Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fenders - Raceblade v Roadracer MK2

• 09-10-2014 11:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭

Anyone is using any of these mudguards ? I'm about to pull a trigger on Raceblades but seen the Roadracer MK2 which seems like they would do better job than the SKS's - although some people complain that the installation is bit of a pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

The installation is a pain but I'd much rather ride with Cruds than Race blades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I have the MkII road racers on my winter bike. They're very neat and do an excellent job at keeping road spray of me and the bike. Fitting is relatively simple just bin the instructions that come with them and watch the tutorial on YouTube. It took me roughly 40 minutes to fit and adjust them. They sit perfectly with no rubbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭omri

Are the raceblades detachable from the mounts on the bike ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

I have mk2 cruds on one bike and long raceblades on another. I wasn't too impressed with the cruds initially, but I hadn't used the small brush like fittings that help keep the guards off of the wheels. I have fitted them now, and think they do a good job. The long raceblades are a little fiddly to initially fit as there are brackets to mount under the brake caliper bolts, but once this is done, you can remove and fit the guards in seconds. Also, there is no contact points on the frame, so no paint damage can occur. The stays are fitted to metal brackets that sit on the skewers, so an added bit of messing if you puncture, but nothing too difficult to worry about.
    I like both systems but would edge towards the long raceblades for their quick removal/fit and no frame contact

Are the long raceblades called Longboard or Raceblades XL ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

omri wrote: »
    Anyone is using any of these mudguards ? I'm about to pull a trigger on Raceblades but seen the Roadracer MK2 which seems like they would do better job than the SKS's - although some people complain that the installation is bit of a pain.
    Why would you care if the installation takes 20 or 40 minutes? Do you do that every day or looking for the best set for your bike to cover the mileage? Seriously, that should play very little part when choosing a set.

Anyway, I use Cruds, on my third or fourth set already. They are great, but they do wear and need to be replaced regularly (say every 10k km or so) and that is the thing I would say I do not like about them, but all bits do wear, so just be prepared (I carry spares for the set just in case).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Buchaill_Mor

I use Cruds and are very happy with them. Easy to get on and off. I like the thicker wrap around section at the bottom that keeps crap out of the chain ring. When storing the bike with the front wheel off you do need to remove the section at the back before the wheel comes off, but that is easily done. Don't know how long they would last if your locking to a public bike rack as they are just strong enough to do the job of keeping spray away. They are easy to adjust but could come with more spare bolts and multi use tie wraps. I have mine 2 years and years and use the one on the back a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Are the long raceblades called Longboard or Raceblades XL ?

XL are for use with wide tyres, and are a partial mudguard only. They'll keep water of your back and feet but not your calipers, chainset.

Very easy to clip on/off.

If you run 23/25 get a full mudguard.

I run 28 on front in winter so chose them plus 5 second removal is handy. Your bike won't like them though so get a full mudguard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

I've used Roadracer mk1 & mk2, Raceblade Long's and Raceblades.

The Cruds give the best coverage but once they're on you don't want to have to remove them. So if you need to transport your bike by car they're no good. Don't come off quickly, don't come off easily, and will take some time to set up again. They're also extremely light so it doesn't take much in the way of carelessness to snap some of the longer extensions off.

I went through two sets of Raceblade Longs last winter. Both broke at exactly the same point - where the rear mudguard clips onto the bracket at the rear brake. I had the first replaced under warranty by SKS but I didn't bother to even chase the second one. Threw them in the bin. Good coverage also, but not to Crud levels. Once you've the brackets on the bike you can clip them on/off in seconds.

Trying a set of regular Raceblades now. Worst overall coverage of the lot but once they keep heavy water off the feet and spray out of the eyes of those behind I can deal with wiping the bike down more regularly. Again, only seconds to remove and refit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

I've also used all three; crud's, raceblade longs and raceblades.

