Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fathers slapping their daughters in 1980s Ireland how common was it

• 12-09-2014 8:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46

I was a child in 1980s Ireland born 1981
    If I misbehaved my dad thought nothing of reddening my backside from age 4 to about 10 how common was this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Not sure what kind of useful answers you will get in after hours. Might suit a different forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Common enough i'd imagine. Giving a child a little smack on the arse wasn't unusual for then. It was only banned in schools in 1982.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭iMac_Hunt

Any young child misbehaving deserves a slap to put manners on them.

Grab the popcorn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭miggins

Part of growing up in my house anyway and id rekon many others in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Here we go...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭miggins

Double post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,823 ✭✭✭Markcheese

I dunno , we'd get the odd slap (across the back of the legs) when we were acting up ,Usualy if we freaked out the parents,running onto the road when little, doing something to brothers and sisters but that was rare, main threat when we were national school age was "wait till your dad gets home" now dad might have been a bit cross with us but he actually wanted to sit down and eat his dinner... So nothing happened-but the event which we didn't want to tell dad about had to be rehashed... Seemed effective...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

My mother slapped me, not sure how it's different from fathers slapping daughter. If I was bold I got a slap, never did me any harm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

I grew up in the 80's and never got a slap off either of my parents.....

Mariasofia wrote: »
    I grew up in the 80's and never got a slap off either of my parents.....

Me neither. But I did get "the look" which always scared the sh1te outta me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Slightly disturbing thread tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Jackal756

Gillo wrote: »
    My mother slapped me, not sure how it's different from fathers slapping daughter. If I was bold I got a slap, never did me any harm.
    Main difference I feel is the notion of a male slapping a female

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

What does it matter which parent done the slapping ?

Slightly disturbing thread tbh.
    Not a spanking fetishist if that's what you're implying this topic came up in conversation today and my work colleague was astonished at my father having slapped me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

Common enough i'd imagine. Giving a child a little smack on the arse wasn't unusual for then. It was only banned in schools in 1982.

it may have been banned in 1982 but it sure didnt stop it , the bloody animals ......ok maybe i was a cheeky little fceker :)

whupdedo wrote: »
    What does it matter which parent done the slapping ?

I refer you to my point about males hitting females which my friend thought unacceptable

Jackal756 wrote: »
    Main difference I feel is the notion of a male slapping a female

If a child misbehaves it's the parents responsibility to discipline them, while I can see where you are coming from with the whole men bitting women debate, it sis a different scenario. The debate really should be parents slapping children, or would it be ok for the mother to slap the daughter?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I was in primary school in the 70/80s and a good wallop from a ruler/cane was the norm.

Wasn't just parents.

I refer you to my point about males hitting females which my friend thought unacceptable

Would she have found it acceptable if your mother had slapped you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

I remember as clear as anything when the corporal punishment ban came in the "Christian" brother saying " the law out there has changed. But it's the law in here that counts. My law yis little pups". Sure as feck didn't stop the beatings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dob74

I was a child in 1980s Ireland born 1981
    If I misbehaved my dad thought nothing of reddening my backside from age 4 to about 10 how common was this?

Hitting kids in Ireland in the 80's was common.
    Two of the best I witnessed, in fifth class the teacher slapped someone across the face. Child did 180 and fell on the ground with the force of the slap. That was a sound teacher. The sneaky ones took the child outside the classroom for beating(no witnesses)
    Second one was oldball neighbour caught a few kids slugging apples from his garden. Had one by the arm and was questioning him. Kid told him fcuk off. Three belts across the head. At the time didn't think much of it.

Back in the day adults where out of control, drunk driving, beating children, fighting and if someone got pregnant outside of wedlock where sent off.

Thank god things have changed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

Dob74 wrote: »
    Back in the day adults where out of control, drunk driving, beating children, fighting and if someone got pregnant outside of wedlock where sent off.

Thank god things have changed

But weren't they the good old days?

Would she have found it acceptable if your mother had slapped you ?
    She did it was simply the case in our house that my mother worked outside the home and was around less than my father

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

on a semi related note...went into my daughters (twin 6 yr olds) bedroom this morning and push a wardrobe door closed. Did not realise one daughter was in it and she got a face full of door. Cut to this afternoon, wife (who was at work this morning) is picking up daughters after school, and daughter announced in from of all the parents....."Daddy whacked me really hard across the face this morning..."... am sitting here waiting for social services to call..

emo72 wrote: »
    But weren't they the good old days?
    I'd rather a few slap's get dished out these days compared to the little sh!ts in every town up and down the country these days.
    Controversial maybe? it put many on the vast majority of people.

emo72 wrote: »
    I remember as clear as anything when the corporal punishment ban came in the "Christian" brother saying " the law out there has changed. But it's the law in here that counts. My law yis little pups". Sure as feck didn't stop the beatings.

