Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alcohol or weed?

• 28-09-2014 2:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27

Alcohol or weed? (or both, not recommended together)

Which is safer to consume?

Ireland is long known as a nation of drinkers (mostly from outside Ireland)

But what about hash?

For the record i love a drink, but would never say no to a smoking session.

Alcohol or weed? 86 votes

Alcohol.
    0%
    Weed.
    37%
    O'Neillyoyobluto63thee glitz[Deleted User]Deedsierobertpattersonbntm'ladypajorpoeticmakavelimontyrebelaaronjumperEathrineoins23456RDM_83 againjacksie66saintsaltynutsDEFTLEFTHANDblackwave 32 votes
    Both. ( together or Not together)
    41%
    Fighting Irisharybvtcw0eolkfSierra OscarNaiveMelodiesKriegnelly17robertpattersonmikomfandocol.in.Crpablo128areu4real?mojesiusSilverScreenceadaoin.looking_aroundConbharc_manllennocOGrumpyMe 36 votes
    Neither.
    20%
    Fighting IrishbasseyNiall09robertpattersonm'ladycandy-gal1The Domonatorold_aussiebodice ripperLaVailUCDVetDrakaresrenegademasterdaviecroninClankatronBongalongherblimerickj2014187187 18 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Forget about them both.
    Shrooms and BJs are what all the cool kids want these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Weed is a lot safer. Alcohol is a lot more dangerous than many illegal drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

Hypothesis on the topic is pointless without some idea of volume thrown in to be fair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Weed.
    I voted Alcohol because I thought it was "which do you prefer". I should have read it.

Weed is the safer of the two by a long distance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Weed.
    COYVB wrote: »
    Hypothesis on the topic is pointless without some idea of volume thrown in to be fair

Park Life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 187187

Neither.

Now , now, an easy question with a few options.

No need to get all heavy and bring the buzz down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Weed.
    Drink by a mile. Easier access and drugs aren't as sociable to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Forget about them both.
    Shrooms and BJs are what all the cool kids want these days.

A bj while on shrooms is like trying to use gummy bears as thumb tacs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

All the cool kids are raging about heroin these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Well it's not really debatable that weed is a lot safer to consume than alcohol. It's hard to believe people still think otherwise in this day and age.

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Well it's not really debatable that weed is a lot safer to consume than alcohol. It's hard to believe people still think otherwise in this day and age.

Again, depends on volume. Is one pint's worth of alcohol going into your system more dangerous than inhaling smoke into your lungs? I doubt it.

Is 10 pint's worth of alcohol in your system more dangerous than the smoke from 2 or 3 joints? Definitely.

Again, depends on volume. Is one pint's worth of alcohol going into your system more dangerous than inhaling smoke into your lungs? I doubt it.

Is 10 pint's worth of alcohol in your system more dangerous than the smoke from 2 or 3 joints? Definitely.

Well if you are mixing it with tobacco then maybe it is dangerous over time. But if you were using a bong or vaporiser then I don't think it is as harmful. As far as I know there have been no links found between cannabis use and cancer or any such illnesses?

Drinking too much alcohol on one occasion can potentially kill you. You can't say the same about smoking too much weed.

Smokers are jokers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Rather - Alcohol
    Safer - I don't know I'm not a doctor

Though I'll add, the biggest wasters I've met in my life have always been big smokers, don't get me wrong I've also encountered alcoholics and It's tragic too. Also everyone I know on heroin were never big drinkers and would rather a splif when they were teens.

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Drinking too much alcohol on one occasion can potentially kill you. You can't say the same about smoking too much weed.

That's it's all about volume

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Rather - Alcohol
    Safer - I don't know I'm not a doctor

Though I'll add, the biggest wasters I've met in my life have always been big smokers, don't get me wrong I've also encountered alcoholics and It's tragic too. Also everyone I know on heroin were never big drinkers and would rather a splif when they were teens.

