Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smoking while pregnant.

• 25-08-2014 4:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭

I was at an event over the weekend which had a number of pregnant teenage girls present. One of them in particular was getting totally twatted on drink and chain smoking all night. Not one person from either of her families said a word to her or anyone about it. I thought it was absolutely disgusting to be honest, although not unusual if the entrances to hospitals are anything to go by the past while.

What's acceptable to do in this situation? I don't have any business saying it but was shocked that her parents or parents in law didn't mention it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

I was at an event over the weekend which had a number of pregnant teenage girls present. One of them in particular was getting totally twatted on drink and chain smoking all night. Not one person from either of her families said a word to her or anyone about it. I thought it was absolutely disgusting to be honest, although not unusual if the entrances to hospitals are anything to go by the past while.

What's acceptable to do in this situation? I don't have any business saying it but was shocked that her parents or parents in law didn't mention it.

I know whats not acceptable in this situation, that's to smoke when your pregnant. Totally pointless for you to say anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

It's her body she can do what she wants, it just a few cells in her belly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Despicable.

Especially these days when she could just use a vapouriser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭iMac_Hunt

She has obviously been brought up in a house where that kind of behaviour is acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

It's sickening, and even more selfish than an able bodied person parking in a disabled space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

ANXIOUS wrote: »

But her actions know will have a serious knock on effect on the development of the child.

Also - if the OP was able to tell that she was pregnant then it's a lot more than "just a few cells".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

ANXIOUS wrote: »

For someone who intends keeping the baby it will eventually be a person they are carrying, it's selfish to risk the health and maybe the lifespan of that person all because they can't do without a fag.

Sure she can do what she wants, but it doesn't make it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Nowt much you can do.
    If you think you should say something, then you probably should criticise every bad parent for feeding their little scrotes junk food too often, not looking after them properly etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

This thread was also done about a week ago. How do you know nobody said anything . were you sitting beside her all night..

There are kids starving on the side of a mountain in iraq and you are disgusted because someones baby, who you don't even know might have a baby with a smaller birthweight?

yeah its obviously bad but none of your business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

Bad form alright. But what are you going to do?

Stupid is as stupid does after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

It's this type of prejudicial bollix that keeps our society in the dark-ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

which had a number of pregnant teenage girls present

Nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭diograis

This thread was also done about a week ago. How do you know nobody said anything . were you sitting beside her all night..

There are kids starving on the side of a mountain in iraq and you are disgusted because someones baby, who you don't even know might have a baby with a smaller birthweight?

yeah its obviously bad but none of your business.

Sure there are kids starving on the side of a mountain in Iraq, how can you criticise anything else ever. This specific terrible incident means we shouldn't criticise anything else, ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Meso Harney

Yeah, smoking is bad, agreed.

But, more importantly, mind your own business. You probably thought it wouldn't happen to you, but youre exhibiting Gay Byrne levels of concerned outrage and general nosyparkerness.

If people worried more about their own, and less about everybody else's, the world would be a better place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

diograis wrote: »
    Sure there are kids starving on the side of a mountain in Iraq, how can you criticise anything else ever. This specific terrible incident means we shouldn't criticise anything else, ever

Not even smoking kids in Iraq who are starving?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I think it's disgusting. Smoking, I can understand, because it's an extremely difficult addiction to break.

Drinking? Jesus christ, unless she's an alcoholic, it shouldn't be hard to knock the booze on the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Meso Harney

I'm sitting on the bus now masturbating, it's my body I can do what I want.

"It's my body" is the argument of a moron.

Why argue with one who can make comparisons like that? Somebody else smoking in a public place vs masturbating on a bus?

But, more importantly, mind your own business.

....but .....but the OP did mind his/her own business. Didn't say anything about it at the time.

They're just discussing it now.

Are people not allow discuss things at all now without the "MIND YOUR OWN BUSINESS" brigade jumping down their throats?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

Lads i couldn't care less about starving kids in Iraq. I'm still coming to terms with children displaced during WW2.

Jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I am assuming they are absolute scum, in which case I probably wouldnt say anything, if they werent (and this is so improbable as to be near impossible) I would say something... Its vile, what chance do the kids have? I came across the below on the journal earlier, echos my sentiments exactly...
    Just get rid of the “strategic” unemployed, “strategic” parents, and basically the whole pijama army that have been costing Ireland an absolute fortune for decades, without making any contribution to society whatsoever.
    It is sad that such a beautiful country with so nice hard working people has to carry that burden… Disgusting…

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Get rid of the 'strategic' unemployed

What do they mean by 'get rid of'?

Economic Cleansing? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Saw a heavily pregnant woman smoking today actually, with her 3 obese children walking with her. It's sad.

What do you mean by Get Rid?

Economic Cleansing?

not much we can do about the ones now. But honestly, government policy should ensure that parents who have them who are not in a position to afford them, i.e for the most part the usual piss takers, are far worse off financially with them than without them. (Simply have a system that pays out based on whats paid in, like in Germany and other countries) Have all school costs free, possibly even a morning, noon and afternoon meal provided at school (which is probably a lot more than some of the unfortunates get from their scum parents) virtually nothing then to live on. I dont see why the working and working poor should pay in to a system they get nothing out of, to ensure others who have never paid anything in, can get constant pay outs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Ingenious take on AH staple topics insofar as it allows us to hand wring about the parenting of two generations, smoking , drinking and women simultaneously.

that doesnt bother me, the smoking bit when pregnant is just vile, I just conjure up images of the poor defenceless baby (foetus) choking on the smoke. I personally wouldnt think anything of the odd glass or half of it of wine. the smoking just seems to much more disgusting...

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Not even smoking kids in Iraq who are starving?

