Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas bonus may be back

• 19-09-2014 12:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,408 ✭✭✭✭

Should people be on the dole be getting a "bonus" for another year of unemployment at Christmas?:confused:

The red side of the government wants to bring it back.

What yeh reckon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

As far as I'm aware, it's also for carers and those who are disabled.

Excellent broadbrushing there though OP, AH standard right there.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

*Opens popcorn*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Should people be on the dole be getting a "bonus" for another year of unemployment at Christmas?:confused:

What yeh reckon?

I reckon you hate people on the dole judging by your previous posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I going back to the Scottish vote thread, it's safer :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

xzanti wrote: »
    *Opens popcorn*

Never gets old, *grabs a handful*...

Don't mind if I do :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

No they shouldn't be bringing it back,such a payment should never have been paid.Trying to buy votes .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Get paid even more for not doing a rap :mad: - why don't the lefties ask all the self employed people if they would like a bonus too instead of skinning them alive to waste money on wasters - and before I get the 'genuinely unemployed' backlash etc. this rant is directed at the career unemployed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Cheese for everyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Yep, bring it back, it's a much missed mid December cash injection for service industries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Are there any other religious holidays where they considered giving people bonuses like this?

People tend to drink & spend a lot on St.Patricks day, or spend a lot on easter eggs at easter.

I know there used to be confirmation & communion grants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

xzanti wrote: »
    *Opens popcorn*

*can't afford popcorn, cries*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,408 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Get paid even more for not doing a rap :mad: - why don't the lefties ask all the self employed people if they would like a bonus too instead of skinning them alive to waste money on wasters - and before I get the 'genuinely unemployed' backlash etc. this rant is directed at the career unemployed.

Exactly. Why should some feckless layabout be getting a "bonus" every Christmas after, say, 6 years of unemployment?

The fact it is called a "bonus" tells you something too. A bonus is usually a reward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

What yeh reckon?

Do you find it tiring being so angry about these things all the time ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Steppenwolfe

I don't begrudge SW recipients a little extra at xmas. It must be a very tough time of year for them. The relief it brings to people far outweighs the extra cost to the exchequer imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

I hope they bring it back just to piss off all the begrudgers on here who never had to struggle for anything in their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Exactly. Why should some feckless layabout be getting a "bonus" every Christmas after, say, 6 years of unemployment?

The fact it is called a "bonus" tells you something too. A bonus is usually a reward.

I know a lad who has been unemployed for nearly 7 years, He is 52 and used to work a steel press machine in a factory. He has applied for THOUSANDS of jobs and got nothing. Heads up....not everyone on long term unemployment is a useless layabout as you and your ilk seem to think :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Hopefully any additional monies available in the budget will be used on tax-breaks for workers, as opposed to increasing our already ludicrously high SW rates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

here lies the problem with this being posted ... :pac:

- naturally anyone on the social welfare will want to recieve it.
    - sadly there are alot of begrudgers in this world. so alot of unemployed people will be against it. So grab the popcorn indeed :pac:

*munch*
    *munch*
    where's the guy who goes "my taxes this, my taxes that, rabble rabble" :pac:
    *munch*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭wilser

Well tbf according to AH everyone on the dole spends all their days in the pub/bookies, smokes all day every day, goes to Florida for at least 2 weeks in the summer and has a brand new 14D reg car.
    So taking all that into account then of course they should get a bonus as a reward.
    They should be running the finances of the country never mind an extra €188 once a year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

rubadub wrote: »
    Are there any other religious holidays where they considered giving people bonuses like this?

People tend to drink & spend a lot on St.Patricks day, or spend a lot on easter eggs at easter.

I know there used to be confirmation & communion grants.

There thinking of paying it to our Muslem brothers who are also unfortunate to be unemployed during Ramadan ...it only goes on for a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

I know a lad who has been unemployed for nearly 7 years, He is 52 and used to work a steel press machine in a factory. He has applied for THOUSANDS of jobs and got nothing. Heads up....not everyone on long term unemployment is a useless layabout as you and your ilk seem to think :mad:

in 7 years he could have retrained at something else through incentives like springboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Faolchu wrote: »
    in 7 years he could have retrained at something else through incentives like springboard.