Crud's are fiddly, flimsy and require time to fit and remove. Offer excellent coverage. Require occasional adjustment to prevent rubbing. Couldn't pay me to use these again. Did not like them.

Raceblade longs require time to fit and remove. Offer excellent coverage.

Raceblades are easy to fit and remove, and don't move a lot. Offer good coverage, but less than the other two. I use these as I train through the winter on my race bike (with different wheels).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

I used to have short raceblades but changed them in favour of the Crud Mk2. As above, great coverage but I have managed to break various parts from time to time between foot strike on the front guard, my sons enthusiastically flinging their schoolbags (or each other) down the stairs and knocking off the rear extension and one memorable spin where I rolled over a small branch on the road which promptly jumped up and shattered my front guard. That said, crud do have a replacement parts service with most parts costing around GBP6.50 shipped.

Pretty happy with them in spite of this. They keep me dry even in the worst of conditions.

Seweryn wrote: »
    Why would you care if the installation takes 20 or 40 minutes? Do you do that every day or looking for the best set for your bike to cover the mileage? Seriously, that should play very little part when choosing a set.

Giving it more thought I keep the bike in the living room overnight, during the day it sits on a sheltered balcony as we have a "moving baby". With childcare/work arrangements if I manage to get into a cycling routine I would be giving the bike weekly quick clean on a rest day. So I guess after wet cycle in the morning I will be giving the bike quick wipe before moving it through the living room to balcony - so I presume that with fixed fenders it will be hard to avoid dirty drips.

Can any one link the raceblades long version?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Puggy

I've mostly used the Cruds mk2, and I leave them on the bike all year round, I have 23c gatorskins. As someone said, ignore the instructions and look at the youtube video. Some people find them impossible to fit, and hate them. I find they give great coverage, and keep the chain ring, chain and my feet clean and dry.

They are not really designed to take on/off easily, so if you don't have a bike rack for transportation, they tend to get damaged easily. They also degrade over a year, and become brittle. They can get in the way when working on the bike. They also self destruct if you get caught up in any road debris. I cycled over a fan belt, left in the bus lane, and it got stuck in both wheels and snapped off the rear mudguard.

I did try no mudguards for a couple of months, and the silence/smoothness (all mudguards make noise, over rough terrain) of the bike was wonderful. However, when it rained I got destroyed with water and filth from the road, as did my bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭fiacha

My Langster has very little clearance and the only mudguards I could get to fit with 25mm tyres are the Giant Defy Road fenders. Full size and easy install. I'll be leaving them on all Winter.

I've had chestnuts, sticks and various road crud make it through the fenders without any damage or drama. Very happy with them so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

I've had chestnuts,

Your tyres must be super grippy :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

If you get the SKS raceblades, make sure you get the clear sticky gel like things for under the mudguard attachments.
    The first pair I bought didn't have them and they scratched the paintwork from my frame (little bits of stone etc get between the mudguard attachment and frame and eat away at the paintwork).

I have a pair on 2 bikes and will probably buy a third pair for my third bike, so I do really like them for their ease of removal in seconds.

Alek wrote: »
    Your tyres must be super grippy :eek:

Bounced up into the wheel and got spat out from under the fender. It's throw large objects into chestnut trees month in the Phoenix Park, so you never know when one will come whizzing your way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I have a mudguard connected onto the seat post of my road bike that does the job at the rear. This is the one I have http://www.reidcycles.com.au/reid-rear-seat-post-mount-mudguard.html I don't have a mudguard at the front. Is there really any big advantage in getting one of these crud mudguard at the back as the idea of a mudguard is to protect your back from mud and muck etc. I don't have guard on the front so I would need one to keep crap from the road spraying onto my face.

billyhead wrote: »
    the idea of a mudguard is to protect your back from mud and muck etc.

Larger mudguard will also stop you spraying all that onto the people behind you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭slap/dash

fiacha wrote: »
    Larger mudguard will also stop you spraying all that onto the people behind you :)

And will help minimise slurry on your frame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

From reading the bargains thread.... do people also downgrade the wheels on their road bikes over winter? Is winter bad for a "good" set of wheels?

