Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nice Lady hands in wallet

• 01-09-2014 9:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I was at work today and a nice lady hands in a wallet .

I work in a busy shop so I just have a glance inside for a name so if somebody asks about a wallet I can ask for a name so I know its theirs. Anyway it's stuffed with 50s . So I hand it into the office . There's only 6.5k in 50s in wallet.

The guys as tight as a ducks ass when he comes in always paying with loose change to the cent for his grocerys , and I was told by a guy one day he was sent out of news agent one day for reading papers and not buying anything .

I know its a cool story bro but I can't get it out of my mind, like who on earth carries that kind of cash around and if they do accidently leaves it in shop .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I thought this was some kind of fetish thread about liking elegant lady's fingers in wallets. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Better take out your reward money now so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The guys as tight as a ducks ass when he comes in always paying with loose change to the cent for his grocerys , and I was told by a guy one day he was sent out of news agent one day for reading papers and not buying anything .

What's the relevance of this to the rest of your story?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Op, when you seen there was 6.5k in the wallet. Why the FCUK did you hand it on in to the office.:mad:

Vegas not good enough for you or something :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

At what stage did someone go "Let's count it?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

"Sure this 50 note is torn, give it to me and I'll dispose of it"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Must be a big wallet to have 6.5k in it.

Drug dealer ? Or TD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

Pic of the hands or gtfo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭RayCon

6.5K / 50 = 130 notes ... nobody would not know they were dealing with a truck load of cash ... bollox would you hand it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

Op, when you seen there was 6.5k in the wallet. Why the FCUK did you hand it on in to the office.:mad:

Vegas not good enough for you or something :confused:

I only saw a load of notes, the office informed me there was 6.5k in it , it's my 2nd to last day in this job, if I'd have known I might of just jumped up and said screw you lot and done a runner with wallet. I was thinking for the day what car I could have bought if I kept it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Hold on a sec.... the wallet contained 130 €50 notes and it could be still folded in two?? I don't buy it...

realies wrote: »

Drug dealer ?

3k and the bastard barely fits in your pocket, so I'm kinda going, hmmm...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

God bless imagination.

We have machines that count cash, if something of high value is found you have to do paperwork .

What if man said we had taken some of his money. We have to record everything if there's any come back on it. We are dealing with a very anal company here folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

I left €4.5k in a hotel safe before. €4.5k that wasn't mine to lose. I was 20 mins down the road when I realised, rang hotel and they got it for me. The manager made me count it in front if him and a witness and sign a sheet confirming the amount was correct. It was squeaky bum time that day!:o

We have machines that count cash, if something of high value is found you have to do paperwork .

What if man said we had taken some of his money. We have to record everything if there's any come back on it. We are dealing with a very anal company here folks.

I knew I smelled some sort of sh1t anyway. I thought it was bull.

mike_ie wrote: »
    Hold on a sec.... the wallet contained 130 €50 notes and it could be still folded in two?? I don't buy it...

It didn't fold in two, it was a folder type wallet , I suppose there also might have been notes of higher value in it. I could hardly open wallet and count cash in front of a load of customers, had quick peep and passed it on . This wasn't pulp fiction here folks .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Drug dealer ? Or TD

The expression useless scumbag would have covered both professions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

six and a half grand in 50's?

How the f**ck would you fit that in a pocket? Does this guy wear clown trousers or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

FYI; the 50 and 200 euro notes look similar if looked at with bad lighting.

Also, it could have been a check to find a thief. All your company has to do is to drop the wallet in on everyone shift, and you'll quickly find out who is skimming the till.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 oak1993

My mother was recently telling me how she found some cash at a cash machine and she handed it into the bank manager, I was about to tell her how I had did the same a few months before but then I remembered that I pocketed the cash instead of handing it in.

the_syco wrote: »
    FYI; the 50 and 200 euro notes look similar if looked at with bad lighting.

Also, it could have been a check to find a thief. All your company has to do is to drop the wallet in on everyone shift, and you'll quickly find out who is skimming the till.