It's hard to drink every single day when you're starting out, it's easier to smoke plenty. I think that the habits required for being a junkie suit themselves better for smoking that drinking.
    Though personally I don't know any junkies who would have ever turned down a drink, smoke or anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

It's hard to drink every single day when you're starting out, it's easier to smoke plenty. I think that the habits required for being a junkie suit themselves better for smoking that drinking.
    Though personally I don't know any junkies who would have ever turned down a drink, smoke or anything else.

Yeah as well as the addiction element, you are mixing in circles where harder drugs are more easily available.

That's it's all about volume

What does volume have to do with it? They are two different substances, one is more toxic than the other.

It's physically impossible that you could smoke enough weed to cause death in a single sitting. As well as acute alcohol poisoning, long term heavy alcohol use has been proven to cause many ailments. Long term cannabis use hasn't been shown to do this. Therefore alcohol is more dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Neither.
    If I could afford and easily/regularly get my hands on weed then thatd be my choice!

Mostly though smoking a joint or 2 is moreso a sociable thing in a beer garden in a pub or possably a friend of a friends house when they offer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭corsav6

I'm Irish so let's all get pissed and not talk about that devil plant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Hash? What are you, 12?
    People go on about weed being harmless. It's not. It fries the head off people, makes them paranoid, irrational and aggressive. Smoke enough of it and it makes you a horrible person to be around. I'm glad it's illegal.

Drinking, meh. At least it's only once a week thing. If someone was only smoking weed at weekends, I'd probably prefer that, but how likely is that? I'd say drinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭DaveDaRave

irrational and aggressive.

youre saying weed causes these and alcohol does not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

DaveDaRave wrote: »

That's not what I said. But I'd rather someone be drunk one night of the week, rather than be stoned to the point they freak out over nothing because they're so fried

OSI wrote: »
    There was actually a link found recently by the Germans between cannabis use and the deaths of 2 men.

I hasn't heard anything about this so I looked it up. The first story I found said

Autopsies found that younger had a serious undetected heart problem, suggesting that people with cardiological issues should be aware of marijuana risks, and the older had a history of alcohol and drug use.

So it wasn't the primary cause of death, there were underlying factors.

DaveDaRave wrote: »

Not a week goes by without some stoner kicking the head off some innocent passerby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Weed may be safer but the smell is absolutely putrid.

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Weed may be safer but the smell is absolutely putrid.

Its like farts, your own are fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Its like farts, your own are fine

I had to hold my breath walking down certain streets in Amsterdam. It was well worth it to see the red light district though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Weed.
    I have no moral objection to weed, but I can't/won't smoke anything, ever, and the weed smell gets everywhere. (Years ago I hung around with some Rastas, in South Africa when weed was cheap and cheerful. I was not smoking it myself, but afterwards I could shower and change all my clothes, and people could still smell the ganga on me.) If it was legal I might occasionally try eating a little.

I do like alcohol in small amounts, what you might call "European style". In case you're tempted to say that alcohol is just as smelly and anti-social as weed, well, I might agree if I had to smoke alcohol. But I don't, so that argument would be a false equivalence. I'm anti-over-indulgence of anything.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Macavity. wrote: »

Nope no it's not. Spoken like a true hippy, well done. I notice that drinkers aren't as habitual in their vice as weed smokers are.

Of which, the smoker appears to lose a great deal of mental capacity for everyday menial talks and I'm going to be frank, they become strange individuals. Whereas as "social" drinkers don't. Social being the operative word. Weed appears to be very much a a loner activity done almost daily by those who use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭TheSheriff

Weed.
    Macavity. wrote: »

Incorrect.

The long term psychological effects of "smokin" are still an extreme cause for concern.

Cannabinoid's effects to decrease mental capacity, reduce both your long term and short term memory and potential to predispose an individual to depressive mental health effects far outweigh the potential danger associated with "a few drinks down the pub".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Nope no it's not. Spoken like a true hippy, well done. I notice that drinkers aren't as habitual in their vice as weed smokers are.

