Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stripped screw help :(

• 18-08-2014 11:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭

We are in the process of renovating the house and to make the living room a nicer place I bought a new TV and few other bits and bobs.
    Everything apart from the assembly of the TV has gone according to plan :mad:
    I've assembled the stand to the TV but one of the screws wasn't going in properly.
    Stupidly I kept trying until the screw would turn no more.
    I just tried giving it another go at removing the screw and the driver just keeps turning and turning so I've obviously fubbered it.
    Anyone have any tips on how to remove a stripped screw using basic tools?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Jimmy_M

Phillips or flathead?

Is there enough sticki9ng out to get it with vice grip or pliers.
    There are screw removal jobbies you can get - had them in aldi few weeks back - im sure they'd still be knocking around the shelves - think they work better with phillips heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Phillips.
    there is quite a bit sticking out, I was thinking of giving pliers a try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Most likely cross-threaded. Is it the rear VESA plate that bolts to the back of the TV ? 4 screws ?

It's the metal stand at the very bottom which then mounts onto a bracket that connects to the tv.
    I'm not mounting it to the wall for the time being.
    But I guess if I can't get the fecker out I'll have to hang the tv on the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭RichT

Sometimes an elastic band can help..........

Unless the screw is stripped bare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭b318isp

You probably won't get a tight enough grip with a pliers. Vice grips is yer man.

Cheers for all the advice lads, I'll get it a go and see how I get on.
    Going to try the elastic band option for a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭sparky63

Get a flat head screwdriver, one just wide enough to fit but not wide enough to split the screw head. Tap it with a hammer lightly until it bites into the head, then unscrew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

bear1 wrote: »
    It's the metal stand at the very bottom which then mounts onto a bracket that connects to the tv.
    I'm not mounting it to the wall for the time being.
    But I guess if I can't get the fecker out I'll have to hang the tv on the wall.

I'm assuming it's not th only screw tasked with the job. How many more are there? It may well be ok with the others doing the job.

Just to update this.
    I used pliers to remove the final 2 stripped screws, replaced them with 4 new screws and away I went :)
    Thanks to everyone again for the ideas :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

RichT wrote: »
    Sometimes an elastic band can help..........

Unless the screw is stripped bare.
    That screw looks perfect :confused:

^^ I was thinking the same thing when I first watched it but thought I might not be seeing it properly.
    I did try the rubber band idea but the screw was far too gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

If you have enough of the screw sticking out I often use a hacksaw blade to cut a slot in the head of the screw and then a flat head to remove it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

bear1 wrote: »
    ^^ I was thinking the same thing when I first watched it but thought I might not be seeing it properly.
    I did try the rubber band idea but the screw was far too gone.

Get a drill bit slightly bigger than the hole in the stripped screw. Put the drill in reverse . If the bit is the right size it should get some grip on the screw head .Press hard and full speed and you will probably get it out.