Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Managers- do YOU gossip about your workers?

• 16-08-2014 4:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭

Ok, so I had an interesting debate with some co-workers last week about whether bosses and supervisors engage in gossip about the workers they manage. My general conclusion was, although they may pass a few remarks to their families on their own time about annoying/strange workers, they wouldn't risk gossiping about to them to other managers in case they said the wrong thing or were overheard and then brought to HR.

But my co-workers have a very different view and insist that its not just the workers in the office who gossip about each other (maybe my workplace is just very bitchy!) but the managers too. So, to all supervisors out there, would ye ever gossip for example. Ooh, I wonder is Mary pregnant, Joe is after really putting on weight, is John gay" etc etc..

Is it really naive to think managers dont gossip to each other???

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Ok, so I had an interesting debate with some co-workers last week about whether bosses and supervisors engage in gossip about the workers they manage. My general conclusion was, although they may pass a few remarks to their families on their own time about annoying/strange workers, they wouldn't risk gossiping about to them to other managers in case they said the wrong thing or were overheard and then brought to HR.

But my co-workers have a very different view and insist that its not just the workers in the office who gossip about each other (maybe my workplace is just very bitchy!) but the managers too. So, to all supervisors out there, would ye ever gossip for example. Ooh, I wonder is Mary pregnant, Joe is after really putting on weight, is John gay" etc etc..

Is it really naive to think managers dont gossip to each other???

The general (all be it unofficial) rule with us is that so long as your gossiping with someone on the same level as you you're grand.

I would have thought it would be similar most places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Are serfs counted as 'people' now?

PC gone mad!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I was considered a pervert for a while by a lady that used to work in the office.

Things weren't going too well at the time financially, business was bad, orders were bad.

I had two people doing the same job more or less, Anne and Jack, one would have to go soon.

Anyway, one Monday morning, at the water cooler I looked her straight in the eye and told her I was gonna have to lay her, or Jack off.

She looked kinda interested but then walked away.

I was considered a pervert for a while by a lady that used to work in the office.

Things weren't going too well at the time financially, business was bad, orders were bad.

I had two people doing the same job more or less, Anne and Jack, one would have to go soon.

Anyway, one Monday morning, at the water cooler I looked her straight in the eye and told her I was gonna have to lay her, or Jack off.

Did you steal that from Ireland's Own?

Worse you're getting . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

All managers talk about how goofbally their staff are and which ones they'd roide in the office... Don't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Uriel. wrote: »
    All managers talk about how goofbally their staff are and which ones they'd roide in the office... Don't they?

I wouldnt have thought so no, especially the way the modern workplace is these days, with all kinds of things you can and cant say about people and their religion, appearance etc. I thought most managers would have the cop on to keep the loose talk to their own time..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,629 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Yes, they're called assessment or appraisal sessions! Some years ago, I worked for an accounting firm which went through a merger. Both firm's appraisal periods followed shortly thereafter. Despite being fairly judgemental and blunt, I was surprised how easily my counterparts stuck the knife into their staff in front of people who they hadn't previously worked with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,591 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Talk goes up rather than down I'd imagine.Most managers probably don't care a jot for the underlings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

We always did in my previous job, especially as many of them were a shower of freaks. Taking notes for a disciplinary was particularly funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Managers- do YOU gossip about your workers?

Yes, as my own boss I absolutely can't stand myself.

Wanker.

Fúck you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I wouldnt have thought so no, especially the way the modern workplace is these days, with all kinds of things you can and cant say about people and their religion, appearance etc. I thought most managers would have the cop on to keep the loose talk to their own time..

All I can say, from having been a manager, is....you are oh so very mistaken!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

All I can say, from having been a manager, is....you are oh so very mistaken!

Really? Was there much gossip between the managers then when you were one, was it just the odd time or every day? Im genuinely curious as we tend to think bitching stops at the office door and the supervisors are too wary of being pulled up on bullying etc to risk it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Really? Was there much gossip between the managers then when you were one, was it just the odd time or every day? Im genuinely curious as we tend to think bitching stops at the office door and the supervisors are too wary of being pulled up on bullying etc to risk it.

Ach look! As much as in any other sphere of life. It's not a magical or confined world up there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Did you steal that from Ireland's Own?

Worse you're getting . . .

Ireland's own, nope.

FHM (many moons ago)

Sorry for late reply, socialising last night.
    Come think of it, Prob not far from you...... (I'm in Donegal)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭LiveIsLife

Everybody gossips, why would it stop slightly higher up the chain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Yes as a manager of my farm I always gossip about my workers.
    Most of them are cows, at least they don't understand when I give them a severance package...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Bang_Bang

All managers talk about their workers during lunch break, anyone that doesn't think this happens is on a different planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

RobertKK wrote: »
    Yes as a manager of my farm I always gossip about my workers.
    Most of them are cows, at least they don't understand when I give them a severance package...

Do they get jealous when you give one of them more tit-time than another one?

Ireland's own, nope.

FHM (many moons ago)

Sorry for late reply, socialising last night.
    Come think of it, Prob not far from you...... (I'm in Donegal)
    Na, you must be down the west, I checked with the NowDoc and no one around here had to be treated for overlaughing last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Why is word 'YOU' in caps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Was that you one that told you to go jack off as she had "a headache"? :D