Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

NBA Regular Season 14/15

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Opie

The Hornets are a bit baffling this year. After having a top 6 defence last year, they bring in Lance, who should be a huge signing for them, in theory he brings offence, defense, energy, but it just hasnt happened for them. The big problem for me, apart from losing MKG's defence, is Josh McRoberts leaving and being replaced by Marvyn Williams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Although they shouldn't be doing this badly it's not that surprising that the Hornets are struggling. They have a massive gap of quality between the 2 and the 5. In fairness, they did try and sign Hayward, and he would be ideal there, but Marvyn Williams isn't good enough to be a starter in the NBA.

Kemba and Lance are both very talented guards but they are mediocre at best shooters from range. Two ball dominant guards need to be lights out if it's going to work.

Insider_stephenson_gr_576x411.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

padraig_f wrote: »
    The team played well apart from that. Mirotic is flying, exceeding my expectations. 15 points off the bench in 26 minutes last night. Thought he would take a season to get up to speed, but he's adapting very quickly. Will be a significant contributor to the team this season.

I've not seen anywhere near enough of him to form an opinion either way, but I saw these statistics today:

7b20c478b4cd655836e433b63854ac17.png

Extremely impressive.

Man, it sucks not being able to watch games as much as I used to :( Thankfully the Warriors game is on Saturday so I can see it :D and it should be a cracker!

On another note, the Bulls must be regretting not signing Butler up to whatever kind of discount they would have got him for in the offseason. Another poor decision by the front office in hindsight, though they got a steal in Pau by the looks of things.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Korrayls

Maybe not as bitter a rivalry as Lakers-Celtics, but think there will always be a bit of an edge in a Bulls-Celtics game.

Would help more if the Celtics were more competitive, but they always have a good crowd at the Garden.

Don't think the Celtics are as bad as their current record, and could sneak into an 8th seed. Wouldn't call it a big game but should be competitive. The Celtics have beaten the Bulls already this season, and while the Bulls won the 2nd game, it was close.

Are you thinking of going to the game?

yeah ill be over there on 16th Jan, got tickets the other day. any advice on boston? hopefully celtics can put a little run together over christmas to keep the hope alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,310 ✭✭✭padraig_f

Korrayls wrote: »
    yeah ill be over there on 16th Jan, got tickets the other day. any advice on boston? hopefully celtics can put a little run together over christmas to keep the hope alive.

Cool, should be a good game (haven't been to Boston myself).

Post a couple of pics of the game if you get the chance.

Paully D wrote: »
    I've not seen anywhere near enough of him to form an opinion either way, but I saw these statistics today:

Not surprised his PER has increased, he's played great lately. Also impressive that he's doing it off the bench, which I think is harder than starting.
    On another note, the Bulls must be regretting not signing Butler up to whatever kind of discount they would have got him for in the offseason. Another poor decision by the front office in hindsight, though they got a steal in Pau by the looks of things.

Yeah they'll regret it a bit, but it wasn't a big gamble as negotiations were close to the max. Think Butler's camp was at $14m and the team was at $11m. His max will be $15m so they lose a couple of million tops. I think they'll match any offer next summer because they'd be really light on the wing otherwise.

You have to give the FO some credit, I think they've put together a great roster now (best roster since Rose was drafted imo). Pau gives them a very nice balance between the front and back court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Anthony Davis is such a beast. I haven't seen such a dominant all round player in I don't know how long. The fact he's only 21 is frightening. If he stays injury free we're looking at one of the best players of all time. If he continues playing like this he's a shoe in for MVP regardless of how far the Pelicans go. He's the best in the league at the moment and it isn't even close. Steph Curry is very impressive too. GSW have such a good chance this year. Davis or Curry for MVP in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Hey kids,

Haven't posted in a while as I've been traveling. Delighted to see some of my pre-season predictions (look back if ye don't believe me!) are coming to fruition, particularly re. Davis and Golden State. The thread is pretty quiet though….wish Nuri would hurry up and create a new alias :D;)

So in the last few weeks I got to see Golden State (twice), Orlando, Miami, NY and Atlanta in the flesh. One of the real highlights for me was to get to the stadium early enough to see Steph Curry warm-up (not a typo) - those of you who know my form on posting will believe that, to the newbies, hello! Yes I am that much of a nerd. His warm up alone would tire some players.

Kinda strange season so far but very interesting nonetheless. Really interesting part of the league has been the depth of the MVP race. Normally it's boringly obvious, this year has a number of front runners which makes it quite interesting.

