Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Led Zeppelin stole Stairway To Heaven

• 16-09-2014 2:12am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭

Led Zeppelin are on the back foot as Stairway To Heaven court case nears

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xd8AVbwB_6E is where they stole the chordsgot their inspiration. Listen to Spirit's disc and make up your own minds. Zepplein opened for Spirit on a US tour so were able to hear the instrumental.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Led Zeppelin are such dirty thieves. Their song Kashmir ripped off Wake Up by Rage Against The Machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Love Zep. Don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

There's a court case? How come it took so long?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Effects wrote: »
    There's a court case? How come it took so long?

Ooh, it really makes me wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

Led Zeppelin are such dirty thieves. Their song Kashmir ripped off Wake Up by Rage Against The Machine.

Troubling stuff. Rumours abound that the Zep procured a time-machine some time in the late sixties, whereby they proceeded to also pilfer some vibes off upcoming Black Keys and Royal Blood records. Watch the skies people.

Ooh, it really makes me wonder.

Is there a bustle in your hedge-row?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

jacksie66 wrote: »
    Which ripped off puff daddy's come with me..

Everyone knows Godzilla wrote Come With Me originally, Puff Daddy just stole the glory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Turpentine wrote: »
    Is there a bustle in your hedge-row?

It's just a spring clean for the May queen.. Zig-a-zig-ah

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

jacksie66 wrote: »
    Which ripped off puff daddy's come with me..

They're a bunch of thieves too. They release a song call how I could just kill a man which rips off some of the lyrics of a cypress hill song. Completely disgraceful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Most over rated song ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

"Dazed and Confused" was plagiarized aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭Eileen Down

And to make things worse, those ACDC brats stole a highway to hell and some git (possibly maybe Liam Gallagher)stole my rope ladder to purgatory.

* shakes fist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Zep stole more than STH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Zeppelin have settled out of court quite a few times

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 Hordak

Most overrated band of all time. And a boring song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

txfm 'soundalikes' (aka songs that people have sampled others in)

fook me, thousands of court cases imminent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

One of the greatest bands ever to roam the Earth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭circadian

Whole Lotta love guitar riff is an old folk song in reverse.

Tons of their stuff is nicked from elsewhere. Still sounds good :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭OldRio

circadian wrote: »
    Whole Lotta love guitar riff is an old folk song in reverse.

And if you play some of their records backwards you can hear the devil. Honest. Creepy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I don't like the Led Zepplin version of that song anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Miss Lizzie Jones

Hordak wrote: »
    And a boring song.

Tell me about it. I still cringe at the thought of an old boyfriend singing it in my ear while we were on a bus on the way to his parent's house.

Never cared for that song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

One of the greatest bands ever to roam the Earth
    They're no S Club 7.

Didn't Jimmy Page also kidnap some girl and threaten to kill her? Bands just aren't up to the same fun shenanigans these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Robert Johnson sue everyone.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Wasn't Jimmy Page a bit of a paedo as well? How come there was no witch hunt for him a la Rolf / Saville?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

OldRio wrote: »
    And if you play some of their records backwards you can hear the devil. Honest. Creepy.

nah. if you play their records backwards all you hear is the sound of your older brother giving out to you for scratching his records.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭OldRio

Beano wrote: »
    nah. if you play their records backwards all you hear is the sound of your older brother giving out to you for scratching his records.

Unfortunately, I am the older brother and they are my records.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

Always thought Hairway to Steven by Butthole Surfers was one of the cleverer album titles out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Most of Led Zeppelins lyrics are from old blues songs. They often joined a couple of songs together and gave them new names. For instance How Many More Times uses parts of Howlin' Wolfs song How Many More Years and the Albert King song The Hunter.

Jeff Beck once accused Jimmy Page of stealing his ideas by covering 'his' song You Shook Me, which was a bit rich as it was already a cover of a song written by Willie Dixon and originally recorded by Muddy Waters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

I watched this a few years ago, yes they are fcukin' theives.
    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=JyvLsutfI5M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

I watched this a few years ago, yes they are fcukin' theives.
    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=JyvLsutfI5M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Most of their first album was "borrowed" from American blues artists. Still a seriously talented bunch of lads and one of the best bands ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

This was a traditional Irish tune, though the very distinctive guitar arrangement was all Bert Jansch's work.

Jimmy Page credited it to himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I think this is going to become more and more of an issue, there's only so many ways you can combine a limited set of notes in a musical way. At the speed and frequency that they bring out new music these days every song is going to end up being in some way a rip off of some other song.

The whole idea of original music is a bit daft anyway, nothing happens in isolation. Unless some musician lives in a cave his whole life and learns how to play an instrument in isolation having never listened to another piece of music his copying something.

This of course is only a problem when your commercialising music for profit. Mixing bits of music and songs together to make a new song has been happening for millennia. Isn't it basically how traditional Irish music works.