Of which, the smoker appears to lose a great deal of mental capacity for everyday menial talks and I'm going to be frank, they become strange individuals. Whereas as "social" drinkers don't. Social being the operative word. Weed appears to be very much a a loner activity done almost daily by those who use it.

I will say this much
    I know a few lads...its there night out...calling over to each others house on a Saturday night and having a few smokes

if they leave at that-its grand...smoking it ever day is not good long term...neither is drinking everyday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Neither.
    I'm all for people enjoying their alcohol, but I haven't seen anything that would suggest weed is remotely close to as dangerous.

People DIE from drinking too much alcohol, all the time. 80 people in Ireland died from alcohol poisoning in 2008. Just having a night out, getting carried away, playing drinking games....otherwise healthy - and then dead. 80 people is a lot.

Then you've got another 800 alcohol related deaths from long term abuse (non-poisoning).

Clearly, more people drink in Ireland than consume weed - but if you look at places where both are legal and compare death rates, as far as I know, I've never heard of any place where weed deaths is even remotely close to alcohol.

And when you include things like antisocial behaviour - alcohol is just plain evil. How many fights, public indecency, rapes, etc, etc, etc involve alcohol? It's astronomical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Weed,alcohol withdrawal is no joke its more dangerous than heroin withdrawal in that you can die from it not to mention the effects alcohol has on your organs,central nervous system and brain.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

Neither.
    nothing like sitting down and enjoying a bottle or 2 of brittany cidre and a few smokes of some nice sticky icky :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Neither.
    A few beers with a few spliff's, ahhhh ye just can't beat it. Now I will only smoke weed on the weekend, I never smoke it during the week.

The best of both worlds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Neither.
    beano345 wrote: »
    Weed,alcohol withdrawal is no joke its more dangerous than heroin withdrawal in that you can die from it not to mention the effects alcohol has on your organs,central nervous system and brain.

Ah sure we are all slowly dying anyway regarding age increase. May as well enjoy the ride till then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Mint Aero wrote: »

Your argument is silly as you are comparing someone who smokes everyday to someone who only drinks occasionally. As for the hippy comment, that would be the last thing I could be described as. FWIW, I smoke maybe once every two months and would drink several times a week. I'm not going to fool myself into thinking that alcohol is less damaging though, when the majority of studies prove otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭poeticmakaveli

Weed.
    you have arguments on both sides here and different comments to counter/challenge other comments,but at the end of the day its all about the individual and which you are more comfortable using!
    if it leaves you being a loner or not,it should be done in moderation in order to prevent any health problems in the future,its all about the individuals health at the end of the day and if either makes you happy in moderation and keeps you sound mentally then stick with it!
    excessive drinking is bad and i'm sure excessive smoking is too,its all the same what you do if its been excessive!
    I don't have a problem with people using as long as it doesn't change them!
    Me, personally with my experience, i am a binge drinker:( i will drink maybe once a month but go on it for maybe 2 hard days and a 3rd day having 3 or 4 pints to settle the jitters! I don't get headaches or sick stomach but i would be a nervous wreck and cant deal with people for like a day!! for the rest of the month i am very relaxed and train and eat well! i don't smoke cigarettes,smoke weed or have never ever taken drugs in my life, so back to the point, i am happy at that and that's what matters, (apart from the panic attacks the day after drink) :-) but after that i am cool!

does excessive drinking change a person?? ( in my circles/experience,I've never seen it in a person that they change as people )
    Does excessive smoking (weed) change a person?? ( unfortunately i have seen people change individually as people )
    But tha'ts just from my personal experience!
    what about people who do both and ALSO SMOKE CIGARETTES which we forget about! :(

whatever we choose i guess we should be careful its not excessive, we maintain our health, our friends , and keep a passion in life for something then we can all be cool and live a decent enough life!