Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More Proof that Female Police Officers should not be on the Streets

• 17-09-2014 3:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭

I've said it before on AH than female police officers should not be allowed on the beat. They are useless and always need a male colleague to help them out. In this video they were rescued by a 16 year old boy for christ's sake and had to wait for their male colleagues to arrive to arrest the guy on the ground. I'm sure there is plenty of administration work for female cops to do and that's what they should stick to.

http://youtu.be/JrdTVydRlmQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭Wossack

like Im going to follow a link to a website called 'theladbible.com' ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Possibly fairer to say that females should have to satisfy the same criteria as males to be allowed on the beat?
    Size of yon fella, I (male) wouldn't have been able to stop him either, but I'm sure there are plenty of females who could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Fair play to the kid in the video, not many would have done the same. I wouldn't say female police officers are useless on the street though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,586 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Must be feeling that kid well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Wait till the militant females on here see this, I'd just close the account now if I were you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

I've said it before on AH than female police officers should not be allowed on the beat. They are useless and always need a male colleague to help them out. In this video they were rescued by a 16 year old boy for christ's sake and had to wait for their male colleagues to arrive to arrest the guy on the ground. I'm sure there is plenty of administration work for female cops to do and that's what they should stick to.

http://www.theladbible.com/articles/a-teenager-saw-a-criminal-escape-the-police-so-did-something-about-it

I suppose you're an expert in community policing or some such?

I'd hate to have an all-male police force. There's enough macho crap in the guards as it is among the bad eggs.

If they couldn't restrain him then they call for backup. Big deal. They have pepper spray if no backup is on hand.

EDIT: It looks like they had a handle on him until he flipped out. The kid got a lucky grab around his neck and then the two female cops held him on the floor. It's not uncommon for it to take 5 or 6 male cops to restrain one person particularly if they're out of their brain on drugs/drink and feel no pain.

In this clip, it takes 4 or 5 officers, along with members of the public to restrain a female.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

They shouldn't be flying planes either. They could start nattering on and start thinking about things, or what ever, and forget to fly the plane.

© Ali G.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭The Purveyor of Truth

Someone posted this yesterday on another thread but this female Guard didn't feel comfortable approaching a public fapper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

wazky wrote: »
    Wait till the militant females on here see this, I'd just close the account now if I were you.

He's an (internet) dead man walking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

I can't even believe sexism like this exists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Dean0088 wrote: »
    I suppose you're an expert in community policing or some such?

I'd hate to have an all-male police force. There's enough macho crap in the guards as it is among the bad eggs.

If they couldn't restrain him then they call for backup. Big deal. They have pepper spray if no backup is on hand.

EDIT: It looks like they had a handle on him until he flipped out. The kid got a lucky grab around his neck and then the two female cops held him on the floor. It's not uncommon for it to take 5 or 6 male cops to restrain one person particularly if they're out of their brain on drugs/drink and feel no pain.

In this clip, it takes 4 or 5 officers, along with members of the public to restrain a female.

And truncheons :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Wossack wrote: »

Heres a link to the Beeb for you:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-sussex-29236252

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

yermandan wrote: »

I think he has a point when it comes to physical strength.
    I'm not saying they shouldn't be on the street, but there should be a male officer present to help to overpower violent people, if required.

Would it not be standard practice for both officers to restrain a suspect then wait for backup? If one of them had gotten off him he might have injured them or ran again, better off to just hold him there and wait for extra help.

Someone posted this yesterday on another thread but this female Guard didn't feel comfortable approaching a public fapper.

Surely if there's a similar situation involving a woman, male gardaí might call for a female guard before approaching.

Also, perhaps the garda is new on the force or inexperienced? Something like that would require an experienced garda to handle.

My brother works in a major store in town. A security guard told him that a female shoplifter (of the junkie variety) who he had brought upstairs to wait for the guards had decided to try run out of the room. She also broke a chair. When that failed she began reaching down into her crotch and covering her fingers in period blood to ward off the security guards. She was out of her mind and deranged. So some female gardaí and security guards had the pleasure of leading that arrest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭The Purveyor of Truth

I don't think they should have reduced the height restriction as much as they did though in fairness. I see coppers now and their like bleedin midgets. How could they be expected to get taken seriously trying to break up a fight or something. Few weeks back there I remember waking up one morning after a night out and threw on my coat to go out and found a copper in one my pockets wriggling about. Had forgotten all about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

That video proves nothing of the sort.

