Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Psychopath to be released in two years time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

I can only think of the Walrus of Love whenever I hear about Justice Barry White. I'll be bitterly disappointed if I ever see a picture of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,520 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Life in prison.

Doesn't quite have the same deterrent factor it used to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Slow news day much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

But he will have been rehabilitated behind bars and he will turn his life around and is a different man. Society will be a lot better place with him out of prison.

On second thoughts, he'll probably be back inside within 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,520 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

I for one am happy to have clicked on the link, as this gem was a headline on the same page
    Father (32) exposed buttocks and threatened to kill garda after claiming all gardai are 'gay'
    Published 11/09/2014 | 14:46

THIS is the father-of-three who exposed his buttocks to a garda, threatened to kill him and claimed that all officers are gay.

Douglas Purcell (32) told Garda Stephen Walsh: "I'll get you on your own and I'll kill you".

Judge David McHugh adjourned sentencing for three weeks to allow Purcell to get his affairs in order.

The judge described the evidence as "jaw-dropping".

The defendant, of Melville Square in Finglas, admitted before Blanchardstown District Court to disorderly conduct and failing to follow directions of gardai.

He also admitted to violent behaviour at Finglas garda station.

Gda Walsh said he was on routine patrol and leaving Melville Square on May 21 when Purcell came out of his house. Gda Walsh said Purcell was immediately abusive, shouting "f**k you, you pr**k" and "suck my pr**k". Gda Walsh said Purcell also claimed gardai are gay.

The court heard Purcell then pulled down his trousers, slapped his rear and exposed himself to gardai.

He also threatened Gda Walsh, saying "I'll get you on your own and I'll kill you". Gda Walsh said Purcell continued to kick out in the back of the patrol car as he was taken to Finglas garda station.

He was placed in a cell where he stripped and threw his clothes at gardai.

The defence said Purcell's wife suffers from depression and he is caring for her and three children. Ms Jackson accepted the evidence was "horrific", and asked for a three-week adjournment.
    - See more at: http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/father-32-exposed-buttocks-and-threatened-to-kill-garda-after-claiming-all-gardai-are-gay-30580056.html#sthash.YotLYdMW.dpuf

Just magnificent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

This gives me two years to think of a good reply for the actual outrage thread, thanks OP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Have they learned anything from this case?I fear a repeat in this guys case.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2000/1205/10615-roscommon/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,284 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Skynet/Iphone 8 will be waiting for him in two years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Served his time

Only about €65k a year cost

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

So Phil Hogan will be back in two years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

He was 16, how much did you change in 10 years? I'd guess a lot.

Waste of money keeping him locked up unless he is currently a danger to others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Pawn

I always think that there should be a small group looking after lads like him who are leaving the prison. One, two, three of them found decomposing in some fields and the other "well behaving" guys would be begging to keep them in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Set up yer own counter here folks - http://www.timeanddate.com/countdown/create

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 700 ✭✭✭mikeyjames9

is there a "parole board" . like a committee to determine if these people are fit to be released?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

is there a "parole board" . like a committee to determine if these people are fit to be released?

Yes there is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Holsten wrote: »
    He was 16, how much did you change in 10 years? I'd guess a lot.

Waste of money keeping him locked up unless he is currently a danger to others.

You make him sound like a cheeky scamp who robbed hubcaps from cars and is sorry and won't do it again.He battered a 14 year old boy to death with a hammer and told his classmates that he was planning on doing it.He showed no remorse whatsover for what he did.