Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lidl car stuff Thursday 9th October

• 02-10-2014 9:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭

lidl car offers

Usual stuff really.
    -Some oil there although it is only the heavier stuff at 15w40 and 10w40.
    -Torque wrench and battery charger look good.
    -I think ill pick up one of the 3 in 1 cigarette lighter 12v adapters.
    -Axle stands you couldn't go wrong for 12 quid.

-The jump leads look sh!t to me the cable looks very light although it doesn't say the cross sectional area I have 25mm square halfords one that are good. But then again I suppose they'd be better than having no jump leads.

-Cigarette lighter compressor Is useful looking too I have one and there handy enough.

Torque wrench any good? Could do with my own one. Used to be able to borrow one from my old job whenever I needed it. Time to invest in one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Torque wrench maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,978 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Torque wrench any good? [...]
    Yup.

Have one, bought last year. Does exactly what says on the tin. :)

joujoujou wrote: »
    Yup.

Good enough for me! Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Yup.

What torque range does it serve?

Unregistered Users

AFAIR 40-160Nm.

I'll check tomorrow and let you know if you want.

Anyone ever try the wiper blades? :P

Oh ya, their version of swarfega (heavy duty hand cleaner) is great stuff.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Will that torque wrench help a skinny feebleton get nuts off a flat tyre?

And is it universal?

Might buy it for the OH

Unregistered Users

Stheno wrote: »
    Just a bit. Better buy long breaker's bar, or this.
    And is it universal? [...]
    Universal in terms of what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭jeffk

Anyone ever try the wiper blades? :P

Had the older sets on my last car and they where grand,have aldi ones on herselfs car and work grand.

Id have them on this car(toytoa corolla) now but for some strange reason none of the three fittings on the aldi or lidl ones work. But they are grand for taking them back if they don't,even try and fit them in the car-park to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭DubVelo

CiniO wrote: »

From the Deutschland website it's 28-210 Nm.

jeffk wrote: »
    Had the older sets on my last car and they where grand,have aldi ones on herselfs car and work grand.

Id have them on this car(toytoa corolla) now but for some strange reason none of the three fittings on the aldi or lidl ones work. But they are grand for taking them back if they don't,even try and fit them in the car-park to be sure.

Might chance them. Without a doubt I'll have the rubbers destroyed once we start getting a bit of frost. I've an awful habit of leaving the wiper stalk in the on position the night before frosty mornings.

There no chancing as such,I had them and got a set of Bosch fitted in the north and them both do the same and end up with the mist that sometimes happens with the rain. The worse than happens is theyll jutter at motorway speeds or be noisy id say

Get the windscreen cover thing,put that under the blades and if you will just push that off the windscreen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭DubVelo

And is it universal?

Might buy it for the OH

NO!
    It's not meant for that. It's for doing final tightening up of bolts (including wheel bolts) to a specific tightness so you don't strip the screw threads or they don't come loose.

As above, breaker bar or the other thingy is what you want. You just need a bit of leverage.

Get the windscreen cover thing,put that under the blades and if you will just push that off the windscreen.

I have one. Used twice on my old car (never used on current car) and its been in the shed since. Another awful habit I have is buying stuff from lidl, using it a few times and it ends up in the shed. Have a welder for the past year that's never left the box!

Try it and see if that helps or buy a bottle of deicer and spray that before starting the car.

I think the women call that impulse shopping ;)

Try it and see if that helps or buy a bottle of deicer and spray that before starting the car.

I think the women call that impulse shopping ;)

I'll weld something someday! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Torque wrench any good? Could do with my own one. Used to be able to borrow one from my old job whenever I needed it. Time to invest in one
    It's fine. The ratchet mechanism is very coarse, so if you are limited in your movement you may find that you can't move it back far enough to engage the ratchet to go forward again.
    If you get what I mean.
    I imagine an expensive one would have a better ratchet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I have the trolley jack and have used it a few times on my car at home. It's great value for money.

bazz26 wrote: »
    I have the trolley jack and have used it a few times on my car at home. It's great value for money.

I have that too but its about 5 years old. I'm starting to lose faith in it to be honest. Its getting a bit "creeky" and doesn't seem as sturdy as it used to be. Served me well but its time to replace it

And is it universal?

Might buy it for the OH
    Get the extendible yoke joujoujou linked to. Aldi/lidl sometimes have them on offer cheaper. Halfords do them too.
    The extendible ones are pretty much universal afaik- the socket at the end is reversible - if one side doesn't work try the other...

tbh, I got one for herself and it was only deadweight, I replaced it with a can of goo and a mini compressor.

It's fine. The ratchet mechanism is very coarse, so if you are limited in your movement you may find that you can't move it back far enough to engage the ratchet to go forward again.
    If you get what I mean.
    I imagine an expensive one would have a better ratchet.

I understand what you mean alright. For €18 I'm not expecting a whole lot. Just a few minor jobs here and there

Yeah, if you've used a pro one and seen the price of them you'll be happen with that one for 18!

I've two of those windscreen yokes, of course we both have frameless windows so I just don't like using them*. I think one might be wrapped around the hot water tank insulation as a feeble attempt to make use of it.

I'll be getting the 5w40 oil as an emergency topup. Have the stands and the jack, they've done me fine, although stands were a little short for a previous SUV/softroader. EDIT - I see this years jack has an adapter for extra height for all those SUV yummy mummies...

Handscrub will be coming too. Handier than making oily wreck of the washing up bottle and the bag of sugar.

