Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The mystical star sign thread

• 22-09-2014 6:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭

I'm a proud Cancerian. Sexy lads, us :cool:

What is your star sign, and does it fit with your personality?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

I'm an Aquarius, now shut your face!

What kind of a personality is a cancerian supposed to have?

Edit: I looked it up there. My description couldn't be further from reality!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Pawn

A real Aries.

Aries Strength Keywords:

- Independent
    - Generous
    - Optimistic
    - Enthusiastic
    - Courageous
    Aries Weakness Keywords:

- Moody
    - Short tempered
    - Self-involved
    - Impulsive
    - Impatient

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

I'm Libra and I'm perfect and just and beautiful and I'm all about the love, so yeah mine is bang on. Edit, also everyone is jealous of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Pisces.

Assholes to the core.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Remembering reading a Not the Nine O'Clock News book years ago (aging myself here but what the hell) - in the horoscope section Virgos were classed as cold and emotionless, making good pimps or bus drivers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Aphex

Go on :p We can laugh at ourselfs and not take ourselfs too seriously :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Scorpio Astrology October 23 - November 21

Scorpio Strength Keywords:

- Loyal
    - Passionate
    - Resourceful
    - Observant
    - Dynamic

Scorpio Weakness Keywords:

- Jealous
    - Obsessive
    - Suspicious
    - Manipulative
    - Unyielding

A little bit from column A, a little bit from column B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Citroen2cv

Star signs - what an utter load of sh*te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Citroen2cv wrote: »

I wouldn't be too hasty. I really am an asshole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Basically we're:
    Gregarious, but like being on our own sometimes
    We like our home comforts, but also enjoy adventure
    Further generic statements that describe everyone on the planet because starsigns are rubbish.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Pyrex

I was a test tube baby...

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Wibbs wrote: »
    Pyrex

I was a test tube baby...

Like Max Zorin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,596 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I'm on the Cancer/Leo cusp. The crabby lion.

If I believed in superstitious ****e I'd probably think that was great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Aquarian......rebel without a cause :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

Leo.....and I have a long mane of glorious hair to prove it ;)

Some of them apply, no more than some of other star sign traits would apply.

I'm the least clingy/needy person. Rarely cranky (does happen though :P). Total optimist. Not very creative.

I do tend to love my, um, loved ones a lot and I would be protective over them. I would be suspicious at times - but I think modding After Hours has a lot to answer in that regard :D

I'm fairly spontaneous, but that's not always a positive thing.

So in summary: What a load of bollox.

Positive Traits

Creative: The Crabs can come up with brilliant and novel ideas using their imaginative powers. However, in the process they can end up with ideas that may not be too practical, or may be too over-ambitious.

Spontaneous: The power to think and act spontaneously is the major guiding force for a Cancerian, and more than reasoning, they rely on their intuition for taking decisions.

Faithful: Sensitive as they are, Cancerians are faithful and generous towards others, and they hardly expect anything in return for their generosity and faithfulness.

Loving: The Cancer-born natives deeply admire and respect people who are near to them. Even those who are far away get to experience the loving side of a Cancerian quite often.

Emotional: Cancerians are quite emotional people, but at times they might appear icy and separated. They sympathise with other people and love to take care of them.

Protective: Cancerians are greatly protective of their personal area, interests, belongings, relationships and loved ones.

Negative Traits

Moody: The Crabs can be very temperamental and their mood swings are quite unpredictable, which may become overwhelming for the people around them.

Pessimistic: They can easily get bogged down by setbacks and failures. It is observed that the Cancer natives are prone to pessimism.

Clingy: This is their typical characteristic. The Cancer natives find it difficult to let go of things close to their heart, and hence, they find it difficult to look beyond the imperfections and move on.

Overemotional: Cancer-born are inclined to carry imaginary hurts and setbacks along with them. This is because of their overemotional nature, which can create highly unsettling conditions for them.

Suspicious: Cancerians are inclined to doubt people’s intentions as they carry an imaginary fear, and so they cross-check everything.

Born Nagger: A cancer-born constantly keeps on complaining and are considered as born naggers. The negative energy this specific habit is producing may distance people from them, especially their near and dear ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Leogirl

Leo. Not at all outgoing & dont like the limelight, I avoid it- but most of the other stuff they say about Leos is fairly true. Proud & stubborn - for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

sagittarius - dont know much about it though really. I think the symbol is often associated with centaurs - dem those half horse fellas. Which might explain my affinity to jumping over hedges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Scorpio Astrology October 23 - November 21

Scorpio Strength Keywords:

- Loyal
    - Passionate
    - Resourceful
    - Observant
    - Dynamic

Scorpio Weakness Keywords:

- Jealous
    - Obsessive
    - Suspicious
    - Manipulative
    - Unyielding

A little bit from column A, a little bit from column B.

Snap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Blingy

Pawn wrote: »
    A real Aries.

Aries Strength Keywords:

- Independent
    - Generous
    - Optimistic
    - Enthusiastic
    - Courageous
    Aries Weakness Keywords:

- Moody
    - Short tempered
    - Self-involved
    - Impulsive
    - Impatient

Yep that's me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭caolfx

I'm a Sagittarius. Muscular legs. Exceptional at archery. I eat two or three cream eggs at a time.

