Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So I was just letting Lucky out for a weewee . .

• 16-09-2014 11:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭

And we were looking up at the moon and the stars.

The moon is especially beautiful right now, and the stars are just . . well, . . .have a look for yourselves.

Did you ever just look up and think . . . WOW!!!

?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Yep, it's fcuking deadly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

The moon is especially beautiful right now, and the stars are just . . well, . . .have a look for yourselves.

?

Poetry, Astronomy...what's happening AH lately? Might have to change it to EH - Enlightenment Hours.

We can change the Astronomy forum to After Hours as the name suits it much more aptly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

Fair play for escorting the missus outside for a piss, I usually let mine wander out alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I always do it when back at the home place as its rural and you get a pretty incredible view of the night sky. Certainly in comparison to when in the City, whereby you can see nowt.

Night of the 'Super Moon' I grabbed a sleeping bag and a beer, and lay out back for a while.

Yeah, some people are probably right in thinking that's weird. But was it worth it, and would I do it again? Absolutely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Yes, the moon looks moony and the stars look starry,

Shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

?

Nothing but clouds.. I assume you live in the country because I can't see shít in town and I love astronomy..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Seeing the milky way was impressive. One of the downsides of living in the city is not getting those views.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Fair play for escorting the missus outside for a piss, I usually let mine wander out alone.
    She wouldn't come back in unless I gave her nuts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Make sure you're not having a wee in a crowded urban centre. It can lead to misunderstandings.

Knex. wrote: »
    I always do it when back at the home place as its rural and you get a pretty incredible view of the night sky. Certainly in comparison to when in the City, whereby you can see nowt.

Night of the 'Super Moon' I grabbed a sleeping bag and a beer, and lay out back for a while.

Yeah, some people are probably right in thinking that's weird. But was it worth it, and would I do it again? Absolutely.

Did you sing this at the end of the night?

GerB40 wrote: »
    Nothing but clouds.. I assume you live in the country because I can't see shít in town and I love astronomy..
    It was cloudy here earlier, but cleared up now, the moon is just incredible tonight, a half moon but really colourful, it's out there man.

Not gonna lie, it probably ran across my mind once or twice :pac:

That's a full moon, this one is only half full.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

?

Every animal I've known to be called Lucky has met some form of unfortunate end :pac:

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Every animal I've known to be called Lucky has met some form of unfortunate end :pac:
    They didn't have me looking after them.;)

Here's my random hippie thought:

[HippieThought]If people took a little more time to look up at the night sky once in a while, there would be a lot less problems in the World. Trivial ones, anyway.

Its great for helping you to hit some deep cognitive thought, or even to just reset your perspective to the here and now.[/HippieThought]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

Yea had the exact same feeling tonight. Decided to go for a walk, Went out and thought wow its bloody cold so went straight back in again

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

You named your wingwang Lucky??

Weird.

DeVore wrote: »
    You named your wingwang Lucky??

Weird.
    Had to google that.:p

Lucky is my dog.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

I'm in middle of nowhere, and my wow moments are every single starry night when I take dog out, milky way always visible but some nights more awe inspiring (like slap in the face inspiring), and I could pretty much guarantee that standing out on a clear night 10minutes (or less) one would see a meteor. Loads of them.
    Sweet f all with the fog tonight though.

I'm in middle of nowhere, and my wow moments are every single starry night when I take dog out, milky way always visible but some nights more awe inspiring (like slap in the face inspiring), and I could pretty much guarantee that standing out on a clear night 10minutes (or less) one would see a meteor. Loads of them.
    Sweet f all with the fog tonight though.
    Take your doggy and get yourselves to Donegal, it's clean clear to Ursa Major here!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

The only thing I miss about my 4 years in arklow is the fact that you can see so much more of the night sky than you can here in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭calanus

When I'm doing a weewee I often look at down and think "wow.... look how awe inspiring it is"

That's a full moon, this one is only half full.:P

Sing to Semi-Luna then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

?

Isn't it great up here! No light pollution, clean air and cheap beer :D

Really is gods county despite what a lot of Ah'rs think lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

So it was only a semi, disappointing.

(I also thought he was referring to his penis)

Take your doggy and get yourselves to Donegal, it's clean clear to Ursa Major here!:)

yer wan off tv3?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Had to google that.:p

Lucky is my dog.:)

What breed is it? Jack Russell? Rottweiler? Great Dane? Chewowow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

My dear little Flo
    I love you so
    Especially in your nightie
    When the moonlight flits
    Across your tits,
    Jesus Christ almighty.

I'm up all night Til the sun
    I'm up all night for good fun
    I'm up all night to get lucky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Joe Doe

Often do that, and wonder are they having the same problems with their phones battery life duration, and darn famous rock bands sticking decent albums on their population's music devices up on alpha centurion distict (west) of local planet 2.0121-1.618, imagine they're looking across thinking the exact same thing, sure what can ye do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Living in rural Ireland, I got a telescope because as already stated, a clear sky at night is awe inspiring. It makes one feel so small in the vastness of the universe, makes one wonder what is out there...

Love looking at the planets, I have a particular fondness for Saturn which I think looks beautiful.

Then things like Hale Bopp in 1997 was just absolutely spectacular and to think the last time it was seen was approximately 4,000 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

RobertKK wrote: »
    Living in rural Ireland, I got a telescope because as already stated, a clear sky at night is awe inspiring. It makes one feel so small in the vastness of the universe, makes one wonder what is out there...

Love looking at the planets, I have a particular fondness for Saturn which I think looks beautiful.

Then things like Hale Bopp in 1997 was just absolutely spectacular and to think the last time it was seen was approximately 4,000 years ago.

Saturn is awesome (in the literal sense, not the American response to anything good) but Jupiter is the daddy of the solar system... The giant red spot is basically a hurricane type storm the size of earth. Thats just amazing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Miss Lizzie Jones

?

Many times. :) Nature is beautiful.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    What breed is it? Jack Russell? Rottweiler? Great Dane? Chewowow?

All of the above. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

All of the above. :o

A Great Jack Chewoweiler - heard stranger things :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

I love Orion, it is a constellation that has fascinated me for years.

The light we see today from Betelgeuse is from before Galileo existed.

It may already have gone supernova.

It would already have engulfed the earth if it was our sun.

KeithM89 wrote: »

She isn't called Lucky for nothing.

I love the stars, I like the feeling of insignificance the night sky gives me. It gives me perspective on my problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Illuminating fact.

Many of the stars you're looking at is how they appeared millions of years ago and they no longer exist. When you look deep into space you're looking back in time.

Yep.

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Illuminating fact.

Many of the stars you're looking at is how they appeared millions of years ago and they no longer exist. When you look deep into space you're looking back in time.

Yep.
    Tried explaining that to the dog but she's finding it difficult to grasp the concept.