*maybe I'm just thick but I've been using those flaps at the side tucked between the door and the A-pillar to stop the cover blowing in the wind - is that right or was I doing it wrong???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

€7.99 is pricey for screenwash, is it a massive bottle?

5L - probably dilute to 10 easily and still be overkill unless we get one of those really cold winters we had 3-4 years ago.
    Post contains speculation...

Yeah, if you've used a pro one and seen the price of them you'll be happen with that one for 18!

I've two of those windscreen yokes, of course we both have frameless windows so I just don't like using them*. I think one might be wrapped around the hot water tank insulation as a feeble attempt to make use of it.

I'll be getting the 5w40 oil as an emergency topup. Have the stands and the jack, they've done me fine, although stands were a little short for a previous SUV/softroader.

Handscrub will be coming too. Handier than making oily wreck of the washing up bottle and the bag of sugar.

*maybe I'm just thick but I've been using those flaps at the side tucked between the door and the A-pillar to stop the cover blowing in the wind - is that right or was I doing it wrong???
    The ones in work that I used to borrow were proper pro ones. Calibrated regularly etc. I'm an industrial sparks by trade so every single nut and bolt was torqued properly.

The hand scrub is great stuff. Get a few tubs if you can.

I used to have the wipers stopped half way up the windscreen to hold the windscreen cover on for the one or two times I've used it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

I'm pretty sure almost every man in Ireland in is a similar situation.

The hand scrub is great stuff. Get a few tubs if you can.
    Last tub disappeared somehow, maybe I shoulda made oily wreck in the kitchen a few times to illustrate the advantages of proper hand scrub...
    I used to have the wipers stopped half way up the windscreen to hold the windscreen cover on for the one or two times I've used it.
    :o Game. Changer. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

bazz26 wrote: »

+1 on this and the axle stands !! have mine with a long time might get another just in case :)

any of the w5 sprays any good ? rust,silicone engine cleaner ones ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Just a mention on the silicone spray, lots of people use it on rubber seals like around the boot lid and door jambs. Something I wasn't aware of is BMW state to not use silicone spray anywhere near rubber seals as it could damage them and/or make them noisy.

Counter-intuitive to what I would have thought, but it's in the manuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I think it's the winter one which can withstand temperatures of down to -25 deg or lower.

In that case 7.99 is a good price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I got torque wrench in aldi a few years back. Great bit of gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Fully synthetic oil @ €5 per litre is excellent. Search "Lidl synthetic oil" on this forum for more.

Or click here and browse back.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Just a mention on the silicone spray, lots of people use it on rubber seals like around the boot lid and door jambs. Something I wasn't aware of is BMW state to not use silicone spray anywhere near rubber seals as it could damage them and/or make them noisy.

I bet bmw's next line is get a can of bmw approved lube at your nearest dealer:p which is probably the same thing :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

The bulb sets are great value. I'll be getting another set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Bpmull wrote: »
    lidl car offers

Usual stuff really.
    -Some oil there although it is only the heavier stuff at 15w40 and 10w40.
    There's some 5W40 there as well (next to the screenwash in the ad).

Rubber and nylon lubricant is the only thing for rubber seals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

That handwash is serious stuff :D gona clear out the local place thursday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

I don't like those axel stands, the weight wobbles on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Great stuff! The Primera and the CLK will be getting an oil change :)

Might get the hand cleaner too, I'm almost out.

Unregistered Users

CiniO wrote: »
    AFAIR 40-160Nm.

I'll check tomorrow and let you know if you want.

Checked.

42-210 Nm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

For the price you'll not find better
    even if you just used it for wheel nuts its worth having

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

nd wrote: »
    The bulb sets are great value. I'll be getting another set.

There a good little set alright I have a set in the back of the car handy to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,190 ✭✭✭cletus

As my local garage has started charging for air, I've been thinking about getting the mini compressor, wondering if anybody who has one could tell me if the dial is accurate (i.e. is 32psi actually 32psi) and given the size, will it be pumping for 45 mins to inflate 2psi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

cletus wrote: »
    As my local garage has started charging for air, I've been thinking about getting the mini compressor, wondering if anybody who has one could tell me if the dial is accurate (i.e. is 32psi actually 32psi) and given the size, will it be pumping for 45 mins to inflate 2psi
    Not that one, but have two in the boot. Should re-inflate a flat tyre (which has a slow puncture...) to 30psi in 10-15 minutes. Do not run it continuously for this time, as it may well burn out. 5 minutes at a time is what I do.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Bpmull wrote: »
    lidl car offers

-The jump leads look sh!t to me the cable looks very light although it doesn't say the cross sectional area I have 25mm square halfords one that are good. But then again I suppose they'd be better than having no jump leads.

Actually those jump leads are perfect, they're made from Aluminum, which is a fantastic conductor of electricity and lighter than copper. Hence the 'lighter' looking appearance.

Unregistered Users

ardle1 wrote: »
    Actually those jump leads are perfect, they're made from Aluminum, which is a fantastic conductor of electricity [...]

:eek: Tell me you're joking.

59% the conductivity of copper only. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

:eek: Tell me you're joking.

59% the conductivity of copper only. :P

It's also substantially cheaper than copper. Not only the cabling but the clips at the end of the jump leads look flimsy enough. They'd be fine for jumping a yaris and a micra or something like that. But I wouldn't like to hook them up to large vans, or land cruisers or something like that you'd generate a fair bit of heat. The halfords ones I have are 25mm square copper I recon there 16 mm square but even if there 25mm square aluminium then there still going to be fairly inferior to copper ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭*Kol*

cletus wrote: »

I would buy a decent foot pump rather than use a mini compressor. It would be much quicker for a start.