Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - See Mod Warning in OP, 09/11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

We were profligate in front of goal again. That game should have been way more comfortable at the end. Much has been made of our injury hit defence, but our attackers need to pull the finger out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

RobertKK wrote: »

Remember before the start of the season, and the claims in the papers that Fellaini was not a LVG type player and he would be sold.
    Well, that was rubbish...

I think Fellaini was gone to Napoli if he didn't suffer that foot injury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Blatter wrote: »

Maybe, maybe not, never know now and we are lucky to have him right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

Unreal some of the stuff being posted here. Feillaini spent the second half out on the right where he contributed nothing - not to talk of the neck holding cop out for the equaliser. RVP had a decent first half but surely he and not Wilson should have gone in the second? And why bring Falcao on in the 78th minute? The only impression I get is they don't want him to make an impression and are willing to wear the loan cost and let him go.
    We were playing Stoke at home - and before people start saying we won - which we did - it was down to 2 great De Gea saves and Ashley Young on the line to win it. Miracle we got a point but yeah, some of ye keep on believing whatever ye see through those toes tinted glasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Blatter wrote: »

Thank God for injuries :P but we had enough now...

kstand wrote: »
    Unreal some of the stuff being posted here. Feillaini spent the second half out on the right where he contributed nothing - not to talk of the neck holding cop out for the equaliser. RVP had a decent first half but surely he and not Wilson should have gone in the second? And why bring Falcao on in the 78th minute? The only impression I get is they don't want him to make an impression and are willing to wear the loan cost and let him go.
    We were playing Stoke at home - and before people start saying we won - which we did - it was down to 2 great De Gea saves and Ashley Young on the line to win it. Miracle we got a point but yeah, some of ye keep on believing whatever ye see through those toes tinted glasses.[/QUOTE]

I believe we won, and we all know there is a lot of room for improvement, and we are only a toe away from Southampton, but we will see how tomorrow goes, a loss for them might be good for us as it may affect their confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,340 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I thought we deserved the 3 points over the 90 minutes.

Heart stopping at end, but its not like DDG had anything much do all day.

We looked comfortable for most part but we failed to kill off the game and its that which nearly cost us.

I like the way we are keeping the ball. We are also mixing it up much more which is also pleasing.

We were nothing special but I thought it was a very solid performance and its was enjoyable(ish) bar injury time.

The high fives at end of game is great to see too. The team looks very together and that's very pleasing.

Fellaini is doing one huge thing for us too in breaking up play when opposition attack. It was a major problem last season and even start of current one but his small toe pokes might seem little but they give that extra 2 to 3 seconds to get team organised again. Teams counter attacked far too easily in past.

This is nothing like last season for number of reasons now. May it continue.

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

kstand wrote: »
    We were playing Stoke at home - and before people start saying we won - which we did - it was down to 2 great De Gea saves and Ashley Young on the line to win it. Miracle we got a point but yeah, some of ye keep on believing whatever ye see through those toes tinted glasses.

686624b124626083ecc635056db69f3240a06e6f9f4504e7b25fb16d9244bb6d.jpg

I think Herrera just said 'Tomorrow we will enjoy Christmas dinner'.

I hope Diouf scores in his next game, he deserves to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

I love the way Fellainis hair sticks out from behind the twitter scrolll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I do enjoy reading the tweets after the matches. Once they treat twitter like they talk to the press, im happy

https://twitter.com/marcosrojo5/status/539911301632647168

"Great difficult game but we got the three points with my friend juanmatagarcia"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭jaykay74

B34jlKtIAAEPoiP.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,930 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

B34nvVhCYAAi-Xe.png

Mata won man of the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

So good to see team unity with the squad...much more happy faces in training and game day compared to sulking Rio and others last season...

23AE09F200000578-0-image-95_1417555332226.jpg

Here's my fact of the day :)

Night folks!

ui59MoVl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Heart stopping stuff at the end and hail De Gea!

2 points saved by Young, last season that would have went in...

23AE3BD900000578-2857899-image-111_1417556955990.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I don't want to be tooo optimistic, but Southampton play Arsenal tomorrow and us on Monday.

This time next week we might be in 3rd place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,271 ✭✭✭paulbok

I don't want to be tooo optimistic, but Southampton play Arsenal tomorrow and us on Monday.

This time next week we might be in 3rd place.

That is the next step alright, then we'll look at 2nd. I think December could make or break us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,340 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

December broke us last season, hopefully different this one.

EVENFLOW

24qsbhP.png?1

December broke us last season, hopefully different this one.
    Could very well define our season this year too - some though fixtures ahead but with lads returning from injury we have to be hopeful -

35n4vbs.png

The next 5 games, are very winnable. actually until the end of january, a lot of them are very winnable. We could be in a very good place in 2nd or third if it goes our way.
    Liverpool, spurs, southampton being the hard ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

irishfeen wrote: »
    2 points saved by Young, last season that would have went in...

23AE3BD900000578-2857899-image-111_1417556955990.jpg

Ya,Young would have probably ended up scoring an OG

Some one lock that wheel and stop it from turning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭n32

Some finish to the game. A bit of luck going our way for a change. De gea is unnaturally good at close range saves and has to be up there with neuer. Fair play to young and valencia. They get a lot if stick but when we re stuck they will slot in anywhere and do a job for us. Young especially was fantastic tonight. Smalling and rojo looks like a parternership with real potential. What they have over jonny evans is a an aggressive streak. Great to see fellaini continuing his good form, did great breaking up play and taking balls on the chest. Heading in thr right direction but we need rooney badly. He sets the tempo when he s on his game and gives us so much more than an ordinary striker