Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Found My Stolen bike..

• 15-10-2014 9:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

Bike stolen last week,,, Feck it was gone so I thought.

At weekend it turned up on a free ads website.. Great !

Reported to Guards, as there is something unique that makes me 100% sure its mine...

Explained my story to Guards etc and agreed yes more than likely that's your bike...GREAT!

That was Sunday, bike is in process of getting sold and not a thing I can do,,,,,,,,,

Guard wont do anything..keeps fobbing me off... When I ring Guards, oh "Frank" is out right now or "Frank" is on leave or "Frank" is off sick......... For fu*ks sake. ( Frank is not his name)

I'm sure this is a common occurrence.. what to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

Had a colleague in same situation. He organised with the seller to buy the bike, arranged the payment and the meeting. The Gardai then agreed to be part of the sting operation when all of this was set up - but not before.

The guy got his bike back - Gardai nabbed the seller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 JamesKdub1

Ahh I'm too late it looks to be sold.. For F8cks sake...

so sickening that these scum bags can do this and not a thing I can do apart from pretend to buy it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Save the ad is the first thing you should do. Then make a complaint to GSOC about yer man fobbing you off and ignoring your report, no wonder the guards get such a bad name when you have incompetent idiots like that employed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭hairyman

Too bad the bike the bike is gone.
    Guards should be ashamed of themselves.

Personally, I would have arranged the meeting with the thieving b@stards.

Then I would of informed the Guards, mentioning time, location etc, etc.

And of course the fact that you were planning to murder the so called thieves.

See how fast our local constabulary gets up off their arse then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭futonic

Can you figure out who the buyer was? It's still your bike, the are in receipt of stolen goods and also in the wrong. The reason people steal bikes, is because there are people willing to buy them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

JamesKdub1 wrote: »
    Bike stolen last week,,, Feck it was gone so I thought.

At weekend it turned up on a free ads website.. Great !

Reported to Guards, as there is something unique that makes me 100% sure its mine...

Explained my story to Guards etc and agreed yes more than likely that's your bike...GREAT!

That was Sunday, bike is in process of getting sold and not a thing I can do,,,,,,,,,

Guard wont do anything..keeps fobbing me off... When I ring Guards, oh "Frank" is out right now or "Frank" is on leave or "Frank" is off sick......... For fu*ks sake. ( Frank is not his name)

I'm sure this is a common occurrence.. what to do?

"I am reporting a crime. If you are not going to investigate it can I speak to someone who will?"

There's too much of this Franks busy and Bill has the lumbago. I'd be a feckin nuisance and insist on speaking to the Inspector.

If all that fails maybe some of you lads would come and visit me in pokey ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 JamesKdub1

I agree with what all you guys have said..

I actually have found the guys Name and mobile ( from another ad where he was selling stuff, of course could be fake)

Rang the guards last night with this new information and he said "Frank" is now off until next week and this is his case and no one else will investigate.

OK,, So I said, I will go over to the guys house and take it back... and he goes "don't do that", I just said what option do I have... and he just repeated "don't do that"

So I have submitted a complaint via the the gardaombudsman website

I have also contacted the AD site to see if they can help.

Most people I chat to about this (friends/work etc) say just walk away at this stage.

futonic is right, the person buying it must know that 200 euro for a 600 euro bike is too good to be true..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

JamesKdub1 wrote: »
    I agree with what all you guys have said..

I actually have found the guys Name and mobile ( from another ad where he was selling stuff, of course could be fake)

Rang the guards last night with this new information and he said "Frank" is now off until next week and this is his case and no one else will investigate..

That is absolute horse****. Frank may be the investigating officer but that doesn't mean no one else can intervene in the meantime. You should have gotten that guards name as he is as much at fault as frank in fact more as frank cant hekp that he's off duty and not in a position to do anything till he returns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Zippe

Hey,
    There looks to be more and more of it going on every week,I got caught myself buying a 11speed dura-ace group-set and mavic cosmic wheels for my son off a guy on d***deal, paid him for all the stuff and never got the stuff, I reported the add to them and they did not bother to remove it, he has prob got a lot of others with his add, I've bought and sold lots of bits and still got caught, there is a lot of new guys getting into cycling and looking for good value bikes and there are some very good deals where lads got a bike and never got the cycling bug and end up just selling them off again, cycling looks to be what there turning too now and there finding new ways all the time......

Cheers zip,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Xpro

what website was that if you dont mind telling us please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭ckeego

Xpro wrote: »

Or even better, the guys name and number...Baseball bat at the ready:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

ckeego wrote: »
    Or even better, the guys name and number...Baseball bat at the ready:mad:

Yeah...definitely do not post anything identifying the person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Moved to main forum, adverts is for buying and selling only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,900 ✭✭✭✭ted1

You should have gone to look at it. I'm sure you'd have a few volunteers to go with you when IT comes to meeting up

Xpro wrote: »

I'm sure it wouldn't be too difficult to spot the dodgey ones. Same contact details selling new bikes all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

I know it's not what you want to hear it. Why didn't buy it back for a quarter of what it was worth? I know you probably did want to fund some thief. But someone was going to buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

hfallada wrote: »
    I know it's not what you want to hear it. Why didn't buy it back for a quarter of what it was worth? I know you probably did want to fund some thief. But someone was going to buy it.

Please.......

I think what I'd have done was arranged to meet seller, rang guards before hand and tell them assistance was needed in a theft . When all party's were present take the bike and tell guard it's ok , forward the file paperwork to frank , he'll know all about it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭mamax

You guys have it all wrong :)

Arrange to view the bike, a test spin is a must, then just cycle it home :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Yeah I'd have contacted the gardai, if they weren't willing/able to do anything immediately I'd have gotten some mates and gone to meet the seller. (not to do anything bad, just have the mates hang back to make sure I don't get into trouble once I made it clear I was taking my bike back).

To me, getting the bike back would be of more concern than having the chap arrested. Unlucky either way OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Really there should be a small specialist garda team assigned to solving bike theft. Then you wouldn't have the Frank problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

Mountain Bike and road bike stolen from a House I was staying at, in Dublin, 2-3 years ago. Stole on a Friday evening. The bikes turned up 3 days later for sale on Done D I think. . First I arranged with seller to buy the bikes. Told him I was definitely interested , and had cash straight up and would meet asap. I then contacted the Gardai. Gardai then stood in, and met the seller , and arrested the lad(s). Underage lads so their parents homes were visited and inspected for stolen goods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Really there should be a small specialist garda team assigned to solving bike theft. Then you wouldn't have the Frank problem.
    The same could be argued for all types of crime. Unfortunately you'd then create massive inefficiency because it would be impossible to load-balance across all of these different teams.