Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unusual act of kindness from a motorist in Meath

• 27-09-2014 9:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭

Was cycling home yesterday and just a few km from home on a bendy stretch of road that wasn't surfaced very well a car slows behind me. I was expecting it to fly past at the earliest opportunity but it waited patiently behind me. I was after a long week of commuting and was only doing about 22km/hr and then heard a beep. Turned to see what was up and I guessed a car 2nd in line behind car had beeped the driver in front of him to hurry on. The driver directly behind me doesn't take offence and just drives slowly behind me giving me about 10m gap. Had never experienced this sort of courtesy before. I pulled up at the side to let the cars pass me and the driver behind me stops and other cars pass him giving him strange aggravated looks. He indicated to me to carry on but I refuse and allow him to go by.

Just thought I had to mention this. Really made my day. 'Twas a blue 02 Merc so if that person happens to be reading - thank you very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Must of been checking out your arse..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

Thanks. Love the positivity people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Right Turn Clyde

Thanks. Love the positivity people.

Don't mind the two above me. Some people hate good news. I'm not a cyclist, but I always give them time and room when I'm in the car. I just wish more cyclists would reciprocate. But to be honest I think both groups are as bad as each other. We could all do a bit more for each other. The roads are dangerous enough without people acting the mick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

The problem is they aren't groups they're all just road users.

I've yet to meet someone who's a considerate cyclist but a prick in their car or vice versa.

On the other hand the world is full of d*cks who will be dickish in any situation or mode of transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭sbs2010

It was a bit odd that the car was reluctant to pass even when you pulled in, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,158 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

sbs2010 wrote: »
    It was a bit odd that the car was reluctant to pass even when you pulled in, no?

I'd be more worried about a car who sat behind me going slowly rather than just pass....:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭TheSheriff

Id be a bit freaked out when he stopped behind me and usher me on?

A kidnapping waiting to happen?

Perhaps or maybe just a simple act of kindness. they're not all weirdows out there. Lets give the benefit of the doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭TheSheriff

Perhaps or maybe just a simple act of kindness. they're not all weirdows out there. Lets give the benefit of the doubt.

True, we are all probably over reacting

Its fun to assume the worse tough, you could change the thread name from "Random act of kindness......." to

"Today I was nearly abducted while having a cycle"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

good to hear that.
    Although you are in Meath. More weirdo's per square mtr then the anywhere else.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

True enough. Was coming up a drag of a hill out the back of Kilbride today on a very narrow road, and an oncoming driver pulled in to let me past and my snails pace rather than squeezing by. Really decent and appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭fillup

It's really saying something about our society when somebody's shoutout to a stranger being courteous is met with cynism and derision

Somebody did something nice for someone else - the roads would be a lot better for both 2 wheeled and 4 wheeled users if we all showed a bit more respect and courtesy for each other

(But not for pedestrians....grrrrrr)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

I came through Clonee village earlier today. Coming up on the Esso garage in the cycle lane, some guy driving out in a jeep sticks his big fat bonnet right out into the lane forcing me to check behind to move out into the traffic to avoid him. I was about to give him my most scathing look of disapproval when he looks behind him, reverses back into the garage and waves an apology at me, allowing me to continue on as usual.

Chapeau to that Meath resident :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,310 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

I routinely pull over on narrow roads to allow HGV's pass. Safer for me and the drivers appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 1sttime1

Not road related but just had to comment. Was in Lidl Swords during the week - machine wouldn't take my credit card. Man behind me in the queue offered to pay and I could pay him back! I was completely gobsmacked - still some really kind people out there.

07Lapierre wrote: »
    I routinely pull over on narrow roads to allow HGV's pass. Safer for me and the drivers appreciate it.

Good strategy actually. As you say, it's safer for the both of you.

1sttime1 wrote: »
    Not road related but just had to comment. Was in Lidl Swords during the week - machine wouldn't take my credit card. Man behind me in the queue offered to pay and I could pay him back! I was completely gobsmacked - still some really kind people out there.

Had forgotten about that. Will PM you my Paypal details later. €200 wasn't it. :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,890 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

07Lapierre wrote: »
    mainly tractors i've been doing this with recently - HGVs and tractors are not like cars in that they need more than a couple of hundred yards to overtake, so unless you're on a national route or a reasonably long straight stretch of road, they will not have the opportunity to overtake you safely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Was cycling home yesterday and just a few km from home on a bendy stretch of road that wasn't surfaced very well a car slows behind me. I was expecting it to fly past at the earliest opportunity but it waited patiently behind me. I was after a long week of commuting and was only doing about 22km/hr and then heard a beep. Turned to see what was up and I guessed a car 2nd in line behind car had beeped the driver in front of him to hurry on. The driver directly behind me doesn't take offence and just drives slowly behind me giving me about 10m gap. Had never experienced this sort of courtesy before. I pulled up at the side to let the cars pass me and the driver behind me stops and other cars pass him giving him strange aggravated looks. He indicated to me to carry on but I refuse and allow him to go by.