Yup he did he did 2 years comptia A+ and Network+ and then worked for a 9 months doing jobbridge and still can't get taken on. simple fact is men over a certain age find it harder to get employed.

Thousands eh?

Let's be generous and say two thousand.

So every working day for nearly 7 years he applied for an average of 6 jobs per day?
    And didn't get 1?

He did in my bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Personally, I would not approve of it coming back for all SW recipients. I would have a certain level of sympathy for carers, as their work generally relieves the state of certain commitments and expenditure.

Furthermore the idea of a 'bonus' would fit much better with the work being done by carers. I can't see the fit with regard to those not working to be honest.

It is very difficult to get rid of these kind of payments and provisions and I hope the Government thinks very carefully about the implications of reinstating these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

So, the fact there's a small minority of scroungers determines your decision to begrudge the following groups for a little extra at Christmas:
    • Graduates
    • Those laid off unfairly who make honest attempts at finding work
    • Disabled people
    • Carers
    Furthermore, the implementation costs around €260 million, a great deal of which will return to the tax pot as people spend money in the season that's in it.

Forget analysing the name of the money, whether it's called "Christmas bonus" is neither here nor there, what's important is how you understand the implications of the small quantity of money, and any proper analysis would come to the conclusion I and many others have in the course of this thread.

Moreover, you sound jealous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Yes

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I think the dole should be reduced from €188 to a nice, round €185 per week, with the Christmas bonus reinstated. The €3 per week wouldn't really be missed by many, but the Christmas bonus would be positive, not only for those unfortunate enough to be unemployed, but also for the retail business at Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

They want to buy votes you mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭ireland.man

As a college student availing of heavily subsidised education in Ireland/ a farmer's son who's family receives 'free money' through CAP and State help/ a worker in a company receiving State support to remain competitive in the global market/ etc/ I'm shocked and appalled that other people are receiving more visible help than the help I'm receiving from the State.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Why would they need a bonus? Can't they just do what everyone else does and live within their means?

Labour are worried that the Shinners have been hoovering up the 'feckless-layabout-welfare-junkie' vote for a while now and are making noises about reclaiming them.

As a college student availing of heavily subsidised education in Ireland/ a farmer's son who's family receives 'free money' through CAP and State help/ a worker in a company receiving State support to remain competitive in the global market/ etc/ I'm shocked and appalled that other people are receiving more visible help than the help I'm receiving from the State.

Oh come off it. There's plenty of people on low paying jobs who get no Christmas bonus. I can well imagine them being pissed off at this proposal. And people bringing up carers... how many carers are there in the state versus people on the dole whom are out of work? Ye're being wilfully obtuse lads.

FYIW I'm in favour of Christmas bonuses, but there's plenty of good reasons to question it. Not everyone against can be painted as some Tory fan-boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Moyglish

Anyone got a link to where there's talk of the Christmas "bonus" being reinstated? Would be interested to read up on this, thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Never gets old, *grabs a handful*...

Don't mind if I do :p

Hooch over on the bench there, Czarky! Come on the winner!! :D

c_man wrote: »
    Oh come off it. There's plenty of people on low paying jobs who get no Christmas bonus. I can well imagine them being pissed off at this proposal. And people bringing up carers... how many carers are there in the state versus people on the dole whom are out of work? Ye're being wilfully obtuse lads.

FYIW I'm in favour of Christmas bonuses, but there's plenty of good reasons to question it. Not everyone against can be painted as some Tory fan-boy.

But I think the OP from his previous posts and threads attacking all sorts of social protection schemes appears to be one of those Tory fan boys.

Those opposing the bonuses in this thread aren't going to be using in-depth and rational economic justifications, it'll mostly be about anecdotes of Vicky Ollard type people they know, etc. (If the hundreds of previous threads on dole topics are anything to go by).

