Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Surprise surprise

• 24-09-2014 9:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭

Is coming home as a surprise after nearly two years away a bit rude? My sibling is doing just that and I really think my mother will hate it. She will obviously be delighted to see him but she would prefer to have things organised. I'v told him this but he thinks this way will be much more fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Ah she'll be delighted, while giving out that he didnt say anything and then she'll be all delighted again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It is a nice surprise. I've done it myself after months away.
    Gave the mother bit of a shock but we still remember it and laugh.

Don't be a wet blanket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

WhiteWalls wrote: »
    Is coming home as a surprise after nearly two years away a bit rude? My sibling is doing just that and I really think my mother will hate it. She will obviously be delighted to see him but she would prefer to have things organised. I'v told him this but he thinks this way will be much more fun

Be sure to record it so we can all go awwww when sites like The Journal use it as "news"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Not half as surprised as the OP and his sibling will be when they discover me and their ma are ****ing off to the south seas with the proceeds of the house sale. You've been disinherited online, my son.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

would you not be delighted to have him home

I know id give anything to have siblings of mine home/in Ireland again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Tell you brother to hire a big guy with tattoos, arrive with him, introduce him as "a friend", and say he will be staying for a few weeks.

How is it rude to want to surprise someone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭WhiteWalls

How is it rude to want to surprise someone?

Well she has told him to make sure to tell her when he's thinking of coming home. She would just prefer to have everything right for him

But that takes all the fun out of it. It's not rude!

You could help, by getting stuff organised for her. And sure isn't it better that she won't be worrying and running around trying to get things done for his arrival. She can just enjoy it when he shows up.

true but they will definitely know there is something up if i'm organizing things!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I did that once. I live abroad and surprised my parents by walking into the kitchen unannounced. No reaction though. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I very much like to plan things, so if one of my siblings arrived out to me in Germany unannounced, I would be very peeved.

If I was you I would tell your mother so she can prepare. Tell her to just act surprised, so your brother doesn't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I very much like to plan things, so if one of my siblings arrived out to me in Germany unannounced, I would be very peeved.

If I was you I would tell your mother so she can prepare. Tell her to just act surprised, so your brother doesn't know.

But that's arriving to your home in Germany when you have to work etc and they are an inconvenience and no nobody.

This kid is coming home, his mammy at very least has a couch for him. And he'll have friends. It's not like going to a random country, it's going home.,

OP. Keep your mouth shut and let him has his fun. Your mammy will be delighted and won't be worrying about sh1t that isn't important not being ready.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

I agree with you op, I can't understand people who do this, do they think that the whole world is in mourning while they're gone, they've a great big welcome for themselves then the ****, hey hey I'm home, how in the name of jaysus did ye all manage without me.... tosser

true but they will definitely know there is something up if i'm organizing things!!

There can't be that much to organise can there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 mustard_igloo

No don't tell your mammy! A friend of mine came home from Canada last week, and was home for a few days before I saw him as I was working/busy etc. but no one told me he was home. Got some shock when I walked in that day but I was delighted and it just wouldn't have been the same if I'd known he was coming back. The surprise was probably the best part of it all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

Ah don't go telling the mammy!! Let him have his surprise. Mother's tend to fuss and work themselves up making sure everything is perfect, none of that stuff is important really. She'll be delighted to see him; will give out to him, then hug him, then make him tea and chastise him again before hugging him again.

It's not often people get to do big surprises, so let the two of them have one :)

There can't be that much to organise can there?

clean out the caravan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

We started a Chinese Storeman a few weeks ago at work.

On his very first day I had about a dozen 'complaints' about him (before lunch time)

I kept asking what the problem was, and everyone told me the same thing...... there was no one in the stores.....

I headed over to the stores, ready to give out hell..

Spent 10 mins looking for our new man, to no avail....

Next thing I know, he bursts out of the store cupboard shouting SUPPLIES!!! Scared the bejaysus outta me and another two subbies.

Language barrier obviously. :o

(he was supposed to be in charge of supplies you see.)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Why don't you just say brother ? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I can understand both sides of the coin really.