Looks like Melo will cost himself a chance at ever winning a title by taking the money and running (again as I predicted in the summer and way way back last year) but the real shame is he's likely going to cost a lot of Bulls players a real shot at it too.

The much-vaulted Rookie class though has been more than a bit of a disappointment. Maybe they're just coming out of school too early? The NBA really needs to look at this.

Was reading the posts on the plane tonight - they have wifi on Aer Lingus flights now and saw the to and fro on dirty players. Ah, you left out Kobe!

I couldn't find the clip but there's one of him on you tube somewhere soundtracked by Tupac's "B1tch" that's really good - as in you get to see him at his nastiest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭BQQ

Hey kids,

Haven't posted in a while as I've been traveling. Delighted to see some of my pre-season predictions (look back if ye don't believe me!) are coming to fruition, particularly re. Davis and Golden State. The thread is pretty quiet though….wish Nuri would hurry up and create a new alias :D;)

So in the last few weeks I got to see Golden State (twice), Orlando, Miami, NY and Atlanta in the flesh. One of the real highlights for me was to get to the stadium early enough to see Steph Curry warm-up (not a typo) - those of you who know my form on posting will believe that, to the newbies, hello! Yes I am that much of a nerd. His warm up alone would tire some players.

Kinda strange season so far but very interesting nonetheless. Really interesting part of the league has been the depth of the MVP race. Normally it's boringly obvious, this year has a number of front runners which makes it quite interesting.

Looks like Melo will cost himself a chance at ever winning a title by taking the money and running (again as I predicted in the summer and way way back last year) but the real shame is he's likely going to cost a lot of Bulls players a real shot at it too.

The much-vaulted Rookie class though has been more than a bit of a disappointment. Maybe they're just coming out of school too early? The NBA really needs to look at this.

Was reading the posts on the plane tonight - they have wifi on Aer Lingus flights now and saw the to and fro on dirty players. Ah, you left out Kobe!

I couldn't find the clip but there's one of him on you tube somewhere soundtracked by Tupac's "B1tch" that's really good - as in you get to see him at his nastiest.

We have a winner.

That one on Bibby . . . smh
    I remember watching that live. I was genuinely sick to my stomach. Not just with the elbow, but with the whole game, the whole series.
    I didn't watch basketball for years after that.

I can only imagine Moneyman's pain.

BQQ wrote: »
    We have a winner.

That one on Bibby . . . smh
    I remember watching that live. I was genuinely sick to my stomach. Not just with the elbow, but with the whole game, the whole series.
    I didn't watch basketball for years after that.

I can only imagine Moneyman's pain.

Oh the Kings got buttf**ked royally in that series. Biggest con job and worst and most biased refereeing in the history of Pro Sports across any sport, any series, period. I wrote extensively about this a few years back on here and someone (van't remember who exactly but I have my suspicions - lol :rolleyes:) was lauding it.

And guess who was reefing? Joey Crawford.

Crawford is an idiot. I don't think he's biased or crooked in any way, I just think he's outrageously bad.

Anything is liable to happen when he is in charge.

those videos really put kobe complaining about jaylen rose and Dahntay Jones injuring him into perspective i believe he said something along the lines of it was (or they where) a punk move and he would never do it

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Ugh an awful way for the Suns to lost last night to a buzzer beater to the Clippers. Blake Griffin got possibly the kindest bounce you'll ever see on a buzzer beater for the win. Still though, Dragic should have hit the rim with this shot with 5secs left.

Wiz and Celtics seemed a hell of a game.

NufcNavan wrote: »
    Wiz and Celtics seemed a hell of a game.

was a good one alright boston bench played most of the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭buyer95

Crawford is an idiot. I don't think he's biased or crooked in any way, I just think he's outrageously bad.

Anything is liable to happen when he is in charge.

You cant tell me this was not rigged, and Crawford hadn't a hand in it. What is most annoying about the whole thing is that Kings team was so quirky and so much fun to watch, Vlade, Webber, Bibby, Peja et al were amazing. That was the biggest screw job in American sports history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭ec18

Article

82gamess.com breakdown

I looked at this a while back and a lot of the media seem to fall on teh side of its was bad officiating not cheated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭BQQ

ec18 wrote: »
    Article

I looked at this a while back and a lot of the media seem to fall on teh side of its was bad officiating not cheated

Basically that article says that it's a million to one shot, but since there have been like a million nba games that technically it's possible.
    And all that is based on the assumption that the calls were all 50-50. . . They weren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,661 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Ugh an awful way for the Suns to lost last night to a buzzer beater to the Clippers. Blake Griffin got possibly the kindest bounce you'll ever see on a buzzer beater for the win. Still though, Dragic should have hit the rim with this shot with 5secs left.