Anyway, people struggling on low paying jobs not being able to make ends meet is a huge issue and totally unacceptable. Helping one group of vulnerable people isn't going to worsen their situation though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

What dafuq is up with this attitude that anyone who is unemployed is a junkie Is lazy or what have you.

It's disgusting. If anyone ever said that in front of me I would think less of the person or a complete and utter wankbag.

My tax this my tax is paying for you, your tax would be taken off you regardless, it's a stupid complaint.

Some people are gowls, and I for one will fight this gowls through the medium of shifting them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

RayM wrote: »
    I think the dole should be reduced from €188 to a nice, round €185 per week, with the Christmas bonus reinstated. The €3 per week wouldn't really be missed by many, but the Christmas bonus would be positive, not only for those unfortunate enough to be unemployed, but also for the retail business at Christmas.

Not sure if you're joking, but I agree with cutting the 3 euro. It probably only gets spent on a coffee or something after going to the post office to collect their money by most people. Don't think many would miss it tbh, and it would save the gubberment a good bit of bob.

Anyway, people struggling on low paying jobs not being able to make ends meet is a huge issue and totally unacceptable.

Agreed.
    Helping one group of vulnerable people isn't going to worsen their situation though.

It'd lead to more division and a sense of unfairness (not at all unjustified imo) between the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

I don't have a massive issue with it, would be nice if they carried it over to the taxpayers too, perhaps give them a discounted tax month as most people, employed and unemployed find Christmas tough financially.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I'm on the dole, God bless my soul. (I'm doing the double as well ;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

What dafuq is up with this attitude that anyone who is unemployed is a junkie Is lazy or what have you.

It's disgusting. If anyone ever said that in front of me I would think less of the person or a complete and utter wankbag.

My tax this my tax is paying for you, your tax would be taken off you regardless, it's a stupid complaint.

Some people are gowls, and I for one will fight this gowls through the medium of shifting them.

They've probably never been unemployed, or have got into work very soon after being made unemployed. I can't imagine they'd have this attitude if they were stuck on the dole for a year.

I'm sure if they were laid off in the morning they'd be down to the post office in a few weeks to collect their dole. Unless they're the type of idiot who wouldn't claim it "as a matter of principle"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

If the extra few bob eases the worry for some and keeps the moneylenders from making a killing, I wouldn't have any issues with it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,069 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I think that the bonus is being spent on drugs and hookers and drugs to keep the hookers in line.

Party on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

I hope the government also gives a bonus to those forced to turn up to a job during the nice weather. Or the unemployed's christmas as i like to think of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

If it comes back I think it should be mirrored with a comparable "Christmas tax break" for the employed.

Funkfield wrote: »
    If it comes back I think it should be mirrored with a comparable "Christmas tax break" for the employed.

How about a tax break for all those on minimum wage? Any economy in which those working full time can't feed and house themselves and their families without stress is a badly managed economy.

I just wish people wouldn't draw this massive line between employed workers struggling to look after themselves and their families, and those workers doing the same when they've lost their jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

They could earn their bonus by clearing snow and ice from footpaths during the festive season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,408 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

So, the fact there's a small minority of scroungers determines your decision to begrudge the following groups for a little extra at Christmas:
    • Graduates
    • Those laid off unfairly who make honest attempts at finding work
    • Disabled people
    • Carers

I never mention any of that group in the op so no I don't mean them. I do mean the people who have no intention of working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

Not sure if you're joking, but I agree with cutting the 3 euro. It probably only gets spent on a coffee or something after going to the post office to collect their money by most people. Don't think many would miss it tbh, and it would save the gubberment a good bit of bob.

Yeah cos someone on the dole would spend it on one coffee instead of using it to buy a weeks (or more) supply of instant coffee....

I'd definitely re-instate it for pensioners and carers, and those on disability benefit.

I never mention any of that group in the op so no I don't mean them. I do mean the people who have no intention of working.

You mean the 1.4 percent of people who've been long term unemployed during the height of the Celtic Tiger? Or the long term unemployed who've been without work for a year or more during one of our worst global economic downturns in decades?