Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mobile phones - are you a slave to it?

• 13-09-2014 5:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭

Why is it people become a slave to their mobile? If I'm at something or talking to someone I often let it ring out rather than answering it. The thing I find most hilarious is when someone answers it "I can't answer right now " and hangs up :rolleyes: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,218 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

just do it wrote: »
    Why is it people become a slave to their mobile? If I'm at something or talking to someone I often let it ring out rather than answering it. The thing I find most hilarious is when someone answers it "I can't answer right now " and hangs up :rolleyes: :D
    i need it have a sister with an illness an am on call. I leave it at home at least once a week and its a great feeling not to have it with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

If phone rings and I talking to someone I just answer it and say "I'll ring you later" or "I'll ring you in x minutes" depending on who I'm talking to. If I don't do that they usually keep ringing until you answer as though you can't see the 'missed call' on screen.

I rang a friends house a few years ago, rang a few times, after a while her brother who is extremely odd answered and said there's no one here and hung up:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    I rang a friends house a few years ago, rang a few times, after a while her brother who is extremely odd answered and said there's no one here and hung up:)

Wouldn't care if I never had it. Could text all day but for some reason I hate chatting on the phone. Could only chat for a few minutes at most on one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 BeerBoobs

Unfortunately no. I am a slave to a more sinister entity, the Laptop (Or should I say Cyber space?). :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Reggie. wrote: »
    Wouldn't care if I never had it. Could text all day but for some reason I hate chatting on the phone. Could only chat for a few minutes at most on one.

At least you're not into posting on boards so you should be ok:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭The Letheram

Dead opposite. I hate texting. I would always ting and cut out the 8 follow up texts back and forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Do people turn off their phones at night? Or weekends?

I never turn off mine. It goes on the charger every night beside the bed. Over the years I've had work calls at every hour of the night. I don't mind taking a call at unsocial hours if it's genuine but it drives me cracked taking a call that could easily have waited to a more normal time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Weekdays I carry two, my own and a work phone. I opted for a second phone as I didn't want to be giving my own number out at work.

Second phone is silenced and on the charger at 6pm sharp.

Night time my own is on this "airplane" mode on charger so no calls nor texts.

Never answer phone if I'm with someone, never answer private numbers either - never ! If people need their privacy so much they can't lets see their number them they don't need to be talking to me either.

I never turn off mine. It goes on the charger every night beside the bed. Over the years I've had work calls at every hour of the night. I don't mind taking a call at unsocial hours if it's genuine but it drives me cracked taking a call that could easily have waited to a more normal time.
    bloody done deal calls:mad: I leave my phone on at night, oh always turns his phone off as he gets lads ringing at stupid o clock looking for a price on something. I tell him to ring them bacK at 6am and see if they answer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Rarely turn the phone off but i do have the do not disturb thing set on the phone, basically it means that if any one rings it just lights up the screen, no ring no vibration, but if the person is on a "favourites" list it will ring, means you will still get calls off people you want, have it set from half 11 to half 7 in morning.

If I'm talking to someone I'll normally flick the mute switch and ring it back later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭simplybam

I get all my work over the phone and am available 24/7. So, no phone - no work!

whelan2 wrote: »
    bloody done deal calls:mad: I leave my phone on at night, oh always turns his phone off as he gets lads ringing at stupid o clock looking for a price on something. I tell him to ring them bacK at 6am and see if they answer

Donedeal is a scourge, farmers have no boundaries regarding calls. Had a call late one night, near midnight. Asked if the tractor in the background was for sale as he was on the look out for one. Feckin add was up for a trailer !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

There is always the silent function ;). The only problem with it is I often forget to turn it back on :rolleyes:

_Brian wrote: »
    never answer private numbers either - never ! If people need their privacy so much they can't lets see their number them they don't need to be talking to me either.

I know a medical consultant who's mobile is private - fairly understandable really. A lot of professionals don't give out their number for good reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Why is it people become a slave to their mobile? If I'm at something or talking to someone I often let it ring out rather than answering it. The thing I find most hilarious is when someone answers it "I can't answer right now " and hangs up :rolleyes: :D[/QUO

Unusual question for farming and forestry.

farmerjj wrote: »
    Unusual question for farming and forestry.

Really? Just to make it relevant then what about when you're paying a lad by the hour and you see him feeling an obligation to answer every call he gets?