Poxy bounce but he was on fire last night, 45 points...

ec18 wrote: »
    Article

82gamess.com breakdown

Forward to the 14 and 15 second mark for my honest reply to the above:

The Lakers got 1 million Free Throws in Game 6, followed by 2 million in Game 7 AFTER all of the Kings players were fouled out.

Obviously I'm exaggerating - but in the context of those games, it's not by much. Fo Real.

The biggest screw job in pro sports ever.

Google Mike Wilbon and Tony Kornheiser discussing it - that's 2 of the most respected sports journalists in the US talking about that series.

Poxy bounce but he was on fire last night, 45 points...

Flat as a pancake trajectory and gets a bounce like that? Crazy.

Yeah reminds me of my jumper minus the bounce.

BQQ wrote: »
    And all that is based on the assumption that the calls were all 50-50. . . They weren't.

Far from it. Watch the full Game 6 and Game 7 - they're on the web. You would be shocked at some of the calls. They're not just wrong, they're disgusting. One of those calls can cost you a game, there's over 5 (and that's being conservative) of them in EACH game.

And it's not just the calls themselves v points totals. I hate hearing people say oh they only lost by 1 or 2 at the end of the game etc. so that call doesn't matter. That's not the point. If you lose any player from your rotation for 5-10 minutes due to foul trouble that affects everything - your offense, defense, patterns, momentum, psychology etc. Lose 2, 3 and 4 players for big minutes in each of those games and you're seriously being handicapped due to BLATANTLY bad/biased officiating. Throw in the technicals given on top of those horrendous calls and that's 4-6 points swings on some occasions.

I've played at all levels in Ireland from National League to International. I've played National League in England. I've coached at National League Level in Ireland. I've passed all my refereeing exams up to FIBA Level. I've studied the game intrinsically and in depth for almost 30 years. I've watched thousands of games in that time. I have seen teams get screwed by bad officiating. I have seen teams get screwed with incompetent officiating. I have seen teams get screwed by "cheating" officials. But I have never seen a screw job like the Game 6 and 7 of that series. And it wasn't even a home town screw job - one of the games was in Sacramento.

Everyone knew it. Everyone in the building. The commentators. The players. The media. Everyone.

Edit - sorry, I quoted the wrong person! That's meant for the person who said it wasn't a screw job! EC18!

Looks like Brooklyn are giving up the ghost (for the moment anyway) by putting Lopez, Williams and Johnson on the trading block. It really hasn't worked for them, Williams has been a total bust, Johnson can still play but is the wrong side of 30, and it seems like Lopez is always injured. Have little sympathy for them though in trying to buy a title.

That said, having seen them play twice in the flesh last year, I'd roll the dice on Lopez. He can play. In the right situation, with the right coach and team mates, he could be a serious addition to any challenging team if they can keep him on the court. You can't teach size…and he is HUGE.

Johnson could similarly add something as a veteran to a lot of teams but you'll pay for the privilege.

I wouldn't touch Wiliams, his glass ankles, his "issues" (getting 2 coaches fired amongst them) and his max contract with a barge pole. He'll have real difficulty finding a team when you factor the last two in.

Looks like Brooklyn are giving up the ghost (for the moment anyway) by putting Lopez, Williams and Johnson on the trading block. It really hasn't worked for them, Williams has been a total bust, Johnson can still play but is the wrong side of 30, and it seems like Lopez is always injured. Have little sympathy for them though in trying to buy a title.

That said, having seen them play twice in the flesh last year, I'd roll the dice on Lopez. He can play. In the right situation, with the right coach and team mates, he could be a serious addition to any challenging team if they can keep him on the court. You can't teach size…and he is HUGE.

Johnson could similarly add something as a veteran to a lot of teams but you'll pay for the privilege.

I wouldn't touch Wiliams, his glass ankles, his "issues" (getting 2 coaches fired amongst them) and his max contract with a barge pole. He'll have real difficulty finding a team when you factor the last two in.

there in a really weird place they have to rebuild but they likely won't have their own draft pick until 2019 and this is likely the only year until then that they will have a first round pick at all so it will be interesting to see if they try to get picks for them (if they can for lopez at least) or if they try to trade for pieces strainght away. also who is going to trade for williams and johnson on those contracts

the one advantage they have is that they can attract free agents once they clear up cap space being a nyc team but i dont see how they will clear that space until next season at least

The Sixers would take his expiring for a draft pick or two.

