The Ray D'Arcy Thread - v 2.0 **Please read post no 1 before posting**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Garda Patrol Update- ladies watch lost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Exactly what I was thinking! They spent a night out arguing about it and then came home and emailed Ray about it. FFS? They never thought to do a bit of googling on the aul computer/phone
    while emailing Ray? Sad

They are made for each other, and when they have a baby they will text Raymond telling him how sad they are after leaving it in the creche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

"Guess which sports star is in me head?"

It gets better every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Typer Monkey

OK call me sad but I just googled 'boo to a goose' and one of the first results is a yahoo question 'Is it boo to a goose or boo to a ghost?' complete with 4 answers saying its goose. Honestly how could anyone think it would make good radio?

I'll stop now I promise :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭chuckles30

This is the most annoying competition idea.....it's always a disaster.....who ever thought it would make good radio??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Doctor Strange

chuckles30 wrote: »
    This is the most annoying competition idea.....it's always a disaster.....who ever thought it would make good radio??

I'll give you a hint: He's obscenely over paid for doing his job mediocrely, and his name starts with "Ray" and ends with "D'Arcy".

I know, I know...Its Joe Duffy :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Aw, jaysus. I give up.

Go on tell us...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,129 ✭✭✭✭neris

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    "Guess which sports star is in me head?"

It gets better every day.

was the answer brian odriscoll by any chance

neris wrote: »
    was the answer brian odriscoll by any chance

No, but his was the first guess..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Next weeks, it is going to a game of....

"Guess what's in my pocket"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

Wills hand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭wiseoldelf34

me communion money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Two Tone from Limehouse

me communion money

This morning he was talking about the lady time Ireland played Germany, stating that the score was 6-1. He then repeated this. Idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

This morning he was talking about the lady time Ireland played Germany, stating that the score was 6-1. He then repeated this. Idiot.

Took me a while! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭whavin

Jebus! just tune to another station, I know some people don't have a choice because they're in work but have you listened to other stations recently. One's hosted by ex boyband members as an example or drive time on the same station, I've tuned off that station altogether after years of listening. A man in his 40's ranting on whats trending on twitter or getting a celebrity "journalist" in for a chat to tell the nation that Kim Kardashian is now one of the lucky few to order 10 ply toilet roll compared to us minions getting 3 ply, brain cells committing suicide the longer it goes on. There's rarely a dj out there that suits everyone's taste but as long as the music isn't regurgitated crap from the last 9 months charts, day in day out, I'm happy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,229 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

whavin wrote: »
    Jebus! just tune to another station, I know some people don't have a choice because they're in work but have you listened to other stations recently. One's hosted by ex boyband members as an example or drive time on the same station, I've tuned off that station altogether after years of listening. A man in his 40's ranting on whats trending on twitter or getting a celebrity "journalist" in for a chat to tell the nation that Kim Kardashian is now one of the lucky few to order 10 ply toilet roll compared to us minions getting 3 ply, brain cells committing suicide the longer it goes on. There's rarely a dj out there that suits everyone's taste but as long as the music isn't regurgitated crap from the last 9 months charts, day in day out, I'm happy enough.

Shows such as Ray Darcy are a fantastic advert for Spotify Premium, make the switch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭wiseoldelf34

rays not the worst in fairness .sure he might hate his job who doesn't .
    change the channel if he irks everyone .
    and so what if he ia getting paid more than us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭nicedryturf

rays not the worst in fairness .sure he might hate his job who doesn't .
    change the channel if he irks everyone .
    and so what if he ia getting paid more than us

I can't change the channel. This crap is piped into our office. I actually try to be out on the road in the mornings to avoid this horses**t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Joe Duffy..

Yer wan that plays Janet in Love Hate must sleep in the Today fm studio, on again today. Every couple of weeks at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

Heard that bit and also last week when there was a bit on sex toys. D'Arcy always sounds like a auld perv in a really awkward way when talking about sex and BJs

Anybody listening today, Ray got to interview Ronan O Gara about food and his children's eating habits with some rugby thrown in!!! Did everyone get that?? All that was missing was porridge, I'm surprised Ray wasn't like Meg Ryan in when Harry met Sally on the radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

Anybody listening today, Ray got to interview Ronan O Gara about food and his children's eating habits with some rugby thrown in!!! Did everyone get that?? All that was missing was porridge, I'm surprised Ray wasn't like Meg Ryan in when Harry met Sally on the radio.