There's more to being in a police force than just wrestling knackers.

If you think every male police officer is built like a tank and able to street fight like he's in the UFC than you need to wake up.

What a stupid thread.

Reoil wrote: »
    I think he has a point when it comes to physical strength.
    I'm not saying they shouldn't be on the street, but there should be a male officer present to help to overpower violent people, if required.

But then this would be putting male officers 'in the firing' line more so than their female colleagues. That has all kinds of implications from disciplining an unequal force to legal/pay issues.

I've no police experience but from what I've seen on TV and in real life, the vast majority of resisting arrest isn't fighting. It's more like barging, pushing, pulling and running. Add drink or drugs to the mix (which account for most street arrests) and it's pretty standard practice for 5/6 officers to arrive before they begin actually arresting people. So unless we're going to have every patrol with 4 males and a token female, I think your suggestion is ridiculous.

Sisko wrote: »
    That video proves nothing of the sort.

There's more to being in a police force than just wrestling knackers.

If you think every male police officer is built like a tank and able to street fight like he's in the UFC than you need to wake up.

What a stupid thread.

Guards aren't allowed to punch or kick unless the person is actively fighting them. I'd say in most situations it's better to have a fat cop sit on top of the guy until he's tired of resisting, and then just put him in handcuffs.

Seems to be the most used method on TV cop shows anyways...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Guards aren't allowed to punch or kick unless the person is actively fighting them. I'd say in most situations it's better to have a fat cop sit on top of the guy until he's tired of resisting, and then just put him in handcuffs.

There are positives to having a fat person around (I am not too skinny by the way):P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Surely if there's a similar situation involving a woman, male gardaí might call for a female guard before approaching.

Also, perhaps the garda is new on the force or inexperienced? Something like that would require an experienced garda to handle.

My brother works in a major store in town. A security guard told him that a female shoplifter (of the junkie variety) who he had brought upstairs to wait for the guards had decided to try run out of the room. She also broke a chair. When that failed she began reaching down into her crotch and covering her fingers in period blood to ward off the security guards. She was out of her mind and deranged. So some female gardaí and security guards had the pleasure of leading that arrest.

Nice.

Minimum height 5 foot 10 (I'd prefer 6 foot but ya gotta have some women I suppose)
    Fitness test every 2 years.
    Proper physical and self-defence/combat training.

Seeing a couple of 5 foot 4 Gardai with muffintops walking around doesn't exactly inspire confidence or respect. They need to be imposing rather than "intimidating" as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

True, my point really is about being powerful enough to overpower someone without striking them. You have to be a lot bigger and stronger than someone to be able to do that without any hitting. And fit enough to catch up to them.

And we all know this isn't the case for all police, so singling out women is illogical and silly in the end. And why this thread and video posted make a terrible argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Minimum height 5 foot 10 (I'd prefer 6 foot but ya gotta have some women I suppose)

Seeing a couple of 5 foot 4 Gardai with muffintops walking around doesn't exactly inspire confidence or respect. They need to be imposing rather than "intimidating" as such.

We need more guys and gals like Lugs Brannigan

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Christopher_Branigan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

While I'd wholly disagree with the OP, I found this a curious admission from a Garda observing a chap jerking off in public.
    Garda Caoimhe Finnegan told the court she was on duty at 1.20am when she saw a man in a doorway.

The garda thought initially he was going to the toilet but as she watched, she saw him touch himself every time a group of people walked past.

Cross-examined by defence cousel Sorcha Whelan BL, Gda Finnegan said she was alone and did not feel comfortable approaching the accused until a colleague arrived. She did not believe the accused had been urinating and found his actions "personally insulting."
    - See more at: http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/man-exposed-and-touched-himself-in-front-of-copperface-jacks-club-goers-30589950.html#sthash.e6hRfZQJ.dpuf

Edit: Apologies to Purveyor of Truth

We need more guys and gals like Lugs Brannigan

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Christopher_Branigan

I've long thought that a special unit to deal with the City Center junkie infestation and a few other hotspots would be met with approval from most.

