Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another Irish jackpot Euromillions winner

• 19-09-2014 8:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭

86 million give or take....get checking ur ticketes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Give or take 86 million?

Instructions not clear, my knob is stuck in the oven

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Good for them, I hope they are celebrating tonight :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Stheno wrote: »
    Good for them, I hope they are celebrating tonight :)

I'd be breaking out a seriously expensive bottle of whiskey and writing my resignation letter, and I don't even mind my job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Good luck to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

sonofenoch wrote: »
    86 million give or take....get checking ur ticketes

Bye bye losers. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I hope to god I don't know them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

It was me. None of you believe me because nobody ever thinks that someone they "know" wins it. But it was me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

Bottled water all the way if I win,no expense spared

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Oh no I was just at the shop but I didn't do the euromillions cos I was in a rush. It could've been me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

In totallu unrelated news, anyone know where a lad could buy a solid gold mansion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I'd buy an island, cool military uniform, snazzy beard, nice cigars, make myself dictator and die by revolution after a glorious 30years in power

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Haven't even checked my ticket yet.....

(2 quick picks....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Uriel. wrote: »
    I'd be breaking out a seriously expensive bottle of whiskey and writing my resignation letter, and I don't even mind my job

I'd be getting my servant to write my resignation letter and have it delivered by my 'letter delivererer'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Why...the...Fcuk....is....it....never.....MEEEEEE ?!?!?!

Jammy......fcuking.....b@stard!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

I haven't checked my ticket yet so I'm going to do some coke and whores in a pre-emptive moment of coolness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

hope someone in my family bought a ticket because i feckin didnt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

sonofenoch wrote: »
    86 million give or take

after much deliberation, I think I'll take

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Good luck to whoever it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭dickface

Please be my Dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I hope I won, I play online and the national lottery shut it down at night.

Hopefully an email tomorrow morning saying check your account and €86 million with change waiting for me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭ireland.man

The great thing about winning the Euro Millions is how many long last friends will be in contact with you again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

The great thing about winning the Euro Millions is how many long last friends will be in contact with you again.

I would hire a big stage in my local town and give a Fr. Ted style 'Golden Cleric' speech. Look at me now!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Ran to get my ticket when I saw this thread.
    Checked ticket.
    It's not fecking well me:mad:
    Good luck to whoever it is though.

*closes myhome and Maserati dealership tabs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

RobertKK wrote: »
    I hope I won, I play online and the national lottery shut it down at night.

Hopefully an email tomorrow morning saying check your account and €86 million with change waiting for me...

Make sure its not from a Nigerian prince.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

I swear I don't begrudge the winner but jaysus does hearing about an Irish winner always put me in bad humour for some stupid reason. Its ridiculous but I think I always feel a sense of 'Close, but no cigar', or, "well there goes my chance of winning for another year or two" because what are the odds of two irish winners close together (has actually happened last year IIRC though. 2 Irish winners only 2 or 3 months apart)

Or perhaps its simply a variation on the hopes raised then dashed after a few seconds one gets when one hears that the Irish Lotto winner was sold in your own town. The squirt of adrenaline until you scramble to check your ticket. Or when the adrenaline starts squirting as you tick off 3 then 4 numbers.....then........ah bollix :D

In other words I know its totally irrational but.......I'm in a very bad mood now :D

Actually, when one thinks about it. The bad humour thing is a good thing. Its probably the reason I am not a gambler (Minimum play every other lotto draw is the only gambling I do. Don't buy scratchcards. Don't bet on any sport or anything etc etc A gambler remembers the wins and forgets all the loses. I forget the wins and only remember the loses. Risk averse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Calibos wrote: »
    I swear I don't begrudge the winner but jaysus does hearing about an Irish winner always put me in bad humour for some stupid reason. Its ridiculous but I think I always feel a sense of 'Close, but no cigar', or, "well there goes my chance of winning for another year or two" because what are the odds of two irish winners close together (has actually happened last year IIRC though. 2 Irish winners only 2 or 3 months apart)

You've the same odds of winning it every week, no matter where the previous winner was from. You even have the same odds as if you picked the same numbers as the previous winner,.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

And you'll play it next week, for sure, on Tuesday and Friday to be on the safe side thinking if they can win it, you can too and then not win it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

One seriously lucky person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Bafucin

Congrats to them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Be amazing to wake up knowing you never need to work again, just do what you want. Start your own business or passion project,can help friends and family, charities. Money is basically no obstacle.
    It'd be hard keeping it quiet, practially impossible in fairness and there's no way I'd stay in Ireland with that amount of money, too easy for people to find out, but a holiday home there would be nice :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

I'd follow Garth Brooks on his world tour. I'd die happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The Irish lotto reveal the name of the shop the next day

Euromillions don't do that. They will not reveal the shop until the winner comes forward and contacts them

Wasn't me. :mad:
    Only one lucky star (that's all I could remember from lottery.ie)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Rabbo

I'd follow Garth Brooks on his world tour. I'd die happy.

