Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you re-seed now?

• 10-10-2014 8:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭

Hi Lads,

I was asked to re-seed 18 acres of rough ground. It is boggy but has has alot of drainage done. I would be more inclined to leave it to march say as if it does turn wet and cold the seed would just sit in the ground. But the land owner wants it done.

What would ye do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

cormywormy wrote: »
    Hi Lads,

I was asked to re-seed 18 acres of rough ground. It is boggy but has has alot of drainage done. I would be more inclined to leave it to march say as if it does turn wet and cold the seed would just sit in the ground. But the land owner wants it done.

What would ye do?

Leave it, def too late now, especially in wet natured ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭ford 5600

cormywormy wrote: »
    Hi Lads,

What would ye do?

Leave it to settle for the winter. It's to late now on any ground. Sowed a small paddock myself 17 days ago, barely a sign of anything yet, while a field I sowed on sept 6th was up in 8 days. Grass seed is 70 odd a bag now. He will be a sadder man next March looking at the botch job that has cost him the thick end of 3 grand if you do go ahead, than if you leave it and let him sow it in good conditions then . He is going to be looking at it for a good while ,do it right once. Land is gone back a show in the last week, doubt if you could work on it anyway.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Gone too late, but could he have a problem about no green cover if iykwim?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

Leave it now , prepare for spring . have all the necessary material ready

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

I leave it until spring green cover is the issue. Years ago you could have planted rye and or vetch however these are now too expensive. A ver low rate of Italian rye grass maybe with some vetch and oats if you can get it cheap enough. Just broadcast and roll in. 18 acres is a lot to gamble with green cover however if not in a tillage area and not by a main road you might get away with it.

If not I be looking at a cheap green cover option. Italian seed can be cheap enough with oats and vetch, 4kgs of rye grass, 15-20of oats and vetch if you can come accross it 10kgs of vetch(have no idea of price or even if you can get it). Just broadcast it, roll it in and give it 2K gallons of slurry if you have it. It should give you two-three grazings for March/april. Spray it off and reseed. the oats and rye grass should cost no more than 20-25/acre. Vetch is similar to clover in that it fixes N. Not sure how palatable it is.

All you need is a green cover so you can sow at a low enough rate. Putting some rape in the mix may be an option however you will need to keep it grazed down in the spring as if it flowers you cannot graze.

westerworlds would be an option as well.