At least at home the majority of parents had the interests of their kid at heart misguided as their approach sometimes was
    Nuns Christian brothers etc were simply seeking an outlet for their own bitterness so a different scenario

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭EunanMac

Why's this thread specifically about fathers and daughters ?

Very strange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bnagrrl

I was never slapped but I was threatened with the wooden spoon :o

She did it was simply the case in our house that my mother worked outside the home and was around less than my father

Ok, but the question I asked was, would your friend find mothers hitting their daughters acceptable ?

Actually I remember one even myself and my three brothers were all acting up and mam lined us up in the kitchen, walked from one brother to the next and let loose with the wooden spoon. It snapped on one of my brothers backsides.
    I'd never bitten my lip so hard trying not to laugh, I knew if even a giggle came out I'd be murdered.

It's actually funny now looking back at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Was born in 85, and I've been told I got a few slaps from both. I don't remember it though, so it evidently didn't make much of an impression. Being sent to my room after getting given out to was the end of the world though, I remember that all right.

EunanMac wrote: »
    Why's this thread specifically about fathers and daughters ?

Very strange
    For all those of you who are assuming I'm a troll /fetishist which is clearly apparent from the tone of your quote
    My post relates to my father using slapping as a method of discipline on me
    That is why it's about fathers and daughters I have stated that my mother also slapped me although not as often as she worked outside the home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Oh I'll give your arse a good reddening

Ok, but the question I asked was, would your friend find mothers hitting their daughters acceptable ?
    I feel she may find it more acceptable yes although she did not specifically say so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

My mum beat me all the time! Slaps, kicks and whatnot. And if I was really bold then she'd threaten my father on me! Which made me hide in the cupboard under the stairs.

Ah, good times :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

bnagrrl wrote: »
    I was never slapped but I was threatened with the wooden spoon :o

The sting of a wooden spoon on exposed flesh is something you always remember. Whatever about backhanding a truculent pup to straighten them out I always thought there something very nasty about the spoon.

I can't imagine what it was like to be flogged with a cane or piece of birch back in the old days. Some of those national school teachers issued serious beatings as I'm sure a lot of our parents could attest to.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 279 ✭✭thomur

I was in a reasonably rough inner school. Got the cane a few times and the belt at home if I did something wrong. Learnt my lesson and never did me any harm. All my classmates are doing well now and I believe its because like me, they learned dicipline

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

80s child too - born late 70s.
    I got a few smacks on the arse/hand/leg, but mostly from my mother. Don't remember my dad ever doing so. Maybe he did, as he had a temper, but I can't recall any smacking - just yelling.

Gillo wrote: »
    I'd rather a few slap's get dished out these days compared to the little sh!ts in every town up and down the country these days.
    Controversial maybe? it put many on the vast majority of people.
    Have to agree I work In retail and If I had thrown a tantrum even remotely similar to the meltdowns kids have now I would have been murdered

80s child too - born late 70s.
    I got a few smacks on the arse/hand/leg, but mostly from my mother. Don't remember my dad ever doing so. Maybe he did, as he had a temper, but I can't recall any smacking - just yelling.

Parents who are short tempered often let the calmer one do the disciplining for fear of going ott themselves IMO

For all those of you who are assuming I'm a troll /fetishist which is clearly apparent from the tone of your quote
    My post relates to my father using slapping as a method of discipline on me
    That is why it's about fathers and daughters I have stated that my mother also slapped me although not as often as she worked outside the home

I still don't get the father daughter focus, as opposed to parent / child ?

So what's different about it to a mother smacking one of her boys ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

OP who's your daddy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Parents who are short tempered often let the calmer one do the disciplining for fear of going ott themselves IMO

Wasn't the case in my house I'm afraid. My short tempered mother was the boss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I was born in 1988. My dad slapped me once in my entire life. I threw a rock at him New Year's Eve 1999 and he chased me. I stopped running and started to cry before he ever even caught me I was so frightened. He caught up on me and slapped my ass. I don't even remember the slap hurting, I just remember he was mad enough to chase after me

So what's different about it to a mother smacking one of her boys ?
    Well I guess it's always been seen as less of an issue for men/boys to be hit
    Not saying I agree with that but society in general seem to have that point of view

Well I guess it's always been seen as less of an issue for men/boys to be hit
    Not saying I agree with that but society in general seem to have that point of view

I doubt it, parents smacking children has nothing to do with male / female
    It just depends on what parent is at hand, and what child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

A slap was preferable to being made stay in my room for a few hours.

It never did me any harm, however I now think that there is no reason whatsoever that makes it acceptable for a fully grown adult to hit a defenceless child

Because as the OP explained it came up in a conversation in work earlier today where some people thought it was strange, the OP herself was slapped. She's obviously now curious.

In fairness OP, you are asking in After Hours, the parenting forum will get you a more mature sort of discussion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

I've never associated the "You shouldn't hit a female" thing with children, only adults.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I've never associated the "You shouldn't hit a female" thing with children, only adults.

emm maybe because you shouldn't hit anybody...no mind children