Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vulcanising Damaged Tractor Tyre

• 29-09-2014 10:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭

A good neighbour has lent his tractor to someone, who has split one of the front tyres.

He's proposing to get the tyre vulcanised, I reckon he should replace the damaged tyre with a new one, as the tyre is 95% left, as the tractor does plenty of loader work, during the winter feeding the cattle.

What do you ladies and guys reckon ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭visatorro

was a thread about lending things to neighbours here before. hardship involved in most cases! i would want it replaced if it were mine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

How did he manage to split it? Just carelessness?

I'd be weighing up a few things before ordering a new tyre as replacement. Does your neighbour borrow anything off this fella and would he take that order badly and therefore have a falling out with him?

Was the type middling new or a lot of wear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

colrow wrote: »
    A good neighbour has lent his tractor to someone, who has split one of the front tyres.

He's proposing to get the tyre vulcanised, I reckon he should replace the damaged tyre with a new one, as the tyre is 95% left, as the tractor does plenty of loader work, during the winter feeding the cattle.

What do you ladies and guys reckon ?

95% left on tire or wore off it?
    He cant buy one new one amd have the tire on other side wore bare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭ford 5600

It will cost around 100 euro odd to vulcanise. Good job if tyre is sound, it will be the last place it will burst , the repair lads will tell you.. Pat Hinch outside Tullamore does it, don't know where you are though. Any size of a new front 4wd tyre is 400 up so make your own mind up, or let your friend make his own decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

Malahide tyres does it in Dublin. Done a front wheel of our loader tractor when a gate bolt went true the side wall. Never had any trouble aafterwords. Went on to wear out that set of tyres too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Twice vulcanised loader tyres here and successful on both occasions. If tyre guy says it can be done I'd do it if any doubt replace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭stop thelights

Reckon one probably fairer option would be to replace tyre with a new one and the fella that damaged gets to keep the tyre to be repaired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

95% left on tire or wore off it?
    He cant buy one new one amd have the tire on other side wore bare

Think he said 95% left, so he should of course buy the owner a new tyre. Was his fault

farmerjj wrote: »
    Think he said 95% left, so he should of course buy the owner a new tyre. Was his fault

Ye cant put a nrand new tire on one side of a tractor and still have a worn one on othet side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

Done back tyre years ago. Lasted grand. But it caused a rock in tractor. Was following a friend driving her one day and I could see the rock plainly. He was swaying from side to side on the seat on a perfectly level road. That was the only downfall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Ye cant put a nrand new tire on one side of a tractor and still have a worn one on othet side.

5% of a difference in tread would make v little difference..

farmerjj wrote: »
    5% of a difference in tread would make v little difference..

I wouldn't bothet vulcanizing works perfectly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

I ripped the side wall in an L shape, i thought it was f*ked but the old man was adament we'd get it vulcanised, anyways 2 years later its still there and grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Miname wrote: »
    I ripped the side wall in an L shape, i thought it was f*ked but the old man was adament we'd get it vulcanised, anyways 2 years later its still there and grand.
    These old men talk sense :) young fellas nowadays want everything new :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭colrow

visatorro wrote: »
    was a thread about lending things to neighbours here before. hardship involved in most cases! i would want it replaced if it were mine

Yes I remember that thread, I remember talking about the same boyo there, though it was my tractor I was on about then.

The good neighbour is very proud of his tractor, it's only 2 or 3 years old.

The chimney sweep was here last summer, and he said you've had boyo here haven't you.

His quad bike and concrete mixer was in the field, he,d lleft it with boyo about 3 months previously, the mixer was repaired, but it was on my place for 2 months, after he'd used it to pour three small pads for a wind turbine.

But he is handy if you are in trouble and need someone straight away, so that's why he gets away with it.

Just to add a bit more, he does work for the neighbour, and isn't a at all shy about asking for money, 80 ish for half a day When he borrows the tractor, it's for some job where he's making money on, never puts any diesel in it, h never misses charging for his time, and expects the tractor for free.

Rant off

.Kovu. wrote: »
    How did he manage to split it? Just carelessness?

I'd be weighing up a few things before ordering a new tyre as replacement. Does your neighbour borrow anything off this fella and would he take that order badly and therefore have a falling out with him?

Was the type middling new or a lot of wear?

He doesn't know, but he was in the forestry, knowing him he was going full pelt, I used to do that with hire cars, in my younger days

The tyre is 5 per cent worn, 95 percent left.

He doesn't have anything to lend, just his labour and fixing things

The good man is generous with his time, resources and he has helped me no end, with no mention of money, it annoys me that this bloke is getting away with not being neighbourly , he's on social with a family, and charging what a business would.

Reckon one probably fairer option would be to replace tyre with a new one and the fella that damaged gets to keep the tyre to be repaired.

That's a good one but the tyres allready at them repairers in Castle Island

Sam Kade wrote: »
    These old men talk sense :) young fellas nowadays want everything new :mad:

It seems on reading your advice, it would be better to go with the repair.

Though it will seem to my mate that his Much loved tractor is now damaged and its lost that special something.

I'll show him all your replies, especially regarding the durability of the vulcanisation process.

Thanks all very much for your replies.

I'm in Kerry and if anyone wants a few mackerel, they are practically jumping out of the sea onto the boat. Just give me a pm and I'll give you a shout the next time I'm out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

When he get tractor back with fixed tyre on a few sly comments should let the offender know it won't be on loan again.
    "Jees that's a rough looking job"
    "Shes fooking bouncy with that had patch in the wall sure I'll let u know how the tyre does" or rip ass out of tyre in same place only unrepairable and give the friend a ring saying it hasent held up and would need a new tyre.

"My mind thinks in twisted ways"

The wheels back on the tractor now, only thing is that the boyo said the repairer fitted an inner tube, to make sure the pressure stayed up.

Any comments on this ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭Sunset V

I've had tyres vulcanised a few times, place in Fermanagh does them. Mighty job, no issues and got good life afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

i worked in a tyre centre as my weekend job all my teenage years. Your friends tire should be fine. Only thing i can see a problem is some tubes will not work in a previously tubeless tyre and will wear down over time. This is more common in cars than tractors though. Tractor tubes are very thick.