Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

closed

• 29-08-2014 9:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Stop buying expensive phones or buy phone insurance, problem solved. And keeping the phone secure was your responsibility, not McDonalds. Whining like a petulant child on a public forum won't help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Learn to back up your next phone,buy a new one and forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 kneesocks11

Great help guys, thanks...

Something tells me that wouldn't be what you would do in my position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,806 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

You want their insurance to pay out for your mistake?

You've some neck on you anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I think its worth a read anyway...

You're wrong there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,890 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I don't think that this would classify as a theft.
    The individual found a phone that was mislead and took it to try and trace down the owner.

You have learned a lesson , dont leave things lying around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

What meal did ya get in mcdonalds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

In future report the incident straight away to the Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Ficheall wrote: »
    You're wrong there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

Tough break OP but honestly I don't think McDonalds should or would pay for the phone. Just one of those things, you messed up, they messed up, Gardai can't do much and some prick gets himself a phone. But given its your own mistake that caused the issue and everyone else is just attempting to help you if it doesn't work out its tough luck you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

kneemos wrote: »
    Learn to back up your next phone,buy a new one and forget it.

ah in fairness those articulated ones take a while to get use to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Why do people put their phone down on a counter/table in public anyway? It's so much easier and safer to have it in your pocket or bag. It's a scumbag's Christmas when foolish people like that are around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

I read that. What a whiney self entitled post.

Why dafuq would the manager/whoever give a flying **** about your phone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Great help guys, thanks...

Something tells me that wouldn't be what you would do in my position.

You've no come back to McDonald's. You lost your phone, you left it a week to report it to the guards. Mistakes happen, wrong footage is downloaded. Could you not have gone in to look at it.
    If you had of taken the time to report it when it happened you wouldn't be in this situation. If it was android and you have a Gmail account everything should be backed up to it. Login and check your contacts. They will download automatically to your next phone.
    You could talk to the shop manager but I wouldn't be going in telling them your rights. As a gesture they may cover the cost but it would only be goodwill on their part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Not saying that you have any sort of a case OP but if that man was identifiable and if McD's really wiped the video footage, then they may have possibly fcuked up any hope of catching the thief.

Maybe see a solicitor to ask if they were negligent in doing so, and if so, whether you have any sort of action against McDonalds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

I feel for you. Some people are total pricks. I'd never ever ever not return a phone or wallet if i saw someone drop them, or if i found them and there was a way to find its owner.

However, no there's not much you can do. Get onto your provider and have them lock the phone so the person can't use it at least.

Insurance is a good idea if your phone is worth a few quid. There's also apps you can get that will let you track your phone, or even send it a message that will pop up even if that person is using a different SIM card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

I don't think McDonalds should pay for your phone but they should give you a free Happy Meal, and maybe a large Diet Coke.

That Hamburgerlar is some menace

ted1 wrote: »
    I don't think that this would classify as a theft.
    The individual I found a phone that was mislead and took it to try and trace down the owner.

You have learned a lesson , dont leave things lying around

fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Was it an iphone? Please god tell me it wasn't an iphone?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

In future report the incident straight away to the Gardaí.
    This is jumping out at me. You should have gone straight away to the gardai. Always risky leaving for that lengh of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Ah it feels really sh1te when your phone gets stolen, the first time.

By the time it gets stolen the fourth or fifth time, it's like water off a duck's back. So don't worry, you'll get over it.

And with all the phones getting stolen all day every day absolutely everywhere, nobody honestly cares about your phone getting stolen. I say that as a statement of fact, not to be cruel.

thats some trick managing to take away your wallet from the counter without knocking your phone on the floor. have you considered.....archery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Ok, I'll ask.

There was pics of yourself of an Erotic nature on the phone.

Wasnt there op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Let me get this straight.

YOU lost your phone.

