Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Local Bike Shop Troubles

• 16-09-2014 7:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭

My wife brought my bike to the LBS to have a spoke replaced. I've had trouble with the shop before, but was persuaded by a friend who uses it all the time.
    I arrive home this evening to find my steed ready and waiting but now instead of 'near' thoroughbred I now have a piebald, with one shinny silver spoke laced through the matt black others.
    I had to laugh, have these guys no respect for their chosen profession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭slap/dash

Ah here, that's shockin. I'd be well annoyed at that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Buchaill_Mor

I have 3 silver spokes because they were out of black. I now have a photo of my bike with 3 silver spokes on wheel for the Guards if I ever need it. I am sure there is very few bikes of my type, frame colour and bits with 3 silver spokes in the positions they are in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Mavic charge extra for wheels, with one different coloured spoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭PrismES

Thank guys, I feel better already, I was keeping it anyway just so I could point out, when asked, "that shop is sh17e" and to really annoy my OCD friend who I'll constantly blame. (I always wear odd socks when cycling with him, it drives him mad).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭PrismES

slap/dash wrote: »
    Ah here, that's shockin. I'd be well annoyed at that

I was very annoyed, then I remembered the old saying
    "Fool me once.........etc"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭f1000

I have a silver spoke on the front and like the way it catches sunlight. LBS had no black ones at the time and said feck it, I need to get out for a spin. Now to get one on the back beside the valve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭albert kidd

unless it slows you down,i wouldnt let it bother me to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Buy some silver pain and paint the other spokes silver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭paulgs

Black marker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭easygoing39

I have one silver nipple, while all the rest are black.Does'nt bother me.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

I have one silver nipple, while all the rest are black.Does'nt bother me.

How many nipples do you have exactly??? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

PrismES wrote: »
    Thank guys, I feel better already, I was keeping it anyway just so I could point out, when asked, "that shop is sh17e" and to really annoy my OCD friend who I'll constantly blame. (I always wear odd socks when cycling with him, it drives him mad).

Hahah classic. If it were me I would be annoyed too, they should of at least let you know that they didn't have any of the same colour before going ahead and replacing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

logik wrote: »
    Hahah classic. If it were me I would be annoyed too, they should of at least let you know that they didn't have any of the same colour before going ahead and replacing it.

"Should of" is not what they should have done! /pedant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

would you ever give over for gods sake!

do people actually go looking for things to complain about these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭letape

would you ever give over for gods sake!

do people actually go looking for things to complain about these days

Not sure if you are being sarcastic or not - but I would also be annoyed and to be honest I would bring it back. As already said - the shop could have at lease contacted the OP to say they had no black spokes in stock and would fit the silver one.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,887 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i *may* have an old muddy fox plastic wheel disc (the one with the big pawprint on it, from the early 90s) in my folks house. i can lend it to the OP to hide his wayward spoke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭slap/dash

letape wrote: »
    Not sure if you are being sarcastic or not - but I would also be annoyed and to be honest I would bring it back. As already said - the shop could have at lease contacted the OP to say they had no black spokes in stock and would fit the silver one.

I'd not expect much from the shop but I'd certainly complain in person and if there wasn't a good response, make it known that I'd have no problem bad mouthing them all over town. It's just poor form.