Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

High pass rate of interview

• 13-10-2014 11:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭

I know about 7 lads who done Interviews for the Guards and all passed bar one. Not all would have put in a huge amount of prep either and some of them only had leaving certs. This is not to take anything away from them, fair play to all who passed, its a great achievement. I have just one question however.

Is the pass rate very high?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭jwt22

If the interview was the first stage and a lot of people are passing, then I would say yes.
    But interview was Stage 4. At that point, we already had multiple aptitude tests completed, a couple of scenario questionnaires, personality assessment plus the report writing. Anybody who got to interview is going to have a good chance of passing based on their previous performance. The interview (in my opinion) is to put a face to the name, see if the personality matches the paperwork, see what kind of person you are, how you think on your feet, etc.
    Plus this group is the top 600-1200 in the competition.
    The fact the people you know only had Leaving Certificate has nothing to do with it, that's the educational requirement needed so that's fine.
    That's my 2 cents anyway and personally I'm extremely proud of reaching Stage 5 and I would hate to think it was because they were passing people for the sake of it.