Your rang McDonalds, not the guards and expected them to download the cctv. You only reported it when told you needed to. You have no right to see the security footage but you wanted a gawk anyway. You left it a week. It showed some random who allegedly stole your phone and they screwed up on the cctv so now you want them to buy you a new phone?

You have zero chance.

Take responsibility for YOUR actions.

Some cheek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Not saying that you have any sort of a case OP but if that man was identifiable and if McD's really wiped the video footage, then they may have possibly fcuked up any hope of catching the thief.

Maybe see a solicitor to ask if they were negligent in doing so, and if so, whether you have any sort of action against McDonalds.

I can tell you now she hasnt. Apart from the signs saying no responsibility will be taken for items lost or stolen on the premises even with a clear shot of the lad with no physical evidence zero chance of recovery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Ok, I'll ask.

Wasnt there op?

Well we all wanted know but only Banjo had the neck to ask :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Demand a meeting with Ronald McDonald.

Probably him that did it, those massive shoes don't pay for themselves..he gets those bad boys custom made in Italy:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Me?

OP any chance you could get me a snackbox when you go to Supermacs.
    It's statistically favourable that there is less phones stolen in Supermacs than McDonalds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I think you're falsely accusing the man of stealing your phone. The magnet from inside the phone latched onto his wallet when he laid it on top of it and by the time he realised what he had picked up it was too late. You should write a public apology to the so-called prick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

While I have some sympathy for the OP, it's a shîte thing to happen. It's rough that there are so many thieving scum around. However you should have reported the incident to the gardai straight.
    Don't expect McDonald's or any other third party to be of use to you in incidents like this. I'm surprised they even went through cctv with you in the first place, they should only do so if asked by a Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

If you left the phone on the park bench would you be going after the council's insurance?

It's not McDonald's responsibility to mind your property.
    Like you don't go in and go "ill have a happy meal and a 5 minute watch of my phone please"

Why should McDonald's pay for your irresponsibility with your phone??

Me? wrote: »
    OP any chance you could get me a snackbox when you go to Supermacs.
    It's statistically favourable that there is less phones stolen in Supermacs than McDonalds.

The culchies in Supermacs wouldn't know what a phone is:pac:

'Here Mary, this bread board is lighting up' :pac:

'What's a light?'

I kid:p

So why did you only pick up your phone? And not your wallet and your phone.

That was fierce silly of you altogether. And now you want to blame McDonald's because the phone is gone.

Root cause = you lost/left your phone.

Not nice losing a phone I know, but accept responsibility for what happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

I was in Toronto last June, and I was in a rush to the airport to get the late night flight back to Ireland. In the panic we took an incorrect turn off the highway and ended up having to take the side roads to the terminal.

I had to stop and ask for directions, and unknowingly dropped my phone on the pavement. I only realised my phone was missing at check-in.

The next day I was back in Ireland and took the bus up to Donegal, and before I went to bed I decided to send my phone a text from O2 online webtext service.

I texted 'hi, if you find this phone my email is *****@gmail.com please drop me an email, I lost my phone on way to airport, thanks'

The next morning I received an email from a guy in Toronto who's mother found it on her way to work the next morning. They sent it back to me via registered post with tracking ($55).

I left my ipad on the train a couple of weeks ago. Myself and the irish rail guy I was dealing with think it travelled up and down on the line all day. :) It was handed in at 7pm that evening.

Myself and ir guy were in shock it came back to me. I like to think it was my big "hippy type slogan" sticker on it that it brought it back to me :D

I texted your man who handed it in asking for his address so I could send him something small, he didn't want anything "just hoped someone would do same for him"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

The OP ought to contact the poster looking for their €20 "overtime". Get on like a house on fire. Also, thread title is misleading -"I left my phone in McDonalds, like a big eejit" doesn't have the same ring to it though. "Ring" - I made a pun. Big success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I was in Toronto last June, and I was in a rush to the airport to get the late night flight back to Ireland. In the panic we took an incorrect turn off the highway and ended up having to take the side roads to the terminal.