That pretty much sums me up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Deadzone

We are a Gemini

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Mystical - I don't think so.

Star sign? Oh yeah, that's why they're based around the planets.

Conclusion: WTF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I am a Virgo and yes I am perfect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm a bang in the middle Virgin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

I am a Virgo and yes I am perfect.

Do you look like John Virgo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I'm a Capricorn and have all the usual Capricorn traits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Ophiuchus.

The fluffy heads always forget that one! As a point of interest, of course, most of the responses thus far in this thread are most likely inaccurate. The early astronomers who defined the astrological system knew nothing about the precession of the equinoxes. Modern observational astronomers are well aware of it. This is not the reason they don't subscribe to astrology. That probably has more to do with the fact that they are intelligent, educated, and know about stuff. Precession, which is a 26000 year 'wobble' at the poles means that your star sign won't be 'your' star sign again until the 240th century. By which time we will hopefully have outgrown this and related bull5hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Well, I'm a typical Leo. In that I don't believe in astrology.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I'm a Taurus, after a quick google, I'm an automobile made by Ford in the US, but not popular in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

I'm on the cusp of cnut and bollix myself, never really got round to checking it out thou.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Do you look like John Virgo?

Oh no I'm much prettier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I'm a me.
    I'm a bang in the middle Virgin.

If you've been banged in the middle then I doubt that.

Citroen2cv wrote: »

Typical Sagittarius attitude. Pfftt..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Aphex wrote: »
    I'm a proud Cancerian. Sexy lads, us :cool:

What is your star sign, and does it fit with your personality?

I'm a scorpio, the most compatible with cancerians. <3

My bestfriend and my bf are cancerians. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

I am a Libra, which means, per endacl's bit about precession above, that when I was born, the Sun was in the Constellation Virgo.

I'm a scorpio, the most compatible with cancerians. <3

My bestfriend and my bf are cancerians. :D

Do you hold him when he crys after sex? That's the one thing I dislike about being a cancer, but don't be alarmed, it means we really care. x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Oh dear, as a total non-believer in this stuff, I'm afraid the Aquarius description is dead on. Especially the negatives :eek::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Do you hold him when he crys after sex? That's the one thing I dislike about being a cancer, but don't be alarmed, it means we really care. x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I just looked up Gemini traits, my polarity is positive and my modality is mutable:confused::confused:

Eh, could be I suppose

Zodiac SignGemini Zodiac Symbol
    Birth Date Range -21 May - 20 June
    Keyphrase-I Think
    Longitude Interval60 to 90 degrees
    Associated Celestial Body -Mercury
    In traditional Western astrology, each sign is ruled by one and only one of the seven visible planets. Note that in astrology, the Sun and Moon are termed The Lights, while the other bodies are called planets, which literally means wanderers, i.e. wandering stars as opposed to the fixed stars.
    Polarity-Positive
    Modality-Mutable
    Element -Air

For all the sceptics out there (you are probably right btw) check this out, fill it in and see does it match your personality. I thought it was incredibly accurate!

astro.cafeastrology.com/cgi-bin/astro/natal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Stolen from the "Big Bang Theory":
    Penny: I'm a Sagittarius, which probably tells you way more than you need to know.
    Sheldon: Yes, it tells us that you participate in the mass cultural delusion that the sun's apparent position relative to arbitrarily defined constellations at the time of your birth somehow affects your personality.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

For all the sceptics out there (you are probably right btw) check this out, fill it in and see does it match your personality. I thought it was incredibly accurate!

astro.cafeastrology.com/cgi-bin/astro/natal

I bet no fellow Taurus'/Tauruses/Taurai will fill that in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I'm a Taurus, after a quick google, I'm an automobile made by Ford in the US, but not popular in Europe.

Snap! I'm a Scorpio, also built by Ford and not popular anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

It's as if star signs aren't complete horseshit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

Only quickly looked through,

but has anyone commented that our current star sign dates are actually incorrect?

(and also that more than dates( planets etc.) play an impact on your star sign and you may be something totally outside the dates suggested.

Anyway, on the wrong dates, and what's correct. Here's a link.
    why dates are wrong.
    what your true sign is.

Oh and others in this thread may enjoy this site. (it was scarily true for me, and a few people I know, but so bloody wrong for my partner.)
    http://www.thesecretlanguage.com/check/birthdate/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

I'm Libra, and maybe I'm just a gullible eejit but I really think some of it is spot on :o

Positives:
    Tactful
    Romantic
    Just
    Diplomatic
    Balanced

Negatives:
    Superficial
    Unreliable
    Laid-back
    Indecisive
    Self-indulgent

...the negatives are definitely right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Im a gemini so supposed to have a split personality but also flirty and fun......make of that what ya like!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

My birthday is Leo/Virgo depending on the horoscope as the dates always seem to be different. The 'traits' for each sign are pretty much polar opposites, but vague enough that both could apply to me