If he surprises her it's a once in a lifetime for both of them. He'll very likely never see anyone THAT happy to see him again and she'll be overwhelmed in a way she''s never been before. Neither of them will ever forget it.

However personally I would hate someone to that to me. If something good is going to happen I like to savour looking forward to it,everyday that I'm looking forward is special and turns the normal hum drum of the weeks beforehand into a happy time with something cool to be thinking about. I'd really enjoy getting ready, planning things and making things perfect. I'd feel a bit robbed if I didn't get to enjoy that time.

Lapin wrote: »
    Why don't you just say brother ? :confused:

because I'm really intelligent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

I did that once. I live abroad and surprised my parents by walking into the kitchen unannounced. No reaction though. :(

Not hugely surprised tbh. If I was on fire and you surprised me by turning up with a fire extinguisher, I think I'd prefer to burn. :) You have that effect on people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

At least someone should enquire and make sure she can get some time off work etc if those practical things are likely to be an issue.

Not hugely surprised tbh. If I was on fire and you surprised me by turning up with a fire extinguisher, I think I'd prefer to burn. :) You have that effect on people.

Mod

Seriously. Put the poster on ignore if you have an issue. I'm getting bored of your personal digs and I'm sure others are sick of reading them too.

Fair warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

I can understand both sides of the coin really.

If he surprises her it's a once in a lifetime for both of them. He'll very likely never see anyone THAT happy to see him again and she'll be overwhelmed in a way she''s never been before. Neither of them will ever forget it.

However personally I would hate someone to that to me. If something good is going to happen I like to savour looking forward to it,everyday that I'm looking forward is special and turns the normal hum drum of the weeks beforehand into a happy time with something cool to be thinking about. I'd really enjoy getting ready, planning things and making things perfect. I'd feel a bit robbed if I didn't get to enjoy that time.

Agree with this.

Actually I think it's a little bit mean. He's making it all about himself. Having something really nice to look forward to is half the fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

whupdedo wrote: »
    I agree with you op, I can't understand people who do this, do they think that the whole world is in mourning while they're gone, they've a great big welcome for themselves then the ****, hey hey I'm home, how in the name of jaysus did ye all manage without me.... tosser
    It's only for his mother, not the the whole world. I've never known of the mother (or whoever) not being absolutely delighted when this is done for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

I'm with Whoopsie - don't spoil the surprise. The main thing is to have a bed aired for him with clean sheets. Wait till your mum is gone out and wash and dry the sheets/duvet cover and put them back on the bed before she gets back. If there's an electric blanket, switch it on every now and then when you can (make sure there's nothing on the bed) to air it.

Have a plan in mind for dinner the night he gets back (have enough cash to call out for Chinese or whatever) so that the mammy isn't stressing over having enough chops for everyone.

Sneakily turn on the immersion so he can have a shower if needs be. Other than those things, everything else can wait till the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Sounds like my parents would have been. Except they'd have rented my room out before I'd started packing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Agree with this.

Actually I think it's a little bit mean. He's making it all about himself. Having something really nice to look forward to is half the fun.

While mammies (broad brush strokes) might look forward to children coming home, they can get themselves into a tizzy with preparations. It's not like looking forward to something nice and relaxing. I'd go with the surprise so she doesn't run around in circles for a fortnight in advance. Once he's home she'll still be thrilled, and everything will take care of itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Keep your mouth shut OP. It's his business if he wants to tell her. She'll be delighted when he comes home.
    If you do tell her and his plans fall through, she'll be really disappointed/as well as your brother being pissed off with you for not respecting his wishes. And if you do tell her all she'll do is get into a flap about having everything perfect.

I have no intention of spilling the beans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

I have no intention of spilling the beans

Clean the house for your Mam and get the fry in for his arrival. Your Mam will love the surprise. And get him to bring you home some duty free for your troubles :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Just to keep her happy he should ring her when he's outsude the front door and say 'Ma, I'll be home soon, real soon" hang up and ring the door bell. That ways he's told her like she wanted.

Being serious, I can see her side wanting things to be organised and all but I know myself and most males are the same, they couldn't give a ****e if the house was upside down and inside out once there's a bed to sleep in.

Let him surprise her, it's better that way.