They're already in for a sign and waive on Kirilenko apparently.

At this stage I'm going to get back in shape and try out for the sixers.

They're already in for a sign and waive on Kirilenko apparently.

At this stage I'm going to get back in shape and try out for the sixers.

Don't bother getting in shape would hinder your chances

Lol. :D

Lol. :D

not a joke :confused::D

Well I did win a jersey at NBA City in Orlando last week in a 3 point shooting game they had and two giant ass teddies in Universal Studios at another basketball stand so feck it, that alone will probably get me a trial!

:D:D:D:D

Well I did win a jersey at NBA City in Orlando last week in a 3 point shooting game they had and two giant ass teddies in Universal Studios at another basketball stand so feck it, that alone will probably get me a trial!

:D:D:D:D

you've your own jersey **** you can be a club captain

so most teams are at the quarter point of the season and theres not been a lot of chant here so lets go with the quarter point awards heres mine

mvp: anthony davis (won't win it because the pelicans are not a championship team but i dont care best player in the league by quite a bit steph curry or james harden are probably faves at the mo lebron will probably win)

defensive poty:again davis (again prob won't win so marc gasol maby)

6th man:: jamal crawford.... for a change

most improved: jimmy butler

rookie of the year: jabari (but k.j. mcdaniels is an animal who saw him comeing)

my teams mvp: jarred sullinger (if he keeps developing he's going to be an all star soon)

you've your own jersey **** you can be a club captain

The funny thing was the NBA City shop had stuff for pretty much every team for sale but I genuinely do not recall seeing a single Sixers thing there.

you'd hardly call the 6ers an nba team at the moment :D

iv said it before its hard to argue with what they are doing they are just working the system and they could be a fantastic team sooner than you would think but good god you just wish there was some way to punish them

And the meltdown in New York continues / begins

http://espn.go.com/new-york/nba/story/_/id/12008328/new-york-knicks-carmelo-anthony-heart-team-discord-sources-say
    The New York Knicks were en route to their fifth straight loss last week against Brooklyn when a frustrated Tim Hardaway Jr. screamed angrily, "Get the rebound!"

Certain his second-year teammate was speaking to him, Carmelo Anthony approached Hardaway on the way down the court and used an expletive to ask Hardaway who in the world he thought he was talking to.

Anthony, according to sources, used another expletive in telling Hardaway he was going to beat him up when they got into the locker room after the game.

That's special.

so most teams are at the quarter point of the season and theres not been a lot of chant here so lets go with the quarter point awards heres mine

mvp: anthony davis (won't win it because the pelicans are not a championship team but i dont care best player in the league by quite a bit steph curry or james harden are probably faves at the mo lebron will probably win)

defensive poty:again davis (again prob won't win so marc gasol maby)

6th man:: jamal crawford.... for a change

most improved: jimmy butler

rookie of the year: jabari (but k.j. mcdaniels is an animal who saw him comeing)

my teams mvp: jarred sullinger (if he keeps developing he's going to be an all star soon)

MVP: Anthony Davis has been the best player in the league but I'm a man of principles and don't believe that a guy playing on such a bad team should get this award. Toss up between Harden and Curry but I'll give Harden the edge only because Houston is 16-4, and Howard has been out for most of that.

Defensive: Andrew Bogut. Marc Gasol is playing out of his mind this year, but he has not been as good defensively this year as the last few.

6th man: Andre Iguidala has been a revelation coming off the bench, and has played a big role in The Dubs early success.

Most Improved Jimmy Butler. No argument here imo, he's made that next level leap.

ROY: Jabari Parker

My Team's MVP: LOL

Agree with the above minus Harden. Can't see someone who shoots barely above 40% getting the MVP.

On this day 9 years ago LeBron dropped 52 points. LeBron can't be in his prime indefinitely, enjoy it people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

And the meltdown in New York continues / begins

It never rains but it pours for the Knicks
    According to Frank Isola of the New York Daily News, Carmelo Anthony has been playing through soreness in his left knee for the majority of the season, and there is some fear within the organization that he may require surgery.

Anthony himself said on Wednesday that he'll probably have to miss some time due to the injury, and that he'd have to consult with coaches and trainers about the best course of action.

"At this point, it’s evaluating and seeing," Anthony said. "Some days are better than others. It’s a matter if I want to continue to play on it and the pain threshold."

