Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The farmers ice bucket challenge

• 25-08-2014 9:27am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭

Brilliant cause but think its lost its idea now
    Loads of mates have done it now its my turn :D
    Thinking of getting an empty 200gal trough and filling it with ice and water. Get tractor bucket of water dumped over me and jump in trough.
    Oh and girlfriend doing it with me.
    What's the best ones you have seen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Thinking of getting an empty 200gal trough and filling it with ice and water. Get tractor bucket of water dumped over me and jump in trough.

Sounds like effort tho ha. Keep the ideas coming, I need something interesting to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

It's about charity! Lots of people not even donating. Which makes it pointless... If you do it make sure and donate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭marcus2000

Feckthis wrote: »
    It's about charity! Lots of people not even donating. Which makes it pointless.

Lots of people donating, which makes it a good thing!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Feckthis wrote: »
    It's about charity! Lots of people not even donating. Which makes it pointless... If you do it make sure and donate

I surely will my nanny suffered from motor nuron for yrs until it got the better of her.
    My own mother is starting to develope it now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

I surely will my nanny suffered from motor nuron for yrs until it got the better of her.
    My own mother is starting to develope it now
    My grandad also suffered from it. Horrible disease. I'm thinking of setting up the bucket on the tractor :D. Got nominated there last night ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Durrus Boy

Fair play to ya for rising to the challenge!

I'd keep it simple and keep the machinery outta it, especially after reading this.......

Edit: Can't post the link but a man died in Germany after a teleporter bucket was filled with 520 gallons of water. They extended the boom and it toppled over on him.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

got nominated 3 times now, a lot of people like me seemingly :) .....doing it there this evening, probably just get tractor bucket id say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I've enough to be worrying about than that Ice bucket crap. Get wet enough everyday in the fields during winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Got nominated myself yesterday, thinking jfc round trough with the heifers watching behind, less excited today. Think the loader bucket is well played out now. Maybe water out of the jars in the parlour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Just seen a lad do it with a slurry tanker there, I'd say there was a queer stench off him afterwards!

Reggie. wrote: »
    I've enough to be worrying about than that Ice bucket crap. Get wet enough everyday in the fields during winter.

Ah Reggie the last lad I would have thought to be against it. A bit of craic to raise awareness for a good cause

You do know the idea of the challenge is if you don't donate ya have to do it. I know plenty of people around here that did it and when I asked about MND or how much they donated they looked at me like I had two heads. People only doing it cos it's the latest thing on Facebook. Same as the neck nominations and the no makeup pic thingy. Another gimmick will come along shorty after this one

Don't get me started on people doing it and not donating, that's why I will do it. Complete challenge and donate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

simx wrote: »
    got nominated 3 times now, a lot of people like me seemingly :) .....doing it there this evening, probably just get tractor bucket id say

Use iced Milk

Yes but its personal to me so I will donate. I donated already any way. There will always be lads that spoil it for others by not doing it right.
    They've raised 400,000 in one week. They wouldn't have gotten any of that if they hadn't if don't this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

just saw a lad from Bunclody on the sunday world fb page, his shorts fell down when the water from the loader bucket came down on him:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

Me and my cousin done it last night. Started off standing in dablo box full of water said out price then sat down in it and got the bucket of the loader down on us. Water straight from the well, was effin freezing. And we donated too:)

whelan2 wrote: »
    just saw a lad from Bunclody on the sunday world fb page, his shorts fell down when the water from the loader bucket came down on him:D

Ye I know him. Poor lad was priceless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

milkprofit wrote: »
    Use iced Milk
    You must be over quota

whelan2 wrote: »

http://www.irishmirror.ie/whats-on/ice-bucket-challenge-watch-most-4103544

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

This is the one that made me laugh most! AH JESUS MAMMY!
    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=946519715364219

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I agree Reggie something else will come along, but this "gimmic" has raised in excess of €600k for a great cause.. I did it earlier but posted a snapshot of my donation text too.. I think allot (most) stuff on FB is rubbish but was nominated and its a great cause so why not.. Coincidentally I had just read the book "Its not yet dark", after reading that I'm damn glad to be part of this "gimmic".

Highly recommend the book.

_Brian wrote: »
    I agree Reggie something else will come along, but this "gimmic" has raised in excess of €600k for a great cause.. I did it earlier but posted a snapshot of my donation text too.. I think allot (most) stuff on FB is rubbish but was nominated and its a great cause so why not.. Coincidentally I had just read the book "Its not yet dark", after reading that I'm damn glad to be part of this "gimmic".

Where are the donations going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Had meant to read that book a while ago after he was on Ray Darcy's today fm show but had forgotten till now, must go look for a copy sometime!

Did the ice bucket yoke the other day after the sister nominated me, ordinary bucket was more than enough, and i did put in ice.... A lot are just using water... I only did it because of what its for, if it was just a stupid craze yoke like those stupid necknomination i wouldn't have done it...

Where are the donations going

Towards equipment and nursing hours for MND sufferers.

I'm not gonna comment anymore on this as I'm in danger of being labelled a nasty person here.

There are two accounts in MND main office. The main one is for the researchers wages and expenses while on trips and the other is for the patients.
    I know this as 4 years ago I helped raise £100,000 for cancer and MND. They wanted us to put the money in the main account but we refused as we wanted it to go to the patients care instead and the MND main office fought us on it but we prevailed. We would have been none the wiser only we were tipped off by a nurse. I'm afraid to say that most if not all of this money will go to such an account which I have no interest in putting people up in 5 star hotels and wasting money on seminars and parties with is the reality my friends.
    As i write this another man has died from the challenge by jumping into a quarry so Brian yes I do believe this is only a gimmick as in a weeks time no one will remember MND. I bet the families of the people who died wish this thing never happened as many young people are pressured into it and seem to have to go one better. Such a waste of life.
    I rather be able to raise money for a great cause without someone dying from the attempt of it. Terrible that people need to be pressurised into donating to such causes. I also seen many so called "charities" in action overseas and it would open your eyes so once again I'm sorry if I offend anyone with this but it's my life lessons.