Absolutely no disrespect intended to the family involved or anyone else who's been in the situation but the second the interview with the couple who lost their son in the crash came on I changed over. It's the first day off I've had in an age where I didn't have to go anywhere, I was cleaning my room and I just couldn't deal with that this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭harney

6781 wrote: »
    Heard that bit and also last week when there was a bit on sex toys. D'Arcy always sounds like a auld perv in a really awkward way when talking about sex and BJs

Not as awkward as when he suggested a listener later on should get one of the sex toys for her long distance relationship (or something like that). At least he admitted to going red for even starting to suggest it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭harney

I can't change the channel. This crap is piped into our office. I actually try to be out on the road in the mornings to avoid this horses**t

Secretly report them for no radio license and see how long D'Arcy is kept on if they don't actually have one and suddenly have to pay for the pleasure :)

http://www.imro.ie/music-users/imro-tariffs/

ivytwine wrote: »
    Absolutely no disrespect intended to the family involved or anyone else who's been in the situation but the second the interview with the couple who lost their son in the crash came on I changed over. It's the first day off I've had in an age where I didn't have to go anywhere, I was cleaning my room and I just couldn't deal with that this morning.

In fairness that was hard going, you could feel the heartbreak that they were going through, horrific thing to happen anybody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Two Tone from Limehouse

In fairness that was hard going, you could feel the heartbreak that they were going through, horrific thing to happen anybody

Here are my top ten Irish 'celebrities ' that I'd love to get lost:
    Ray Arcey
    Twink
    Paul Collins
    Mary Lou McDonald
    Brian McFadden
    Marty morrissey
    Ronan Keating
    Gerald Keane
    Roy Curtis
    Baz whatever his name is
    Barry Egan

That's eleven sorry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

I don't doubt it Michael but lord knows I just couldn't cope with hearing it this morning. I don't really get what the purpose of these kind of interviews are sometimes; it's the same on the Late Late. Like, this is meant to be a light hearted show for mid-morning? Why not have them on Matt Cooper if they want to draw attention to road safety issues, or Anton Savage on Sunday who does more "newsy" stuff. I know Ray has always done these kind of stories, but it's a bit much for the listener to take at times.

Again I mean no disrespect to the family involved, it's a horrible, horrible thing to happen to any family, I know families personally who have been absolutely rent asunder by a road accident. And while some of them want to talk about it, others don't... again, no disrespect to them, it is their choice to go on air and perhaps it did them some good.

It's just that we all know terrible, rotten things happen all the time, I'd just rather get through my Wednesday morning on a more light-hearted note... Which probably makes me sound quite cold.

There was a post on the old thread which went along the lines of the poster had started listening to the show while at college during the boom times, which is the exact same as myself [although I only had one year of boom-time in my college career]. Back then it was not as hectoring, there was less running/baby talk, the sad stories were also less too. And to be frank it was far easier to feel engaged by the odd tragic story as there were far fewer of them. Constant misery has a way of making you switch off, horrible as it sounds.

As Ray has gotten older there's a definite change in his priorities, and I'd say he'd see himself as a Gerry Ryan type now, whereas when he started Gerry was the housewives' favourite and he wanted to be more admired by a younger audience.

Although I do remember my old college boyfriend saying how he disliked how the listeners had to be dragged into everything on Ray Darcy, he called it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭hollypink

ivytwine wrote: »

I changed over too; maybe I misheard but I thought Ray said it happened two weeks ago and apart from how heart wrenching I'd have found it, I was uneasy that it wasn't in the couple's best interests to interview them when their grief must still be so raw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Happened to tune ing there for the end of the review with Pascal O'Donoghue. He wasn't even joking when he said "I'll be keeping an eye on you now minister" Well, thank god for daddy Ray, who knows what these ministers would get up to without Ray constantly watching. Shame he wasn't as watchful over the last government, but is suppose better late than never. No disrespect to the issue, I think its great that they're lowering speed limits in estates. It's a great initiative and yet Ray feels the need to condescend the minister behind it.