Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gaming desk

• 16-08-2014 12:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭

Hi lads. Does anyone know anywhere to get a gaming pc desk and chair?
    Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,761 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

you can get a functional cheap desk and chair set pretty much anywhere, IKEA and argos, harvey normans etc.. do build it yourself ones, Office supply companies can get your serious professional and expensive ones, there's probably specialists too for gamer chairs & desks but they wont be cheap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Take a look at the Bekant series of desks in Ikea. They're the follow up to the excellent Galant series and, while seemingly not having as many options as its predecessor, should still have something to suit your needs.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I'm gonna buy something like this in the next week or two.

http://www.ikea.com/ie/en/catalog/products/00214181/#/00214181

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

I got a nice desk but had to raise it with seom MDF. I find most desks are too low down for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Bepolite

318714.jpg

yup you win, no speakers?

Mine looks almost identical to yours dreamers :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Euripides_

I'm just gonna hop on here. I'm also looking for a gaming chair upgrade.

Got one from argos couple months ago. Was grand at first but the arse padding is giving way and starting to feel like sitting on hard plastic.

I dont mind spending €200 if i find a good comfy one. Preferably breathable mesh, and will stand the test of time.

Also looking for a desk upgrade soon after to house a new pc build, ps4, ps3 xbox and some files.

Beginning to think i may need to go custom for the desk. They're spoiled for choice over in the states!!!

Id actually love to integrate the pc build into a glass desk like above.

Anyone have any experience with these???

Mine looks almost identical to yours dreamers :pac:

Pics or GT... :pac:

you'll just have to take my word for it :)

jay_k wrote: »
    I'm just gonna hop on here. I'm also looking for a gaming chair upgrade.

Got one from argos couple months ago. Was grand at first but the arse padding is giving way and starting to feel like sitting on hard plastic.

I dont mind spending €200 if i find a good comfy one. Preferably breathable mesh, and will stand the test of time.

Also looking for a desk upgrade soon after to house a new pc build, ps4, ps3 xbox and some files.

Beginning to think i may need to go custom for the desk. They're spoiled for choice over in the states!!!

Id actually love to integrate the pc build into a glass desk like above.

Anyone have any experience with these???

Avoid Argos tbh

http://www.vikingdirect.ie/a/pb/RS-Pro-Sydney-mesh-office-operators-chair-black/pr=QD8&id=6050340/

Thats a decent chair.

http://www.ikea.com/ie/en/catalog/products/20103101/

I have one of the above, very nice and has done me well over the last couple of years.

Cheers for suggestions guys, I was kinda looking for a mesh seat...

hey BEPOLITE, the cushion in the base of that markus chair hasn't faded at all?? I'm not obese or anything, but I'm not a light fellow :P

I'll be working alot in this chair as well as gaming so anything up to 8hours a day...

jay_k wrote: »
    Cheers for suggestions guys, I was kinda looking for a mesh seat...

hey BEPOLITE, the cushion in the base of that markus chair hasn't faded at all?? I'm not obese or anything, but I'm not a light fellow :P

I'll be working alot in this chair as well as gaming so anything up to 8hours a day...

I very fat, tis grand.

Sound bepolite.... thought everyone might like to see the desk I've settled on.

http://www.ikea.com/ie/en/catalog/products/50219044/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭jumbobreakfast

Bepolite wrote: »
    http://www.ikea.com/ie/en/catalog/products/20103101/

I have one of the above, very nice and has done me well over the last couple of years.

Do you think that chair would work with a setup like this (not mine): http://i.imgur.com/G3uc2PU.jpg

Original article and component list here: http://www.reddit.com/r/EliteDangerous/comments/25djot/diy_x52_pro_or_any_hotas_chair_build_cheap/

I badly need a new chair as I started using that joystick recently but its putting strain on my back because my chair is too low and there is only so much that extra cushions can do. My chair arms won't take those joystick mounts either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

Can anyone recommend a gaming chair? Preferably one with comfortable armrests. I'v had my one for years now and it's on its last legs I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

Cravez wrote: »
    Can anyone recommend a gaming chair? Preferably one with comfortable armrests. I'v had my one for years now and it's on its last legs I think.
    How much do you want to spend?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0009UXQ1Q/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=3BNM3FRUEHXK&coliid=I2MBPTU46ID6EI :)

Ri_Nollaig wrote: »

LOL if only :P

Probably about €200 would be a max budget. As far as I'm concerned, I game a lot and a chair will last me years so €200 would be a good investment.

BTW for a gaming desk, I'v been using the IKEA Expedit Desk/Bookcase combo for years. The table area is huge, I'v had a 32" monitor for yonks and still loads of room for keyboards, mouse, external hard drives and even an extra laptop on the desk.

I checked IKEA there and doesn't seem to be selling it anymore. You could always make your own desk from IKEA by buying the parts seperately i.e large wooden surface and then seperate legs for the table and drill into it.

@Bepolite: Awesome setup, did you custom make it? If so where did you buy parts to make the desk?

I fully custom google imaged it off the web :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I've had this one for a few years: http://www.ikea.com/ie/en/catalog/products/50244741/

It's great, though with 24" and 22" monitors side-by-side it's a little cramped at the moment. Good if you're short enough on floor space though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Why not go for a combo of chair + table ?

2103239-gamechair.gif

OR

top-10-hi-tech-chair-designs-concepts-2.jpg

lol looks like Mr Garrison's IT bike

vlcsnap676435.jpg

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I have this chair. So comfy, endorsed by Tar himself!

Who?

ionapaul wrote: »
    I've had this one for a few years: http://www.ikea.com/ie/en/catalog/products/50244741/

It's great, though with 24" and 22" monitors side-by-side it's a little cramped at the moment. Good if you're short enough on floor space though.

That the one I have with the wee cabinets that go eitherside and all the crap ripped off the top of it.

Who could resist a desk called Mickie - in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Noxin

Have the exact same chair over 2 years now. Very comfy indeed.

Desktop:

full-set-up.jpg

http://www.highgroundgaming.com/pc-gaming-chair/

BeerWolf wrote: »

All 1/10 not some of them have build in toilet facilities :pac:

Bepolite wrote: »
    All 1/10 not some of them have build in toilet facilities :pac:

Use a bottle like everybody else, knave!

Added to my lottery-win wishlist :)