Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EUR100 for a call out fair?

• 19-09-2014 11:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭

Local guy called in to check the boiler after running out of oil. I did bleed it myself but that did not seem to do the job. Anyway, this guy seemed to check few things here and there (but without doing much) then seem to release some air on the top of the boiler and some dirty water and the boiler fired up.

Are these prices still the common even after the Celtic Tiger years?

I have to work very hard to earn EUR100 myself and this guy did less than 15mins work! I feel very disappointed with trade men in Ireland and sorry to stereotype.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 6,380 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wearb

Galego wrote: »
    Local guy called in to check the boiler after running out of oil. I did bleed it myself but that did not seem to do the job. Anyway, this guy seemed to check few things here and there (but without doing much) then seem to release some air on the top of the boiler and some dirty water and the boiler fired up.

Are these prices still the common even after the Celtic Tiger years?

I have to work very hard to earn EUR100 myself and this guy did less than 15mins work! I feel very disappointed with trade men in Ireland and sorry to stereotype.

If things are exactly as you stated then its a rip off. I would have serviced it for you for that amount and given you some change.

Please follow site and charter rules. "Resistance is futile"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Galego

Wearb wrote: »
    If things are exactly as you stated then its a rip off. I would have serviced it for you for that amount and given you some change.

Based anywhere around D15? :D

He replaced no parts. He did not clean the filter. Basically, he did nothing but I could not have taken the chance and tried things myself when I am not an experts with boilers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Shop around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭lgk

Sounds like you made the fatal mistake of not asking for a price up front.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭scudo2

lgk wrote: »
    Sounds like you made the fatal mistake of not asking for a price up front.

At that price he should have done a proper service.
    Call out charge is normally €55 as its also to cover traveling time and overheads.
    You didn't get value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

That's on the higher side of things but not too bad. That €100 includes VAT which works out about €88 to him.

He probably charges €100 regardless of if he's there for 15 minutes or an hour.

I would rather someone who knew what they were doing spent 15 minutes at the job and got the job done than someone who didn't know what they were doing spending an hour messing around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭GopErthike

That's on the higher side of things but not too bad. That €100 includes VAT which works out about €88 to him.

I would rather someone who knew what they were doing spent 15 minutes at the job and got the job done than someone who didn't know what they were doing spending an hour messing around.

Spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

I charge €75 inc VAT for the first hour. I would travel anywhere from Balbriggan to Bray for that. I put up over 100 miles today alone. My call out of €75 inc VAT is on the high side.
    €100 is a rip off unless it is out of hours? 24 hour emergency plumber can charge anything after hours (€150 is probably the norm)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭agusta

Id say he charges as much as he thinks he can get!,Scudu2 is one of the top services guys and he charges 55 euro.This guy charges nearly double.

agusta wrote: »
    Id say he charges as much as he thinks he can get!,Scudu2 is one of the top services guys and he charges 55 euro.This guy charges nearly double.

I charge €55 callout if its appropate.
    Inbetween price depending on work.
    I charge €120 for full proper service.
    Two calls today were no charge.
    1 out of oil
    1 forgot to turn up room stat when testing.
    Regular customers that I offered to strangle the next time !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

When we finished installing our stove we decided to get full service done on our boiler and for it to be checked over so both could run together . Guy did full service for 80 . He was there a good hour if not slightly more .

Slightly different but I feel its all in same cat , electrician guy came to fix oven . Needed new thermostat . He traveled 25 mins and charged us 65 and that inc thermo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

it is a bit on the expensive side, maybe €80 max

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

And income tax as well........

As long as he is declaring all this of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I got a plumber to take out an oil fired stanley and install a multi fuel stove in it's place. He had another man with him and I also helped out it took 5 hours in total cost €150 :)

I know a carpenter that will charge €300/day for small jobs and €150/day for bigger jobs, needless to say he gets plenty time off and has trouble getting paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I got a plumber to take out an oil fired stanley and install a multi fuel stove in it's place. He had another man with him and I also helped out it took 5 hours in total cost €150 :)

I know a carpenter that will charge €300/day for small jobs and €150/day for bigger jobs, needless to say he gets plenty time off and has trouble getting paid.

150 for 5 hours and he had somebody with him. Holy god I fear for the quality of your job. Was your plumber also the postman/milkman by any chance?

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    150 for 5 hours and he had somebody with him. Holy god I fear for the quality of your job. Was your plumber also the postman/milkman by any chance?
    No need to fear, the stove is in use over the last 3 winters I took it out myself to center it on the wall the second winter, also he never crossed the pipes as recommended by the manufacturer so I corrected that. You connect two pipes to it and seal the flue not rocket science by any means.

