Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Night Vision Shooting

• 14-09-2014 2:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭

Well lads just wondering if ye use night vision for shooting rats/rabbits/foxes?

Just wondering how much for a basic set up what one on my .22lr already have a lamp but would like night vision as rabbits and foxes seem to be lamp shy and other reasons.

I also see people on youtube using DIY jobs to save money!

I understand written permission is need from my super

Thanks,1shot16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

Iv been out lamping with a lad a few times where lamp shy foxs run when light is on them . He has a pair of night vision binoculars cobra and there some job if you have two lads call in the fox and keep an eye ontill he gets close then on with the lamp and bang .€ 940 not cheap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

have you tried a different filter on your lamp night vision is pretty expensive even for a gen I which is not that great... And i would imagine it would be a pain convincing the super.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

With regards to lamp shy foxes, I think the biggest problem with this is fella's flicking on and off the light and scaring the foxes by putting the full beam directly on them then rushing shots and educating them.

Keeping the beam in the air just over the fox and when your ready to fire lighting up your target is a far better way to shoot them.

Not missing them helps them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭fabwing

There is lots of lamp shy foxes out there needless to say they will not be shot any time soon
    With regards to lamp shy foxes, I think the biggest problem with this is fella's flicking on and off the light and scaring the foxes by putting the full beam directly on them then rushing shots and educating them.

Keeping the beam in the air just over the fox and when your ready to fire lighting up your target is a far better way to shoot them.

Not missing them helps them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Zxthinger

Gen1 add-ons need massive additional illumination but I have made them work but it's hard going and besides the add-on your looking at anywhere from €120 per illuminating laser and I used two.
    Some go with the lightforce covered in IR filter but it's still not great

I eventually had my gen1 NV add on able to watch foxes out to. 250 yards but only on the darkest nights over stubble, damp nights over grass were a dead loss but sill shot them foxes at 70 to 25yards. Lol

It's a lot of messing to be honest and I have gone back to the lamp but I still spot with a NV mono with n1000 laser.

I also have an older gen1 dedicated scope but it's reticule is crap and I use it for ratting only.

If ye have sense ye'll hold off and and buy a gen2 unit.
    If I was flush I'd go with thermal spotter and spend half the time out scanning fields.
    Gen1 is like shining a weak green torch around the fields
    Gen2 is like sticking clear green plastic sheeting over yer eyes and walking around in the day time. Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 varmintbill

look up nitehunter on utube he makes diy night vision units also check out this on utube fox shot with air rifle look for paddy whack, these are all videos done with nitehunter unit there mine let me know what you think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 john p o shea

i have the ns 200 on my .17 i payed 750 euro for its very stealty but the only problem is you can not judge distance on it so id just recomend a good rifle mounted lamp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Sika98k

I use a Bresser 5x50 teamed up with a T20 with an IR pill as a spotter.
    Bought it off renniewren off this site.
    I can see foxes quite clearly out to 300yds. Works best with one person spotting and another shooting. The foxes come in much easier to a squeak without the lamp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Chalkie11

Ive a yukon photon 5-42 dont even use it anymore!

For about €150 you can build your own Add On NV unit. 40mm silicon exhaust tubing is used to attach the camera to your parallax adjustable scope. NightMaster 800 IR torch is used for the IR source.

Version 1 was OK out to 100m. This is v2 with better camera & as yet has to be tested on a scope.
    Usual caveat applies you need the Supers permission to use.

10888717_10153151892188676_7079493236186649189_n.jpg?oh=202500740fb31cb2dc7ebba60dd48975&oe=55259411&__gda__=1430397764_b03f4a220c074885110f071ee962d01d

1908485_10153151892858676_6790824574049594609_n.jpg?oh=a1c63b06dac40a09ceba1d15a56dc586&oe=552632B4

10387698_10153151894703676_2866706385146317736_n.jpg?oh=ed545e846a644c5167ddf4cdbd3e2e45&oe=54FA5440&__gda__=1428607013_3a6404808157110ca9029f03b9b78da8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Liam_D

Nice one! That looks like some of the Nv add on units with the screen above the scope, I got a yukon photon for my 30th back in October but haven't used it yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭hollowpoint

Chalkie11 wrote: »
    Ive a yukon photon 5-42 dont even use it anymore!
    was looking into getting 1 of them, read good reviews of them.... they as good as they say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Downwind

Google snypercat worked ok for me but needed more IR down range 100 meters real safe any further was a gamble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Chalkie11

was looking into getting 1 of them, read good reviews of them.... they as good as they say?

There grand for a .22/17hmr but dont have the range for a centrefire rifle unless you spend extra money on an ir torch!

I had a quick try out tonight with my v2 setup.
    200y was easy. I just have a little more fiddling to do with it all. :D

I have to try reducing the distance a little the cam is from the scopes ocular lens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 varmintbill

Have a nitehunter snipercam on my 223 tikka I use a nitemaster ir 800 illuminator with this I can spot foxes out to 400 yds, but couldn't possibly shoot them at that distance, most of my kills are inside the 200 range some I've shot a close in as 20 yds brilliant for lamp shy foxes.