Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Luring money from your parents.

• 14-08-2014 8:03am

When my youngest dropped out of college move out and went on her merry way, I began to notice I had lots of money I couldn't figure it out for a while, I was living the exact way I always had then I realised the answer!... children have a way of luring money from you in a way that you don't notice this seemed to start in the teens ..its could I have a 20 for that or 10 for this, can I have some change, do you have money for the bus, can I have money to buy something for dad birthday, and so on and even the amount of money I was spending on petrol went way down because I wasn't giving her lifts every were.

The point is its all done so subtly you don't notice, its being going on for years you don't see It, you are lured in to it :p

Any other parent notice this or if you are young are you conscious of the amount of money you take from your parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I don't take a cent from my parents, except for a loan (which I pay back) if I don't have the money for my medication.

I totally see what you mean, though. My little sister is always fleecing my folks for money, andher siblings. PPretty sure she's guilted me into giving her about thirty quid this week :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

I don't know what my kids will do. I do everything by card, never have cash. Will they have invented teen mobile credit card machines by then?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

mariaalice wrote: »
    Any other parent notice this or if you are young are you conscious of the amount of money you take from your parents.

To be honest, I was a little shít for this when I was a kid.

If I was smashed and the lads where going for a game of pool or the cinema I would "just" sit in the living room watching tv and wait for my da to ask "are you not going out?" or "are you going out?" to which I would say "no, I've no money till I get paid" and he would offer me a few quid. Of course I would put up a pretty weak resistance to look like I was okay sitting in but I always "give in", say cheers, and headed out.

Feel really bad now looking back at it so whenever I get a few extra quid in work I throw him a couple of quid for a few pints.

I hear ya, mariaalice, but mine hasn't left home yet and is still doing it.

I dread it when she says she is going to the cinema that place is so expensive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭DaveDaRave

Gannicus wrote: »

If I was smashed and the lads where going for a game of pool or the cinema I would "just" sit in the living room watching tv and wait for my da to ask "are you not going out?" or "are you going out?" to which I would say "no, I've no money till I get paid" and he would offer me a few quid. Of course I would put up a pretty weak resistance to look like I was okay sitting in but I always "give in", say cheers, and headed out.

Feel really bad now looking back at it so whenever I get a few extra quid in work I throw him a couple of quid for a few pints.

Thats some pro-tier parent swindling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Yeah, I used my parents as cash machines in my teens. Then they increased my pocket money to 20 pounds a week, it was the 80's and if I ran out that was it I wasn't getting another cent. I'd to get a job straight after my leaving cert and if I asked for money I had to pay it back when I got paid. Which was fair and taught me to be careful about what I spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

DaveDaRave wrote: »
    Thats some pro-tier parent swindling

Cheers DaveDaRave.

I was at my best about 16 - 18 years old. I had that game down. But over the last couple years looking back I was a right little ársehóle.

Cheers DaveDaRave.

I was at my best about 16 - 18 years old. I had that game down. But over the last couple years looking back I was a right little ársehóle.

Even though she is still young she is entering the phase of looking back and thinking what the hell was I up to and feeling a bit guilty about a few things, I say don't bother your head with feeling guilty, everyone does stupid things in their teens...some people find the unsettling realisation that adulthood brings hard to handle, aka as growing up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Reindeer

No need to feel bad. It is always worth a few quid to shove a kid out the door and enjoy some time with the woman or alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

I don't know what my kids will do. I do everything by card, never have cash. Will they have invented teen mobile credit card machines by then?!

Here you go.
    http://iphone-card-reader-review.toptenreviews.com/

Allthough if I had a kid and they rocked up with one of these I'd probably throw it at them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I maintain a constant list of jobs that need doing.

When one of them starts mooching about for a bit of extra cash (over and above what they get for 'free') I'll mention a job that needs doing - if they do the job they get the cash.

Likewise when they want to borrow my car in preference to driving their own - they have to wash it.

No point in giving them 'owt for nowt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Reindeer wrote: »
    No need to feel bad. It is always worth a few quid to shove a kid out the door and enjoy some time with the woman or alone.

Feck that - there are cheaper ways!

Nothing like starting to get a bit affectionate with herself to clear the room and the house in 2 seconds flat of teenage boys.........a bit of hand holding and a peck on the cheek is all it takes :D

Reindeer wrote: »

Im guilty of this too. Nothing like getting the kids to go out so you can get some sexy time. Problem is, once they are old enough to know why you want to have the house to yourselves they do turn it into a blackmail and those payoffs get dearer.

Jawgap wrote: »
    I maintain a constant list of jobs that need doing.

When one of them starts mooching about for a bit of extra cash (over and above what they get for 'free') I'll mention a job that needs doing - if they do the job they get the cash.

Likewise when they want to borrow my car in preference to driving their own - they have to wash it.

No point in giving them 'owt for nowt!

When my the other child was young and would ask for money for doing a job that I though she should do for noting as part of a normal routine in any house, I use to sing a country and western song to her called ..All my love no charge..this is some of the lyrics.

For the 9 months I carried you growing inside me $ NO CHARGE
    For the nights I sat up with you doctored you and prayed for you $ NO CHARGE
    For the time and tears and the costs through the years
    There is NO CHARGE
    When you add it all up the full cost of my love is $ NO CHARGE.

It worked too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭The_Captain

Im 30 and have two kids of my own and my parents still give me money.

They bought me a new pair of boots during the week because I had said I was planning on getting a new pair. They actually get upset if I refuse stuff from them tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

My parents just said **** it and gave me a 100 quid every 2 weeks. It was for "helping" on the farm, but i didnt do much. Tbh i still squeezed extra money out of them, cos like going to the cinema wasn't a treat, it was humanitarian aid as far as i was concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Dave H

If I asked for money as a kid, the 'oul lad would always come out with something like "No bother, but will you give me a hand with......(dragging on the last word as he looked for something to do around the house/garden)......cleaning the gutters" or whatever he came up with. I know that most of the time he made jobs up for me but he wanted us to learn to work for the few quid. Not complaining one bit though.
    So yeah, I would have fleeced him, but at a price ;)