My experience with trademen so far is that the more they have charged me the worst they have been. It is not like "you get what you pay for" over this island. :-(

No need to fear, the stove is in use over the last 3 winters I took it out myself to center it on the wall the second winter, also he never crossed the pipes as recommended by the manufacturer so I corrected that. You connect two pipes to it and seal the flue not rocket science by any means.

People have died because of that ignorant attitude to installing solid fuel. It might not be rocket science, but it is a science in itself. If I had a tenner for every time I came across a stove that "worked grand for years " but was actually a disaster waiting to happen, I'd be a rich man.
    Just because something works, it dosent mean it's done right or is safe

My experience with trademen so far is that the more they have charged me the worst they have been. It is not like "you get what you pay for" over this island. :-(
    Exactly, just because you pay someone €1000 for a few days work doesn't guarantee perfection.

Just like the carpenter I mentioned he's lucky to get one or two days work a week and even more lucky to get paid. Other carpenters are working for €100/day 6 days a week and have no problem getting work or money.

People have died because of that ignorant attitude to installing solid fuel. It might not be rocket science, but it is a science in itself. If I had a tenner for every time I came across a stove that "worked grand for years " but was actually a disaster waiting to happen, I'd be a rich man.
    Just because something works, it dosent mean it's done right or is safe
    Well he's a fully qualified plumber who doesn't overcharge.

Two weeks ago I was at a solid fuel boiler installed by a qualified plumber. It was a sealed system with a 12 litre expansion vessel. Basically a bomb.
    Had worked grand for years but it did a lot of banging for done reason.
    150 for 2 guys for 5 hours isn't even handyman rates.
    They obviously had no insurance, and didn't charge you vat. Did you even get a receipt

A fully qualified plumber who brought both pipes off one side of the stove. Says it all there really.
    I'd love a few pics of the hot press pipe work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭elastico

ebbsy wrote: »
    And income tax as well........

As long as he is declaring all this of course.

Which is probably at 52% so he actually made about €42.

Out of this he then has to allow for, cost of diesel, van depreciation, insurance, a bit towards the cost of paying for a business banking account, accounts fees etc. Nobody pays a pension contribution for him, or pays for his wages when he is on holidays etc., no overtime allowance, so I don't think €42 is excessive, maybe it took a good 40 minutes so get there and back, so that's the guts of 2 hours.

Not excessive in the grand scheme of things.

A fully qualified plumber who brought both pipes off one side of the stove. Says it all there really.
    I'd love a few pics of the hot press pipe work
    The hot press pipe work was installed when the house was built I said the stove was replacing an oil range so the pipes were already in place.

What kind of oil range?

elastico wrote: »

Out of this he then has to allow for, cost of diesel, van depreciation, insurance, a bit towards the cost of paying for a business banking account, accounts fees etc. Nobody pays a pension contribution for him, or pays for his wages when he is on holidays etc., no overtime allowance, so I don't think €42 is excessive, maybe it took a good 40 minutes so get there and back, so that's the guts of 2 hours.

Not excessive in the grand scheme of things.
    He also needs work clothes, boots and tools maybe he should also put a charge on the shoe leather he used walking into the house.

What kind of oil range?
    Stanley

Stanley

Correct me if I'm wrong, but they are usually piped via a fully pumped system. Which means your stove is piped to a fully pumped system. Will work grand until something goes wrong. It MUST be piped to a gravity system. I'd get that checked out mate cause joking and banter aside, it's dangerous if I'm correct

I disagree on that one.
    But then I never employ strangers, which does leaves a bit to chance.

At times I feel like an recruiting agency. For the amount of recomadiations for other trades that I'm asked for every week.

elastico wrote: »

Highly doubted it!!!

Correct me if I'm wrong, but they are usually piped via a fully pumped system. Which means your stove is piped to a fully pumped system. Will work grand until something goes wrong. It MUST be piped to a gravity system. I'd get that checked out mate cause joking and banter aside, it's dangerous if I'm correct
    Before the stanley oil cooker there was a tirola solid fuel cooker it also worked on a pumped system as did the open fire boiler.

So your saying the current stove is on a fully pumped system?

Yes

Yes

Well here's some free advice, don't use your stove until it's rectified,It Is dangerous. And don't re-employ that guy. In this case, you got what you paid for unfortunately.
    As stated earlier, it's not as simple as joining up 2 pipes.

Well here's some free advice, don't use your stove until it's rectified,It Is dangerous. And don't re-employ that guy. In this case, you got what you paid for unfortunately.
    As stated earlier, it's not as simple as joining up 2 pipes.
    Are you a plumber?

