The Ray D'Arcy Thread - v 2.0 **Please read post no 1 before posting**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭HooohRaaah

I wonder if Ray would treat BOD differently if he knew he was born and bred on the northside of Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

neris wrote: »
    Pat Kenny or Sean ORourke at that time of the day

Pat Kenny has half the listenership that D'Arcy does. IIRC he was around 120k mark last book.

The gap between D'Arcy and O'Rourke has narrowed since Kenny split the audience.

BOD probably has more of a rapport with D'Arcy through past experience on the show, and I would suggest Today FM's demographic fits nicely into the audience BOD is aiming for with his book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

PIORUN wrote: »
    who wrote this book Ray or Bod.....he's literally finishing his sentences!

Finishing them! He was friggin starting them. BOD was about to tell how he first met Amy when Darcy butts in, "No no, let me tell the story", ffs.
    When the montage was played, he had to comment how he could see a tear in BODs eye,
    Didn't know he made a show of himself again by crying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

I think D'Arcy takes himself a bit too seriously. All we hear about is the good things his kids do, the fact that he runs so much, and all this other stuff from his personal life being shoe-horned into conversations. I mean who puts that on a daily radio show so often and believes the nation will be interested? It isn't a show about Ray D'Arcy after all.

He always sticks the knife into easy options aswell, like the church, or Enda Kenny. Im no Kenny fan, but the way he angles against him every single time is just tiresome. D'Arcy is the guy who stated live on air that he would leave the country if Kenny was voted in after all, and when it happened he simply brushed it off and continued to be critical. So to be talking about him not standing over what he says, for me, just undermines this façade he likes to display about being disillusioned with the mentality of politicians. If he can go back on his word then how can he be so critical of others doing it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Great show this week, some good guests thanks to all these books coming out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭wiseoldelf34

Did he mention anything about eggs today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭nc6000

Did he mention anything about eggs today?

A rugby ball could be considered egg-shaped and he did spend about an hour talking to Brian O'Driscoll about rugby etc, does this count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭wiseoldelf34

How much would he be on a year ?
    Would he be onas much as tubbers .
    Or more in the rick oshea bracket whatever that is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭nc6000

How much would he be on a year ?
    Would he be onas much as tubbers .
    Or more in the rick oshea bracket whatever that is

I would have thought he is on about €200,000+ a year no problem and has been for quite a few years now. If you consider he was also on a very good salary since his early days in RTE then he must be very comfortable. Add in the salary Jenny would have been on as a producer in Today FM and they must be pretty loaded in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,846 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

He usually drives me bonkers when he's interviewing someone but I actually enjoyed the BOD interview today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭johnire

IMO it was a shambles of an interview.
    The guy has no interview skills or technique or indeed just common courtesy. It was a jaw dropping moment when he interrupted BOD who was beginning to tell the story of his and Amy's first meeting. Darcy just said ....no let me tell them. It was unbelievable.
    Then I found that he jumped from one part of BODs career to another to his personal life without properly finishing the previous point.

He usually drives me bonkers when he's interviewing someone but I actually enjoyed the BOD interview today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,646 ✭✭✭baldbear

A sperm donor story and Hozier. Well well well.
    Its like groundhog day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

baldbear wrote: »
    A sperm donor story and Hozier. Well well well.
    Its like groundhog day.

And now 3 first time marathon runners. FFS like. Who cares?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Jesus ****ing Christ. RUNNING MARATHONS again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,646 ✭✭✭baldbear

Hozier-Poalo natini type repetive play every day for months on end.Conception problems, a death - illness story, sugar rant, abortion, the church, running,rugby talk, childhood jobs milk run, clothes shop.etc an interesting interview he then balls up.