I'm having difficulty getting off my road bike and back onto the hybrid :/

On topic, I just stuck one of those Aldi "handy on/off" rear MTB mudguards onto my road bike. Seems to do a good job keeping my ass/back dry but does look stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Can any one link the raceblades long version?

http://www.bike-discount.de/en/buy/raceblade-long-silver-49783?currency=6&delivery_country=172&gclid=COC5jsLUo8ECFRHHtAodcl4ArQ

http://www.amazon.co.uk/SKS-Race-Blade-Long-Mudguard/dp/B00DOF2SIU/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1412998921&sr=8-3&keywords=raceblade+long
    There are black and silver versions available - and there is a company in UK that can supply replacement fitting brackets for when one snaps (recently happened to me - SJS cycles 2.99 for a kit + postage)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

I dont have much clearance above my tyre on either front or back, should I rule one or other out with that in mind?

i think the fitting instructions for the race blades say you need to be able to fit a 4mm allen key between the tyre and top of fork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

i think the fitting instructions for the race blades say you need to be able to fit a 4mm allen key between the tyre and top of fork.

Yeah I read that bit didn't see a similar comment for the other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Yeah I read that bit didn't see a similar comment for the other

Cruds work with very little clearance as they sit so close to the wheel/tyre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

I fitted a set of Raceblade Longs last winter but the quick release catches (grey, x 4 ) are a weak point and so too is the spring loaded piece that these connect into on the 'guard itself. I've broken two of the catches when the mudguard rattled loose and lost one of these.For this winter, I've bodged a repair with wing-nuts....................:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭transylman

Anyone else find that the plastic screws on the Cruds tend to work themselves loose on long rides? You can't tighten them too much or you will break the plastic threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Puggy

transylman wrote: »
    Anyone else find that the plastic screws on the Cruds tend to work themselves loose on long rides? You can't tighten them too much or you will break the plastic threads.

Yes, I generally check them every week or two. Usually when I check tyre pressure etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭irishrover99

My Langster has very little clearance and the only mudguards I could get to fit with 25mm tyres are the Giant Defy Road fenders. Full size and easy install. I'll be leaving them on all Winter.

I've had chestnuts, sticks and various road crud make it through the fenders without any damage or drama. Very happy with them so far.

where did you buy your defy fenders and how much. i use my defy as the winter bike but have fitted 28mm conti touring tyres as they give good puncture protection.
    cheers

transylman wrote: »

Try putting a small drop of nail varnish on the threads. Won't stop you removing them when you want, but should stop them vibrating loose.

where did you buy your defy fenders and how much. i use my defy as the winter bike but have fitted 28mm conti touring tyres as they give good puncture protection.
    cheers

The Giant Store on the Long Mile Road. I think they were €30. The lads in the shop are sound, and should be able to tell you what size tyre will fit with the fender installed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭irishrover99

The Giant Store on the Long Mile Road. I think they were €30. The lads in the shop are sound, and should be able to tell you what size tyre will fit with the fender installed.

was just in with them,they are good guys alright and told me that they wont fit with the 28mm tyres, only other option is the SKS that dont cover the full wheel. 45 euro there with fitting but might have a look see if i can get the cheaper online and fit them myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Very happy with SKS Raceblades. Initial mounting is fiddly as triggermortis said. But once on, you are laughing. Pretty solid on rickety roads of rural Clare and easy on-off is important with our changeable weather.

Felt price was steep when I bought them but they really improve ride satisfaction over the winter so worth it. If only others in my morning group ride got them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭dfdream

Anyone try these from Halfords.

They are just released.

http://www.halfords.com/cycling/accessories/mudguards/halfords-essentials-road-mudguard

I had a 20€ voucher and bought a set for road bike...

Will let ye know what they are like...