Yes I am

Yes

Just because it worked doesn't mean its safe.
    Just because I've never crashed doesn't mean I don't need a seat belt.
    Gravity system is for that reason. Safety.

scudo2 wrote: »
    Just because it worked doesn't mean its safe.
    Just because I've never crashed doesn't mean I don't need a seat belt.
    Gravity system is for that reason. Safety.
    Well, the hot water goes up to the attic from the boiler and down to the cylinder then it's pumped to the rads, is that a fully pumped system?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭GopErthike

I disagree on that one.

At times I feel like an recruiting agency. For the amount of recomadiations for other trades that I'm asked for every week.

I agree €100 is expensive but:

A lot of people just look at the bottom line, total cost.

I'd only employ a tradesman who has been recommended to me directly. There are a lot of cowboys and chancers out there. But that's not just tradesmen, it goes for EVERYTHING: Lawyers, airlines, musicians, restaurants blah blah.

The thing is I don't book flights unless I know how much it's going to cost.
    I tend to go to restaurants that are recommended to me. If it's not great I'm disappointed with whoever sent me there.

I'm rambling a bit, but my point is, you'll know if that €100 was good value if you have no further problems. Or, maybe another guy comes and spends 2hours and charges €50, but can't fix it, is that value?

Well, the hot water goes up to the attic from the boiler and down to the cylinder then it's pumped to the rads, is that a fully pumped system?

A pic tells a thousand words!

I disagree on that one.

What I wanted to say is that paying a fortune does not necessary guarantee you a quality and efficient job. Paying little also does not necessary mean the job is s**te. There could be other variables for the price to be "cheap", close friend, family member, neighbor, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

I'm not a tradesman but I think a callout in the region of 100 isn't excessive. By that I mean minimum charge of 100. The guy has to drive to you (van/diesel/tax/insurance/time) and do the work. Has to buy public liability insurance, pay VAT and income tax and travel to next job. After expenses, left with way less than half of that. Good tradesmen should earn a good living (800 Euro or so a week at least) so he would need to do about 20 calls like yours a week to get that wage for himself. Of course he takes the risk as well of no work coming in, van breakdowns, bad debts etc...It's certainly not excessive. 100 for call out and up to 1 hour Labour + 50 per subsequent hour is ok.

GopErthike wrote: »
    I agree €100 is expensive but:
    I'd only employ a tradesman who has been recommended to me directly. There are a lot of cowboys and chancers out there. But that's not just tradesmen, it goes for EVERYTHING: Lawyers, airlines, musicians, restaurants blah blah.

Yes I fully agree on this statement.

The plumber told me "people just do not get that trademen get paid more money than professionals". This was his answer when I said to him that I would not earn 100eur for 10min job in my profession. For people who have mentioned, travel expenses or other overheads and/or taxes/vat - this guy lives 10mins drive from me, used my own screw driver (only), gave me no invoice and highly doubt he declares corporate tax on that cash.

Anyway thanks for your views on the topic. I think I've now taken some advise here and learnt for future situations.

The plumber told me "people just do not get that trademen get paid more money than professionals". This was his answer when I said to him that I would not earn 100eur for 10min job in my profession. For people who have mentioned, travel expenses or other overheads and/or taxes/vat - this guy lives 10mins drive from me, used my own screw driver (only), gave me no invoice and highly doubt he declares corporate tax on that cash.

Anyway thanks for your views on the topic. I think I've now taken some advise here and learnt for future situations.

But you see, it's not only 15 minutes for him. As others have pointed out, he spends time getting to your house and then time getting to the next job.

He was near to you but the next one could be 40 miles away and I bet he still charges the same for those ones.

And BTW, why do you assume he's a tax dodger as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

But he had to buy all the other tools just because he didn't use them on your job doesn't mean he doesn't need them. But you are probably correct on the invoice, tax part. Call him up and say you were expected the invoice by now if you feel he ripped you off

And BTW, why do you assume he's a tax dodger as well?

In my job I get to see their accounts and big majority report loses, I dont need to explain why - right?

So you see a few tax returns and you assume all trades men are tax dodgers? Bad form Galego.

I do not see few, I do see loads. But it is not just trademen........Things start from the top. How much do you think corporations pay in this country? :D

Anyway, I do not want to go off topic. My only intention with my post was ONLY to ask whether 100eur was a fair fee for the job carried out. Some said yes some said no. Each has its opinion to defend their arguments. Thanks for the replies. I think I end it here.

All Vets charge around €35 for a cal out in a lot of cases only to inject an animal they have the same overheads as any other business man. €100 is excessive for any tradesman.