He sounds like a good bloke who looked after the weakest in society and punched assholes in the face.

Sisko wrote: »
    True, my point really is about being powerful enough to overpower someone without striking them. You have to be a lot bigger and stronger than someone to be able to do that without any hitting. And fit enough to catch up to them.

I'm 6'1 and a little over 200lbs. I'm sure I could take down and hold the average drunk bloke on the ground. I'd be useless in a fight though. So if I was a cop, I'd just tazer the **** out of em.

Hopefully when body cameras become standard issue for gardaí, they'll feel more comfortable depolying tazers and pepperspray.

For beat cops definitely, seeing some saggy arsed navy jumper wearing garda doesn't exactly instill fear in scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Why does it have to be a zero-sum game? Different tools for different jobs. When I was a doorman we had a reasonably diverse team. I was never a large lad; being a middleweight boxer I wasn't particularly tall and was probably lighter than half of the men who came in. However I was often with someone of a large stature who was there to convey that it wasn't an easy touch. While I was well able to speak to people, manage a team and vet a crowd; I still found a use for giant Polish lads with little English. Likewise a female doorperson was also invaluable for a variety of reasons, she had her role to fulfil.

Community policing is an important aspect and the police should reflect the society it hopes to engage with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Wossack wrote: »

Hold up there!!!!

LADbible has some seriously funny sh*te on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Balls.

These two didn't need any men to hold their hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

What's a "militant female"?
    FTA69 wrote: »
    Why does it have to be a zero-sum game? Different tools for different jobs. When I was a doorman we had a reasonably diverse team. I was never a large lad; being a middleweight boxer I wasn't particularly tall and was probably lighter than half of the men who came in. However I was often with someone of a large stature who was there to convey that it wasn't an easy touch. While I was well able to speak to people, manage a team and vet a crowd; I still found a use for giant Polish lads with little English. Likewise a female doorperson was also invaluable for a variety of reasons, she had her role to fulfil.

Community policing is an important aspect and the police should reflect the society it hopes to engage with.
    Exactly. Don't send the female cop out if she's not able physically yeh, fair enough, but do if she is.
    Some people would do anything for a gender war.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Balls.

These two didn't need any men to hold their hands.

I preferred Dempsey and Makepeace. My kinda cop, that Makepeace. The french knickers in the Intro...jasus, cuff me now.....and that bob.....

The cheek of you!! I'm going to assume that you're trolling because in this day and age no one could honestly think like this!

There's more to being a guard than physical strength.
    And in a lot of cases a female can talk people down more than a male because the male macho guard has to get all male and macho.

Sometimes a feminine touch works wonders! ( not in a sexual way!)

There is plenty of male guards that need assistance with bigger boned offenders!!

Lots of people feel more comfortable approaching female guards and vice versa.

Just because a female guard is physically unable to take down a big guy doesn't mean that they can't do their job or that they are not a very good guard.
    When there is physical violence most if not all gardai will call for some assistance.
    Its only sensible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

I find most ban gardai incredibly sexy. Hard to take them too serious though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Bafucin

yermandan wrote: »

Oh I can.

And this ...
    darced
    Thats the thing though female guards should rely more on talking and calm heads to diffuse situations but have you met any female Guards ?

I have had minor dealings with a few and they were all the opposite to what they should be,aggresive,short tempered and with a chip on their shoulder.

It seems they come at it from a defensive situation where they dont want to be taken lightly and over compensate by being complete biatches.

And of course this...
    Spring Onion
    I find most ban gardai incredibly sexy. Hard to take them too serious though.

I expect to find them bitching about MRA this and that around this forum. Will accuse people of disagreeing with them of not being able to handle an opinion then stalk and creep them around boards for a while before returning to their miserable lives.

They are just doing a tough job and a public service like any other guard. By the way most guards I have ever seen are as fat as **** anyway, hardly in the peak of physical fitness.