Just thought I had to mention this. Really made my day. 'Twas a blue 02 Merc so if that person happens to be reading - thank you very much.

That sounds like a safety strategy to me. Did you know that person - The person driving the car directly behind you that opted to maintain that safety zone at your back in event another would encroach.

Thanks for sharing,
    kerry4sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

kerry4sam wrote: »
    That sounds like a safety strategy to me. Did you know that person - The person driving the car directly behind you that opted to maintain that safety zone at your back in event another would encroach....
    He would have been penalised in a driving test - failure to make progress when the opportunity presented.

I wouldn't call that safe driving - sounds like he had little confidence in driving ability or there is something creepy about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Cakewheels

Nice story, good to hear a positive one. I am a bit confused though at why he didn't pass and move on when you pulled over? Would it not have been more difficult for the other cars to have to get past the two of ye then, especially if it was bendy? Was he trying to stay with you so that he could try to protect you from other cars on the bendy road for as long as ye were both going in the same direction?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭galwaycyclist

He would have been penalised in a driving test - failure to make progress when the opportunity presented.

Which is one of the reasons why, in my opinion, the Irish driving test and driver training is not fit for purpose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Not sure why you're surprised. After all, we're people too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

loughgill wrote: »
    .... Would it not have been more difficult for the other cars to have to get past the two of ye then...

Misplaced courtesy and unsafe practise.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,890 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Which is one of the reasons why, in my opinion, the Irish driving test and driver training is not fit for purpose.
    if someone pulled in behind me when i pulled in to clearly let people overtake, i'd start getting worried.
    maybe he just wanted to admire your ass?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

Maybe the driver has some kind of fantasy about being in the team car in a grand tour and took the opportunity to live it out a little :D

i've always fancied the idea of driving through the phoenix park behind a random jogger with the theme tune to 'rocky' or 'chariots of fire' blaring out the car stereo.

I could t tell you what his motives were but I thought it was fairly considerate is all. Maybe 'twas his good deed for the day, who knows. Just thought I'd share a positive story and not have to "think" too much about the reasoning behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

ror_74 wrote: »
    I came through Clonee village earlier today. Coming up on the Esso garage in the cycle lane, some guy driving out in a jeep sticks his big fat bonnet right out into the lane forcing me to check behind to move out into the traffic to avoid him. I was about to give him my most scathing look of disapproval when he looks behind him, reverses back into the garage and waves an apology at me, allowing me to continue on as usual.

Chapeau to that Meath resident :)

I had the exact same scenario with a chap in a lovely Porsche 964. Ended up in a seemingly never-ending wave, nod, thumbs up, mouthing 'nice car', 'thanks', wave again until I wondered was he going to ask me out to dinner. Curt nod and focus on the road in future i reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭BobMc

KARMA is my motto, and do onto others, only yesterday I got a glimpse of a cyclist approaching two sets of bad bends, in a section of road with cars normally going too fast, I kept my speed slow, as we rounded the beginnng of the bends my wife said did you know he was going to be there and I said yes I'd spotted him way further back the road so knew when I enetered the bends he was going to be there, i stayed behind him giving him plenty of space, he then motioned that the coast was clear and I passed, result everyone happy and safe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭billie1b

Thats just a normal driving procedure for myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭ht9zni1gs28crp

Maybe he was a cyclist himself?

I know my attitude has changed significantly since I started pedalling. Though the nearer you get to Dublin the worse and more aggressive the drivers are. Just my real world findings.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Maybe he was a cyclist himself?

I know my attitude has changed significantly since I started pedalling. Though the nearer you get to Dublin the worse and more aggressive the drivers are. Just my real world findings.

Would think so, my own attitude has changed greatly, but also maybe the ads on TV have helped and people have a bit of cop on now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

I could t tell you what his motives were but I thought it was fairly considerate is all. Maybe 'twas his good deed for the day, who knows. Just thought I'd share a positive story and not have to "think" too much about the reasoning behind it.

Indeed.

I was passed by a tractor going uphill on Monday here in Poland and he slowed down a bit so that I was able to sit behind him and shelter from the wind for about another 2k which was nice as I was knackered!

I'd say cyclists in Poland must be in dreamland after Kwiatkowskis win. Great for public awareness. Did you try to drop him near the top. He was probably taking a breather after going into the red trying to bridge across to you. :)