Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hilltex, Chevtex?

• 11-10-2014 1:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭

I wouldn't be very familiar with Texels, but are they routinely crossed onto Cheviot ewes? Lads over this side do like to put Texel rams onto Blackface ewes to get the Hilltex, so is there a Chevtex? Pros, cons, usual craic on a postcard :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭serfspup

put cheviot ewes not being bred pure to a texel ,get a useful ewe, but would not be as saleable as the suffolk cross. getting the right texel can be hard.
    a cheviot on texel ewes works well (easier lambed)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Hill ewes are the only type ewe I can run, so would have to be a Cheviot ewe to begin with.

Do you mean the Borris ewe when you say Suffolk cross? AFAIK that's a Chev ram on Suffolk ewes.

Just kicking ideas around for the future.

the 'borris ewe' is a suffolk ram on a cheviot ewe but like that some lads would use a cheviot ram on 3/4 suffolk ewes .

serfspup wrote: »
    the 'borris ewe' is a suffolk ram on a cheviot ewe but like that some lads would use a cheviot ram on 3/4 suffolk ewes .

That's what I thought originally but after talking to a few lads they seemed to be of the opinion twas a Chev ram on Suffolk ewes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

I've a small few cheviot texel crosses, about 3 or 4 sheep. (Not enough to give a definite answer). Their only hoggets but I found them to be good mothers. The texel in them quitens them a bit as well.
    I also have a batch of hilltex ewes. I find them to be that bit quieter again. You can get some nice speckled sheep out of that cross
    Either way , you could get a texel ram for handy money and give it a go.

serfspup wrote: »

Seems you're right, which is all the better for me :D

http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/news/donegal-news/top-sheep-on-show-in-stranorlar-1-2007863

http://www.farmersjournal.ie/farmer-writes-which-is-the-superior-ewe-the-tullow-borris-or-mule-163565/

Have a doubt that a lleyn on cheviot ewes might produce a better ewe than a texel probably lighter but more prolific and easier lambed.
    like blackies there is a lot of variation in cheviots,a blue faced Leicester on narrow wicklow ewes doesnt work the same as on a thick low north country type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Ard_MC

Hilltex for me, super sheep and can stand her own on the hill after weaning for the summer.

Con,
    Would you consider a blue faced Leicester for your blackface ewes ? Would give you lovely mules ( provided you would keep blue face alive)

Con,
    Would you consider a blue faced Leicester for your blackface ewes ? Would give you lovely mules ( provided you would keep blue face alive)

No, I hate the sight of them yokes :D

Fair enough, texel might suit you then. Decent ewe lambs out of them and the ram lambs would put on flesh a bit easier for you.

When I am allowed to increase my numbers I reckon I'll be buying in some cheviots and a suffolk ram now.