I had to stop and ask for directions, and unknowingly dropped my phone on the pavement. I only realised my phone was missing at check-in.

The next day I was back in Ireland and took the bus up to Donegal, and before I went to bed I decided to send my phone a text from O2 online webtext service.

I texted 'hi, if you find this phone my email is *****@gmail.com please drop me an email, I lost my phone on way to airport, thanks'

The next morning I received an email from a guy in Toronto who's mother found it on her way to work the next morning. They sent it back to me via registered post with tracking ($55).

That was very nice of them. I used to work in Toronto . I had one job working on a go kart track down on polson pier. People were always leaving there phones in the carts. I always returned them but the I found it hilarious some people would not even say thank you. I found one with 300 bucks and around a dozen cards. The guy took it from my hand said nothing ; ). I lost my own wallet 3 times and got it back twice in my life. I believe in karma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Yes you left your phone behind
    Yes you left a week in between your phone going missing and contacting the Guards
    Yes you put too much faith in the Manager downloading the video.

Silly? No
    Stupid? No
    Ditzy girl on a night out? No

Unfortunately you fall into the category of being human and making a mistake. Yes it is a mistake you will have to pay for yourself but I would say ignore some of the ignoramus comments within this thread. Unless they all never go out drinking, or socialising, or eating, or have their phones welded to their armpit.

Reccomendation for new phone : Android with tracking app.

Ok, I'll ask.

Wasnt there op?

You have it don't you?!

I didn't mean to come across as cheeky or whatever else half of the people posting on here are getting hot headed about.

I know it's completely my fault for leaving the damn phone on the counter, I wasn't out that night so I wasn't drunk I had just rolled in mid night shift for food and stupidly left my phone on the counter.

The only thing that annoyed me was the manager failing to download the correct footage, that's all! I asked her 4 times for god sake. I'm hardly blaming McDonalds for not supplying 20 body guards to stand around me while I got my food and make sure I don't forget stuff.

I'm pissed off enough about the phone without people getting worked about something they would hate happen to them.

chill out people, it wouldn't kill to be nice about something, even if it is over the internet.

and to those who tried to help, thank you! it's appreciated.

Case closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

TheZohan wrote: »
    Was it an iphone? Please god tell me it wasn't an iphone?!

If my son or daughter came home and told me they lost their iphone there would be a murder committed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Case closed.

**dusts off hands**

Thank god we were all here to help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

lulu1 wrote: »
    If my son or daughter came home and told me they lost their iphone there would be a murder committed

You saying your kids would go on the rampage?
    Y'all need to get those kids some counselling yo for realz!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

lulu1 wrote: »

I'd just be disappointed they choose iPhone over android.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Phone wasnt stolen you lost it, someone else found it.

Finders keepers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

I read that. What a whiney self entitled post.

Why dafuq would the manager/whoever give a flying **** about your phone?

I'm surprised McDonalds were so willing to help. I'd have thought they'd just say they knew nothing about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

If I left my antique (as the kids calls it) on the counter the next customer would probably laugh at it. Keep telling the kids that I want an iphone for christmas they think this is the joke of the century. What do you want an iphone for mum ?? you wouldnt know what to do with it. They are probably right but I will never admit it.

I didn't mean to come across as cheeky or whatever else half of the people posting on here are getting hot headed about.

I know it's completely my fault for leaving the damn phone on the counter, I wasn't out that night so I wasn't drunk I had just rolled in mid night shift for food and stupidly left my phone on the counter.

The only thing that annoyed me was the manager failing to download the correct footage, that's all! I asked her 4 times for god sake. I'm hardly blaming McDonalds for not supplying 20 body guards to stand around me while I got my food and make sure I don't forget stuff.

I guess you made a mistake. And she made a mistake.

She's probably saying the same thing "like yeah I downloaded the wrong cctv but he left his bloody phone on the table".