That sets up the show for me. I feel like Victor Meldrew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭nicedryturf

crazygeryy wrote: »

Is he taking the piss? Seriously? Again with the running?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

"Do you do gels" what does that mean? Gels for breakfast, must be a running thing. Kate will be giving out jaffa cakes on Roebuck road to the runners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,114 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I'm prepared to take brick bats here, but I have to say I'm not one bit impressed by this Johnny Paradise chap who has donated a living kidney to an anonymous recipient in his 50's.

I can understand the show wanting to have him on to promote it as an option but the tone of this guy's storytelling is that he is setting himself up for the glory and painting himself as a superhero. A true altruistic act would remain modest and also anonymous, if only to respect the recipient. This guy is not at all modest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,129 ✭✭✭✭neris

"Do you do gels" what does that mean? Gels for breakfast, must be a running thing. Kate will be giving out jaffa cakes on Roebuck road to the runners

Precious little Kate wouldnt be let near a Jaffa Cake. Their covered in Chocolate and full of sugar. Imagine some of that evil sugar could seep in through her pores then what would Ray do with the devil child. Ray will have her handing out porridge bars with an egg on top

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

"What part do you play in it?"
    "I am not in it"
    "Oh, ok, what height are ya?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

PIORUN wrote: »
    Darcy got all welled up reading a letter that BODs Da wrote to BOD

I don't really like Ray either (especially the eating on-air...drives me mad!!!) but this was Brian that teared up over the letter. I listened back to this interview and it was definitely BOD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Surprised no one picked up on them talking about the Lunsters in the BOD interview yesterday. Wasn't Ray an ardent Lunster during Munster's glory years back when Leinster weren't up to much?

Also does anyone else remember Ray constantly giving out about George Lee and the like during the boom for their grim (correct) predictions of the housing bubble? He used to say things like 'it must be awful for them that they just can't be happy and enjoy the good times'.
    Saying all that, I did enjoy the BOD interview and still think it's the best option in the mornings. It's just a shame that it's not close to how brilliant it used to be. I never wanted to miss a minute of it back in the day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 145 ✭✭SameDiff

He's the real-life Alan Partridge. In the last two days he's asked Ben "The Stig" Collins if he was chosen as the stunt driver for a bond film because he looked like Daniel Craig, to which Collins replied "no, because of my driving, really".

Today he's asked a wheelchair-bound marathon participant if he stops on Roebuck Hill, would he roll back down.

And just now he told a Musical Theatre Director and Actor that he "finds it hard to sit through a musical",

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

SameDiff wrote: »
    He's the real-life Alan Partridge.

Wasn't his stag a cinema trip to see Alan Partridge?! His mates obviously think the same as you!

I laughed at the Stig line...cringe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

baldbear wrote: »
    Hozier-Poalo natin type repetive play every day for months on end.Conception problems, a death - illness story, sugar rant, abortion, the church, running,rugby talk, childhood jobs milk run, clothes shop.etc an interesting interview he then balls up.

That sets up the show for me. I feel like Victor Meldrew

The tag line on the website for the show is "the most fun you can have on a midweek morning " or something to that effect! It's a toss up between that and maybe killing puppies, every other day it's someone who is recently bereaved or going through a life altering illness. Pure depression stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭jenggg

crazygeryy wrote: »

I turned straight over to Newstalk when this started. Listening to 3 people I don't know talk about running-yawn!! No offence to them but.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

No wonder why Mairead decided to run a marathon of her own, away from this knob. At least she can eat as much chocolate as she likes without matron Ray looking disapprovingly at her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

jenggg wrote: »
    I turned straight over to Newstalk when this started. Listening to 3 people I don't know talk about running-yawn!! No offence to them but.......

Why don't radio producers understand this? Everybody at this stage knows somebody who has either run a marathon or is training for one. It's boring enough listening to people I actually care about talking about this. Why would I want to hear 3 randomers going on about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,879 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i tuned out months ago....has the girls departure had any affect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

i tuned out months ago....has the girls departure had any affect?

I think it has, and unbelievably I think the show has actually worsened.