And we all know they never get out of them ****ing cars anyway. I've never seen a guard on the beat finglas /fairview area! Always in their cars.

Just give them all guns FTW.

darced wrote: »
    Thats the thing though female guards should rely more on talking and calm heads to diffuse situations but have you met any female Guards ?

I have had minor dealings with a few and they were all the opposite to what they should be,aggresive,short tempered and with a chip on their shoulder.

It seems they come at it from a defensive situation where they dont want to be taken lightly and over compensate by being complete biatches.

Well, I am a female guard and have been for 16 years.
    Yes there are females that act like that, but there are aso male guards that act like that.
    I for one prefer a nice calm guard, with no attitude, be they male or female!
    But, to completely generalise, females are mostly more easy going in their attitude.

If physicality is required though, there's plenty of females I'd prefer beside me than a lot of males!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

What a strange observation. If you would have seen a video of a guy beating two male cops up, would you have immediately gone to the conclusion it's because of their gender?
    No, you would have suggested maybe it was a surprise attack or the guy was high on stimulant.
    Yet in this case it's immediately "wimmins cops is badz"...

Everyone makes mistakes, but guys don't get to hear "it's because you're male".

bubblypop wrote: »
    Well, I am a female guard and have been for 16 years.
    Yes there are females that act like that, but there are aso male guards that act like that.
    I for one prefer a nice calm guard, with no attitude, be they male or female!
    But, to completely generalise, females are mostly more easy going in their attitude.

If physicality is required though, there's plenty of females I'd prefer beside me than a lot of males!

Good on you BubblyPop.

Now this thread aside....what will it take for you to actually get out of your car in the K District please? :)
    Not all of us are scumbags but we are sick of living with them!

The station in Finglas has on average rostered two sergeants and seven guardaí and if one is sick it's less.

During the ' Filthy fifty' years yis were nowhere!

Oh I bet your sorry you said you were a guard now!

On the other hand...thanks for policing our city BubblyPop. We appreciate you. And I apologize for the AH posters who are being silly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

Bafucin wrote: »

Let's have a bit of Finglas history here...
    Was there actually fifty of them?
    Did all fifty of them go around together. Walking to the shop or the park?

Bafucin wrote: »
    Good on you BubblyPop.

Now this thread aside....what will it take for you to actually get out of your car in the K District please? :)
    Not all of us are scumbags but we are sick of living with them!

The station in Finglas has on average rostered two sergeants and seven guardaí and if one is sick it's less.

Oh I bet your sorry you said you were a guard now!

On the other hand...thanks for policing our city BubblyPop. We appreciate you. And I apologize for the AH posters who are being silly.

Well, I'm not in the K district, so can't really comment!
    But I do know that when I came out of templemore first, I was stationed in a suburb of Dublin.
    Like finglas/blanchardstown, but there was enough guards for a car, station duties and a beat or two.
    Unfortunately, and honestly, numbers are too low now, there's not enough to cover everything. The station and car are filled first. If there's any extra, there might be a beat guard. Doesn't really happen anymore though.

Tbh, most older guards know that going on the best is how you meet people, younger guards don't know, because they have always been very thin on the ground.

Let's have a bit of Finglas history here...
    Was there actually fifty of them?
    Did all fifty of them go around together. Walking to the shop or the park?

It was a trio in charge and their minions mostly. The gang was dismantled in a series of sudden deaths more than any policing. They wiped each other out or the life did.

It was so severe that it became the first area in Dublin that was routinely patrolled by the Emergency Response Unit with machine guns and rifles.

It's not a ****ing joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,913 ✭✭✭buried

What kind of simple "proof" does that one video show in fairness? Two cops get pushed away by some scrote who the two cops actually had caught in the first place, and then they get sideswiped by the suspect after he was apprehended. Happens all the time. I literally seen a scrote like that run out of a Garda barracks filled with about 20 male Gardai a few years ago, so by the op's "logic" and "proof" only Robocop and Judge Dredd should be police, and I suspect that's what the OP would like to be the case.

Make America Get Out of Here