At least you're not into posting on boards so you should be ok:D

Waiting for someone to take a swipe at the shins :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Donedeal is a scourge, farmers have no boundaries regarding calls. Had a call late one night, near midnight. Asked if the tractor in the background was for sale as he was on the look out for one. Feckin add was up for a trailer !!

The mil once dragged the fil out of the bed at 4.45 in the morning to ring the contractor during a broken silage season because "that man starts fierce early in the morning".

Well I know a fella around here who mows for the contractors. Starts at about 5am and keeps going till about 12 or 1am during the silage rush time. Don't know how he does it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

OH always says that all the numbers on my phone are for other men, and all the numbers on his phone are for women! I always turn my phone off around 11pm as I reckon if there is a need to talk to me any later than that then it'[s probably bad news and I won't want to hear it before I go to bed anyway. I've put an ad on DoneDeal only once and was called at 9am in the morning so can't really complain about that. I put all the numbers in a diary a couple of months ago because I'd be lost if anything happened to the phone - doubt if I'd be even able to call the vet without resorting to the good old fashioned book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Really? Just to make it relevant then what about when you're paying a lad by the hour and you see him feeling an obligation to answer every call he gets?

Agree,had a fella laying paving,he was good at job but was heavily involved in his GAA club,watched him one day spend about an hour and a half on phone organising matches!...this was on a three day job..I mentioned it to him when paying...he looked at me like I was after killing his granny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Weekdays I carry two, my own and a work phone. I opted for a second phone as I didn't want to be giving my own number out at work.

Second phone is silenced and on the charger at 6pm sharp.

Night time my own is on this "airplane" mode on charger so no calls nor texts.

Never answer phone if I'm with someone, never answer private numbers either - never ! If people need their privacy so much they can't lets see their number them they don't need to be talking to me either.

You need to get yourself a multi-sim phone, much handier if you need 2 numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

I'd have two phones. A uk and my Irish phone. Also have a number for done deal and eBay as guys ring at like 1am for a chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Mine on 24 hrs parent my need me. Great yoke used more as a lap top on the farm than a fone at this stage. Record most events and grass measuring. Great for Boards and twitter.

Guy rang some time ago at 11 pm I was in bed and cut the nose off him. Phoned him next am at 5.45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭visatorro

i could with a break from it at the minute. work stuff for the last month and moving house have had me on the phone for a couple of hours everyday. fed up of it. dont know how anyway would work in a call centre or as a rep!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

This is less than a year of calls on the mobile.

Damo810 wrote: »
    You need to get yourself a multi-sim phone, much handier if you need 2 numbers.

Nope.
    One phone is supplied by and calls paid for by work. I've my own IPhone and wouldn't swap it for anything, find it a great phone and have unlimited calls and data on it so handy for web on the go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭cjpm

This is less than a year of calls on the mobile.

At least you won't need a hat to keep your brain warm!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Well I know a fella around here who mows for the contractors. Starts at about 5am and keeps going till about 12 or 1am during the silage rush time. Don't know how he does it

You get used to the lack of sleep!! We averaged three hours sleep for a fortnight this summer.

At one stage had four phones, personal north and south and business north and south. Got fed up of that so started using business for personal, line of work I was in ya wouldn't get a call before nine or after five so worked well. The father would probably say I'm glued to the yoke now but I wouldn't say I'm to bad, use it for everything, rarely on computer these days. Have no problem throwing it on silent for a few hours though and beside the bed is terrible reception so rarely get disturbed.

C0N0R wrote: »
    You get used to the lack of sleep!! We averaged three hours sleep for a fortnight this summer.

At one stage had four phones, personal north and south and business north and south. Got fed up of that so started using business for personal, line of work I was in ya wouldn't get a call before nine or after five so worked well. The father would probably say I'm glued to the yoke now but I wouldn't say I'm to bad, use it for everything, rarely on computer these days. Have no problem throwing it on silent for a few hours though and beside the bed is terrible reception so rarely get disturbed.

Ya have to be able to walk away from the thing

As I type I'm on the thing!! But have terrible reception on the farm which is great as don't have the distraction of boards etc

That always helps. I still manage to find reception

I don't bother trying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Not a slave to it but it is on 24/7. I never answer it if I am talking to someone or busy working unless it is OH or a family member, and if I cannot answer the call straight away I will call them back immediately.
    On the other hand OH is a slave to it and will always answer it even if we are in the middle of doing a job like dosing cattle etc, which irritates me :eek: In fairness his off farm income depends on phone calls.