Isola reports that in the event surgery is needed, it's believed that Anthony could postpone the procedure until after the season.

But premature as it may seem considering the season is only 23 games old, if Anthony does indeed require surgery - or at least an extended period of rest - now would likely be the best time to do it.

Oh and my selections:

MVP: Stephen Curry - Along with the fact of how well Kerr's system suits the Warriors and that so far this season, there's no-one better shooting wise than Curry. Dude has just been shooting the lights out in Oakland. Honorable mention to Anthony Davis as well

Defensive: Marc Gasol has up his game yet again this season, we could be season 2012 Marc Gasol here again

6th man: Iggy

Most Improved: Jimmy Butler. He's stepped up and up'd his game big time

ROY: Tbh, a fairly underwhelming draft class so far but Jabari's been excellent for the Bucks

My Team's MVP: Tough call this. Could equally make a case for Kyrie and K Love but it has to be LeBron

D2D wrote: »
    It never rains but it pours for the Knicks

Oh and my selections:

MVP: Stephen Curry - Along with the fact of how well Kerr's system suits the Warriors and that so far this season, there's no-one better shooting wise than Curry. Dude has just been shooting the lights out in Oakland. Honorable mention to Anthony Davis as well

Defensive: Marc Gasol has up his game yet again this season, we could be season 2012 Marc Gasol here again

6th man: Iggy

Most Improved: Jimmy Butler. He's stepped up and up'd his game big time

ROY: Tbh, a fairly underwhelming draft class so far but Jabari's been excellent for the Bucks

My Team's MVP: Tough call this. Could equally make a case for Kyrie and K Love but it has to be LeBron

I agree broadly with a lot of your points and see how you got there, but can you really make a case that Love has been the Cavs MVP thus far? Because I can't see how that argument could be made

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Maybe not because of the money, but you'd have to imagine a part of him really wishes he'd just gone to Chicago in the summer. I personally think it's hilarious, but hey - I'm not bitter :pac:

buyer95 wrote: »
    I agree broadly with a lot of your points and see how you got there, but can you really make a case that Love has been the Cavs MVP thus far? Because I can't see how that argument could be made

Yeah, I got a bit ahead of myself with K Love:o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

I'd agree with a lot of the selections but I'm going to say John Wall as MVP with an outside chance.

Cory Jefferson puts in his contender for worst 3 point attempt ever - https://vine.co/v/O6av7bAr2rZ

I'd agree with a lot of the selections but I'm going to say John Wall as MVP with an outside chance.

The hilarious thing is that if any of us regulars posted this we would be accused of trolling Dublin Red Devil, but you are obviously being genuine. While I disagree that he is in the running, he has been elite all star level amazing this year. Still funny though:pac:

Let the dismantling of the Nets begin. Woj is reporting that the Sixers will acquire Nets' Andrei Kirilenko, a 2020 second rounder, right to swap 2018 seconds and cash for Brandon Davies.

The thought is that the Nets will waive Davies (on a non-guaranteed contract) and save them on paying nearly $7 million on luxury tax and the salary of AK47 (roughly about $3 mil). On the Sixers side, they gain a pick and money and will more than likely waive Kirilenko (dealing with personal problems)

Good performance to beat the Nets last night. The fans weren't that happy with Rose's performance the previous game against Golden State, he was too passive, shooting 3s, driving to pass instead of driving to attack the rim. It has been a bit of a trend, and it just seemed against Golden State, it was the right team to attack with Curry not being the best defender. Even Thibs came out after the game and said 'Derrick needs to attack'.

Rose responded last night with one of his best performances of the season, very aggressive:

Comfortable win in the end. The Nets were without Joe Johnson, Lopez and Teletovic, so was a tall order for them. Actually thought they looked better coached than last year. They had the Bulls scouted well and brought the double-teams to Gasol and Butler in the post.

There was an impressive stat for Kevin Garnett, just the 4th player in NBA history to play 20 seasons. Can you name the other 3? (a Laker, a Celtic and a Hawk)
    Kareem, Robert Parish & Kevin Willis.

Oh jesus, it's starting again………

My response:

I suppose on one level, you're technically correct. He has an outside chance. But so does every player in the league by that logic.

There was an impressive stat for Kevin Garnett, just the 4th player in NBA history to play 20 seasons. Can you name the other 3? (a Laker, a Celtic and a Hawk)
    Kareem, Robert Parish & Kevin Willis.

Kareem, Robert Parish and Kevin Willis

What's my prize? :D