eddie Punch is with ICSA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭poor farmer

going tomorrow ,its a 24 hour protest

mahoney_j wrote: »
    .a real typical ifa protest,lots of our older generation retired farmers there for the chat more than anything (no offence intended)the few big beef men I know in the area aren't supporting it and gone to show and fair in ballinaoe

That's the reason I m not supporting this one , spent 2 of the coldest nights of the year in 2000 at nenagh and waterford while the beef men were snug at the fireside

was fined for blocking limerick earlier

was asked to arrange a 7 am crew for nenagh in the morn and told the chairman to stuff it

the few cattle i kill each year won't make me or break me but if some body comes up with a better course of action i will support it

was at a few marts lately and the country is awash with screws of overage holstein bullocks that should have been exported as calves in 12
    again the farmers blew out the exporters (just like they're doing with the weanlings now)

can't see any major improvement in the near future

That's the reason I m not supporting this one , spent 2 of the coldest nights of the year in 2000 at nenagh and waterford while the beef men were snug at the fireside

was fined for blocking limerick earlier

was asked to arrange a 7 am crew for nenagh in the morn and told the chairman to stuff it

the few cattle i kill each year won't make me or break me but if some body comes up with a better course of action i will support it

was at a few marts lately and the country is awash with screws of overage holstein bullocks that should have been exported as calves in 12
    again the farmers blew out the exporters (just like they're doing with the weanlings now)

can't see any major improvement in the near future

The reason a few of finishers I know of for not attending is that is an ifa protest.the ifa is in the pockets of the factories and don't want to upset the thing too much cause they pick a lot of subs up every year from factories.the protest will have little if any effect on factories,they will work late tomorrow and Wednesday and had record kills last 2 weeks. Price is going to rise anyway due to market but ifa will claim credit.i don't send anything to factory and this is what some beef finishers tell me.protest is a pointless exercise and merely a pat on the back exercise for the ifa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭huey1975

I am just home from Athleague where I was talking to a man that was jailed in 1967 for blocking the bridge on the shannon. There are no martyrs like that anymore or is it just a lack of leadership. I wonder how much time a man would get for burning one of Larry's factories to the ground?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

The reason a few of finishers I know of for not attending is that is an ifa protest.the ifa is in the pockets of the factories and don't want to upset the thing too much cause they pick a lot of subs up every year from factories.the protest will have little if any effect on factories,they will work late tomorrow and Wednesday and had record kills last 2 weeks. Price is going to rise anyway due to market but ifa will claim credit.i don't send anything to factory and this is what some beef finishers tell me.protest is a pointless exercise and merely a pat on the back exercise for the ifa

+1 the brother workes in Dawn and he knew he had tommorow off work last week. They killed annof last week to cover the day down this week. I'll go down for a while soon any way but it's sort of pointless.

just wondering why are yourself and frazzle supporting ?
    huey1975 wrote: »
    I am just home from Athleague where I was talking to a man that was jailed in 1967 for blocking the bridge on the shannon. There are no martyrs like that anymore or is it just a lack of leadership. I wonder how much time a man would get for burning one of Larry's factories to the ground?

my late uncle done jail as well , couldnt remember the year but knew it was the late 60's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

'Twas last June the protest should have been. Should never have dropped below 3.75 a kg. and Coveney should of been out long ago. I pay membership for myself. My wife and my mother and father. All of which will be finished with as of this year. Will also be cutting any levies from livestock sales from here on.

my late uncle done jail as well , couldnt remember the year but knew it was the late 60's

Doing it for 2 reasons
    1 to show a bit of solidarity to our fellow beef finishers,nothing to do with ifa or anything
    2 I was chairman of my local ifa branch for a few years(I was shoehorned into job)still involved with branch but just as a member and I'd be frowned upon if I didn't go.my views on ifa policy would be known though but branch is low on young members.im 35 and youngest.tbh I do little or nothing was asked to do a stint tonight but refused and was asked where I was going when I left at 4.15 to go home and milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Would it be a better idea be for the ifa and icsa to come out and say that no man/woman is to accept anything less than €4 or €4.2 base price or whatever they think we should be getting. Of course they will get cattle at less that this. Say they get 20k a week. They will have to start paying more for the other 15k and eventually prices will rise.
    The country is full of feeding at the minute. Holding cattle from the factories for a couple of weeks shouldn't be a problem. Crazy idea?? No more crazy that what the ifa are at at the minute.

Doing it for 2 reasons
    1 to show a bit of solidarity to our fellow beef finishers,nothing to do with ifa or anything
    2 I was chairman of my local ifa branch for a few years(I was shoehorned into job)still involved with branch but just as a member and I'd be frowned upon if I didn't go.my views on ifa policy would be known though but branch is low on young members.im 35 and youngest.tbh I do little or nothing was asked to do a stint tonight but refused and was asked where I was going when I left at 4.15 to go home and milk.

Plenty of solidarity at aibp waterford. At least 50 down here. Saw plenty of cars I knew heading away after their shift on my way in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

I might not agree with the way this protest has been conducted but at the very least it'll bring some media coverage on the issue. Twas just on the news there.
    Fair play to all attending anyway. Hope the night is kind to ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

Plenty of solidarity at aibp waterford. At least 50 down here. Saw plenty of cars I knew heading away after their shift on my way in.

freedom is is just a matter of turning up for a while? or what's the story there for tomorrow??

ellewood wrote: »
    freedom is is just a matter of turning up for a while? or what's the story there for tomorrow??

