Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Haircuts

• 29-09-2014 7:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 628 ✭✭✭

Right, I'm sure others have been in this situation.

I have no idea what way to style my hair, it's basically thick, and goes curly ish if I let it Grote long. I normally get a 4 at the sides and scissors on top, but then I just leave it every day and it just looks frizzy and crap.

My girlfriend suggested a buzz cut which might be a bad idea, but before I go to drastic measures I'd rather talk to a hair dresser to see if there are any styles that suit me.

Have any of you had similar experiences, and how did you get on? I wouldn't have a clue what barber/hairdresser to go to and then how to ask them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Get some wax maybe? It'll stop it looking frizzy and you can do what you want with it in terms of style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Go for the buzz cut ye won't have to think about it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭CantonasCollar

+1 for the buzz cut. You can get up in the morning and not have to worry about it. Cleaned and dried in seconds, and only needs cut every 4 weeks or so.

If you are brave and methodical enough you can do it yourself. Buy yourself a pair of clippers and within 6 months they will have paid for themselves.

Only downside is that you look like a convict.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭manlad

Right, I'm sure others have been in this situation.

I have no idea what way to style my hair, it's basically thick, and goes curly ish if I let it Grote long. I normally get a 4 at the sides and scissors on top, but then I just leave it every day and it just looks frizzy and crap.

My girlfriend suggested a buzz cut which might be a bad idea, but before I go to drastic measures I'd rather talk to a hair dresser to see if there are any styles that suit me.

Have any of you had similar experiences, and how did you get on? I wouldn't have a clue what barber/hairdresser to go to and then how to ask them.

There's numerous ways to style your hair without having to drastically loose it all. Got to a decent barber, and speak to them. They can take the weight out of the hair and offer product solutions for curly hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

As long as you dont do that thing, where you shave off all the hair at the back and sides but leave it longer on top and comb it over it will be fine

• Administrators Posts: 54,423 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Closed Accounts Posts: 628 ✭✭✭Chance The Fapper

awec wrote: »
    I know a few lads with those thick slightly curly type hairstyles and you're going to struggle to do anything with it. It's almost afro-esque if you let it grow, right?

You can of course get it thinned out by a hairdresser/barber but it still might not go into any sort of style.

Yep, pretty much. I got it thinned out once and it was fine for a day, but then it looked like I had gotten a static shock from then on, with all these little hairs sticking out.

I'm gonna get a 2 all over today and see what happens. Sure fcuk it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

I'm gonna get a 2 all over today and see what happens. Sure fcuk it.
    i'm sure that's a james joyce quote. :D

it'll be grand! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

My hair is the same. It is very thick and if I was to let it grow out it goes curly particularly around the ears. What helps for me is having a contrast in length between the sides/back and the hair on top. that isn't to say you need to get a hitler youth cut but something approaching this works best for me.
    mad-men-season-4-episode-6-still-083010-xlg.jpg

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

kryogen wrote: »
    As long as you dont do that thing, where you shave off all the hair at the back and sides but leave it longer on top and comb it over it will be fine

That seems a very popular style lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I just watched inglorious bastards the other night and realised it might have spawned from brad pitt's character in that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 628 ✭✭✭Chance The Fapper

Think maybe it was Macklemore