Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boxing clubs in Tuam?

• 23-09-2014 4:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭

Well lads, there's a good chance I'll be living/working in Tuam for the next few months, and want to keep up my training.

I do MMA and BJJ at home, but would like to do some boxing while away to work on my striking. Are there any clubs in Tuam that you'd recommend?

I'm not one for sparring hard all day every day as can happen in some gyms (not afraid of getting hit, just taking care of myself, I'll spar handy all day and but I did a bit of boxing here and they sparred fairly hard tbh and a friend of mine got a concussion within a few weeks and I'd like to avoid that).

Thanks in advance! Will take suggestions as to Thai boxing clubs too if they're around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Gumbi wrote: »

I do MMA and BJJ at home, but would like to do some boxing while away to work on my striking. Are there any clubs in Tuam that you'd recommend? Not to put too fine a point on it, but one with preferably less of the Travelling variety if there is one of those types of clubs around.

Your attitude is a disgrace and has no place in the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

FTA69 wrote: »
    Your attitude is a disgrace and has no place in the sport.

I can't discriminate based on my experiences? Perhaps I phrased poorly. I don't want to join an club and be used as a punching bag to be knocked around by far more experienced fighters. And I don't want to go to a club in which sparring is all about ego and trading brain cells.

I apologise if I have offended anyone...

I understand that but just because someone's a Traveller doesn't mean they're going to annihilate you or try and intimidate you. I've trained with, sparred with and fought Travellers and I've never been blackguarded once. On the other hand I've trained with people who go too hard or take liberties from a variety of other backgrounds. Bad gym etiquette isn't limited to Travellers.

Secondly, boxing is above discrimination, the gym is a mixing place for everyone. Over the years I've trained with Arabs, blacks, Albanians, Iranians, Travellers and everything in between; any fighter or club member is afforded with respect. The best thing about the sport is how it breaks down barriers between people, everyone is equal in the ring. Boxing is a language of it's own. If you're going to walk into a gym with hang ups over what colour or ethnicity you're going to train with you're better off not going in the first place. There's enough of that in the world already.

Lastly, Travellers have made a huge contribution to our sport. Francie Barrett and John Joe Nevin represented us at the Olympics, Joe Ward and David Joyce have done us immensely proud internationally. As I said above, I've met great Travller lads in Ireland and England. You should be approaching them as a fellow boxer as opposed to viewing them as some plague to be avoided.

I understand that but just because someone's a Traveller doesn't mean they're going to annihilate you or try and intimidate you. I've trained with, sparred with and fought Travellers and I've never been blackguarded once. On the other hand I've trained with people who go too hard or take liberties from a variety of other backgrounds. Bad gym etiquette isn't limited to Travellers.

Secondly, boxing is above discrimination, the gym is a mixing place for everyone. Over the years I've trained with Arabs, blacks, Albanians, Iranians, Travellers and everything in between; any fighter or club member is afforded with respect. The best thing about the sport is how it breaks down barriers between people, everyone is equal in the ring. Boxing is a language of it's own. If you're going to walk into a gym with hang ups over what colour or ethnicity you're going to train with you're better off not going in the first place. There's enough of that in the world already.

Lastly, Travellers have made a huge contribution to our sport. Francie Barrett and John Joe Nevin represented us at the Olympics, Joe Ward and David Joyce have done us immensely proud internationally. As I said above, I've met great Travller lads in Ireland and England. You should be approaching them as a fellow boxer as opposed to viewing them as some plague to be avoided.

I absolutely did not mean to generalise. And I'm not saying the only bad experiences I had were with travelers either.

I should probably edit it out of my original post. I really just meant to ask about a gym which isn't "old school" in its method of training (hard sparring all the time instead of once in a while and technical 50 - 70% the rest of the time).

Thanks an apologies again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

Mod note: Ok guys it's gone off topic, the OP has apologised and has cleared up their intention. Please either go back on topic to advise of a club or I will be locking the thread.

I think the main club up that direction would be St Ailbhe's. If I was you I'd ring them up, explain the craic and what you want to accomplish and see if they'll let you train. However, a lot of clubs are simply IABA focussed and won't readily take adult practitioners. However, attitudes vary widely so ring around a few clubs and see what the craic is.

When you do arrive, explain to the coach that you want to do a bit of a move around but you want to go very lightly as you're finding your feet in the sport. The coach will explain that to whomever you're in the ring with and you should be grand. Don't worry about being ambushed or set up, it's very unlikely to happen.

I think the main club up that direction would be St Ailbhe's. If I was you I'd ring them up, explain the craic and what you want to accomplish and see if they'll let you train. However, a lot of clubs are simply IABA focussed and won't readily take adult practitioners. However, attitudes vary widely so ring around a few clubs and see what the craic is.

When you do arrive, explain to the coach that you want to do a bit of a move around but you want to go very lightly as you're finding your feet in the sport. The coach will explain that to whomever you're in the ring with and you should be grand. Don't worry about being ambushed or set up, it's very unlikely to happen.

Thanks, this is the kind of advice I'm looking for. I had heard that some clubs won't take older guys. I'm not averse to competing if the opportunity arises (I'm only 21) but I do have a mind towards MMA when I do this training.

Boxing is a great accompaniment to MMA although things like footwork and stance will be significantly varied. Chances are the coach will try and put you into a far more bladed stance with a lead leg more forward than you might be accustomed to, similarly a lot of the evasion tactics in boxing won't apply in MMA due to the allowance of the clinch and knees. That having been said, it'll keep you fit and sharp and be good practice. From what I know, many if not most of Ireland's best MMA fighters have a boxing/Thai boxing background to begin with anyway. Best of luck.

I am fairly aware of the differences but want to take the best out of boxing and apply it to MMA... Good footwork, sharp striking etc. Thanks for your input.