I am OUTRAGED

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

anncoates wrote: »

I just spat out my tea with laughter, Thanks :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Mark Tapley

Idbatterim wrote: »
    not much we can do about the ones now. But honestly, government policy should ensure that parents who have them who are not in a position to afford them, i.e for the most part the usual piss takers, are far worse off financially with them than without them. (Simply have a system that pays out based on whats paid in, like in Germany and other countries) Have all school costs free, possibly even a morning, noon and afternoon meal provided at school (which is probably a lot more than some of the unfortunates get from their scum parents) virtually nothing then to live on. I dont see why the working and working poor should pay in to a system they get nothing out of, to ensure others who have never paid anything in, can get constant pay outs!

Are you aware that you just posted a load of poisonous unsubstantiated waffle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭ArnieSilvia

What I noticed is that it's quite acceptable for a lot of pregnant women to drink alcohol. I think there is very little awareness about the damage it can cause - the fetal alcohol syndrome. They pay their price though - smoking - often weak/smaller child; drinking - aggressive child; thus hardly making them happy mothers in the end.

Are you aware that you just posted a load of poisonous unsubstantiated waffle?

your first mistake was actually reading it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

KungPao wrote: »
    Despicable.

Especially these days when she could just use a vapouriser.

They do vapourised alcohol now? Cool.

anncoates wrote: »

And....
    Turtyturd wrote: »
    It's sickening, and even more selfish than an able bodied person parking in a disabled space.

And....
    I was at an event over the weekend which had a number of pregnant teenage girls present.

This thread has all the classics covered. Kudos, OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭brandnewaward

What I noticed is that it's quite acceptable for a lot of pregnant women to drink alcohol. I think there is very little awareness about the damage it can cause - the fetal alcohol syndrome. They pay their price though - smoking - often weak/smaller child; drinking - aggressive child; thus hardly making them happy mothers in the end.

Ah sure the free house will make up for everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

My mother smoked when she carried me, albeit infrequently. I turned out middling (I think).

Still a terrible habit though, and I personally would love to murder anyone under the age of thirty that smokes.

Candie wrote: »
    And....

And....

This thread has all the classics covered. Kudos, OP.

I don't discriminate. I'm good like that :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

I don't discriminate. I'm good like that :D

At least you're not a bleeding heart..

I bleed from many places, but not the heart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

Hitler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭KAI.Fundraiser

All I can say is anyone over the age of 20 that had parents that smoke, you can be sure 99% of them smoke while pregnant and it done no harm... BUT im not saying its ok or should be done.

And then the whole prevention is better than cure comes into effect. Stop people smoking and then you have 0 smoking mammys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ralphdejones

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    But her actions know will have a serious knock on effect on the development of the child.

Also - if the OP was able to tell that she was pregnant then it's a lot more than "just a few cells".

The usual argument is it's her choice to do what she wants to the baby, she could abort it if she wants to, never mind smoke. It's her body. You can't judge her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Still a terrible habit though, and I personally would love to murder anyone under the age of thirty that smokes

You have a lot of killing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

The usual argument is it's her choice to do what she wants to the baby, she could abort it if she wants to, never mind smoke. It's her body. You can't judge her.

Yes I can. I'm judging her right now. :)

darced wrote: »

Sure we're all only a bunch of cells.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Very sad to see this but it irritated me that you felt the need to point out they were teenagers. A pregnant woman of ANY age shouldn't be smoking so I don't see how their age is relevant, apart from maybe you attempting to make them look lower class for dramatic effect.

For what its worth, I know plenty of young mothers who never smoke or drank and plenty of 30 somethings that had a few glasses of pinot every night and never attempted to give up the fags.

I don't see how emphasising their age was relevant to your point at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

I'm sitting on the bus now masturbating, it's my body I can do what I want.

I'm not seeing the problem here really. Just tell your passengers they'll have to wait a few minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ralphdejones

WhiteRoses wrote: »
    Very sad to see this but it irritated me that you felt the need to point out they were teenagers. A pregnant woman of ANY age shouldn't be smoking so I don't see how their age is relevant, apart from maybe you attempting to make them look lower class for dramatic effect.

For what its worth, I know plenty of young mothers who never smoke or drank and plenty of 30 somethings that had a few glasses of pinot every night and never attempted to give up the fags.

Stop judging people

WhiteRoses wrote: »

Sure young wans know nothing these days was my point. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Yes you most certainly can.

She's smoking and drinking while pregnant, it's the height of selfishness and stupidity.

You can be sure that wasn't the first time she'd done either and if the OP was able to tell she was pregnant then it's more than just a ball of cells she's harming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

In fairness though most medical professionals will agree that alcohol is fine in small quantities, particularly in the later stages of pregnancy. FAS is caused by binge drinking between approximately 6 weeks and 3 months of pregnancy (when some women mightn't even be aware that they're pregnant.) You'll often see people tutting or giving dirty looks if they see a heavily pregnant woman holding a glass of wine - but if they're visibly pregnant, they're past the most "dangerous" time for FAS, and if it's only the occasional drink, it's not going to do any damage to the baby. (I didn't personally drink while pregnant, apart from literally one West Coast Cooler later on in the pregnancy, but I wouldn't judge women who do choose to drink in moderation.)

I do think it's extremely sad though when you see a pregnant woman smoking. Unlike alcohol, which can be fine in small amounts, literally every single cigarette is affecting the development of the baby. Personally I wouldn't say anything unless it was a close friend or family member, though. And at that, I'd probably just ask them what sort of support they're getting, and if they've talked to their doctor about anything they can take to reduce the cravings. It could be a case that the girl's family have already spoken to her about her smoking and drinking, but chose not to make a scene by bringing it up with her again at the party.