I'd never have put you down as a Garth Brooks fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I was awake all night spending that money.

I am green with envy!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

I was awake all night spending that money.

I am green with envy!!

Whatcha buy?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭Lucy B

I tried spending it last night using a calculator of course, too many zeros and couldn't!!! Even after giving money to everyone I know, charities, house, holidays, cars, trust funds and the number still wouldn't go down enough!! Imagine that being your new financial problem!!

Instead of tensing when I see my balance I'd be saying for feck sake it's still at 50 million!! Doh!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Yes, yes I won last night, I won!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Got the email from the national lottery to check my account, so I did and wowI won a fiver, such a buzz kill :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 billy111

This time next week headline: 'syndicate of senior public service workers collect euro millions cheque'. Or 'east coast farmer with 800 acres collects euro millions'. Or 'elderly couple with no kids collect euro millions cheque'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Calibos wrote: »

Or perhaps its simply a variation on the hopes raised then dashed after a few seconds one gets when one hears that the Irish Lotto winner was sold in your own town. The squirt of adrenaline until you scramble to check your ticket. Or when the adrenaline starts squirting as you tick off 3 then 4 numbers.....then........ah bollix :D

In other words I know its totally irrational but.......I'm in a very bad mood now :D

Actually, when one thinks about it. The bad humour thing is a good thing. Its probably the reason I am not a gambler (Minimum play every other lotto draw is the only gambling I do. Don't buy scratchcards. Don't bet on any sport or anything etc etc A gambler remembers the wins and forgets all the loses. I forget the wins and only remember the loses. Risk averse.

You buy a ticket and start thinking, what if I won. Then you hear that someone in Ireland won and your hopes rise a little bit more. then you hear that it was in your town and you think "OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD. Could it be me? " Then you check your ticket and it's not. It's some other fcuker.

Just found out the news..., it was my son!!!!!!!

Been ringing him all morning to congratulate him but he won't answer.

His foster parents must have brought him up as a right selfish prick. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0919/645074-euromillions/
    In the meantime, the National Lottery advises that the winner go to the winners section on www.lottery.ie for helpful tips (if required) on what to do if you win the lottery.

How about. GO FCUKING NUTS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Grayson wrote: »

The booklet for winners on the lottery website has this dreadful advice:
    Most people don’t get the chance to appear in national newspapers or on TV. Here is your chance to be famous for a few days. Many people enjoy this part as much as the win.

And this:
    Also remember that the media are just people trying to do their job. They are almost always looking to create a positive, ‘feel-good’ story about winners to entertain their readers, listeners or viewers.

They don't point out that if you are a convicted rapist, a drug-addict or just a generally unsavoury character, they will lead with that angle and the readers, listeners or viewers will be even more entertained.

It's even better if it all goes pear-shaped so the world can have a good gloat.

Here's a real headline from the Daily Mail, which is fairly typical:
    The curse continues: Lottery winner's son hit and killed by a car just weeks after daughter-in-law drowns in newly built pool

I hope that some with a bunch of kids struggling financially and with a huge mortgage is waking up this morning happy. I also hope they don't go too crazy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Can anyone give me some advice on how to spend a large amount of money that has by good fortune come my way.

I have never been much good with money and I think I will need a great deal of help;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭Dontfadeaway

billy111 wrote: »
    This time next week headline: 'syndicate of senior public service workers collect euro millions cheque'. Or 'east coast farmer with 800 acres collects euro millions'. Or 'elderly couple with no kids collect euro millions cheque'.

:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭nicebutdim

In an exercise in total futility, I am not checking my ticket for the weekend....the thought that I may have the winning ticket ( I know, I really don't ) is distracting me from my horrible job....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

nicebutdim wrote: »
    In an exercise in total futility, I am not checking my ticket for the weekend....the thought that I may have the winning ticket ( I know, I really don't ) is distracting me from my horrible job....

If anybody is actually doing this or similar, make sure the ticket is somewhere safe. Last thing you need is two weeks spent searching rubbish tips.