Our company are always doing tests on us but they,d never use that amount of cash , anyway guy came back , I recognised him as being a local man that comes in everyday , that's how I knew the info in my opening thread , .he was a very lucky man .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

I checked the stupid tax tables, and they say that you should have taxed that find 6.5k - 3.25k for stupidity of the original loser, and 3.25k for the nice lady's stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,812 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

You should have deducted 'Moe's special FICA' from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Corkgirl210

well done to the nice lady and op.. good to know that there are honest people still alive out there! :o) shame on the rest of yis!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

fussyonion wrote: »
    I thought this was some kind of fetish thread about liking elegant lady's fingers in wallets. :mad:
    Glad to know I wasnt the only person who read it like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Is this a 'I have a big cock' thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

Are you in need of a big cock? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

That'll be the "Defunct Objects"thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

I thought this was a Pick-Pocket awareness post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

fussyonion wrote: »

The funniest part was I thought that as well.

Was expecting pictures and all!

Corbis-42-38400224.jpg?size=67&uid=53ca326c-052d-44f4-8d4f-aa210f5c06b8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I work in a busy shop so I just have a glance inside for a name so if somebody asks about a wallet I can ask for a name so I know its theirs. Anyway it's stuffed with 50s . So I hand it into the office . There's only 6.5k in 50s in wallet.

I know its a cool story bro but I can't get it out of my mind, like who on earth carries that kind of cash around and if they do accidently leaves it in shop .
    Guy knows how to look after his pennies but drops a few notes here and there. In the long run, he's

Drug dealer ? Or TD
    +1, especially in 50s.
    +2
    It didn't fold in two, it was a folder type wallet , I suppose there also might have been notes of higher value in it. I could hardly open wallet and count cash in front of a load of customers, had quick peep and passed it on . This wasn't pulp fiction here folks .
    -1. A folder that didn't fold? So, a book-type kind of a wallet then?

Either way, every high roller should know to wrap that kind of small change with a rubber band, and park it in a pocket which is hard to get into, and even harder to get out of. The only way to loose that stash is when you have to run away without your kaks. Few K plus a few troy ounces up the pipe at all times - goes without saying, really.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

That's why he has that much money in his wallet because he's a tight ass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

Wait, why is it tight to pay for your groceries to the cent? :confused: You hardly expect a tip ...? Loads of people make a point of using loose change for small purchases, saves carrying it around in your wallet.

And in fairness maybe he was just killing some time in the newsagents that day ... why on earth would someone bother telling you about such a non-incident? Do you work in a very small town? Sounds bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

I wipe my arse with 6.5k

Fair play to ya :D

Reggie. wrote: »
    That's why he has that much money in his wallet because he's a tight ass

Maybe there's a really cool back-story about going to pay off his wifes kidnappers, or him going to buy a car with so much in his wallet that he's going "jasus, mustn't lose it, mustn't lose it.." and then does just exactly that.

Nah bet he's just a miserable bastard :D

You put it in a sealed envelope or clear bag or something with the date in the office and don't touch it, surely. Jesus, going through someone's wallet and sticking all their money in cash machines and faffing around with it?
    Counting it doesn't prevent someone claiming you took some of it

Maybe the person has some sort of money fetish and likes to carrier around lots of money with out ever spending it, would be a bit odd but its not going to do anyone any harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

Maybe too early for me, but is it the guys wallet who is thrifty?

Its not clear,

Karma is a bitch,

I hope I never leave my wallet lying around here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

I wipe my arse with 6.5k

And that can still be used as legal tender?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Badger2009

I only want to know how "nice" the lady was?

Nice, in a hot way? or nice, in a boring way?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

So a lady from the south of France had her hands in your wallet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

elefant wrote: »
    And that can still be used as legal tender?

Rinse it under the tap sure.

bluewolf wrote: »
    You put it in a sealed envelope or clear bag or something with the date in the office and don't touch it, surely. Jesus, going through someone's wallet and sticking all their money in cash machines and faffing around with it?

I totally agree, I handed it in so they could just chuck wallet in safe , having a quick look inside is ok to see if there's a Number to ring but actually taking out all the contents and counting money is a bit to far. Company rules and regulations . And believe me they have a lot of rules and regulations.

I'm well out of there anyway !! Last day tomorrow whoo hoo

Oh and poster that wanted to know what kind of "nice" the lady was, she smelled of fly spray.. Does that answer your question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

bluewolf wrote: »

It sounds horrible but you have to have a poke about to work out who's it is, then you might be able to get it back to them, and if you can't work it out you need to have some details for verification when someone comes in going "eeh I heard you found a wallet." I found someone online by the id in their wallet once, I could not have felt like more of a creep but it seemed worse not to get it back to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

As you say. Lady hands…