Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

C license test in finglas

• 12-10-2014 7:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14

hi. I'm new on here. I have my rigid truck test in finglas Tuesday week. just wondering if anyone done their truck test in finglas and if so what's it like. is the route hard, what were the testers like. is the test hard. I started my lessons back in may. im really nervous over this test. thanks any advice really appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

johnpd82 wrote: »
    hi. I'm new on here. I have my rigid truck test in finglas Tuesday week. just wondering if anyone done their truck test in finglas and if so what's it like. is the route hard, what were the testers like. is the test hard. I started my lessons back in may. im really nervous over this test. thanks any advice really appreciated

I passed the rigid back in 2010 in finglas. Im not gonna bullsh*t you it is a tricky test op. You'll usually be brought into the office for the licence check, rotr questions etc....

Then its out to the truck for the show n tell, then you be asked to do both a left and right reverse in the designated reversing bay.

Then its onto the road for the practical which I think lasts about an hour so theres more chance to be marked than the car or motorbike test.

Youll be taken to the back of Dublin Airport which if I can remember is 80km so make sure to do the speed! He's checking to see how confident you are at the limit, instinct tells you drive around 60-70 as it feels safer but you'll be marked for progress on the straight.

I was taken to northside shopping centre and around Ballymun so you will encounter plenty of junctions, roundabouts, traffic lights etc....

Just make sure you dont block any entrances/exits even if a yellow box junction is not present. They want to see you're a courteous driver especially because you're driving a large truck! Also when driving on tight roads and are close to pedestrians reduce your speed and check you left mirrors but make it obvious to the examiner. That was something my instructor taught me and it worked wonders in the test.

Oh and make sure you wear a high vis vest and boots if possible. Looking the part also looks like you're taking the test serious.

Anything else just ask!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Try and get a few lessons in the area before the test. I did EC and D there. There are a few junctions on the route that if you haven't done before can be tricky. The good bit is they have the reverse section off road so you don't have to look out for traffic.

No need for high viz or safety boots, you've not going onto a site, they are testing your ability to drive not what you wear.

Del2005 wrote: »

No need for high viz or safety boots, you've not going onto a site, they are testing your ability to drive not what you wear.

Id disagee with that one Del, my instructor told me to look the part but again its up to the Op. All im saying is that it looks better than wearing a tshirt and runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 johnpd82

thanks for replys and tips.I have done a few lessons around the general finglas area. as I said I started my lessons back in may. no experience before in rigid lorrys. I have done 7. 2hour lessons . my main concern is the testers. when I'm doing my lessons I'm grand with just the instructor. its the silence in the lorry while the test is on that I think I will struggle . its been 15 years since my car test. I'm still not 100% when I'm making left or right turns. I still have a tendency to turn as if I'm driving a car. ie I forget the size of the lorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Faith+1 wrote: »
    Id disagee with that one Del, my instructor told me to look the part but again its up to the Op. All im saying is that it looks better than wearing a tshirt and runners.

I passed all my tests in T-Shirt and runners. The test is of your ability to control the vehicle, so if you make a mistake controlling the vehicle the tester won't let it pass as you are wearing a vizzy vest they will mark you down and vice versa if you prove that you can control the vehicle they won't fail you for not having PPE.

The only test where you need PPE is the motorcycle test, all the others it's optional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

I passed my C test in 2003 (in Naas) and my C+E in 2014 (in Athlone, using rigid + trailer as opposed to artic). My advise is to get in plenty of practice on the test routes....and learn off the rules of the road / theory test questions to cover any questions you may be asked prior to the test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Hopefully you won't get the female tester that works up there, she failed me unfairly (imo) first time around.

Del2005 wrote: »
    I passed all my tests in T-Shirt and runners. The test is of your ability to control the vehicle, so if you make a mistake controlling the vehicle the tester won't let it pass as you are wearing a vizzy vest they will mark you down and vice versa if you prove that you can control the vehicle they won't fail you for not having PPE.

The only test where you need PPE is the motorcycle test, all the others it's optional.

I never said that an examiner would let a mistake slide because he'd be wearing high viz gear, so I have no idea what your talking about with that statement??

All im saying is that I was told by my instructor to look the part. If the op decides to take the advice than its up to him. As for the Motorcycle test the only PPE gear you have to wear by law is a helmet yet you wouldnt see too many guys/gals wearing runners and trackies come test day even though they are only being marked on performance. I passed my bike test btw.

Apperance makes a big difference in my book. But each to their own mate.

did nerves get the better of yous on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

I found reversing the 'wagon-and-drag' "challenging";) ...other than that I enjoyed the test!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭donkey balls

johnpd82 wrote: »
    did nerves get the better of yous on the day.

When doing one of your lessons with the instructor get him/her to say nothing what so ever during the test unless you are going do something really stupid,I use to do this while flying planes and when doing the tanker test it gives you confidence for the actual test.
    And I hate the f**king silence I'm a real chatterbox most days.

When doing one of your lessons with the instructor get him/her to say nothing what so ever during the test unless you are going do something really stupid,I use to do this while flying planes and when doing the tanker test it gives you confidence for the actual test.
    And I hate the f**king silence I'm a real chatterbox most days.

You never cease to surprise me DonkeyBalls!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭donkey balls

I'm a man of many talents Faith as some would say and master of none :D If ever I was to tell people my qualifications and the things that I worked at and done they would never believe me.

yeah I'm a real chatterbox myself . I can't stop talking. the fact that its been nearly 15 years since I done my car test. that's why I am do nervous. especially after investing a lot of money on the theory. lessons. CPC theory and case studies + hire of truck. I can't honestly afford to fail the test . thanks for everyone for the tips