For this week they've given the job to the branches closest to waterford. If next week goes ahead they'll start working their way out. Roughly six hour shifts per branch. Plenty of lads here on their own initiative though starting to thin out a bit now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

no way will i go to that protest by the ifa on the factories.even if it was outside my farm gate i wouldn't go.a bit of publicity for the head boys again.it seems to me that the leadership did this as a last resort to quieten the membership.protesting outside lidl or other places instead of having the balls to protest outside larry's places was pointless.but since there are still some farmers paying levies they will not upset him.i am a dairy farmer and have no beef whatsoever,but i do work in a mart.beef farmers are responsible for paying way too much for the cattle they buy.and this year they are giving mad money for weanlings .last week i saw nice ch weanlings weighing 280kg making 850.e3.20 per kg.insanity.did the lad buying them do his sums.prob not.and if the factories do give a bit of a rise in the prices in the next month,lads will be climbing all over each other to buy cattle to finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Robson99

Waste of time protesting at the factories. If they are going to be protests then they would be better blockading the TDs going in and out of Leinster House

boggerman1 wrote: »
    .beef farmers are responsible for paying way too much for the cattle they buy.and this year they are giving mad money for weanlings .last week i saw nice ch weanlings weighing 280kg making 850.e3.20 per kg.insanity.

That's not mad money for a good weanling. The man that bred that animal won't have much outta him but he needs it If he's going to make any few pound or even break even he'd need that.
    I accept that the man who bought him will be under pressure to make any margin on him now, WHY? Were back to the factories again. That's what tonight's about. Lads can say IFA this and that and id properly agree with um but at least this is raising the profile of the issue. Public perception of this problem is very important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    That's not mad money for a good weanling. The man that bred that animal won't have much outta him but he needs it If he's going to make any few pound or even break even he'd need that.
    I accept that the man who bought him will be under pressure to make any margin on him now, WHY? Were back to the factories again. That's what tonight's about. Lads can say IFA this and that and id properly agree with um but at least this is raising the profile of the issue. Public perception of this problem is very important.
    At this stage of my life I reckon the older I get the less the general public gives a toss about perception concerning food. The majority (not everyone) only think about price.
    As I have stated on this forum before, I believe the IFA were remiss by not acting sooner. If they were serious about tackling prices they should have activated themselves in Feb/Mar of this year, however they decided to keep mum and allow the factories to reap the rewards and line their pockets on the backs of farmers and finishers, some of which have gone to the wall or are still in serious debt.
    I did not agree with targeting supermarkets but I suppose they were an easy target.
    I had a chat with 5 other farmers at my sons 21 on Saturday night and they thought that this protest was a publicity joke.
    Anyway I will not be attending for reasons stated above and also the fact that the party rolled over well into Monday morning :)

My reasons are simple like myself. I'm a member of IFA and I was asked. I played a lot of rugby in my time with several captains and coaches whom I didn't always agree with. Nevertheless I did as any member did and that's be part if the team.

I did it in solidarity with the other farming families in this area. Wheather we like it or not we are the backbone of the country. When the shyte hits the fan we're there through thick and thin. Like everyone here I can call on any neighbour day or night for a dig out.

I'm just home from my shift having already been in this afternoon. The beef guys there did genuinely appreciate our support.

I firmly believe that farming needs a strong voice and if nothing else this protest is showing that we're still here in numbers.

I'd urge anyone involved in farming to give a little time to it tomorrow, I'd say this will be happening next week again for a protracted period

The IFA have many failings this is true but by turning up a message is being sent that we have enough regardless of enterprise

We're farmers and country families only asking those buying our produce not to ride us, show your support member or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

My reasons are simple like myself. I'm a member of IFA and I was asked. I played a lot of rugby in my time with several captains and coaches whom I didn't always agree with. Nevertheless I did as any member did and that's be part if the team.

I did it in solidarity with the other farming families in this area. Wheather we like it or not we are the backbone of the country. When the shyte hits the fan we're there through thick and thin. Like everyone here I can call on any neighbour day or night for a dig out.

I'm just home from my shift having already been in this afternoon. The beef guys there did genuinely appreciate our support.

I firmly believe that farming needs a strong voice and if nothing else this protest is showing that we're still here in numbers.

I'd urge anyone involved in farming to give a little time to it tomorrow, I'd say this will be happening next week again for a protracted period

The IFA have many failings this is true but by turning up a message is being sent that we have enough regardless of enterprise

We're farmers and country families only asking those buying our produce not to ride us, show your support member or not.
    Good post Frazzled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

i would go if asked to but to be honest its awaste of time . the way to hit them is to block the ports aswell as blocking the factorys . that would force the govt to do alll they could to force the factories to rise the prices .

Twas a rough night for the lads and lassies on the protest. Twas interesting that this was staged the week of the beef forum. You'd like to think that the gloves might be coming off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

There should be a another organisation started up, Smth like the ifo (irish farmers organisation) or the iff (irish farmers force). Best of luck to ye lads protesting, I'm all with ye and hope ye get what your after. There is just to much political interference in the ifa for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Why can't we have a proper protest like they do in France I was there some years back and farmers drove tractors on all 3 lanes of the motorway in and out of every city on every motorway in the country around 15 tractors every five miles apart
    It lasted a few days and brought the country to a standstill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

I don't know how to add a link with tablet but if you search tractor strike France maybe someone could add a link or video
    Its more than a drive to Dublin on the slow lane

Thanks to all who supported......great success
    Especially to castle restaurant, Tyrrellspass and Gem Hardware Cloughan Offaly for the fantastic food they sent
    to us at kepak Kilbeggan:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

rangler1 wrote: »
    Thanks to all who supported......great success
    Especially to castle restaurant, Tyrrellspass and Gem Hardware Cloughan Offaly for the fantastic food they sent
    to us at kepak Kilbeggan:)

How much is the price up for tommorow?

mf240 wrote: »
    How much is the price up for tommorow?

,Don't know, lambs are up again........yippee :D