Once again these are only my opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

At this stage it's only a fad, the cause is lost on a lot of the twats who are only in it for the YouTube/FB fame. No great challenge in getting wet, I'd rather see the bucket filled with cow ****, the cow **** challenge would sort the men from the boys.

I'm not gonna comment anymore on this as I'm in danger of being labelled a nasty person here.

There are two accounts in MND main office. The main one is for the researchers wages and expenses while on trips and the other is for the patients.
    I know this as 4 years ago I helped raise £100,000 for cancer and MND. They wanted us to put the money in the main account but we refused as we wanted it to go to the patients care instead and the MND main office fought us on it but we prevailed. We would have been none the wiser only we were tipped off by a nurse. I'm afraid to say that most if not all of this money will go to such an account which I have no interest in putting people up in 5 star hotels and wasting money on seminars and parties with is the reality my friends.
    As i write this another man has died from the challenge by jumping into a quarry so Brian yes I do believe this is only a gimmick as in a weeks time no one will remember MND. I bet the families of the people who died wish this thing never happened as many young people are pressured into it and seem to have to go one better. Such a waste of life.
    I rather be able to raise money for a great cause without someone dying from the attempt of it. Terrible that people need to be pressurised into donating to such causes. I also seen many so called "charities" in action overseas and it would open your eyes so once again I'm sorry if I offend anyone with this but it's my life lessons.

You can't blame the challenge for what some lunatics will do to get noticed, there will always be people who go all OTT on stuff and get hurt/killed..

And slating all charities as running round in 5 star hotels on jollies is like someone saying ALL farmers don't pay tax, All live off payments and their children take up ALL the places in college because they are ALL rich...

Do staff members in charities go to seminars??, yes I'm sure they do, its a knowledge transfer business.. There is administration in any business be that a farm or a charity... So long as its not abused I've no problem with some of the money going towards it, but we shouldn't turn away from supporting charities because there has been some wrong done !

You can't blame the challenge for what some lunatics will do to get noticed, there will always be people who go all OTT on stuff and get hurt/killed..

And slating all charities as running round in 5 star hotels on jollies is like someone saying ALL farmers don't pay tax, All live off payments and their children take up ALL the places in college because they are ALL rich...

Do staff members in charities go to seminars??, yes I'm sure they do, its a knowledge transfer business.. There is administration in any business be that a farm or a charity... So long as its not abused I've no problem with some of the money going towards it, but we shouldn't turn away from supporting charities because there has been some wrong done !
    I agree ya can't blame everyone for the actions of a few but if this didn't start then them individuals would still be alive.

Never said stay away from charities but the main accounts in MND are only for the senior management of the organisation.
    The other accounts are for the nurses and patients. I know this first hand so it's why I have an opinion on it.
    As for the seminars I know what happens there from the staff in MND. So once again first hand info. I don't post up speculation. you can take the info on board or dismiss it.

Will patients not be hearing about all the donations? Of course they will if they don't get better care of facilities or more nurses don't you think they will make a racket?
    I for one am very pleased with amount of money raised to date. Something like 30m.
    I have seen MND first hand turned a very active women into a vegtabke in 10 yrs..

Will patients not be hearing about all the donations? Of course they will if they don't get better care of facilities or more nurses don't you think they will make a racket?
    I for one am very pleased with amount of money raised to date. Something like 30m.
    I have seen MND first hand turned a very active women into a vegtabke in 10 yrs..

So have green. Unfortunately so have i. Terrible to see then unable to move or talk but you know from looking into their eyes that their wits are still about them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

lefthooker wrote: »
    At this stage it's only a fad, the cause is lost on a lot of the twats who are only in it for the YouTube/FB fame. No great challenge in getting wet, I'd rather see the bucket filled with cow ****, the cow **** challenge would sort the men from the boys.

Then you would have a few lads taking it too far and jumping into slurry pits and the likes. I'd rather not!

You dont have to donate yo mnd. Our family chose irish cancer society .

So have green. Unfortunately so have i. Terrible to see then unable to move or talk but you know from looking into their eyes that their wits are still about them

Remember visiting my nan after a yr, due to family issues. She grabbed my index finger and kept hold of it for the 2-3hrs we were there. And she had arthritis as well.

I agree ya can't blame everyone for the actions of a few but if this didn't start then them individuals would still be alive.

But would they??
    Idiots find idiotic ways to hurt and kill themselves.. I know lads who killed themselves pulling similar pranks for no cause at all other than to prove their own stupidity..

Idiots will always be idiots. Done and donated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

You're a fair man keeping the two of them happy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

just do it wrote: »
    You're a fair man keeping the two of them happy :D

... And squeeze in a bit of milking and baling...ah to be young.

You're just waving joke set up lines in my face aren't you! :pac::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

.Kovu. wrote: »

Yep...have at it

I can't, I've to be a responsible adult at times too:D

.Kovu. wrote: »

It's a change from whats usually being waved! :D

Job done. Was fairly cold to sell the least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭stanflt

stanflt wrote: »

Saw photos of her after and she had a lump the size of an orange on her face !!

Who the F puts a clothesline in the middle of a garden path !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭stanflt

where did you see the after pics?? send link....